We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$11 - US$36
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Australian
Special Diets
Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
97
78
50
27
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
97
78
50
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak ceviche barramundi fine dining bad service
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 10 December 2019 via mobile

After being told by friends about his good the Cove is, my wife and I celebrated her birthday there along with our daughter and her partner. Unfortunately it was a night to remember for all the wrong reasons. The service was very slow and seemed...quite chaotic despite the restaurant not being particularly full. But it was the food that was the real disappointment. Being a steak house, I ordered a Wagyu steak - medium. When it came out, it was past well done. After complaining to the wait staff, they took it away and said another steak would be cooked for me. This meant I would receive my main course after everyone else had finished. Meanwhile our daughter ordered oysters as a entree and at $2 each they were ridiculously small. My wife ordered risotto for her main, and she described it as just plain weird in terms of flavour combination. Our daughter ordered Barra for her main, and it went beyond weird. Bond of us could actually work out what on the plate was the actual fish. Then my second steak arrived, and it was bordering on raw, and was about the most horrible piece of wagyu I have ever had, of fir that matter any piece of steak. It was full of sinew and fat. When the waiter came around to ask how our meal was, and I told him about my steak, and showed him the remnants on my plate that was inedible, he got visibly upset and walked away. They didn’t charge for my meal, but honestly the entire experience was terrible, and do there is no way we will bd going back. If a restaurant cannot cook its signature dish properly, they need to have a serious look at the quality of their chefs!More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
MindilBeachCR, Manager at Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2019

Dear Shane, Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback. We understand that we have failed to meet your expectations during this particular visit and we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused. While we wish you had a better experience, it is...More

Reviewed 3 December 2019 via mobile

We were just not expecting this outstanding fine dining restaurant experience in Darwin. Tried it the first night then when back again on the second night. Firstly, it has an excellent menu with the right balance of variety, most of which has a touch of...flavors from the Territory. The prices are very fair for the quality. Loved the sublime barramundi ceviche done with gin. Great steak menus with some unusual sauces and butters to choose from. The duck was a succulent fusion of east and west. The beef ribs were very special with an abundance of flavor and richness. We were just blown away by the quality of the food and the service. Chef Jason is very talented and super friendly. He kindly shared some of his culinary techniques with us. To top it off, there was international flare with a french host and sommelier called Stephan who trained with the best in Lyon. He is also easy to talk with and really knows his wines. Great wine choices too. All of this.... in Darwin. Hard to believe but thoroughly recommended.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
MindilBeachCR, Manager at Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2019

Dear Diner, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great and detailed review. We are glad to hear of your pleasant dining experience and that we had exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your kind words and thank you for recommending us to...More

Reviewed 2 December 2019 via mobile

We came for our anniversary dinner, looked at the menu, shockingly very pricey, the previous menu is pricey as well but there’s more you get out of it. We ordered barramundi, it’s lovely but really small portion for $36, my partner ordered wagyu rump, which...was nicely cooked. The staff looked very busy and didn’t check on us at all, didn’t offer for more drinks. We finished our meal, 15 mins later, the waitress just said “hi” and cleared the plate and just left without asking if we want anything else. So we waited and she gave us dessert menu. Again, 15 mins later no one came to our table. After long decision, we decided to leave to get dessert and drinks somewhere else. We came up to the counter to pay, the manager looked on us and just ignored us and he went somewhere and came back. Asked if everything okay while looking at tables. we said “uhmmm it’s okay”: And he didn’t even ask what happened or whatsoever. I’m really disappointed with the service, it used to be good when the other manager was there, even food was more affordable and more options. U pay really expensive food and service is 0? I hope they will improveMore

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
MindilBeachCR, Manager at Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2019

Dear Diner, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Cove. Your experience is certainly not to the high level we strive to provide and your feedback has been provided to the service team. It is feedback like this that we...More

Reviewed 22 November 2019 via mobile

I’d heard consistent excellent comments about the Coves fine dining, so although I don’t gamble I thought I’d give it a try. Was not disappointed. There’s indoor and poolside dining options, attentive service, a thoughtfully made menu - my entree, main and dessert were exquisite....Definitely keeping in mind for upcoming get-togethers.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
MindilBeachCR, Manager at Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2019

Dear Diner, Thank you for taking the time to share such great feedback. We are pleased that everything met your expectations. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Mindil Beach Casino Resort

Reviewed 10 November 2019

After hearing a number of good reports about the Cove, we chose it for my wife’s birthday. What a disappointment. The first thing we noticed was the terrible service. The staff were friendly but they seemed very disorganised. For the first 30 to 45 minutes...after we arrived there were less than 20 people in the restaurant, yet it took ages to attract the attention of staff to place our orders, and it only got worse as more people arrived. There were also constant mistakes made with our drink and food orders. But the food was the real issue. For entree 2 of the 4 people at out table shared some oysters that cost $3.50 each and were ridiculously small. But then the mains; my daughter ordered the barramundi which apart from being ridiculously small in size, it was very hard to actually work out what was the fish. My wife ordered the risotto, which she said was just plain weird in regards to the flavour. I ordered the Wagyu rump (medium) and received a piece of cremated meat. Well done was an understatement. I complained and they took it away and said the chef would quickly cook another steak. This meant that everyone else had finished their meal by the time my new meal arrived. When it did arrive, one look told me it wasn’t good. It was barely crusted on the outside and practically raw inside. Plus the meat was extremely tough and full of sinew. As absolutely bloody horrible! When the waiter asked me how my second steak was, and I told him the truth, he looked less than impressed. We were not charged for my meal but it did not make up for what was overall a pretty bad experience. Its inexcusable for a restaurant that advertises itself as a steakhouse, not to be able to cook a steak properly, not once but twice. We will never go back.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
MindilBeachCR, Manager at Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2019

Dear Shane, Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback. We understand that we have failed to meet your expectations during this particular visit and we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused. While we wish you had a better experience, it is...More

Reviewed 3 November 2019

The Cove is setting the standard in Darwin, fine dining and its succeeding, excellent professional yet friendly service and sensational food. We had a great night in a good atmosphere, the steak we had was 10 out of 10, cooked exactly how we liked it...and we had our own style. Food is presented in a unique way and will be going back.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
MindilBeachCR, Manager at Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2019

Dear Diner, Thank you for taking the time to share such lovely feedback. We are thrilled that everything met your expectations. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Mindil Beach Casino Resort

Reviewed 31 October 2019

I can't remember when I have had such a spectacular meal like this one. The steak melted in your mouth & so tasty. Stefan is an amazing host. Lucky for the Cove to have this man. If I did now, it's ok!! Jaeneen & Paul

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
MindilBeachCR, Manager at Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2019

Dear Jaeneen & Paul, Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad you had such an amazing experience dining in Cove. We have passed on your lovely feedback about Stefan and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Mindil Beach Casino Resort

Reviewed 24 October 2019 via mobile

Had the most lovely meal at this restaurant last night. The setting was beautiful and a lovely relaxing ambience sitting outside on the deck overlooking the pool. Service was superb - attentive but not intrusive and food was outstanding. We had the tuna to start...which was to perfection, followed by steak and I had the risotto. Highly recommend this placeMore

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
MindilBeachCR, Manager at Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Dear Diner, Thank you for your lovely review and for recommending us to other diners. Our team will be delighted to hear the great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Mindil Beach Casino Resrot

Reviewed 7 October 2019

Went there Saturday night, I had Barra wife had steak. Steak was over cooked and dry. Service OK the Barra was ok.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
MindilBeachCR, Manager at Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We regret the steak was not up to standard and we have passed on your feedback to the Chefs. We are pleased everything else met your expectations and we hope to see you again soon....More

Reviewed 26 September 2019

The service was great but the char grilled steaks we ordered and looked forward to did not meet our expectations. I’m not sure what they call “ Char Grill “ but all the chargrills I’ve had were cooked over coals and get that dark outside...crust and has a beautiful Smokey flavor. This was not the case. If I didn’t know better I would think it was cooked on a griddle pan. The steak was nice but nothing spectacular considering the price. What a shame we so looked forward to it. The view of the pool was excellent and trio of ice cream was yum.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
MindilBeachCR, Manager at Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2019

Dear Diner, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Cove. We are pleased you found the service was great but regret your food did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as it is will allow us to develop our product offerings, and...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mindil Beach Casino Resort
993 reviews
.10 km away
Cullen Bay Resorts
219 reviews
.71 km away
Frontier Hotel Darwin
159 reviews
1.00 km away
Vitina Studio Motel
200 reviews
1.05 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Yots Greek Taverna
561 reviews
1.00 km away
Damasquino Restaurant
62 reviews
1.03 km away
Darwin Laksa Mindil Beach
77 reviews
.24 km away
Seafood On Cullen
730 reviews
.98 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory
3,418 reviews
1.08 km away
Mindil Beach
3,853 reviews
.59 km away
Cuta Cuta Cave
11 reviews
1.10 km away
Mindil Beach Markets
779 reviews
.21 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kym v
25 March 2017|
Answer
Response from SCDManager | Property representative |
Good morning Kim, At this stage Cove is not open for breakfast. Due to increasing demand we are looking to extend the Cove offering to breakfast for the dry season. Sincerely SKYCITY Darwin
0
Votes
Julie P
4 March 2017|
Answer
Response from SCDManager | Property representative |
Hi Julie Thank you for your question. Cove isn't open for breakfast but The Vue has brunch available on Sunday. Thank you SKYCITY Darwin
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cove

Cove is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4