We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Penny Hedge Restaurant

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

#14 of 35 Bar in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence2017 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Food and ambience

Location and contact

About
Full Tables service, Bar Service and Hotel facilities, Fresh Rotisserie Chicken served daily. Outside patio area, family friendly with children's play area inside and outside. Large menu including offers including 2 meals for £10.00 When available.
PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$20
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveler rating
176
85
50
26
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
176
85
50
26
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rotisserie chicken fries salmon pub chain whilst on holiday food was lovely evening meal marstons lad ales
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The decoration and space is nice and airy. The service was very slow. Not the waitresses fault, there only seemed her serving which was odd for a Saturday night. The food was just average. Not bad for the price but really not many fresh options....More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank CakeyKimber
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The pub is light and airy, but still holds a certain charm. The staff were all wonderful, every request was met with a big smile, more than happy to help. A good selection of drinks at the bar. Once you get a table, you are...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Neb1078
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the penny hedge for food twice while been on holiday the food is fantastic the service is amazing would recommend it Monday to Saturday they do a 5 pound menu and that too is excellent value and quality of the food dosnt differ...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank June1241
Reviewed 8 January 2019

Last week went to the Penny Hedge, for what you would call a funeral tea, I suppose. Everything seemed to be out of boxes. Pretzels, chocolate rolls & jam tarts. I enquired of the family how how much it had cost a -head. £6 or...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank sandsender297
Natalie W, General Manager at The Penny Hedge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2019

We are very surprised and disappointed by this. The menu for this buffet was discussed and we did what was asked by the organiser for which was a cold buffet with sandwiches nibbles and chips. I am sorry if you felt that this was not...More

Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

The food seemed fine whilst we was there and didn’t seem to have a problem at the time, however came home and was sick. Chicken seemed like a risky choice however it totally backfired.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Steviekirby1
Natalie W, General Manager at The Penny Hedge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2019

I am truly sorry that you have been ill, I am taking this very seriously and would like to fully investigate this. Can you please contact the pub so that we can find out what happened.

Reviewed 25 December 2018 via mobile

My Husband and I decided to go to The Penny Hedge for our Christmas Dinner this year after two previous years at Hotel Du Vin in York. We have to say the food was superb both in taste and in quantity and at under £50...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank chocolatecookie1
Natalie W, Manager at The Penny Hedge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2019

I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Reviewed 23 December 2018

Sorry but your Sunday lunch was very poor - the beef was as tough as shoe leather. No one asked if the meal was ok and even when the plates were cleared away with the meat intact, the waitress didn't offer up any comment. Nice...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank mizey
Natalie W, Manager at The Penny Hedge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2019

I am sorry to hear this, this is not our usual standard and I am very disappointed. Please send me and email to pennyhedge.whitby@marstons.co.uk and I will send you a voucher for a free Sunday lunch to see if we can show you our true...More

Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

We had booked 5 rooms at the adjacent hotel, one of the reasons why we booked there was the convenience of having the restaurant attached. There were 9 of us so we asked to reserve a table for the evening meal but were told they...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank DBFH
Reviewed 16 December 2018

The staff were lovely and very attentive.We ordered our drinks and they came very quickly.The meals were served in good time too.Half chicken/gammon steak/Marstons steak pie,extra portion of onion rings.Chicken(according to husband was passable) the Gammon was only half eaten ,due to it being tough...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank noreen1952
Reviewed 15 December 2018 via mobile

We go in here very regular, never have I been in a pub that has more staff that punters and it takes 10 minutes to get served, (may I quote while the manager stuffs her face with Christmas pudding and totally ignores people waiting to...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Gerard P
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 nearby hotels
Larpool Hall
61 reviews
.71 km away
Middle Earth Tavern
93 reviews
1.30 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
723 reviews
1.62 km away
The George Hotel
306 reviews
1.62 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 228 nearby restaurants
The Windmill Inn
183 reviews
1.16 km away
Trenchers
3,950 reviews
1.59 km away
Kam Thai
726 reviews
1.56 km away
Fish Box Whitby
256 reviews
1.49 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 101 nearby attractions
Whitby Tourist Information Centre
110 reviews
1.50 km away
The Endeavour Experience Whitby
52 reviews
1.52 km away
Whitby Dracula Society Walk
24 reviews
1.38 km away
Whitby Town War Memorial
5 reviews
1.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
childeja
10 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from ThePennyHedge | Property representative |
We do allow dogs outside but not in the restaurant. Thank you for your enquiry.
0
Votes
Fran A
6 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ThePennyHedge | Property representative |
We have a TV in the restaurant with freeview channels only. We do not offer sky/bt sports. Thank you for your enquiry.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing