We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tickled Trout

₱₱ - ₱₱₱, British,
878 Boclair Road | Bearsden, Glasgow G62 6EP, Scotland
+44 1360 621968
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good20%
  • Average15%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible20%
Travelers talk about
“sunday roast” (16 reviews)
“ice cream” (8 reviews)
“vintage inns” (7 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₱₱ - ₱₱₱
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
878 Boclair Road | Bearsden, Glasgow G62 6EP, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived with my partner, menu looked good but then the girl says no pies of any kind out of chicken Balmoral no chicken pie or no steak pie after being told it was on the special menu the place needs a new manager and chef...More

Thank Mark D
General Manager A, Manager at Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Mark, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us. We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. I would like to apologise for the Balmoral chicken being...More

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Sat outside lovely setting and nice beer garden. Inside is nicely done also and the food was decent quality. Staff were nice too even thought the service was a little slow for getting basic items to the table suck as cutlery and saucesMore

Thank Nick G
General Manager A, Manager at Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi Nick, Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. I can confirm that we are provided to every garden table with full condiments. We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! Take care Team Tickled...More

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

I visit frequently visit here for some lunch or dinner either on my own or with family and can honestly say we've never left disappointed. My favourite is Pie Wednesday - I regularly order the fish pie with cheesy mash potato, honey glazed carrots and...More

Thank snoreypantsx
General Manager A, Manager at Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Snoreypantsx, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at The Tickled Trout. Thank you for all your feedback it will all be passed onto the team. Enjoy your weekend and we will see you again...More

Reviewed 21 June 2018

I'd heard good reports about The Tickled Trout and I was delighted to discover that I'd not been misled. The cosy surroundings and friendly service were welcoming and everything you could ask for. We were offered seating in either the bar or the restaurant areas...More

Thank wladek64
General Manager A, Manager at Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hi Wladek64, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We look forward to seeing you again soon for something else on the menu, or maybe the Yorkshire ham and eggs again! All your kind comments will be passed on...More

Reviewed 19 June 2018

This afternoon along with my wife and two friends visited the Tickled Trout for lunch. Had not been there for some considerable time as I had not been impressed on my last visit This afternoon the food served and available can only be described as...More

Thank 2967george
General Manager A, Manager at Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hi 2967george, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We are glad that your most recent met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Laura and the team

Reviewed 19 June 2018

This restaurant is situated just outside Bearsden, next to Dobbies Garden Centre. Its elevated position gives good views over the surrounding countryside. Cosy atmosphere inside and several tables outside when the weather is fine. There is a good choice of food and service is good.

Thank April0304
General Manager A, Manager at Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Hi April,We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! Hope to see you again Take care for now Team tickled trout

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Think we were putting our waitress out by just existing tonight. She just wanted to go home...She made no bones about it. And we stupidly left a tip. Smile love!!! You ARE getting paid for being there!More

Thank gerriandiain
General Manager A, Manager at Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Hi Gerriandiain, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have...More

Reviewed 8 June 2018

the meal was delicious and the service was excellent. Although our waitress stated she had only been there a couple of days we were served with expertize and friendliness. I would not hesitate to go back again.

Thank Paul Y
General Manager A, Manager at Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Paul Y, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at The Tickled Trout. Take care and see you near future Team tickled trout

Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

I was out with an old pal for a drive on one of the glorious sunny days we have had lately. We were both getting peckish around the time we were passing the tickled trout and decided to stop in for a bite to eat....More

1  Thank lewismcg2015
General Manager A, Manager at Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Hi Lewismcg2015, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described. Also will take this opportunity to pay close attention on our busy sunny days too . Thank you...More

Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Lunch today with a friend. Nice friendly staff who gave us a choice of places to sit. Lovely menu we both had fish and chips, quick service food piping hot crunchy crispy chips lovely fish served on warm plates. We had pudding, Eaton mess as...More

Thank mayjCambus
General Manager A, Manager at Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Mayjcambus, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Tickled Trout! hope that we see you near future take care for now, team tickled trout

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 93 hotels in Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow (Bearsden) Hotel
485 reviews
2.10 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Milngavie) Hotel
619 reviews
2.12 km away
Boclair House Hotel
407 reviews
2.40 km away
Leonardo Inn Hotel Glasgow West End
1,190 reviews
4.94 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Fantoosh Nook
96 reviews
2.59 km away
The Burnbrae Bar and Restaurant
774 reviews
2.04 km away
Andiamo Milngavie
411 reviews
2.34 km away
Jessie Biscuit
81 reviews
2.64 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kilmardinny Loch
23 reviews
1.90 km away
Balmore Golf Club
13 reviews
2.50 km away
West Highland Way
55 reviews
2.64 km away
Antonine Wall Bearsden Bath House
16 reviews
2.72 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tickled Trout staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 878 Boclair Road | Bearsden, Glasgow G62 6EP, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
  • Phone Number: +44 1360 621968
  • E-mail
Description
A little pub history - The land on which the inn stands was originally purchased by the owner of Boclair Farm in Milngavie and began life as a shop selling vegetables grown on the farm. The Antonine Wall, built after Hadrian's Wall, runs nearby and a Roman bath house was found a mile to the west of the pub at Bearsden. Also found, at the near by Chapel Hill, were altars and religious stones with Roman inscriptions. A mix of The Tickled Trout's location, character and history attracts many visitors. The River Allander that flows through the town has played an important part in its development and fly-fishing is a popular pastime
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing