We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Escape to Picton’s Restaurant

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Special occasions, Romantic

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
CUISINES
French, European, Seafood, New Zealand
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveler rating
249
74
29
31
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
249
74
29
31
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mussels surf and turf steak thai fish curry prawn cocktail pork ribs pavlova fresh fish chowder baked avocado boutique hotel executive chef the early bird fine dining dining experience blue cod new zealand
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 418 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Came here a couple of days ago and absolutely loved it. Had a beautiful steak - cooked perfectly. Great service as well. Would definitely recommend

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank kiwilovestravelling1
Reviewed 5 days ago

Food is carefully prepared and tasty. Atmosphere is nice both inside and out. Well worth a visit. Perhaps the best restaurant in town.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank tomTulsaOK
Reviewed 5 days ago

The staff was nice, friendly and polite but the actual service was horrible. We dined outside due to the indoor tables being booked out. Apparently this meant we weren't a priority to being served... or accommodated, for that matter. They had outdoor heaters but didn't...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Ildikó T
Escapetopicton, Owner at Escape to Picton’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello Reviewer, what i find odd is you say you couldnt sit inside as we were booked out and we have been. Then you say there was only 4 tables which is it? From 7pm we get packed as this is bite time, so we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had meals at several restaurants in Picton during our stay and Escape is by far the best place. The chef/owner is passionate about her food and it shows. The food is complex, interesting, and creative. The portions are large. The service is professional, efficient...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank lee457918
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food sounded good and there was a ‘special’ dinner deal on until a certain time. We were outside contemplating the menu and a friendly waiter came to check if we were ok/needed seating etc. we said we were still browsing and deciding and instead...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank emzhemzk
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have had tougher mushrooms than the steak - it was superb. Courtyard dining alfresco - perfect. Great cocktails.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank minnisman
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We would've given this restaurant 5 stars. However, after a nice bottle of champagne, wonderful steaks for 2 of us and delicious mussels which my English friend enjoyed so much, she asked for a slice of bread to sop up the tasty sauce. The waitress...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Sightsee20287
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We called into this wonderful establishment initially because other places we'd seen were either full or closed. However, it was a choice we didn't regret. The welcome was warm and fun, while the service thereafter was friendly, prompt and efficient. As for the food, we...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank GrayMcGowan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here because of good reviews. Good points- table for 2 organised without pre booking.. that's where it all went downhill. Food and drinks order taken, drinks came ok, waited over an hour for our food. Told this was because there had been a big...More

Date of visit: February 2019
3  Thank Eileen0101
Escapetopicton, Owner at Escape to Picton’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, We are sorry you did not enjoy, please read the review below as you were the table.They left because of you not us. Kind Regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The meals and the menu look really, really good. However! some of the reviewers on here have a point! Perhaps listen or look at what is happening before ‘management comments’ .... the main meals look fabulous.... unfortunately we did not have the opportunity of tasting...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 2muchfinefoodandwine
Escapetopicton, Manager at Escape to Picton’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, We are very sorry about your experince but we are pleased you wrote exactly what happened as the table you are talking about has also written a review. Thank you very much for leaving the $50 and yes it covered everything. In hind sight...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 nearby hotels
Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel
190 reviews
.01 km away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
387 reviews
.06 km away
Gateway Motel
1,062 reviews
.08 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
308 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 47 nearby restaurants
Picton Village Bakkerij
352 reviews
.19 km away
Seumus' Irish Bar and Restaurant
150 reviews
.02 km away
Gusto
489 reviews
.10 km away
DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar
422 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 63 nearby attractions
Picton Sound
248 reviews
.15 km away
Picton i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
109 reviews
.25 km away
Hertiage & Whaling Museum Picton
66 reviews
.23 km away
The National Whale Centre
23 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Timeoutjane
4 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Strawbasaurus | Reviewed this property |
All i can say was my meal was great, and the service was good.
0
Votes
Hertspeople
16 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Escapetopicton | Property representative |
Yes we are open for Christmas lunch. Look forward to hearing from you.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing