The Garden Room

The Garden Room

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+353 1 603 0608+ Add website
Hours
Sun
7:00 AM - 11:00 AM1:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Mon
7:00 AM - 10:30 AM12:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Tue
7:00 AM - 10:30 AM12:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Wed
7:00 AM - 10:30 AM12:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Thu
7:00 AM - 10:30 AM12:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Fri
7:00 AM - 10:30 AM12:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Sat
7:00 AM - 11:00 AM1:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Improve this listing
Does this restaurant have a full bar?
About
Welcome to The Garden Room, here's something new, something different. A fresh idea for a restaurant: A less formal affair by a formal garden, a relaxed experience in The Merrion Hotel. The Garden Room is open all day - for breakfast, lunch, or dinner, alone or with friends, family or colleagues. Welcome to The Garden Room and to something different.
PRICE RANGE
₱1,584.00 – ₱3,168.00
CUISINES
Irish, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles355 reviews
Excellent
281
Very good
28
Average
30
Poor
14
Terrible
3
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Lance P
Great Malvern972 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
The Garden Room is used for Breakfast and Evening Meals for Guests of The Merrion Hotel though open for booking to non residents. The garden is a bit cold for eating outside this time of year though there is a lovely view from most tables due to huge floor to ceiling glass windows along one side of the room. Food and service is first class as standard. Dress code is smart casual due to the standing of the hotel. Highly recommended
Written February 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin
Dear Lance P Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit and experience of our Garden Room Restaurant. I must really compliment your thorough feedback and the way you have explained everything in such detail. I was delighted to read your generous comments about the food and the service you received. It really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys their stay as much as you did. I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at The Merrion Hotel. Yours sincerely, Heikki McEvoy, Garden Room Manager
Written February 6, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anna
23 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 friends
I had the most amazing long lunch in this gorgeous Restaurant ever! The food was unbelieveably delicious, the service never disappoints and their kind members of the Staff made me and my guest feel very special and very welcomed. The Restaurant itself is such a stunning place, so well-designed and always filled by lovely guests. I fully recommend this amazing place for special occassions.
Written July 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin
Dear Anna, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The Merrion and for taking the time to share your experience. I will share your kind words with all the team here which I am sure they will take great pride in reading and be encouraged by. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and for choosing The Merrion for your special occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Conor Shaw Director of Guest Relations
Written July 25, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ajerseybear
Dublin353 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 none
Treated ourselves and mother in law to lunch. Entrance through the Merrion Hotel,Chand sanitisers frequently positioned throughout or walk to the Garden Room. Bright and airy feel to the space with large windows facing out onto the interior courtyard. All staff wearing perspex face coverings making it easy to communicate and enjoy their smiling and happy demeanor. Delicious menu and delicious food. Lovely chicken and vegetable broth for myself and partner enjoyed prawns in a tempura like batter. Mains, I had fish & chips, partner had lamb (which he said was the best he'd tasted in a long time) and mother in law enjoyed the plaice. Couple of desserts, coffee and some bubbles to wash it all down with. Restaurant was busy, all things considered post lockdown. A lovely afternoon. Polite, courteous staff, left us feeling relaxed and able to enjoy our afternoon.
Written July 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin
Dear Guest, Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for joining us in The Garden Room on Sunday. It is wonderful to be back welcoming guests again. We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit in The Garden Room. I have shared your wonderful comments with all the team here who join me in thanking you. Our kitchen team in particular was delighted to hear you have enjoyed all of the food (especially the lamb). I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon. Yours sincerely, Conor Shaw Guest Relations
Written July 8, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

John S
Dublin32 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
Dinner 8pm; lovely room and surroundings, excellent, friendly staff. The bread is first class! But these are the only positives. We were minded to try the specials; the mains being pork chop or cod. The cod was off (even though the place was almost empty) and I took what I was told was the very last chop left - no kidding. My Caesar salad starter was nothing like the (what could be simpler?!) classic but featured whole leaves, croutons the size of peanuts and a distinctly sweet brown sauce. My companion’s seafood starter was OK. The mains went further downhill. He had what was described as rack of lamb (€36) but what emerged as a very uninteresting and dry piece of meat. My chop was a modest size, very slightly overcooked. Both of us got the scattering of woefully overcooked vegetable specimens arranged with the usual blobs of sauce in a tableaux that looked an awful lot better than it tasted. Each of us had a dinky little pan with three overcooked (again!) watery baby potatoes nestling inside like starling’s eggs. We skipped desserts - we could not risk even further disappointment.
Written March 5, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin
Dear Paul S, Thank you for your review following your visit to our Garden Room Restaurant. My colleagues and I were extremely disappointed to read your comments regarding the food and your overall experience. Please allow us the opportunity to follow up thoroughly on your feedback by contacting me directly on mpramuka@merrionhotel.com so I can address those concerns in more detail. I sincerely apologise and I hope to hear from you very soon. Best regards, Martin Pramuka Assistant Food & Beverage Manager
Written March 6, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Samsam48
Aberdeen67 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 none
Beautifull surroundings and decor with a very fresh look. Service first class. But and this is a big But. The prices they are charging does not relate to the quality being offered. For the prices they are charging food should be of a much higher standard or lower the prices being charged to reflect the fare. There are far to many restaurants serving better food at cheaper prices. Decor and service is only worth so much.
Written January 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin
Dear Samsam48, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit to The Garden Room Restaurant. While I note that you review is positive overall, I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding the food/ or its value. I thank you for your honest feedback as it provides us with a chance to improve and learn how to enhance our guest’s experience. I do hope that this will not deter you from returning to The Merrion, and I would appreciate if you could contact me directly on your next visit so that I can ensure your experience is seamless, and up to the high standards we aim to provide.. Kind regards, Martin Pramuka Assistant Food & Beverage Manager
Written January 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

maire_10
Dublin138 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
We had a lovely family dinner here recently. The restaurant is very comfortable and the service was excellent. There is a wide choice on the menu to suit all tastes. The presentation of the food is excellent and there is great attention to detail. The seating is very comfortable ,the room is tastefully decorated.The smoked gubbeen starter was particularly nice , the main courses were all lovely and the desserts were as pretty as a picture...and tasted good too.
Written February 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin
Dear maire_10, Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit in The Garden Room. I have shared your wonderful comments with all the team here who join me in thanking you. Our kitchen team in particular was delighted to hear you have enjoyed all of the food. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon. Yours sincerely, Heikki McEvoy, Garden Room Manager
Written February 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

roddy v
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 none
Had dinner in the Garden Room last night for my wife's birthday with 3 friends. having never been to the hotel before, i was unaware as to what it would be like only its reputation as a 5 star hotel. Firstly the food was fine, nothing special, food i would expect in a hotel, secondly the restaurant itself, i believe was built/renovated over the last couple of years, its fine for a hotel, no great atmosphere, but nothing particulary wrong. Finally the service, firstly the waiter came to the table while 2 member of the party we using the bathroom looking to take the food order???? (with people missing), then made a smart comment when the people came back. I ordered the duck, again was fine, but the knife supplied could not cut it and had to ask for a steak knife, much to the waiters annoyance, finally ordered desert and coffee, only desert arrived, having waited 10 min for the coffee we called over the waiter who claimed we never order any coffee, even though he wrote it down. All in all very average place to eat, there are so many better places within walking distance and much better value
Written March 6, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit to The Garden Room Restaurant. While I note that you review is positive overall, I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding the service shortcomings you experienced. I thank you for your honest feedback as it provides us with a chance to improve and learn how to enhance our guest’s experience. I do hope that this will not deter you from returning to The Merrion, and I would appreciate if you could contact me directly on your next visit so that I can ensure your experience is seamless, and up to the high standards we aim to provide. Kind regards, Martin Pramuka Assistant Food & Beverage Manager
Written March 13, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

dbyrne107
Portland43 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 couples
I have dined at the Garden Room several times and have given them a 5 star rating. Sadly after lunch this weekend, I feel obligate to revised my assessment and down grade my rating to a 3 star, at best. There has been a complete deterioration of the service and quality of the food expected from this high end restaurant residing in the Merrion Hotel. Management can only be at fault lowering their standards while maintaining their prices, Specifically, my lamb was over cooked and tough. Roast turkey special looked like processed meat and fish scampi was more scampi than fish. We all had the Christmas pudding … don’t bother M&S has better. The staff was average, non engaging with no attention to detail with the exception of asking for the table back within 15 minutes when they present themselves as all day dining. Management needs to get back on the ball. There are several alternatives to the Garden Room in Dublin for fine dining and you will slowly lose loyal customers. I will not return for awhile and I will read the reviews before contemplating to do so.
Written December 3, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

DKLDJKCK
Dublin8 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 family
Lovely setting, but dreadful food . The “special “ was a large dollop of pasta and crab, aesthetically stomach churning and tasted awful accompanied by cold planchette broccoli . The venison ? Over cooked, chewy and tasteless. The chocolate fondant ? Burnt on the outside , heavy and stodgy! …. and the birthday plate cakes were cold, chewy and stodgy. The staff didn’t really seem to care. This was meant to be a special evening celebrating two milestone birthdays…. It’s was dreadful. Never again.
Written October 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your visit to our Garden Room Restaurant. My colleagues and I were extremely disappointed to read your comments regarding the food and your overall experience. Please allow us the opportunity to follow up thoroughly on your feedback by contacting me directly on mpramuka@merrionhotel.com so I can address those concerns in more detail. I sincerely apologise and I hope to hear from you very soon. Best regards, Martin Pramuka Assistant Food & Beverage Manager
Written October 25, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

John H
Crowthorne28 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 family
I recently hosted a surprise birthday lunch for my brother in law having previously enjoyed a successful lunch for twelve guests in the Garden Room restaurant. Sadly I have to report a very poor experience. Mondays are often a difficult time for restaurants but expected the Merrion to be a safe bet. The quality of the food ordered was so poor it had to be reviewed by the chef and replaced as the steak was inedible and the rack of lamb equally disappointing. Considering it was a special event planned and booked well in advance I had high expectations. Quality control measures in the kitchen appear to be non existent and should be reviewed to avoid recurrent failures. The wonderful ambience and excellent attention provided by the waitresses salvaged an otherwise embarrassing situation.
Written February 28, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin
Dear Guest Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us. Needless to say, I was very disappointed to read your comments about the main courses and the overall experience of our Garden Room Restaurant. We take all feedback seriously and I can assure you that all the points raised have been shared with our Garden Room team and the kitchen team. Once again, I want to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We are continually striving to improve on our guest experience, the products and the services we offer and your feedback is vital to maintain this. I sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future and restore your faith in The Merrion. Should you wish to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at mpramuka@merrionhotel.com Kindest regards Martin Pramuka Assistant Food & Beverage Manager
Written March 5, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ajerseybear
Dublin353 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 none
Realised that we had some credit left on our one4all vouchers and after a busy day decided to dine here. Great menu, so many delicious courses very ahrd to decide. I started with Goats Cheese mousse followed by Turbot. Significant other had tempura Prawns and Beef. Enjoying a bottle of Henriot Rose and a carafe of Malbec and Pouilly Fume. A couple of desserts followed by the obligatory Espresso Martinis. Wonderful service by local girl, nice ambience. Overall a great evening. Would certainly receommend, whilst looking at at least 120euro per couple excluding wine, would be considered at the higher end of dining, but quality and portions were justified. Wine and Champagne selection varied and well priced fo the establishment.
Written October 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed your evening in The Garden Room and your kind words are very much appreciated. I must compliment your detailed feedback and the way you have described all of the dishes you have tried. I will share your lovely feedback with all the team in The Garden Room who join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back once more. Kind regards, Martin Pramuka Assistant Food & Beverage Manager
Written October 11, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David P
Dublin3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 couples
I would like to take the opportunity to respond to the request of placing a review on behalf of my friend and myself after our lunch yesterday (14th February).I have been in the customer service and hospitality industry for 30 years. The staff in The Garden Room couldn't be more pleasant and obliging. The welcome was outstanding from the moment I was met. From Regina to Igor, we were treated impeccably well. However, there are a few pointers I'd like to make you aware of, I feel these comments will be taken on board as you would like to keep up certain standards. One of our food servers Lorenzo was very pleasant and friendly. His appearance unfortunately was slightly dishevelled. He had a dirty flesh coloured plaster on his thumb, which was off putting when placing plates and his uniform shirt was unironed and grubby. He forgot a drink order, which can happen but unfortunately we did not see him after the drink order was placed perhaps due to staff change over. I would expect all staff to be overlooked before their shift starts by a supervisor. Appearances are vital. We were asked how our meal was and I made Regina aware of the Seafood platter which my friend and I shared to be substandard. The prawns and smoked salmon were faultless. Sublime. However the calamari was not. The brown bread and bread rolls to accompany our meal were equally disappointing. Both did not taste fresh and were very hard, this can happen when the bread was frozen and reheated. The black sole was impeccable, desserts too. I feel this feedback will be met with improvement, it is not a criticism but more of a motivation to keep standards high as I feel when somewhere is being held in high regard and I was being brought to lunch, I would hate for my friend to pay for an experience, we were not fully happy with. Regina did very kindly remove our coffees from the bill. The chef did peek his head out at one stage I'm sure to see who was not happy with one of the main courses. I did not get an opportunity to speak with him. Yours sincerely Audrey Newman
Written February 15, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin
Dear Ms. Newman, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit and experience of our Garden Room Restaurant. First of all, I must really compliment your thorough feedback and the way you have explained everything in such detail. While I note your review was positive on the whole, where you kindly highlighted the team and the service you received, I was also disappointed to read you have experienced some shortcomings too. I sincerely apologise. We take all feedback seriously and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We are continually striving to improve on our guest experience, the products and the services we offer and your feedback is vital to maintain this. Rest assured; I will share your comments with the entire team here. If you wish to discuss your feedback into more detail, I am reachable on 01 603 0608 or via email at mpramuka@merrionhotel.com. I hope we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to The Merrion in the not too distant future. When a date presents itself, perhaps you would be so kind as to contact myself directly and I would be delighted to make the necessary arrangements. In the meantime, if I can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to call me. Kindest regards Martin Pramuka Assistant Food & Beverage Manager
Written February 18, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JULDublin
24 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 family
Visited for a family lunch. As always the staff were so welcoming and friendly. The atmosphere and decor were perfect. We were all disappointed with our starters. They were ‘just ok’ however the main courses more than made up for this! We shared a couple of Cremeaux desserts which were also delicious. We usually opt for the Merrion for overnight treat, afternoon tea or meals with family for special occasions and will continue to return. Thank you.
Written December 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit in The Garden Room. I have shared your wonderful comments with our restaurant team here and they all join me in thanking you. I also take a note of your feedback regarding the starters which I will share with our Executive Chef, however I was delighted to read you all enjoyed the rest of your meals. Thank you for continuously choosing The Merrion to celebrate your family's special occasions. It means a lot. Once again thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Yours sincerely, Martin Pramuka Assistant Food & Beverage Manager
Written January 11, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chiili
Davis606 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
Very well appointed and comfortable looking onto the garden. The breakfast buffet has everything you want. Eggs are extra but well worth it. Dinner has fish, chicken, duck, lamb, and steak but accommodates the vegan or vegetarian. The wait staff is also excellent.
Written February 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin
Dear Chilli, Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us. Especially from a guest like you, had a chance to try both our breakfast and dinner service. We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I will pass on your compliments along to our team in The Garden Room, who also join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon. Thank you again for your kind words. Yours sincerely, Heikki McEvoy, Garden Room Manager
Written February 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

chickengill
Dublin24 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 couples
My husband & I spent a night, with dinner in the Garden Room, in the Merrion hotel, Dublin, earlier this month. All in all, the experience was top class, despite the pandemic restrictions. Dinner was deliciously, served by the charming young Mayvine, who looked after us so well and with such care. It was a wonderful respite in these difficult times.
Written August 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin
Dear Guest We thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. At The Merrion Hotel, we take pride in providing excellent and outstanding service, and it is always a pleasure to read positive comments such as yours. It is wonderful to read you appreciate all the effort the team are making to keep everyone safe. I have made sure to shared your feedback with the rest of the team including Mayvine and they all join me in thanking you. Once again thank you for your encouraging words. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Martin Pramuka Assistant Food & Beverage Manager
Written August 31, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 353
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

The Garden Room, Dublin - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

All Dublin HotelsDublin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Dublin
Things to DoFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars