We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palette Dining

₱₱ - ₱₱₱International, ,
92 Bathurst Road | The Niagara Building, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
+61 2 4782 9530
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good16%
  • Average3%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“lamb shoulder” (11 reviews)
“quail” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
International, Grill, Contemporary, Healthy, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
₱₱ - ₱₱₱
92 Bathurst Road | The Niagara Building, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don’t bother.... we went here because it was no 1 on trip advisor. Wish we went to no 2! The food was okay as was the service. But barely. I asked for a wine list and there is none they only have 2 wines ...a...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank RossB144
Petrina K, General Manager at Palette Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Ross, You have reviewed the wrong location. It's a shame that you did not get the experience you wanted. However it is clear you have not reviewed the correct location. Palette Dining is not open for lunch, having said that our upstairs diner is....More

Reviewed 2 November 2018

While crossing the Blue Mountains, we decided to stop for lunch in Katoomba, and were headed toward one of the better-known hotels when we chanced upon this conveniently located establishment. We would have walked past, but for some people walking out at the time, whom...More

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank CCAandEBA
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

We were visiting the Leura Flower Festival and stay in the Blue Mountains for 3 nights and we had a very enjoyable holiday. To top it up, we had a great dinner in Palette Dining. We arrived at the restaurant too early - actually before...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank LionelL94
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Magnificent food, great winelist & delightful service. Fine dining in a relaxed & comfortable atmosphere. Something very special but priced very reasonably.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank chocolate-grom
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Innovative offering two choices of dining in the a la carte restaurant downstairs or quality burgers and beers upstairs. The a la carte was fantastic and really creative - for all the right reasons - with a love of local produce, amazing flavours and a...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank colsi100
Petrina K, General Manager at Palette Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thank you very much for such a detailed and positive review. Our staff are what make Palette so special and we are grateful for them every day. We do hope you can enjoy our hospitality sometime in the future. All the best from the team...More

Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

We ate here a couple of years ago when called Niagara. I raved about it then but it’s obviously changed hands. 5 options for entree and main and 2 of them vegetarian. Had apparently run out of the lamb shoulder as it wasn’t in season...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Gregory D
Petrina K, General Manager at Palette Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Hi Gregory, It is an even greater restaurant. The best in Katoomba according to tripadvisor. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your curry, however it would seem you were set to be disappointed no matter what you had chosen given we were not the restaurant...More

Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Food was very good. My partner had snapper fillet. It was excellent. I wanted the famous lamb shoulder but it's off the menu. Had the pork cutlet with a white bean couselet. It was good but just one small cutlet. Should serve two when small....More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank coogeematt
Petrina K, General Manager at Palette Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Very happy to hear your overall experience was positive. Thank you for your feedback on the pork cutlet. We had reduced the portion size by a small amount as some other guests had said it was too big the previous week. However we would rather...More

Reviewed 1 October 2018

I guess we were lucky to get in without a booking on a holiday weekend Friday evening. At 6.30 we were the last people to get a table without a booking so my advice is book. Anyway we were very glad to get in as...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank mat_richardson
Petrina K, General Manager at Palette Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thank you so much for your review. Happy we could accommodate you on this night. Hope you enjoyed the rest of the weekend :) I would just like to reiterate what you have said. To all future diners, please book. As a small business managing...More

Reviewed 1 October 2018

Good service with explanation on ingredients and how food is done. More importantly, they tasted really good and price is reasonable. I will certainly return to this restaurant when I visit Blue Mountains again.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank heutistmeintag
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

My partner and I visited blue mountains and this restaurant was absolutely amazingly. Matt and Petrina provided professional, attentive, knowledgeable service. Wood fired bread was perfect and the pork belly was melt in your mouth good + it had crispy skin. I ordered an extra...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Simon S
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 hotels in Katoomba
The Carrington Hotel
1,133 reviews
.10 km away
Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains
643 reviews
.42 km away
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel
188 reviews
.61 km away
Katoomba Town Centre
305 reviews
.61 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Station Bar & Wood Fired Pizza
784 reviews
.02 km away
261 reviews
.13 km away
387 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Blue Mountains Cultural Centre
187 reviews
.23 km away
Street Art Walk - by Street Art Murals Australia
86 reviews
.48 km away
Katoomba Antique Centre
27 reviews
.08 km away
Gallery One88
18 reviews
.49 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
10 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from PetrinaK1 | Property representative |
We are fully licensed. So no BYO
4 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from bazkris | Reviewed this property |
Hello There is no surcharge for using a credit card I am not sure about a Sunday surcharge
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$9 - US$22
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 92 Bathurst Road | The Niagara Building, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Blue Mountains  >  Katoomba
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4782 9530
  • E-mail
When we created Palette Dining, our ambition was to produce a menu that was not limited by geography or defined by a single culinary style. Modern Australian cuisine is an amalgam of cultures and styles and our food reflects & embraces that vast breadth of influence. Our menu whilst global in inspiration is local in provenance. Seasonal and balanced, our food reflect the bounty of the mountains and the best of what is available at any given time from our growers and suppliers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing