We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shelter Hall

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Get food delivered
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Contactless ordering
  • Contactless payment
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$7 - US$28
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Drinks
View all details
features, about
Sponsored by: Shelter Hall

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Choose from Seven Kitchens
1. Choose from Seven Kitchens
" A choice of different menus to sample and the food was really good"
techie69
See reviews that mention Choose from Seven Kitchens
2. Brighton Seafront Venue
2. Brighton Seafront Venue
"An amazing addition to Brighton Seafront!"
H0veActually
See reviews that mention Brighton Seafront Venue
3. Local Favourite
3. Local Favourite
"the locals approve"
CFlatby
See reviews that mention Local Favourite
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
69
11
11
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
69
11
11
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vegan burger chicken carlito burrito lost boys great atmosphere selection of beers quick service delicious food mano seafront djs fatto
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Lovely atmosphere. Friendly staff. Food was very very good. We had Malaysian food and all 3 dishes were excellent. The pizza from the kids menu was great as well

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Restaurant's Favorite
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

An amazing addition to Brighton Seafront! As locals, we have always found it difficult to find somewhere good to eat and avoid the crowds along the front, but this is genuinely a great place! Such a lovely welcome from the staff, a table overlooking the...beach and a great buzz. This place has attracted a cool crowd too. So much variety so everyone can be satisfied and the food is incredible! We ordered everything from Zest by Hanoi this time but were so impressed with the sharing platter from Ox Block last time we visited. The noodles and summer rolls were super fresh and surprisingly filling. Service was quick and friendly. A fab experience and will be back often!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?4  
Shelter Hall, Marketing at Shelter Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review - we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Reviewed 6 days ago

I reviewed shelter hall in June & despite loving the location & food was so disappointed when we were asked to leave at 8pm as we had under 18s in our group. Thank you shelter hall for taking on board these comments & altering your...policy. It was lovely sitting on the terrace on a balmy night surrounded by a range of groups & ages including those with young children - felt like being abroad.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Shelter Hall, Marketing at Shelter Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave another review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your most recent visit and I hope we'll welcome you for many more!

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Visited here with workmates for lunch during a day volunteering after one of them recommended it. There was so much choice and we all loved our food. The service was efficient and friendly. Prices were pretty much London prices. Recommend and would return.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Shelter Hall, Marketing at Shelter Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review, we'll look forward to welcoming you again for another visit!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have visited Shelter Hall several times since it opened, and every experience is as good as the next. Great service, friendly staff, fantastic food and great drinks. The atmosphere is really cool and relaxed - exactly what the city needed.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Shelter Hall, Marketing at Shelter Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you, so delighted to hear that you enjoyed - look forward to welcoming you again for many more visits in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I received my food very quickly which i was very satisfied about, my friend who also ordered at the same time didn’t receive hers for half an hour after mine. they then continued to say we hadn’t even placed an order even with the confirmation...email. When food arrived there was barely any chicken in the burger all crust. We complained to a waiter who then proceeded to do nothing about the issue nor even apologise. very dissatisfied with this experience and will not be returning.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Shelter Hall, Marketing at Shelter Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

I'm sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience. If you could please email me directly at hello@shelterhall.co.uk with the date of your order and the order number so we can look into what went wrong on this occasion.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The app food ordering service is horribly slow and clunky - it took 20 minutes to receive our drinks order, which arrived after our first course. Not enough info and description about the food on the app. The food itself is good but Shelter Hall...charge restaurant prices for what is essentially a food canteen experience. We eat out a lot in B&H and wont be returning here unless the service arrangements are sorted out. Not sure what the service charge is for as it implies some level of service - not just having plates plonked down on the table.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Tried this place twice for lunch and dinner. Both times the food was outstanding. Thought I wouldn’t like the ap ordering but it was easy and the food and drinks came really quick. Staff really friendly and helpful. The only problem was they stop taking...orders on certain drinks and food sections if they are busy or run out. Would really recommend the pizzas and garlic prawns.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 1 week ago

It really saddens me to write this review as both my partner and I had wanted to try the food I keep seeing on Instagram for a long time as it always looks incredible. We request table 122 which is on the balcony and gives...a fantastic view of the sunset. We were happy that our request was met and got straight to ordering some cocktails to celebrate our anniversary. We wanted the Miami Vice but they weren't available so I opted for a strawberry daiquiri and my partner ordered a Summerthyme Sunset. I have never seen such a small daiquiri in my life. It was literally the size of a childs tiny plastic beaker cup. My partners tasted of nothing but s melted iced lolly. Not a good start. We then ordered the charcuterie board which was pretty decent so we were hopeful for the rest. As it was a special occasion we went for the Butchers Block from Ox Block which is a sharing meat board with steak, chicken and lamb. We waited ages for this to arrive, and when it did it did it was completely underwhelming and so disappointing.The steak was cooked medium to well done, the lamb was overcooked and chewy. The chicken was ok. The best part for us was the corn on the cob with lime butter. By this point we were runny late and we just ate what we could and had to go. The settings and ambience of sitting up there on a hot summers evening was lovely, but the cocktails were a rip off and the main for £38 was a let down, considering I see photos uploaded on social media of the juicy pink steaks.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Shelter Hall, Marketing at Shelter Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, although I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the food. I appreciate as you had somewhere else to be, you weren't able to bring up your disappointment directly with the food partner...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We popped in here for lunch on a hen do, you can order from any of the kiosks from your table. I had the pizza which was huge and delicious! The burgers were amazing too apparently! The food came quite quickly and the staff were...friendly and helpful. Would recommend and will definitely visit again next time I'm in Brighton.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Shelter Hall, Marketing at Shelter Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Brighton Harbour Hotel & Spa
1,263 reviews
.06 km away
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
1,140 reviews
.11 km away
Hotel du Vin Brighton
1,918 reviews
.19 km away
The Grand Brighton
11,080 reviews
.19 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Revolution
1,301 reviews
.13 km away
Riddle and Finns The Beach
2,485 reviews
.01 km away
Mama Brum's Cafe
58 reviews
.01 km away
Lucky Beach Cafe
946 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Brighton Beach
4,544 reviews
.03 km away
The Brighton Centre
655 reviews
.17 km away
Saint Paul’s Parish Church
47 reviews
.18 km away
Two Kats And A Cow Gallery
8 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
387cathye
27 May 2021|
Answer
Response from JulesMain | Reviewed this property |
I think so. We saw people taking boxes away to the beach so pretty sure you can.
0
Votes
Hovian
29 April 2021|
Answer
Response from ShelterHallManager | Property representative |
Yes, there is a ramp
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shelter Hall

Yes, Shelter Hall offers takeout services.

Yes, Shelter Hall offers delivery services.

Yes, Shelter Hall is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Shelter Hall is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4