We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

There are no reviews for yet. Be the first to write a review!

Food and ambience

Location and contact

Improve this listing
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
106
57
11
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
106
57
11
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry tandoori platter chana masala brownie with ice cream garlic naan chicken robertson quay indian food non veg little india spicy beers foodie meats
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Underwhelming !! Pav bhaji contains peanuts, boondi and sev !! Definitely not Mumbai style !! Maybe I had high expectations but definitely underwhelmed after the experience. Also wish they improve the quantity !!

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is a must for anyone who is a fan of Indian food. The Dabba Gosht is particularly excellent. It is not the cheapest Indian food in Singapore, but for those on a budget, there is plenty of street venders in Little India or...local Hawker centers. This is a proper restaurant in a classy location, which I could not recommend highly enough. The staff and management are also super friendly, always willing to try and fit you in, even when its busy.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 March 2021 via mobile

Fun restaurant. Friendly service and upbeat environment. The food is very very good. We enjoyed the Samosa, Dahl and garlic naan. Yum.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 30 January 2021

Food too expensive, drinks hilariously overpriced. Food quality not good! Butter chiicken smokey, Fish Curry with battered fish, Samosas only potato, onion baji had no onion on there, old and refried... Cucumber drink for 18$, Food nothing below 23$... There are much better places in...SG!More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?1  
SandeepSachar, Owner at Dabbawalla, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2021

Dear U6603YVMARCOD Namaste from Dabbawalla Wow - thats quite a brutal battering for us to take :):) - but will take it on the chin and soldier on . Feedback well taken . Am happy that the boys on the service front did ok -...More

Reviewed 11 December 2020

Incredibly rude staff, arrived and when requested to use entertainer, was rudely told that they don’t usually accept entertainer during the weekends. Note that this was not listed on the app and when asked if it was on the app they just said, ‘we don’t...accept entertainer during the weekends’ with no explanation, the restaurant was basically empty and they were not apologetic at all. Walked straight out and will never bother visiting again. What a disappointment and failure of service!More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
SandeepSachar, Owner at Dabbawalla, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Dear Ms Renee T , Namaste from Dabbawalla Mam, the whole idea behind Dabbawalla is to serve authentic Indian cuisine in a fun and relaxed environment with our food and guests as the sole focus - and i sincerely apologise for the bad experience that...More

Reviewed 31 October 2020

Good service and good Indian food. My go to place for Indian food in Robertson Quay. Responsive waiters and food continues to be a strong suit given the price.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
SandeepSachar, Owner at Dabbawalla, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Dear YourAveragejJoe Namaste from Dabbwalla Sir , a pleasure - the whole idea is to serve hi quality Indian cuisine in a fun environment - and what can i say - us being your goto Indian restaurant say it all . Thank you for your...More

Reviewed 18 October 2020

The host seated us just outside the kitchen. As we were choking on the smoke coming from the kitchen we asked to be seated at the different table (inside the restaurant was empty) the host then said outside seating is full. We asked again to...change table and clarified that we don’t mind being inside, just anywhere we’re we aren’t being smoked. (It was incredibly smokey) The host then rudely waved his arms around stating we can go anywhere. The host is the first impression your restaurant is giving your guest. I’m sorry to say that it has been a terrible experience where we don’t feel welcomed at all.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 September 2020

The Oakham Curry Club (OCC) is a well-respected Institution with multiple international franchises. This review of ‘Dabbawalla - Curry & Cocktails’ being the (sort of) latest by our Singapore branch. The OCC takes pride in searching out the finest Indian restaurants and providing impartial reviews...of Curry Houses all over the world. Members vote anonymously without being influenced by other members (we call this “no swaying”) on 5 categories, and an average score out of a maximum 10 is given to each restaurant we review. On Thursday 20th Feb 2020 – The OCC visited Dabbawalla - Curry & Cocktails; Robertson Quay. For full transparency, see below scores (out of 10). The voting is based on the votes from OCC members. Restaurants must score an average of 7/10 or above to receive the OCC sticker of recommendation. All OCC members have been through a rigorous selection process to gain entry into the Club. In short, we all know our curries. Quality: 8.41 Customer Care: 9.1 Value: 6.21 Service: 8.56 Atmosphere: 7.82 Overall: 8.02 Dabbawalla IS AWARDED the OCC badge of recommendation and achieves the highest score to date. Value is slightly below par but they smashed everything else, especially customer care. Hip yet traditional, modern yet authentic – Dabbawalla, our Mumbai inspired restaurant is a high on energy and the bold flavours that typify the food of Mumbai. Located next to the Singapore River, in Robertson Quay, the Dabbawalla, with it’s distinct Mumbai inspired ambience, specially concocted cocktail and street food menu is a foodie’s experience like no other in Singapore. Dabbawalla means ‘one who carries a box’. Dabba means box, usually a tiffin, and walla is a holder. Therefore the English meaning is ‘One who gives food’ If you’ve ever found yourself propped up at the bar waiting for your Guinness to settle, you’ll be reminded that good things come to those who wait. Full disclosure: I’ve had two pints of Guinness in my entire life, and hated both of them, however I am a true believer in procrastination. The act of pondering over something long enough that when it comes to execution you are quite sure that the result is the ultimate best you can give. And so it is with this that I am proud to present the review for Dabbawalla Curry & Cocktails in Robertson Quay. An establishment visited by the OCC in February, and resulting review perfected a mere seven months later. Let us take you back in time to one month BCE (Before Coronavirus Era). A time before curry consumption was changed the world over. You will find the OCC trickling into Robertson Quay on a quiet Thursday evening to form the congregation that will accept the curry and cocktails being prepared. Many good vibes were ahead. This part of Singapore is heavy on tourist and expat trade, and so full of surrounding bars and pubs. The aforementioned trickle of attendees was so slow that one member had saddled up to the bar opposite the restaurant and in frustration began to consume several early beverages plus some unauthorised snacks that would not form part of the evening’s meal deliberations. But the team assembled in time for proceedings to start promptly as we crossed the not-quite-as-bustling-as-usual footpath to Dabbawalla. The vibes from the Dabbawalla team were warm. We were shown to our table promptly, even though we could see from a distance that an OCC logo had been placed on the pillar next to it. They had researched their guests and had concluded that the 5-star treatment was to be rolled out. Although pleasantly received by the OCC, this was not going to work as a sway mechanic. The table was outside (yet undercover) and we were handed menus and offered refreshments in good time. Comfortable seating arrangements, vibrant in colour and lots of scatter cushions. I remember many cushion vibes. With a strong emphasis on the ‘cocktails’ in the restaurant name, and with a large contingent of members having taken in pre-beers, a middle ground was agreed on where half of the team would experiment with prosecco to the meal and the other half remain on beers for consistency. The beers were solid Kingfishers, and the OCC is yet to find a restaurant serving the elusive Cobra. On to the food. And all we can collectively say is….yes! The food was wonderful. Flavours and spice vibes were cracking across the board. We would have ordered everything again, with maybe the exception of the tandoori mushrooms (unless you were veggie...or potentially vegan). We could go into the specifics of certain dishes, but on this occasion the review takes a much more holistic approach with the passing of time, one remembers that the whole experience is one that will be revisited with gusto. Good food vibes. One thing to note on the price. Given the skew towards cocktails and bubbles, and given the location of the establishment, it is not totally surprising that the final bill came in towards the top end of previous OCC expeditions, hence the drop in scoring regarding value. But when looking for a trip to a curry house which will deliver on food, service and vibes (at a price) we couldn’t recommend Dabbawalla enough. You, your other half, or your visiting in-laws will appreciate it. Vibes.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
SandeepSachar, Owner at Dabbawalla, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2020

Dear OCC SGP Namaste from Team Dabbawalla What a wonderful , cracking feedback - it is such a pleasure to receive such compliments especially during these times :):) Absolute pleasure and I think you have pretty much said it all - the only thing I...More

Reviewed 7 August 2020 via mobile

Good food. Service was also friendly. However, they seated diners in close proximity to each other and not in line with the governments social distancing guidelines. I warned them when they seated two diners immediately next to us, they took no action, so eventually we...had to move to an inside corner to avoid fines. Restaurant risks the ire of Ministry of Health if they continue to disobey social distancing guidelines. Go at your own risk.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 April 2020 via mobile

Went to Dabbawala as a part of our date night. Ordered the Tandoori platter for appetizer, Prawn Biryani for main course and the brownies with ice cream for dessert. The food was super tasty and flavorful, the staff was also super helpful and friendly. The...prawn Biryani was to die for, definitely the best I have eaten in Singapore as it is made spicy and the North Indian way. Enjoyed all the meats on the platter as well. Would definitely be back.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
SandeepSachar, Owner at Dabbawalla, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2020

Dear nkeswani Namaste from Dabbawalla Sir, firstly apologies for responding so late - these are unprecedented times and it me a bit of time to getting round to TA . Absolute pleasure Sir, and is always a great feeling to get positive feedback from someone...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
InterContinental Singapore Robertson Quay
718 reviews
.10 km away
Studio M Hotel
2,986 reviews
.10 km away
The Warehouse Hotel
338 reviews
.22 km away
M Social Singapore
1,474 reviews
.24 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Publico Ristorante
1,340 reviews
.10 km away
Marcello
143 reviews
.11 km away
Les Bouchons Robertson Quay
263 reviews
.08 km away
D.O.P Mozzarella Bar & Restaurant
113 reviews
.01 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Singapore River
2,150 reviews
.29 km away
Robertson Quay
232 reviews
.33 km away
Tan Si Chong Chu Temple
26 reviews
.40 km away
STPI – Creative Workshop & Gallery
12 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
b4tri5yia19
3 January 2017|
Answer
Response from SandeepSachar | Property representative |
Dear Ms Husna B Greetings form the Curry Culture Mam, No we are not a certified restaurant as we have a full fledged bar- but we do serve meats that are halal certified . In fact we have a lot of guests from the middle... More
0
Votes
Frequently Asked Questions about Dabbawalla

  • Yes, Dabbawalla offers takeout services.

  • Yes, Dabbawalla offers delivery services.

  • Dabbawalla is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4