We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sir Charles Darling Hotel

₱₱ - ₱₱₱, ,
38 Bellerine St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
+61 3 5222 1697
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good32%
  • Average5%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (45 reviews)
“sunday roast” (4 reviews)
“salad” (19 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₱₱ - ₱₱₱
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
38 Bellerine St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Had many a good meal at the darling over the years, however the last couple of visits have been average at best. The chips were still frozen in the middle and they forgot part of the meals This use to be the best pub for...More

Thank Tim B
SirCharlesDarling, Owner at Sir Charles Darling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Tim B Wow - chips still frozen in the middle! Not cool. Sorry to hear that you weren't as impressed as on previous visits and yes occasionally, mistakes do happen. Thank you for your feed back.

Reviewed 4 days ago

Some charm about these old school pubs. Has a nice authentic feel about the place. Also has some nice beers on tap as well.

Thank MrDavetheSarks
SirCharlesDarling, Owner at Sir Charles Darling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Mr Dave Thank you for your kind words about our pub. An authentic feel is exactly what we continue to strive for. We're about to add Brookvale Ginger Beer (4%) to our tap range over the next week.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So sad to see the Charles Darling slowly go down hill on service. Food still amazing (thanks chefs!!) but so disappointed in the service of the staff. No happy faces from the staff, service is lacking (i feel like they don’t even want to be...More

Thank Louise M
SirCharlesDarling, Owner at Sir Charles Darling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Louise. I'm so sorry that you didn't get any smiles from our staff on your visit to our pub - we like to think we're a pretty friendly bunch. We are assessing closing times at the moment so your feedback is very timely and...More

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

My family were visiting Geelong for Easter and were overwhelmed on the quality of food and service from this great traditional hotel ! We enjoyed it so much we went back again today for lunch and yet again the food , value and service delivered...More

Thank Stewart H
SirCharlesDarling, Owner at Sir Charles Darling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much Stewart H for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Geelong.

Reviewed 15 March 2018

Myself my daughter’s and mum have been here quite a few times my daughter has even ordered a meal to pick up it is close to her work, But to day I was not only shocked by was disgusted in the mannerisms of staff and...More

Thank 88bella66
SirCharlesDarling, Owner at Sir Charles Darling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Hi Jenna C and 88bella66 (mother and daughter). I'm sorry to hear you had a negative experience. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and always endeavour to keep our customers happy. If however we feel our staff are being unfairly treated and the customer...More

Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

Have been going to this pub for many years with my grandmother and have always enjoyed the meals and service.. Unfortunately today I was absolutely disgusted in the service and the mannerism of staff ! And the food and drinks were not like how they...More

Thank Jenna C
SirCharlesDarling, Owner at Sir Charles Darling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Hi Jenna C and 88bella66 (mother and daughter). I'm sorry to hear you had a negative experience. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and always endeavour to keep our customers happy. If however we feel our staff are being unfairly treated and the customer...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We go here quiet regularly, it is a family favourite, always busy and never had a bad meal. Would Recommend you go there one day.

Thank Sandra K
SirCharlesDarling, Owner at Sir Charles Darling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thanks Sandra K for taking the time to provide your positive comments.

Reviewed 2 March 2018

For a City Centre pub SCDH provides a friendly country pub atmosphere with welcoming friendly service and great prices. Our first visit yesterday will be the first of many future visits

Thank renocaruana
SirCharlesDarling, Owner at Sir Charles Darling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hi Renocaruana Thank you for your kind review. Yes our aim is always to have a great pub atmosphere and it's always fantastic to hear this positive feedback when we speak with our customers, many of who become regulars.

Reviewed 22 December 2017

I booked a table for lunch on 21/12/2017 for a group of 8 retirees. I ordered the barramundi, which cost $15.50. I asked Tammy for veggies instead of salad. She said that this would cost an extra $1, which I was happy to pay for....More

Thank David C
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Typical of pubs, the meals are large and the beverages selection simple. Many diners ate quickly and left. It appeared to be standard practice. Not much else to say really. It's an average pub which does little to distinguish itself. I'd return, but not quickly....More

Thank AFCB123
SirCharlesDarling, Owner at Sir Charles Darling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hi AFCB123, thank you for taking time to provide your feedback. Our "average pub" of yesteryear is now becoming a rarity in Geelong, something that we aim to continue. One of the most common comments we receive is "Don't change a thing, we love this...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 hotels in Geelong
Bay City(Geelong) Motel
71 reviews
.24 km away
Comfort Inn Eastern Sands
97 reviews
.24 km away
Atlantic Geelong
28 reviews
.35 km away
Novotel Geelong
809 reviews
.57 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Eastern Spice
297 reviews
.23 km away
Cafe Go
171 reviews
.03 km away
Freckleduck
84 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
National Wool Museum
259 reviews
.58 km away
The Carousel
176 reviews
.49 km away
Steampacket Gardens
70 reviews
.53 km away
Old Geelong Gaol
27 reviews
.43 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Claire T
14 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Geraldine K | Reviewed this property |
No as it is hotel, alcohol is available there.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$28
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 38 Bellerine St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  City of Greater Geelong  >  Geelong
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5222 1697
  • E-mail
Description
The Sir Charles Darling Hotel is located in the heart of Geelong. Our Hotel was established in 1852 and remains one of the now rare traditional pubs. It is a simple and presentable Hotel, nothing over the top. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, all are welcome at The Sir Charles Darling Hotel. Our guests are diverse, from uni students to families, professionals, the elderly and many more. Our client base is so vast because of what the hotel has to offer, something for everyone. Affordable quality meals from traditional pub fare to something a little bit nicer, but nothing that will blow the budget. Our service is warm and friendly, professional yet casual. Our team from kitchen to front of house enjoy what we do so you will always see them smiling and often having a laugh with the regulars. The Hotel has a full TAB and Beer Garden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;