We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$16 - US$42
CUISINES
Seafood, Steakhouse
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
154
39
45
45
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
154
39
45
45
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews triple cooked chips steak french onion soup calamari prawn cocktail chocolate mousse scotch egg starters and desserts welsh rarebit sunday roast clifton hotel best western hotel cooked to perfection blue cheese great wine course menu set menu
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had been meaning to visit, since we first went two years ago when the service wasn’t as good. Upon arrival we was told the table wasn’t quite ready and so went to the adjacent bar area for a pre dinner drink, (which was very busy)....Within a few minutes; we were collected as our table was now ready, and we were seated and given menus. We both opted for starters (prawn cocktail and the scotch egg), both were very good Another round of drinks (good attentive service by the staff), and then into the fillet steak main courses and sides (cooked perfectly). We requested another round of drinks and the dessert menus; the drinks arrived but the dessert menus never did, (after a reasonable wait we decided to settle the bill and leave instead) Service was generally very good, (big improvement since previous visit). Again, food was very good (pity about the dessert menus) All in all, a pleasant visit.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had gone for lunch. Food is good.. But service is very poor. Our waiter didn’t wear a mask. It was an hour between starter and being served our mains. Few waiters all being rushed of their feet. For a special lunch it was anything...but special. Your poster said Marco Pierre white made Gordon Ramsay cry. He made me cry too.- very disappointed.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
David, General Manager at Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear carlap746 Thank you for reaching out to us at MPW Steakhouse Bar and Grill, Folkestone. I can only apologise for the disappointing dining experience you had the other day. Indeed it was a busy service and we did have few issues with waits on...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Totally incompenant staff that show less professionalism than a McDonald's worker. Worst than a low end restaurant. Blandest of non tasty food, absolutely diabolical. My friend who is a decent chef was as annoyed as myself. They couldn't even bring the right steaks and when...they did they got the order wrong, then took it away and when they came back didn't bring any cutlery back. We left and found a much better place. Used to go a lot a few years ago but the place has totally lost it.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
David, General Manager at Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 380milesp Thank you for reaching out to us at MPW Steakhouse Bar and Grill, Folkestone. I am sorry to hear that your experience at MPW Steakhouse Bar and Grill did not meet up to your expectations, and can only apologise for the food and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had two good meals here. I believe they were turning diners away (24th August 8pm) but were accommodating guests staying in the hotel. The restaurant looked to be 60% full. So best to book if you’re not a guest. Staff were very attentive.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

My Aunt booked us in for the sunday dinner deal. We had 3 courses. It was worth every penny. The main Sunday Roast which I chose beef was outstanding. The Beef, Yorkshire pudding and Roasties were delicious. All the staff were polite and accommodating couldn't...fault any of the service. The only reason I havent given the full 5 stars is my cheesecake arrived frozen (I did get it swapped). Deffo recommend this place!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

Ordered food about 12.15, with food arriving an hour later in a quiet restaurant; with just a few tables at that point. Service was sloppy, missing bring a drink, and then got charged for an extra glass of fizz; which we didn't bother having corrected....Food was good. Up market pub feel done poorly. Toilets were adequately clean. but would benefit from a deep clean. We did advise it was my sisters sons 16th birthday at time of booking, with no effort made to acknowledge this. Would we visit again, no.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
David, Manager at Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2021

Good Afternoon Curiosity37172980003 Thank you for reaching out to us at MPW Steakhouse Bar and Grill, Folkestone. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience and we can only apologise for this. As I understand from your comments, you felt...More

Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

Had an amazing time last night celebrating 🍾 Two Birthday occasions with my family..The food was lovely well presented and tasted amazing..Service from all the staff was outstanding from start to finish and at the end they bought out two separate little cakes with with...a Happy Birthday message scrolled in chocolate which I thought was such a lovely gesture!! Thankyou so Much to all the staff that made our evening so special..Can't wait to come back!! 😊More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 August 2021 via mobile

Love this place and the management team. Very welcoming and always happy to go the extra mile. I’m a huge steak fan and my last steak was not so good (small and poor quality ribeye) but a small blip in what has been a consistent...and welcoming experience. Highly recommend but would go for fillet over ribeye next time.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 August 2021

went there last night had ribs and steak and ale pie... the ribs was like something you would get from the cheapest range of a super store and cuck in the microwave and the pie was the same .... Gordon Ramsay needs to go in...there with a baseball batMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
David, Manager at Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Dear Lee John H Thank you for your comments and feedback. I are sorry to hear that your experience at MPW Steakhouse Bar and Grill did not meet up to your expectations, however, I do not agree with your assessment of our food. Our Steak...More

Reviewed 1 August 2021 via mobile

On arriving you are greated by the view of tomorrow morning breakfast buffet/hot plates. A really bizarre entrance. I understand that the space is used for both dinner & breakfast but this was just weird & could be hidden by flowers, plants or screens. The...french onion soup was really good. The scotch eggs had a funny, slightly wet crumb & meat which appeared to not be cooked but was. The Mac & cheese was watery but the taste was good. Three fillet steaks & king prawns ordered. King prawns were perfectly cooked. One steak was incredibly tough. We sent it back & it took ages to be cooked. We had all finished our meals once the replacement steak had been received. Then it had no vet side sauce. When the bill came they had removed 50% of the cost of the steak. The sides that diner had ordered were still on there plus service charge! You then are left complaining again, Why on earth would a business charge for a meal that was tough as old boots & then served after everyone else had finished. It’s a steak house, the steak should be top notch! The atmosphere was a little bizarre too. It was very motel like & not like other MPW restaurants I’ve dined at. My second visit. The first time back when it first opened was worse. The steak was off! I do believe in always trying somewhere twice. But I’d not go here again.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Best Western Clifton Hotel
934 reviews
.01 km away
The Southcliff Hotel
763 reviews
.15 km away
View Hotel Folkestone
517 reviews
.19 km away
The Carlton Hotel
1,040 reviews
.21 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Bouverie Tap
160 reviews
.24 km away
Conchitas
728 reviews
.24 km away
Tavernetta
461 reviews
.06 km away
Shayda's Restaurant
146 reviews
.24 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lower Leas Coastal Park
1,005 reviews
.35 km away
The Leas Promenade
603 reviews
.09 km away
Tudor Lodge Fine Gifts
20 reviews
.35 km away
The Leas Bandstand
74 reviews
.41 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
noonoo27
7 January 2019|
Answer
Response from David C | Reviewed this property |
This is a question for the hotel - thats part of their job. They do have disabled access
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill

Yes, Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5