We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$15
CUISINES
American, Bar, Soups, Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
113
129
70
47
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
113
129
70
47
24
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 11 May 2021 via mobile

Service was good, though we only had a few questions. Food was not good. Lobster ravioli was not fresh, too much pasta and not enough lobster. Sauce was good tho. Shrimp were over cooked. Anything breaded, like fish and chips, is over breaded. Crab cakes...were mostly cake not crab way too much friedMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 May 2021

Stopped here for an early dinner an a Saturday night. The restaurant was already busy with a 30 minute wait unless we chose to eat outside in their heated tent. The tent was a nice option because even though it was unseasonably chilly, we were...seated directly by the heater so it was comfortable. I will advise that service was quite slow, so if you are in a hurry, this might not be the place to go. I'm sure it is due to Covid and shortages, so we didn't mind too much. The food was delicious, s it made it worthwhile. The dinner rolls that were brought to the table were delicious when eaten warm with the butter spread. A member of our party ordered the crab cake sandwich and said it was delicious, as were the sweet potato fries, which were not salty and just right. Another person ordered a french dip sandwich and enjoyed it as well. I ordered a fish and chips dinner and it was very substantial and delicious. Our server was wonderful and very pleasant. We would definitely eat here again, but probably not during the "high season" at the shore.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 22 October 2020

Horrible service and dinner was cold after waiting 90 minutes after I ordered. Many other restaurants to choose from, I will never go back.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
crabbyclaw, General Manager at The Crab's Claw Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2020

I am sorry you had a bad experience. Did you speak with a manager when you were here because I am sure that they would have handled the situation for you? We want all of our customers to be happy. If you would be kind...More

Reviewed 14 October 2020

We had an early dinner tonight and I was really pleasantly surprised. Precautions taken for covid do distract (ie disposable plates) but the food was really good. My lobster bisque was excellent and I'll be back for more. Plus, we had a really helpful and...friendly waiter who was clearly prepared to work with the covid restrictions facing him and customers. I wholeheartedly recommend.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 9 October 2020

It was restaurant week in Lavalette so my husband &I went to the Crabs Claw Inn. Our server,Ali, was so sweet & helpful. They offered a 3 course meal with a great variety of choices. I was wowed by my appetizer, Aritichoke hearts Francois! They...were beyond tasty! My meal was Filet Mignonette tips & Shrimp served with seasonal veggies over Basmati rice! Awesome! My husband had Manhattan Clam Chowder $ Salmon on a cedar plank which he devoured! We took home a brownie for dessert. All 3 courses excellent & we had it outside in a tent 1 block from the beach. A great day out with excellent service & food!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 September 2020

Poor. Service was marginal, drinks in plastic cups, food on paper plates with plastic wear. The dinner rolls were straight from the cheapest at the grocery store and if you wanted a vegetable or salad with your entree it was an upcharge. I paid $6.99...to get a salad with my crab cakes! Mojito was not the best and the mashed potatoes appeared to be instant. We paid WAY too much for what we got. Will not be back.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 11 September 2020

We had a pretty good meal; but boy is this place tired. Ask to eat outside. We had grouper and enjoyed it. It was not well presented; but what are you going to do I suppose in this new environment. I suggest they ad a...few veg to the plate next time; or use smaller platesMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 9 September 2020

Been here many, many years ago and was disappointed that is wasn't like I remembered. Had to send the bottle of red wine back since all bottle red wine is served COLD, like white?? Really.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 August 2020 via mobile

Decent menu though overpriced. I had the catch of the day, grouper, $29.99, and received a piece of fish about the size of a deck of cards and a baked potato. After dinner, $170 for 4 of us, we were all starving and had to...go elsewhere for something more to eat. The waiter dropped the food off without a word spoken. Ok, didn't go to talk with the waiter, but a simple, "Enjoy", or some other verbal utterance would have been nice. And perhaps come back at least once before dropping off the check. Two stars instead of just one because the little portions were at least pretty good.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 August 2020

I really don't understand where people eat that they gave this more than 2 stars. Maybe it was before covid but the food is fair to say the least. It's good if nothing else is open and you are starving.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Lamplight Motel
44 reviews
.32 km away
Tradewinds Motor Lodge
60 reviews
1.23 km away
Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites
168 reviews
1.84 km away
Seaside Colony Motel
162 reviews
2.91 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Colonial Bakery
78 reviews
.97 km away
Meg's Grill
66 reviews
.68 km away
Lava Java
70 reviews
.12 km away
Lenny's Pizza & Italian Grill
150 reviews
.16 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Music Man Singing Ice Cream Shoppe
155 reviews
1.44 km away
Barnacle Bills Amusements
30 reviews
1.88 km away
Casino Pier & Breakwater Beach Waterpark
422 reviews
3.47 km away
The Original Ben Franklin 5 & 10 Store
33 reviews
.53 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
WaltGrace2013
14 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from MERRIES_13 | Reviewed this property |
Now that is off season as previous traveler suggested your wait time should be less. I would suggest giving them a call!
1
Vote
NJDee_44
5 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Rich F | Reviewed this property |
Year round
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Crab's Claw Inn

Yes, The Crab's Claw Inn offers takeout services.

Yes, The Crab's Claw Inn offers delivery services.

The Crab's Claw Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5