We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roly's Bistro

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: This restaurant is only available for takeout or delivery at this time.
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 02/03
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
About
Roly's Bistro opened in Dublin in November 1992 and quickly became one of the city's busiest and best loved restaurants. Its reasonably-priced menu and wine list together with a casual, light-hearted atmosphere made it an instant hit with everybody from romantic couples to families, from business executives to local and visiting celebrities. Today, a team of 27 chefs serve freshly-cooked food to over three thousand people a week without compromising on quality and standards. Fresh heated bread is baked daily in the bakery.
PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$51
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
French, Irish, European
FEATURES
Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (2,675)
Filter reviews
2,577 results
Traveler rating
1,480
656
239
126
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
1,480
656
239
126
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb pie kerry lamb prawn bisque dublin bay prawns fish cakes bread salad top class take away rolys ballsbridge rds courses voucher buzz ireland
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 11 January 2021

Even during the restrictions the quality of food and service is exceptional. As a regular before the restrictions delighted that Rolys continues to deliver super experience not just through the exceptional food but also through the friendliness of their staff. Thank you.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 September 2020

Really enjoyed lunch the other day in the lovely bright big upstairs dining room. Great value. This is not cutting edge stuff but great reliable good dining every time!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
ballsbridge7, Owner at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2020

Thank you dublindweller2015 , Very good to read that you enjoyed your lunch, Best from Ballsbridge, Paul Cartwright

Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

I’ve been going to Roly’s with my parents since I was a child, so my Hubby decided to treat me for my 40th Birthday. Everything was fantastic as always, both food and service were excellent. I was annoyed however when we were paying, when enquiring...if the 10% service charge went to the staff, our server seemed uncomfortable and didn’t want to say. I asked for it to be removed and left cash instead. During these uncertain times especially with restaurants having been closed for so long, I find it unacceptable for restaurants to withhold gratuities from the staff.... my other question is, what are they doing with them?More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
ballsbridge7, Owner at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2020

Thank you for your review Kathryn M. Please be assured that the Service Charge at Roly's is distributed 100% to staff. Very good to read that you enjoyed your dinner and Happy Birthday. Do not hesitate to ask for me personally when next at Roly's....More

Reviewed 30 August 2020 via mobile

Food was excellent and we were all delighted with our delicious starters and main courses and it would definitely deserve 5** but the service was very poor and we were also charged the 10% service charge twice on our bill. When brought to the attention...of staff we were refunded but it was disappointing as this is a very good restaurant which we have enjoyed many times and on previous occasions the service was excellent.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
ballsbridge7, Owner at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2020

Thank you Fiona R, We will certainly investigate that immediately. Less that efficient, friendly and professional service is not acceptable. A bill should be meticulously checked before presentation, our most genuine apologies. Please would you email me directly on paul@rolysbistro.ie , I assure you we...More

Reviewed 24 August 2020

Great food, nice buzz and friendly attentive staff . You get what you pay for at Roly's ! Nice place for a family reunion meal and everyone really enjoyed it !

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
ballsbridge7, Owner at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Thank you Jack M, Great you all enjoyed. Meals out are precious in these times and we are very pleased indeed that all went well. Paul Cartwright & Team Roly's

Reviewed 24 August 2020

There last Thursday ... celebrating a special birthday ... staff couldn’t have been nicer and food delicious ... finished off by the most amazing Malteesers cake! While the staff were under pressure in trying to abide by the covid rules they couldn’t have been more...polite and courteous about it. We have a wonderful evening ... hear it’s also great for breakfast ... will defo be back!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
ballsbridge7, Owner at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2020

Thank you Sinead D, Great you enjoyed. Again, Happy Birthday from all at Roly's #staysafe

Reviewed 17 August 2020

I live nearby and would purchase their takeaway meals regularly but now I've given up. In two years they have never changed the selection and the variety is poor. Please Rolys try and vary them as my neighbours have said the same.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?3  
ballsbridge7, Owner at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2020

Thank you Nebh1975, We value your most helpful comment about our selection of Take-Away meals - we will set about addressing that. Be certain we have taken good note. Paul Cartwright, Chef de Cuisine

Reviewed 9 August 2020 via mobile

I was looking forward to going to Rolys for a long time. Went last night & I'm very disappointed. The starter; a prawn ravioli, was over done & tasteless. My partner ordered a medium fillet which was very very rare. I had a starter, we...both had a main & shared a dessert. We were forgotten about on each occasion and I had to remind the staff that we were there. There is a 10% service charge built into the price, service I had to remind them to provide. On reflection, Rolys is a very tired restaurant and I won't be back. I can get better food and service elsewhere.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
ballsbridge7, Owner at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2020

Thank you for your review 621simonc We are most concerned at your poor experience. Please accept our most sincere apologies. The failings you experienced are quite simply unacceptable and far from the standards we set for Roly's. Please email to my personal attention on ireland@rolysbistro.ie...More

Reviewed 20 July 2020 via mobile

We had a delicious lunch in the Cafe downstairs. Angela served us, and was an absolute pro given it transpired it was her first day back after 4 months! She was so accommodating, and we were a tricky bunch, tweaking the menu here and there......sorry! The food was perfect - we all really enjoyed it. They offered both the brunch and lunch menus, which meant that everyone got what they wanted. It’s not easy adapting to the new guidelines, but Angela pulled it off with aplomb. My wrap with mozzarella, tomato and pesto was really tasty and the ingredients were fresh and plentiful. Mushroom soup, a veggie korma, a “fry” and a tandoori chicken wrap were all literally devoured - plates were scraped clean. Desserts to take-away were the perfect finishing touch. Thank you Angela, and well done Roly’s Cafe for doing so well during an undoubtedly very stressful timeMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 17 July 2020

Roly’s is a fantastic restaurant famous to is Dubs. This was our first meal out after the Covd-19 lockdown and it did not disappoint. A few tiny little bits and pieces but nothing to complain about. They are catering brilliantly with social distancing. Staff lovely...too. Oh and the food just delicious.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
ballsbridge7, Owner at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2020

Thank you for the review, Rolane A, We shall share your kind words with all the team. Pleased that you found our social distancing satisfactory. Best from all at Roly's, Paul Cartwright , Chef de Cuisine and Director

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Herbert Park Hotel and Park Residence
3,134 reviews
.14 km away
Ballsbridge Hotel
2,998 reviews
.33 km away
Ariel House
1,895 reviews
.51 km away
InterContinental Dublin
2,525 reviews
.52 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Bridge 1859
578 reviews
.04 km away
Baan Thai Ballsbridge
429 reviews
.15 km away
Girl and the Goose Restaurant
302 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Aviva Stadium
1,144 reviews
.65 km away
National Print Museum
86 reviews
.65 km away
The O'Connell Monument
223 reviews
.79 km away
Herbert Park
30 reviews
.22 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Egle R
6 March 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ballsbridge7 | Property representative |
Thank you Egle R, Very good of you to get in touch - this is one of our usual salads on the salad bar. Do pop in when next nearby and we will be happy to replace. We respect of course individual tastes and if the pasta... More
0
Votes
Thomas E
15 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from X1291BJphilipl | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do
1
Vote
Patricia M
25 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from 407timc | Reviewed this property |
Some restaurants do this and staff don't get much of a say in the practice. Not many people are aware however that the service charge is discretionary and you do not have to pay it. In the past I have asked for it to be... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing