We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Asha's

Claimed
Reserve a Table
Bookatable

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2017 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Food and ambience

Indian, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal

Location and contact

Sponsored by: Asha's

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Probably The Best!
1. Probably The Best!
"probably the best eating experience I have had"
Darren M
See reviews that mention Probably The Best !
2. The best Indian
2. The best Indian
"This is hands down the best Indian I’ve ever been to."
SophieLouden
See reviews that mention The best Indian
3. Highest Quality
3. Highest Quality
"This is a fantastic venue serving the highest quality Indian food"
TheAndyHall
See reviews that mention curry
About
Opposite the Theatre Royal on Peter Street, Asha’s Manchester occupies one of the city’s finest Victorian palazzo buildings. Inside, elegant interiors and lavish comfort befitting an Indian palace await – a setting worthy of Michelin-listed Indian cuisine. The latest in a global chain of restaurants opened since 2002, the secret behind the success of Asha’s the restaurant is the same as that of Asha the recording artist – authenticity, beautifully refined taste and, above all, love. Respecting tradition and authenticity whilst pushing the boundaries of contemporary cuisine, Asha’s multi award winning formula combines heritage with innovation. Inspired by regional flavours and the culinary traditions
PRICE RANGE
US$19 - US$78
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Indian, Asian
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,003 results
Traveler rating
685
172
93
25
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
685
172
93
25
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poppadoms curry gosht kulfi kebab platter venison rice rogan josh cheesecake pineapple truffle lobster king prawns bread indian restaurant best indian our waiter
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,003 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

The place is very glamorous to make up for the terrible food. Very cheap meat, small portions, small choice and staff that are unable to take criticism.More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Flow-right99
HelenaD1461, General Manager at Asha's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Flow-right99, We sincerely apologise for the poor dining experience you had recently, it's clear you feel very strongly about this. It would be much appreciated if you could please get in contact by emailing reservations@ashasmanchester.co.uk so we can find out what exactly went wrong...More

Restaurant's Favorite
Reviewed 16 December 2018

This was our first time at Ashas, and we after reading reviews, we expected a lot. I really don't think we were at all disappointed! Both my wife and I eat very little, but we opted to try the poppadoms and dips. Poppadoms weren't the...More

Date of visit: December 2018
4  Thank James H
HelenaD1461, General Manager at Asha's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2018

Dear James H, Wow! What fantastic feedback and comments, thank you for this! It's wonderful to see that you and your wife enjoyed your experience at Asha's Manchester and that you will return. Your kind review has been passed onto the team and we look...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Came here on Valentine's night, had a wonderful meal and thoroughly enjoyed the food and service. Managed to get a picture in the love arch they had in reception. Once again well worth the visit, will be back soon

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank walter36A
HelenaD1461, General Manager at Asha's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear walter36A, We are so pleased you had a perfect Valentine's meal and managed to get a picture as well! Thank you for your excellent review and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Helena

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Waited to be seated, drinks order came wrong (twice), were rushed to order mains as the kitchen was closing. Starters were described for sharing and didn’t feed three people (portions for two). Mains lacked flavour and ingredients. Extremely disappointing, didn’t complain as just will not...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank tangledlady
HelenaD1461, General Manager at Asha's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear tangledlady, It's incredibly disappointing to see that you did not enjoy your visit to Asha's, guests are our main priority as they should be. Thank you very much for your feedback which we have taken on board to ensure the issues you outlined do...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second visit to Asha's, the first being over a year ago, and it's just as good. I had the Muscat Gosht which I had last time but found it not spicy enough for me so asked if they could spice it up...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank LambVindaloo
HelenaD1461, General Manager at Asha's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear LambVindaloo, Firstly, what a great name! It's fantastic to see that you enjoyed your second visit to Asha's and that it was just as good as the first time you dined with us. Thank you for your excellent feedback regarding the food, staff and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Just down the road from the Midland hotel and opposite the Raddison Blu (awesome hotel)...Exceptionally well presented, upmarket feel, good service. But the food was very bland despite ordering a Chicken Jalfrezzi, Chilli Garlic Prawns. And the food bill very expensive which I don't mind...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Extensive-Traveller
HelenaD1461, General Manager at Asha's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Extensive-Traveller, We would like to sincerely apologise for the meal you had recently at our restaurant. As you can see from our reviews, the feedback we typically receive is very different to the standard you experienced. We pride ourselves on delivering authentic food of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was really impressive, authentic and served wonderfully. Service was alittleslow but nothing to complain about. The menu is really individual and the food matches the descriptions and pictures. The best curry I have had in a long time.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank AJNW666
HelenaD1461, General Manager at Asha's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear AJNW666, It’s fantastic to see that you thoroughly enjoyed the menu and the food. Thank you for your excellent review and we would be delighted to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Helena

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a really welcoming restaurant, especially if you can bag a table towrads the back upstairs. We quickly decided to have Speciality Kebab as a main, after advice from our waiter. This was a selection of Chilli Garlic King Prawns, Lamb Chops (tender, cooked...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Foodange
HelenaD1461, General Manager at Asha's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Foodange, Thank you for leaving us a great review following your visit in January. We’re honoured you chose our venue for a birthday celebration and apologise if your evening was disrupted by other guests. We do have a downstairs area however it is not...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First visit following a friend’s recommendation. Stylish setting and great service by Millie. Cocktails came well presented topped off with a violet - but then most things arrived with a violet. Even the water for the table was served with cucumber to add a different...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank donnaheyes
HelenaD1461, General Manager at Asha's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear donnaheyes, It’s brilliant that you made use of the 40% discount in January and enjoyed your vegetarian curry. We have a selection of different menus available that vary in prices and it would be great to welcome you back at Asha’s for some more...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stumbled across this in passing to go to a different restaurant but liked the look of the place so went inside. Thankfully they could accommodate us without a reservation but it was a Monday so we were probably just lucky. The unique menu and...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank bonnieo229
HelenaD1461, General Manager at Asha's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear bonnieo229, We are so thrilled you stumbled past Asha’s and chose to dine with us! Thank you for your kind and complimentary comments, it’s great to see which dishes you had and your feedback on them. We hope you return soon and look forward...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 122 nearby hotels
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
6,475 reviews
.05 km away
The Midland
5,942 reviews
.11 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
2,156 reviews
.17 km away
Princess St. Hotel
2,979 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,720 nearby restaurants
Peter Street Kitchen
185 reviews
.06 km away
Rudy's Neapolitan Pizza - Peter Street
184 reviews
.01 km away
Brewdog Manchester
642 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 656 nearby attractions
Manchester Central Library
1,015 reviews
.11 km away
Albert Square
517 reviews
.18 km away
Manchester Central
199 reviews
.12 km away
Manchester235 Casino
256 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
BIGSUJ
21 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HelenaD1461 | Property representative |
Hi BIGSUJ The chicken and the lamb on our menu is halal . We don't serve beef . We serve venison, duck and guinea fowl also but these are not halal . I hope this helps . Thanks Asha's
1
Vote
RasheedsHuddersfield
22 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Willo21 | Reviewed this property |
There is no dress code, but formal attire is ok and nobody would think that you were over dressed.
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing