We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Atlantic

Tenency 18 &19, Crown Entertainment Complex | 8 Whiteman Street Southbank 3006, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
+61 3 9698 8888
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good26%
  • Average18%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“oysters” (111 reviews)
“confit salmon” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₱₱₱₱
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Tenency 18 &19, Crown Entertainment Complex | 8 Whiteman Street Southbank 3006, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We visited this restaurant with high hopes based on a previous visit to the Oyster Bar. However our Atlantic experience was vastly different. We had to ask twice to order drinks (which took longer than usual to arrive) and then again ask to order our...More

1  Thank lmath
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We believe all customers deserve a truly exceptional experience whilst dining with us, and are equally disappointed to hear this was not the case on your occasion. We'd love to discuss your...More

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The food and service was outstanding this is our new favourite restaurant. We will be coming back very soon.More

Thank Wendy C
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Wendy, thank you for taking the time to provide your lovely feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed every element of your ocean to plate experience with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Thanks, The Atlantic...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Overall very disappointing. The waiters were so terribly untrained in basic etiquette, I had a waiter fill up my half full tap water with sparkling, not once but twice. Had to ask for a drinks menu and after only half the table had ordered drinks...More

Thank Sarah M
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Sarah, Firstly we'd like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. It is our belief that every single customer deserves the true ocean to plate experience that we pride ourselves on and it is equally disappointing for us...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

This place looks nice but terrible service, expensive drinks ( $19 for a sparkling) and expensive food for what it is ( we had better at the markets last weekend) The oysters were the worst in 3 years. Will never go backMore

Thank jeffandlauren
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Jeff and Lauren, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We believe all customers deserve an exceptional dining experience and are equally disappointed this was not the case on this occasion. We would love the opportunity to discuss this...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Dinner with a group of friends was expected to be fabulous here but we were a little disappointed as the food was not quite up to standard, the service was slow as was the kitchen. When we finally got our mains the wait staff managed...More

Thank Mark M
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Mark, firstly we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with some feedback. We believe every customer deserves an exceptional ocean to plate dining experience with us and therefore would like to look into yours further. If you would like to, please send...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We brought a group of 20 persons to the restaurant after all of us had spent all day at the Melbourne Cup. The restaurant distinguished itself by its understanding of our needs; small plates of food to share, not too much food and just a...More

Thank Mullah62
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback. We are so happy to hear we were able to give you an exceptional experience to round off your day of festivities. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks, The...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stay over in Melbourne 2 to 3 times a year and The Atlantic is now our Restaurant of choice. We have never walked away disappointed. I had the oysters on this visit and they were amazing. The Strawberry mocktail was also a winner. The...More

Thank Willimi7
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review. We are so happy to hear you've enjoyed every aspect of your multiple dining experiences with us. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Melbourne. Thanks,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been here four times and I can confirm that the quality of the food is great. The last time, though, the table position, too close to the kitchen, disappointed me. The cook, who was in charge of the final preparation of the dishes, continued...More

Thank Ale_G_70
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Firstly we are so happy to hear you've enjoyed multiple dining experiences with us. However, we would like to look into your last experience further. If you would like, please email us...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here with friends visiting from the USA. Had a great evening. It’s a welcoming, if minimalistic layout overlooking the river. Multiple seafood dishes and some steaks for carnivores. A nice though not outstanding seared tuna followed by an absolutely outstanding spaghetti in a...More

Thank MikeFB
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Mike, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience with us and hope you've enjoyed your stay in Melbourne so far. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again. Thanks, The...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Disappointed that only 2 types of Oysters are available. We ordered 48 Oysters on a Monday $2 night. When the bill arrived we were charged $4.50 per oyster. We complained and was told the Manager needed to deal with it. After a good wait a...More

Thank Carol H
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Carol, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your experience, we believe every customer deserves a truly exceptional ocean to plate experience and therefore would like the opportunity to investigate yours further. Could...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dinner by Heston Blumenthal
849 reviews
.05 km away
Rockpool Bar & Grill
1,602 reviews
.15 km away
Spice Temple
1,038 reviews
.10 km away
Conservatory
858 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Immigration Museum
1,216 reviews
.36 km away
Sea Life Melbourne Aquarium
3,183 reviews
.20 km away
Galactic Circus
102 reviews
.13 km away
Speakeasy HQ
31 reviews
.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Demons63
July 25, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Vicki R | Reviewed this property |
I cannot speak about their food, but the basement bar is good. I understand your concern, if you aren't on a budget book No.8 for dinner. Expensive, but unsurpassable.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Monday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tenency 18 &19, Crown Entertainment Complex | 8 Whiteman Street Southbank 3006, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Melbourne>  > Southbank
  • Neighborhood: Southbank
  • Phone Number: +61 3 9698 8888
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing