We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stokesley Fish & Chips

6 High Street, Stokesley TS9 5DQ, England
+44 1642 710435
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good23%
  • Average5%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“fish chips” (10 reviews)
“tartare” (3 reviews)
“bread” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Fast Food, British, Seafood
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6 High Street, Stokesley TS9 5DQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

No comparison whatsoever !!! We were in Stokesley last Thursday to meet some people arriving from a coach trip so decided we would buy fish and chips to take home. We ordered two regular cod and one portion of chips with scraps so when we...More

Thank Frankmag
SQUIBS1963, Owner at Stokesley Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou for taking the time to write the review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your fish and chips. We are a family run business that takes pride in our food and service. Reviews such as the 'pork pie' one are hurtful to us...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not been here for many years. Last time it was an old traditional fish & chip shop. Now an American themed diner. I know it's a chippy but went for the all day breakfast. My wife the cheese and bacon burger and our little girl...More

Thank Nigel G
SQUIBS1963, Manager at Stokesley Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou for the review - glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I felt quite sorry for the girls working in there as it was far too hot. The customers had to stand at the door way to get some fresh air. The owner should be able to put some air conditioning in there. Even the customers...More

Thank wesleydagg
SQUIBS1963, Owner at Stokesley Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou for the review. Yes it is very hot everywhere at the moment. We do have an air conditioning unit installed for the staff - you can't see it from the customer side though- we installed it, along with underfloor heating etc., 5 years ago...More

Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Really nice English Heritage property with wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. The fabric of the castle has been nicely preserved in a basic condition rather than massively done up. The hand held audio guides, which are free, are very good and tell the story...More

1  Thank Gumbo125
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Although this is an iconic fish and chip shop that i used to visit as a child 30 years ago, its not as nice as all those years ago, ( although i still do visit) fish a little greasy chips nice though.More

Thank Mike R
SQUIBS1963, Owner at Stokesley Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello and thankyou for the review. I did message you asking for some more information regarding your visit to our shop but never received a reply. If your fish was greasy I can only think the problem was that it was not allowed to drain...More

Reviewed 7 July 2018

Really bad fish & chips . Rude staff . Fish very greasy and tasteless . Go to the butchers and have a pork pie instead ( very good )More

Thank 672jack
SQUIBS1963, Owner at Stokesley Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I have messaged you, in an effort to find out what issues you had when you visited our shop, but received no response. We pride ourselves on serving good quality fish and chips however we have learnt that sometimes they are not to everyone's liking....More

Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Not the best chips are greasy fish tasteless I would rather drive somewhere else than stop again hereMore

Thank Prefer Homes S
SQUIBS1963, Owner at Stokesley Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi I messaged you to ask about your visit to our shop but haven't had a reply. I can only apologise if our fish and chips are not to your liking. We cook in vegetable oil so the chips shouldn't be greasy unless they were...More

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

I have celiac disease so wasn't expecting a great deal. Possibly some chips and maybe an unbattered fish cooked in a microwave. How wrong was I. They have a good selection of gluten free food on the menu. I absolutely love it.

Thank graham t
SQUIBS1963, Owner at Stokesley Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thankyou for the review Graham. Pleased you enjoyed your visit. We have made sure we can cater quite well for coeliac disease and it looks like we didn't disappoint. See you again soon.

Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Been coming here for years on my visits to the North East and was somewhat surprised to see it had been revamped into an American style diner (sort of, the takeaway part is still a chip shop). Fortunately the food was still great, excellent chips...More

Thank Geoff P
SQUIBS1963, Owner at Stokesley Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thankyou for the review - yes the premises have changed a little over the past few years! Glad you still enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 17 April 2018

we came here a few days ago we all loved the atmosphere,people and gorgeous food would highly recomend

1  Thank simon b
SQUIBS1963, Owner at Stokesley Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you again very soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
375 reviews
.05 km away
Wainstones Hotel
255 reviews
3.11 km away
The Treebridge Hotel
373 reviews
4.08 km away
Blue Bell Hotel
75 reviews
7.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bexters Tea Room
100 reviews
.15 km away
The Mill
422 reviews
.26 km away
Uno Momento
466 reviews
.07 km away
Y'Thai
235 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
The White Swan
61 reviews
.36 km away
Captain Cook Schoolroom Museum
44 reviews
4.23 km away
Roseberry Topping
600 reviews
6.75 km away
Whorlton Castle
19 reviews
7.44 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Stokesley Fish & Chips staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$11
Meals
Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 High Street, Stokesley TS9 5DQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Stokesley
  • Phone Number: +44 1642 710435
  • E-mail
Description
1950'S American Diner themed fish and chip shop and restaurant. Also serving Burgers, Hot Dogs, Ice Creams, Coffee and Cakes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing