We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Seafood, American
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Table Service, Accepts Credit Cards, BYOB
View all details
features, about
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
30
20
8
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
30
20
8
4
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 August 2021

Never rent a boat from this marina!!! I would give it a 0 star if I could. The boats are in terrible conditions, the seats were ripped, the boat was dirty there was trash in all the seats which shows that it's not cleaned in...between rentals and most importantly there were no doors on the boats. I planned a day with my family and two small children to crab on this boat and was super concerned because there were no doors. They tried to accommodate us by giving us a bigger which also was missing a door. They tried to make up for it by making a door with a rope. How is this safe if a small child can fall right through a rope?? We were delayed to leave the dock because of the lack of door and their attempt to make one which delayed our return. They then in turn charged my credit card an additional $100 for the late return. This marina less than accommodating and the boats were in terrible condition!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 22 July 2020

Called a week in advance and spoke with Jen. She was kind, helpful and answered all our questions about boat, size, kids and crabbing equipment. She reserved us a 20' pontoon boat for the afternoon excursion. Once we got there it was exactly what she...promised and clean. We had 4 adults and 3 kids with plenty of room on the boat to move about. The boat guy from Tennessee, "Penyton Manning", was terrific with his explanation of the boat, locations to fish and crab. We read a lot of bad reviews beforehand and don't believe everything that you read. If you know how to drive a boat or not just be smart, take your time and know the tides. We caught a shark and 45 crabs in 4 hours. WE WILL BE BACK FOR SURE 100% GREAT day for people of all ages. Thanks JenMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 13 July 2020

Boat Rental We brought floats and expected to be able to swim in the bay and when we arrived we were told we could not brings floats or swim. and they had taken the ladders off the boats. No one ever told us this on...the phone when they took all our information including a credit card to get paid. We have rented at other places and never were told we could not swim or bring floats. We rented two boats for the whole day., how did they expect we would go to the bathroom? We had 8 children that were looking forward to swimming. In addition to not informing the obvious the boats were in horrible shape. One of the boats carpet was all ripped and was slippery, it was disgusting. The radio and communication around the steering wheel was not working. There was hardly places to hold drinks/cups, two seats in the front were leaning and the people that were sitting there were leaning the whole time. When we arrived back and told the attendant we were unable to put it in reverse, he agreed that it was broken and did not work. We were flabbergasted! They never took money off for anything. Needles to say, we will NEVER go back there again!! Be wary!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 23 September 2019

The pontoon we rented had several broken seats. In addition the radio (for communication) did not work. We got a very brief lesson then we were on our own. They failed to tell us it would be low tide when we were returning which contributed...to us getting stuck. Before we left they said “call us if you have any problems and we’ll be out in 10 minutes.” Took 20 minutes for them to get out to us, but they weren’t able to pull us out. Took another hour and a half before they came back to get us. We had to walk through the bay to another boat carrying all our stuff. Insult to injury, they charged us an extra $211 for the privilege of sitting stuck in the bay for almost 2 hours getting eaten by greenheads. They didn’t even call me about the extra bogus charges. I guess they hoped I wouldn’t notice.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
Bill B, Owner at South Dock Cafe & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2019

Michelle, I am sorry for your experience. They are rental boats and take quite a bit of abuse. We are always happy to cancel and refund a rental if a customer chooses not to take the boat. Once the boat is rented, it is in...More

Reviewed 8 May 2019

The menu clearly states that, if you are in a hurry, this might not be the restaurant for you. That cranky statement sets the stage for a slow experience, which really isn't the case, but sometimes it feels that way because the staff is never...in much of a rush to do things like refill glasses of water and bring the check once everyone is obviously finished eating their meals. For dining views, this place can't be beat. What was once a very basic restaurant still serves relatively basic food (at least for breakfast) but the atmosphere has improved greatly in recent years. It's now fun and laid back- the kind of place one shouldn't mind spending some time while on vacation. Be warned- it's no longer a "secret", so you may wait a while unless you are willing to arrive early. Definitely worth it if you have the time (and a little patience).More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Very relaxing atmosphere with good views of the water and the marina. Order Tequila Mimosas, Half shell clams, fish bites and spinach salad with shrimp. All were amazing and filled with flavor and freshness. I’d definitely will return and recommend this place for a good...time and relaxing environment with friendly staff.More

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 July 2017

There are not many barbeque restaurants in Cape May County so we were excited when we came across an ad in a local newspaper for the Surfing Pig. Located on the water the setting and atmosphere is awesome, unfortunately we wanted a delicious meal and...great service as well and did not get that. Upon arriving, the hostess told us brashly that it would be a 90 minute wait to be seated. We really wanted to try this place and were hungry so we decided to wait it out. Well it seems that the 90 minute wait time may have been a scare tacit as we were seated within 30 minutes. We did hear other people complain to the hostess though that they had been waiting a long time and other people were even turned away later in the evening. The service was slow, rushed, and our server only came back once to check up on us and never did or asked about drink refills. The food took forever to come out of the kitchen and after all that it was cold. The server took almost 15 minutes to bring us our drinks initially after taking our order. The food for the most part was bland, cold to mildly warm, and was not worth the wait or the price. The ribs were bland and did not have that good smoky barbeque flavor as if they were cooked in a cooker for hours. There was more barbeque sauce than ribs as the ribs were drenched in sauce... it was messy and just TOO MUCH sauce. The coleslaw was tasteless and could have used some seasoning and a bit more acid. The corn bread was dry, but we used it soak up all of the barbeque sauce from the ribs so it made it bearable. We were so excited to try this place and eat by the water, other than some awesome water views, everything else at this restaurant was a big let down. We will not be back and will continue our search for a great barbeque restaurant in Cape May County.More

Date of visit: July 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Formerly South Dock Cafe, The Surfing Pig is fantastic! Great atmosphere sitting bayside watching the sunset, with live music and very friendly staff. It does get very busy on weekends, so be prepared to wait (like at any good shore restaurant), but the wait is...worth it! Be sure to try the blackened fish bites or the brisket cheese steak, or any of the bbq. It's all delicious! We've had breakfast, lunch & dinner here (we are lucky enough to live nearby), and have never had a bad experience.More

Date of visit: July 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 July 2017

My husband and I ate breakfast here and it was so laid back and very relaxing. The food was very good! Will definitely go back. Awesome views of the bay.

Date of visit: July 2017
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Could not wait to try this place a few friends recommended but it was crazy. We had a wait at 9:30 in the morning which we thought was 15 minutes but it was around 45. We would have left but the view and just not...worth the hassle of going else where. The food was good, came out quick but the servers seem to be in their own world as they talk to people they know constantly and forget about the other customers. The younger servers seem to hustle and make up for the people who just take their time! The view was nice, the food was good but our server seemed very dazed. There is a fly problem which kind of dampened the meal also. Would give it another try but just crazy for a weekday morning!More

Date of visit: July 2017
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Suitcase Motel & Travel
45 reviews
.59 km away
Chateau Bleu Resort Motel
20 reviews
.92 km away
Aruba Motel
37 reviews
.93 km away
Cardinal Motel
37 reviews
.96 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Vegas Diner & Restaurant
467 reviews
.52 km away
Cool Scoops
187 reviews
.41 km away
Owen's Pub
316 reviews
.75 km away
Maui's Dog House
362 reviews
.34 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
North Wildwood Beach
589 reviews
1.38 km away
Hereford Inlet Lighthouse
214 reviews
.88 km away
SUP Guy
30 reviews
.43 km away
Ed's Funcade
72 reviews
1.60 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from South Dock Cafe & Marina staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about South Dock Cafe & Marina

Yes, South Dock Cafe & Marina offers takeout services.

South Dock Cafe & Marina is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4