We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 02/12
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#3,116 of 17,321 Restaurants in London
Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$13 - US$27
CUISINES
Barbecue, Asian, Korean
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveler rating
127
90
57
26
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
127
90
57
26
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kimchi pajeon chicken pancakes wings korean food a great evening holborn bap downstairs
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 24 October 2021 via mobile

After ordering food I went downstairs in the toilets to change my newborn son. I’ve locked the door of the disable/baby change toilet and I’ve immediately noticed that the lock broke . We were stuck in the toilet unable to leave , one member of...the staff was trying to open the lock from outside with a useless screwdriver. After few minutes of attempting he asked me to smash the door from inside… I’ve kicked it over ten times and in the end it opened. We finished lunch and the staff charged us the bill !! So long greedy people.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 19 October 2021 via mobile

Staff were super welcoming and friendly, the decor is stunning and the food is lush but, the seating is awful. For example, at 1 table with 6 seats they place 3 pairings and the seats are very close which makes it uncomfortable to have a...conversation between you and your +1 or to place your belongings. Despite it being a pandemic, there are some people who still don't understand keeping their distance. Pandemic or not, I don't particularly want to be in close proximity to people I do not actually know. Due to the seating I'd not visit this restaurant again.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
KimcheeUK, Marketing at Kimchee Pancras Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Charley, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the seating arrangements were not up to your liking. We hope you'll give us another try in the future!

Reviewed 10 October 2021 via mobile

Arrived without reservation and waited in the queue for about 10 minutes before anyone attended to the people in the queue. I was giving a window bench seat that looked out into the lovely courtyard . Waited quite a wile to be attended I presumed...that they were working flat out. Restaurant was very busy . Drinks and food arrived very quickly once ordered. Chicken in crumb on noodles was dry and my squid was good but had to much batter. Good experienceMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
KimcheeUK, Marketing at Kimchee Pancras Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review! We hope to see you again soon at Kimchee Pancras Square! :)

Reviewed 10 October 2021 via mobile

In the past month I’ve visited here on two separate occasions. Food was really good however the service can vary between not at all tentatively to very tentative. The dessert we had on both occasions unfortunately looked great but tasted quite strange! Recommend their sweet...chilli chicken wings, bibimbap and chargrilled belly pork.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
KimcheeUK, Marketing at Kimchee Pancras Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Your feedback has been passed to the team. We hope to see you soon :)

Reviewed 5 October 2021

Set i the very popular busy Pancras Square, Kimchee is busy but not overcrowded. A large interior space, beautifully fitted out, handles a fair number of happy eaters. And the staff handle it well too with great service and a positive outlook. The music ramps...up at 6pm so it does get noisy. the food is the thing for me. Korean food is not as heavily spiced as other Asian food, nor is it reliant on MSG or feel so familiar. I loved the style of cooking which combines freshness of flavour with richness of style. Platters and pots keep the food wonderfully hot. Small dishes of chilli are on the side so you can monitor some of the heat you add. The helpings are generous without being overblown.Kimchee - This time I had the Korean favourite in a crispy pancake and it was delicious. A sensible list of cocktails (Korean inspired ones too) and wines complemented by teas. I love this place and when in London it is one fo the favourites I want to revisit again and again.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
KimcheeUK, Marketing at Kimchee Pancras Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your very detailed review and 5 star rating. We especially pride ourselves on the food we offer so these comments are fantastic to receive! We hope to see you soon :)

Reviewed 5 October 2021

Cold welcome and terrible food. There were only 4 tables occupied, however after sitting down, the manager asked us to move to another table. It was not clear why, although he mumbled an explanation, his attitude was very rude. Worse still, the manager looked like...he was having personal hygiene problems, we all noted the body odour and the bad breath when he was speaking. When the food finally arrived, after a long wait, it was very disappointing. Not authentic Korean food, which was served luke warm. Situated behind Kings Cross station, the area is dull and boring. The restaurant has a cold and unwelcome feel. Overall this was a bad experience, overpriced tacky food.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 19 September 2021

I wandered around King's Cross then stumbled upon Kimchee and sat down to dine! Fab cocktail, no skinny mini portions, so that was appreciated. I was so excited by the sights and smells that I ordered the beef dumplings while waiting for my friend. They...were nice (with added chilli sauce) but £9 seemed a bit steep for 4. My mate ordered the salmon when she arrived and loved it. I then had their signature and bespoke double-dipped fried chicken. It was a bit greasy and not much taste, despite the significant crunch to it. Not all the options advertised were available either, in fact, 3 -4 things on the menu were not on offer; perhaps covid/lockdown related, not sure. Staff were lovely but a bit slows on sharing cutlery etc for example. The bamboo baskets I had also seemed a tad unclean with some sauce from a previous service, I think. The decor inside was really nice with an open kitchen, low light and authentic (looking) tables. The benches outside, while they looked good were uncomfortable after a while sitting on them. The loos were funky but could have done with a bit of a freshen up too. I got a little lost trying to find them as well! Overall am dying to go back and sample some more of the amazing smelling food that tickled my nostrils. A picture menu would have been great too as we spent some time eyeing up the delights others had ordered, and then not knowing what it was...More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
KimcheeUK, Marketing at Kimchee Pancras Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Vanessa, thanks for such a detailed review! I have shared your feedback with our team at Kimchee Pancras Square. We hope to see you soon :)

Reviewed 15 September 2021

Given the shorter menu online I thought there would be a larger range of dishes available in the restaurant. There was but after telling a server I had a nut and sesame allergy all that was accessible to me was plain rice and avocado salad....There is also no allergen menu w the main allergens and if they are present, you just have to wait for a supervisor to talk to you which leaves room for human error, for ppl with severe allergies wouldn’t recommend. 2 stars because the cocktail was nice but thought we are in a day and age where it would be more accommodating than having no substantial hot food options for me and no allergen menu. Can’t be overly annoyed because it is the style of cooking to douse everything in sesame oil or seeds though to be honestMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
KimcheeUK, Marketing at Kimchee Pancras Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kee, We are sorry that you experienced some issues during your visit. Due to the way our kitchen operates, we cannot guarantee that our food will be nut free. We have taken your feedback on board and we are making sure to keep an...More

Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

Personally I thought this was some of the nicest Korean food I’ve ever had . The fried chicken wings where the best I have had anywhere in the world and that’s no lie , crispy coat and juicy chicken with an unexpectedly good sauce ....They took a while to Come but dam these where so good I ordered another . They should enter a competition or wings based on this experience and I was told these are Cooked from fresh . All dishes where excellent , zero complaint and the staff where also excellent . I did I think see the boss man wondering around which probably upped the game , however excellent experience . Thankyou teamMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
KimcheeUK, Marketing at Kimchee Pancras Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the 5stars review!!:)

Reviewed 7 July 2021 via mobile

nice, well decorated place … friendly staff … we ordered the kimchee jeon, dolsot bibimbap & soup (forgot the name) … the food was very well presented … it wasn’t as good as the korean restaurant i frequent but this place was more presentable

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
KimcheeUK, Marketing at Kimchee Pancras Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! :)

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
hub by Premier Inn London King's Cross hotel
2,812 reviews
.23 km away
Premier Inn London King's Cross Hotel
5,954 reviews
.28 km away
Great Northern Hotel, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, London
1,514 reviews
.30 km away
Canary Wharf Apartments
30 reviews
.36 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Coal Office Restaurant
353 reviews
.16 km away
German Gymnasium
2,564 reviews
.15 km away
The Parcel Yard
1,142 reviews
.17 km away
Granger & Co
621 reviews
.12 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Coal Drops Yard
117 reviews
.24 km away
King's Cross Station
2,202 reviews
.23 km away
King's Cross
214 reviews
.18 km away
King's Cross Theatre
450 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Emmaliyanhui
9 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PurpleSaffron | Reviewed this property |
Depends on the dog
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kimchee Pancras Square

Yes, Kimchee Pancras Square offers takeout services.

Kimchee Pancras Square is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4