We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gloucester Old Spot

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Updated 11/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Gloucester Old Spot
Updated 11/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$8 - $34
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (895)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveler rating
517
228
81
44
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
517
228
81
44
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork pudding sunday roast chocolate brownie sea bass fish cakes risotto steak pie bread the pub red cabbage beer garden great lunch lovely meal booked a table motorhome
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely meal as a couple mid week. The beef curry special was very good. The meals are quite small in size for the price so if you have a large appetite order a side! However the food is good quality. The service...was very good. Felt upset to be asked to pay a service 10% charge when the bill came though, although they said it’s optional I felt we couldn’t say no especially as they tell you about it in front of other diners..:So the “tips” are basically paying the staffs wages?! I know these are hard times for pubs but feels a bit rude as the meals aren’t cheap-and felt sorry for the waitress who had to ask for a tip! It may put us off eating here again to be honest. The table set up outside looks beautiful for warmer evenings. couldn’t fault the food and staff, and the dining room is very very nicely decorated/ warm fire etc. felt like a proper country pub. So happy overall but a bit cheesed off about the tip business, we’ve never experienced that in a pub before!More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been here many times now and the roast is one of, if not the, best we have ever had - absolutely amazing! However, the "I have automatically added 10% gratuity to your bill, would you like me to remove it" felt a bit...much and a bit of unnecessary pressure. We would have tipped the £10 as the staff were great as always, but I would have liked to have chosen to rather than been pressured into it through enforced awkwardness. Surely, if you know the staff offer good service, you wouldn't need to embarrass people into paying!? I almost opted out on principle and it will put me off going again, tips should be given out of choice for good service not automatically added and paid out of discomfort.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Superb pub, friendly staff and great food. We have been coming here for over ten years as a stop on the way home in our Motorhome and it’s always been superb. Grey selection of beer and a really great menu. This pub really knows how...to welcome visitors and long may it continue.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Another superb lunch. Hubby had roast parsnip and chestnut soup followed by salmon. I had goats cheese with cashews followed by belly pork - all delicious. I’ve reviewed this place before, but I’ll say it again - one of the hardest working pubs in Gloucestershire....Service is always 5 star and the food excellent. And those Christmas decs!!!!!!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Exceptional food and service as always, a fantastic experience. Thanks to all the staff, and enjoy a well deserved break at this festive time. A Happy Christmas to all at the Old Spot.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed December 19, 2021 via mobile

My wife and I have just come back from yet another stunning Sunday lunch at the Old Spot. The warm welcome from the staff was 5*. The interior design of the dining room was amazing and it was warm and cozy. Now, down to the...food, it was excellent..I asked for extra gravy and crackling and they were happy to accommodate..can't comment on the desserts as we were too full. Recommended!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed December 19, 2021

Once again a wonderful lunch, and beyond, at the Old Spot. Food excellent, staff very helpful and cheerful. It is our central meeting point from Devon and will not be changing it any time soon. We'll Done GOS.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed December 17, 2021

Booked this restaurant for a late lunch when making our way to the Races in Cheltenham the following day. We arrived an hour early, as traffic was light, but the staff accommodated us. No problem! The huge Christmas Tree at the front of the pub,...and the six little matching ones at the back, bought a smile. Highly recommend the food We had the soufflé, the scotch egg, salmon and cottage pie All delicious Staff very attentive and friendly The loss of one star: All main courses come with roast potatoes, they looked amazing, but were roasted in their skins. Yuk. Instead of a crispy yummy outside, it was like chewing through old burnt leather But would visit again and recommendMore

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed December 15, 2021 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal at the Gloucester Old Spot. That was the best tasting Christmas Turkey dinner we’ve had in many years, and all the deserts were perfectly portioned and also very tasty after a fulfilling main course. The staff were lovely and very...helpful, the pub has bags of charm, the outdoor Christmas decorations were stunning, and it looked like the outdoor space was very welcoming too. We will definitely be back in the future!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed December 9, 2021 via mobile

We are so disappointed that what used to be a good pub for food has become so bad. The food was terrible - mostly luke warm, the service bad- with the waiter breathing down our drinks without a mask on, and to top it all...- the wine was undrinkable! All corked and watered down! I’d never tasted something so disgusting! And we were charged for the meal of someone who was unwell and couldn’t attend. Very poor show! Last time we’ll be there!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Simon, Owner at The Gloucester Old Spot, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2021

Thank you for your review. It is a shame you felt this way about your experience. With pre ordered meals the meal is prepared prior to your arrival and so is charged for. However, had you called ahead we would have done everything we could...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Cheltenham North West hotel
622 reviews
3.52 km away
Ramada by Wyndham Cheltenham
668 reviews
3.63 km away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
1,426 reviews
4.36 km away
Travelodge Cheltenham
865 reviews
4.57 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
89 reviews
3.64 km away
The Farmers Arms
329 reviews
3.65 km away
New Dawn Inn
621 reviews
4.21 km away
The Swan at Coombe Hill
200 reviews
1.41 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Odda's Chapel
36 reviews
4.77 km away
Spa at Hatherley Manor
99 reviews
5.18 km away
Jet Age Museum
605 reviews
4.52 km away
Brennen & Brown
182 reviews
5.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
698anner
March 20, 2021|
Answer
Response from Lucy0321 | Property representative |
Hello, We have some sheltered tables within our garden, some of which do have patio heaters HOWEVER these do not “heat” the space. It takes the edge off and we do suggest you wrap up warm for the evenings. Many... More
0
Votes
Jenben71
September 10, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Simon D | Property representative |
Hi there. So sorry for delay, seeing messages on here is quite tricky! We have a walking route nearby which is Coombe Hill nature reserve, very pretty and only 2mins by car from us. You can walk to it but a very busy road to... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Gloucester Old Spot

Yes, The Gloucester Old Spot is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Gloucester Old Spot is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4