We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$44
CUISINES
Seafood, Polynesian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveler rating
187
134
46
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
187
134
46
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salad ice cream sunday bbq thursday island cultural show island night buffet beautiful island food was fantastic during our stay ika mata resort accommodation nz
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

Best fish ever. Had absolutely great meal there. Fish outstanding pasta good too. Reasonable wine list. Prices currently mid range for the island. Venue good, not as much ambiance

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Nick H, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2021

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. We will work on creating a better ambience...and definitely time to review our wine list too. Thanks for the feedback will advise kitchen team. Meitaki atupaka, Nick

Reviewed 9 August 2021

We enjoyed dining here as this was only 2km from our accommodation. They served a great margarita and we found the food always of a high standard and good value. We dined here four times during our stay.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Nick H, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Kia Orana, Thank you for visiting our Island and the Tamanu beach Resort. We truly hope you took home some warm memories of your stay. See you next time. Meitaki atupaka, Nick

Reviewed 6 August 2021

We dined on the Island Night buffet. The food was fantastic (you wont leave hungry, thats for sure!), and the cultural show was really enjoyable. Such a great experience! A highly recommended experience when visiting Aitutaki!

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 July 2021

We just stayed for three nights at Tamanu Beach Resort. It was a welcomed break from the NZ winter and we are so glad we came up after 9 nights in Raro. The resort is beautifully appointed - details in the care and craft of...making it a truly special place. The grounds are gorgeous, beach is great for swimming, and food was amazing. The highlight was the Thursday Island Night that really made the trip feel like something we will always remember.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Nick H, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2021

Kia orana, Thank you for your review. This was perhaps our first (or 2nd) Takurua Island feast since late March 2020. We are so pleased you enjoyed it, we are continually fine tuning this special evening experience. It is one that our local community especially...More

Reviewed 24 July 2021

Only place we have felt unwelcome on Aitutaki. The staff were rude and made us feel like crap and the food was average. So many other excellent restaurants to choose from on this beautiful island.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Nick H, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Kia Orana, Please accept my most sincere apologies. There is absolutely no reason for any of our staff to treat guests in our resort and restaurant this way. This will be addressed with our Restaurant staff immediately. Once again, please accept my apologies and I...More

Reviewed 22 July 2021

We did not stay at Tamanu Beach Resort however we dined there a couple of times. The dining room is large and airy and each table is set with white linen. The service is excellent and the food is resort standard with a wide variety...of offerings. The ika mata (raw fish) is excellent as are the salads. The prices were very reasonable (mains from $15-29). There was only one dessert- carrot cake with ice cream which was ok. Portion sizes are good. We went back again for dinner as our first visit did not disappoint. Our two teenagers did not complain about their meals so that is always a good sign.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Nick H, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. We are always working on improving our service consistency across all of our team. I must apologise for the limited choice in our dessert menu. I have discussed with our chef and this is an area for immediate...More

Reviewed 3 July 2021

We had breakfast x3 during our stay and enjoyed the variety. We did the Sunday BBQ Buffet which was a great value. Good service, but limited items due to Covid as expected.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 June 2020

Great food, lovely setting, great staff. We didn't stay here but would do so the next time we are there.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 March 2020

We stayed in a nearby villa, but went to Tamanu via a walk along the beach for our morning coffee and a dinner or two during our stay on Aitutaki. Lovely restaurant setting with views over the lagoon.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 29 February 2020

I stayed in Pacific resort, its a walking distance to Tamanu Beach. BBQ Buffet is good, I will recommend people who don't scare of cats to join. There are 3-4 cats in this resort, during the dinner buffet, cats will walk around your table, and...resting under your table and chair. Food is good, and lots of colorful salad. I wrote the post b/c I just want to remind other travelers that scare of cats too. Live music is wonderful too.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Tamanu Beach
565 reviews
.01 km away
Aitutaki Beach Villas
165 reviews
.20 km away
Etu Moana
1,106 reviews
.41 km away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
1,387 reviews
.83 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mouarii Cafe
11 reviews
2.76 km away
Koru Cafe
1,139 reviews
3.34 km away
Rapae Bay
298 reviews
.84 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Aitutaki Lagoon
1,075 reviews
3.13 km away
O'otu Beach
94 reviews
3.15 km away
Mount Maungapu
80 reviews
1.00 km away
Teking Lagoon Cruises
646 reviews
1.85 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
BazAlk
24 December 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Youngie84 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, as people have already pointed out there is a beach that you can swim/snorkel/kayak etc. Lots of coral but still plenty of clear areas to enjoy. Also a pool onsite to swim. Island night is every Thursday night and is... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tamanu Beach Resort

Tamanu Beach Resort is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5