We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bull Pub

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

#4 of 35 Bar in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
146
44
7
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
146
44
7
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews t bone steak bread and butter pudding mixed grill sunday roast pie peas specials board food portions home cooked portions are huge fantastic food lady serving on spec home made family meal cooked perfectly main meal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff and a wonderful menu. The food portions were fit for a king. This pub had been recommended by a local family to us. Well worth the 15 min car journey from Whitby.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank crisipaylor
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A lovely pub off the beaten track, with proper home cooked food - and plenty of it!! I had scampi and chips (loads of them, cooked like your mam used to make!) and hubby tried the steak pie - thick shortcrust pastry and loads of...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank dawniemc65
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have eaten here several times and have never been disappointed. A pleasant, friendly welcome and honest-to-goodness, well-cooked food served in very generous portions awaits diners who enjoy good food. Swap your diet for a healthy appetite and enjoy!!!.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Seamasterwatchman
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Black Bull may be 200+ miles from home, buy it will ever be my local. The relaxed but warm welcome makes me feel like I was only here yesterday. Fine beer, hearty food. Warm banter from local regulars Highly recommend

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank davidwY9125PO
John K, Manager at Black Bull Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi David, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are lucky to have such great regulars and customers alike so it is always great to hear people feel at home! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Reviewed 4 November 2018

We went to the black bull on tonight for a meal and thoroughly enjoyed it , we were welcomed by the bar staff and felt at ease straight away. We had not booked a table but they had a table for us immediately. The specials...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank TownendBB
Reviewed 31 October 2018

We arrived at the Black Bull at just after 6pm , I ordered Home made steak pie and the wife had Stew and Home made Dumplings , I should imagine if these meals were the norm , they are not for the faint hearted ,...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Garry Andre A
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Amazing little pub! Looks very 'local' but we were welcomed in served really promptly. Food is AMAZING!! We both had yorkshire pudding starter (you do not get this in Swansea), then meat pies for main, portions are massive!! But so tasty! Next time I wont...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MrsPonty
Reviewed 6 September 2018

We were touring around Yorkshire and happened upon this pub near Whitby. We had a friendly welcome and the food was delicious with good sized portions. The service was outstanding. Would certainly visit again.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jackie P
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Waiter was very nice and the typical food tasted really good. Price is also very good. The only thing i didn’t like was the fact that the chips are way to soft!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank lucabN9875CJ
Reviewed 5 September 2018

We were staying in the area and a local fisherman recommended this place to us. We are so pleased we found it. It made our family holiday. Luckily they managed to fit us in. I had a good feeling when we walked through the door...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank lonners3
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 nearby hotels
Runswick Bay Hotel
271 reviews
5.07 km away
Cliffemount Hotel
601 reviews
5.10 km away
The Grapes Inn
76 reviews
5.48 km away
Dunsley Hall
1,048 reviews
6.30 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 228 nearby restaurants
The Ellerby Country Inn Restaurant
425 reviews
3.39 km away
Board Inn
79 reviews
4.21 km away
The Royal Hotel
197 reviews
5.05 km away
Brown Cow Inn
99 reviews
5.50 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 101 nearby attractions
The War Memorial Clock Tower in Hinderwell
6 reviews
5.49 km away
Church of St Oswald & Viking Grave Stones
6 reviews
5.60 km away
Museum of Victorian Science
243 reviews
5.79 km away
Grosmont Railway Station
190 reviews
6.83 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
382elliep
13 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from John K | Property representative |
Hi Ellie, we don't get notified when there is a question on here so have only just seen yours! Were you in on Sunday anyway?
0
Votes
susanbartle
1 January 2019|
Answer
Response from John K | Property representative |
Hi Susan, The pub has not been a B&B for a long time now I am afraid.
0
Votes
T1758KGjulieh
8 November 2018|
Answer
Response from John K | Property representative |
Hello, we are only open for drinks on Christmas Day between 11:00 and 13:00 I am afraid.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing