We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glen House Resort

Save
Share
409 Thousand Islands Parkway Lansdowne, Ontario, Ivy Lea, Ontario K0E 1LO Canada
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (190)
Room & Suite (270)
Dining (51)

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Ivy Lea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A beautiful and historic waterfront resort destination for vacations, reunions, weddings, conferences, banquets and more. Enjoy casual fine dining in Shipman's Dining Room or a pint and pub fare in Smuggler's Lounge. Relax in our indoor pool and hot tub, or unwind in the sun in our outdoor riverside pool. Spa services, bicycle and boat rentals and fitness centre also available. Featuring an 18-hole championship golf course, Smuggler's Glen, in the heart of Ontario, Canada's 1000 Islands! Nominated "Best New Golf Course in Canada" (Golf Digest, 2006), and host of 2012's Canadian Tour. A 1000 Islands favourite since 1896.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Golf course
Billiards
Darts
Table tennis
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
333Reviews10Q+A87Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 95
  • 107
  • 59
  • 46
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Joyyy wrote a review Oct 2020
Barrie, Canada429 contributions63 helpful votes
+1
Our spacious room had a beautiful view of the river and chairs to sit on the porch area to enjoy. Staff were friendly. The property is nice with an outdoor pool in summer, a small swimming area and indoor pool (not open due to COVID). It is nicely located 20 minutes outside Gananoque and right along the biking trail. The onsite restaurant has pretty good selection of food for breakfast and dinner and decent food (need to reserve ahead for 2 seatings for dinner). Be prepared to pay for your meals each time with the restaurant instead of having charged to the room to pay at the end. The resort caters to groups of golfers who stay over on the weekend so they will be a little loud before and after dinner until around 11 p.m. then they will quiet. Golfers and groups on weekends will be in the restaurant for dinners and can be a little loud.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Riverview and riverfront is worth the extra price
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GlenHouse Resort, General Manager at Glen House Resort
Responded 2 Feb 2021
Hello Joyyy! My last review I have to respond to for the day and I'm happy that it's yours! Thanks for the great, detailed review. Very useful for prospective guests, and very encouraging to myself and my coworkers. Take care and good health to you and yours, Sean
Read more
Maree C wrote a review Aug 2020
Ottawa, Canada122 contributions51 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay we were n Pinewoods on the ground floor. We looked right onto the pool I would have preferred to be a couple of rooms over. Room is a bit tired but the bed was comfortable. Really needs some new outdoor furniture. A few Muskoka chairs around the grounds would be wonderful. The let down for us was the dining. We expected to find a nice dining room with an interesting menu but it’s just pub fare. What we had was good, nothing special but we heard other diners complaining about their food. No vegetarian options on the menu.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GlenHouse Resort, General Manager at Glen House Resort
Responded 2 Feb 2021
Hello MareeC0x, Thanks so much for your thoughtful, polite review. Happy to hear that, over all, your stay was satisfactory. I'd like to apologize for the lack of lawn furniture on the resort's grounds. Normally, our beautiful grounds feature chaise lounges, picnic tables and, yes, Adirondack chairs for all guests to use outside of their guest room and immediate patio area. Unfortunately, it was suggested by the local health authority that we reduce the number of "touch points" on the grounds to reduce the risk of COVID-19 transmission, so these chairs were placed in storage for the season. There was a lot of uncertainty and fear during the early days of the pandemic that influenced public health policies like this; while we did encourage all guests on our social media platforms and website to bring there own lawn chairs for safety's sake, we expect a much-welcomed change in outdoor furniture policy this coming season :) We apologize that our menu last summer was not up to your standards, and we openly admit that it was a change we implemented with much hesitancy. The menu was designed to be an even pub-casual fine dining split, in order to encourage an increased demand in take-out dinners. Fortunately, knowing what we've learned from last summer, a new menu is in the works. Once again, thank for your review and your patronage! Wishing you good health, Sean
Read more
brewster69 wrote a review Aug 2020
Toronto, Canada250 contributions57 helpful votes
The location is great and the layout of the resort is good and it has some excellent features which appeal to a large demographic. We stayed August 9-13 in the pinewoods in 211 on the upper level overlooking the beach. Sadly the outdated rooms, very poor service and lack of properly working amenities lets the property down. I have a feeling the money is being directed towards the golf course, because the resort is being let down by the poor attitude of staff working there. We arrived at 2:30pm on Sunday and our room wasn't ready, so we left and when we returned at 4:15pm we were told sadly our room still isn't ready. I mentioned that we'd been told 4:00pm was check in time. So the front desk clerk said to wait there and she went to the room to see if it was ready. SURPRISE the room was ready. Our room was a bit outdated, but I'd expected this based upon past reviews I'd read and photos. What really shocked me was the really horrible Wifi and poor Cable TV reception. The wifi was so horrible, often you could only get a signal for maybe 10 or 15 minutes per day. The TV's were newer, but the cable only brought in about 4 channels which were clear enough that you could watch, even CNN was blurry. I'd wanted to watch a program on PBS from Watertown NY but nope, can't get that channel. So the evening entertainment became somewhat challenging during our stay. Our balcony had 2 chairs and a small table. The chairs were very hard and the most uncomfortable straight back things to sit on for any length of time. I'm grateful that I'd brought our Coleman camping chairs so we could sit and be comfortable while enjoy the balcony and views of the river. The balcony hadn't been swept in weeks and had a ton of cobwebs and some leaves/branches from the tree above, so we wiped everything down ourselves. No big deal, but a minor thing. We had reservations for dinner in the Shipman Restaurant at the 2nd seating which was at 7:30pm. There is supposedly only 2 seating available due to COVID-19. 5:00pm and 7:30pm. So when we arrived at 7:20 for our 7:30 reservation and there were only 2 big round banquet tables for 6 available and 1 other table for 4 in the corner under the AC unit we were not impressed. It took over 45 minutes to get food and the service was just so sloppy. We made reservations for the next night and arrived at 7:10 and the restaurant was again full, I guess you can forget the seating concept. We did complain and were then seated at a table by the windows. Our food orders seemed to be a real problem, because the previous night a ceasar salad was offered as a choice of a side for our entree, but on the 2nd night it wasn't possible because there was "no romaine". We asked the server if should she could please ask the chef and surprise, yes we can do that for you. The servers were rushing around like mad men and everyone seemed to be overwhelmed with the few tables they had. The table of 6 seated behind us was furious and make a loud complaint because they'd been waiting for their food prior to everyone else in the restaurant and it had been over and hour later and they were still waiting for food. The last night we reluctantly went to the dining room at 6:15pm the server was totally rude. We'd asked about having another cesar salad and the server wouldn't even check with the chef about cesar salads, she said that the chef has said NO MORE cesar salads will be made!!! The server brought our food and never appeared at our table again until we'd finished our food. I had an empty water glass for my entire meal and couldn't find anyone to fill it. We were never asked how our meal was or if there was anything else. From our observations the staff at the Glen House Resort are really not happy and not meeting many of the expectations of the guest. Anyone we talked with at the pool was disappointed by one thing or another. A few small corrections would change a lot. Fix the bad Wifi and poor TV reception. Start weeping the balcony and patio areas. Replace the broken/dirty chaise around the pool, replace the broken board on the dock and pull up the weeds around the dock/swimming areas, so your guests don't have to swim amongst the weeds. These minor changes would require minimal costs and move this resort from a 2.5 star into a 4 star property. The place is a real gem, but there's a lot of tarnish on it at the moment.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GlenHouse Resort, General Manager at Glen House Resort
Responded 2 Feb 2021
Hello brewster69, We appreciate all of our customer's reviews and address all concerns with careful consideration. First off, I'd like to thank you for keeping your comments cordial and constructive, as well as thorough! Knowing your room number and specific dates and times really helps us address where, when and why a particular issue arose. Because of this, we were able to look further into what specifically was going on behind the slow service you received in the dining room, for which I and my team apologize for immensely. We are working to remedy the subpar, sluggish and confused service for the coming season. As noted in previous posts, we have hired a new Head of Housekeeping for 2021 to ensure quality control in all of our guest rooms, exterior patios included. Regarding the shoddy WiFi and cable: our scenic, rural location is both a blessing and, in this case, a curse, as we're constantly struggling with our service provider to provide us with the reliable, fast service that our customers have come to expect. We're aware of the issue and are working with the service provider, as well as another tech consultant, to improve this issue. Thanks for bringing some of the positives into the conversation and pointing out the new TV in your room. Aside from the furniture, those upper rooms received quite extensive work in 2018, with newly renovated, enlarged bathrooms, the removal of the stippled "popcorn" ceilings and the installation of flush mount LED pot lights, as well as freshly painted walls. So we are trying. Believe me when I tell you that I will do my best to address the issues brought to my attention. New chaise lounges for the outdoor pool and lawn chairs are among the many things at the top of my list. Last September we replaced about $1000+ worth of dock boards with fresh pressure treated lumber. I truly appreciate you recognizing our establishment as a "real gem." That means a lot to myself and my coworkers, and we're constantly striving to push our rating into the 4-star category, recognizing that only hard work, passion and quality, friendly service can get us there. Once again, thank you for the thoughtful review. Stay healthy and travel safe, Sean
Read more
breezygirl3346 wrote a review Aug 2020
Toronto, Canada27 contributions19 helpful votes
Management needs to open their eyes to the neglect and overall shabbiness of this once lovely resort. Most every external entrance (except for the office one!) was coated in cobwebs and hadn't been swept down. Our room (at $194+ ) had visible dirt on the en suite floor plus a cobweb ! The screen door to out patio was ripped away from the frame at the side and bottom. As we were on the ground floor there was a deck above and there were occupied spider webs all across the rafters. Doesn't housekeeping see this? How can they miss it? The patio chairs deserved to be in the dump and I had to wipe them and the table down as the had not been wiped by housekeeping . The inside furniture, carpets etc were shabby and dated. The parking was chaotic as well as dangerous for guests trying to get back and forth. The only positive thing I can say about the Glen House is it's wonderful location. But the neglect, dated furnishings uncleanliness, rude front desk staff etc . NOT everything can be blamed on COVID 19.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I don't recommend ANYONE staying ANYWHERE at this hotel
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GlenHouse Resort, General Manager at Glen House Resort
Responded 2 Feb 2021
Hello breezygirl3346, Member of the management here! Myself and my family are more than aware of our property's shortcomings, but thank you so much for the public accusations of neglect and blindness regarding our "once lovely" resort. Constructive criticism is always appreciated, but there's no stopping someone from being unabashedly nasty, either. Please keep in mind for future reviews that family-owned and operated small businesses are staffed by human beings who are passionate, believe it or not, about the service they provide and rely on useful reviews to improve said services. Not only are reviews like this damaging to a business's reputation, they're also hard to not take personal. Contrary to what you believe, my family and other members of management are not blind, nor are we negligent. We haven't operated this resort for 60 years blindly fumbling along, resting on our laurels, forgetting what hard work is and taking for granted our returning, and new, customers. Somehow we've made it work. Could it be through... hard work? Gasp. Gosh, maybe. Here's a little fable worthy of Aesop that may or may not demonstrate our supposed negligence. My mom and I drove an hour and a half to Ottawa to pick up some 50 aluminum bistro chairs for our guest patios to phase out the worn patio furniture mentioned in your review. Shocking, I know. It's almost as if we cared. Will we buy more, yes. Can everything be done at once? Realistically? No. There isn't a bottomless budget to spend on a constantly rotating array of new furniture, etc., but we make due within our constraints, we plan, and we are grateful for the staff that assist us in realizing any improvements. While I could go on about how I, personally, swept away cobwebs everyday (no joke) in the heat and humidity, collapsing at lunch from heat exhaustion numerous times (excuses, I know), I will admit that I, nor my coworkers, can sweep the entire resort's exterior on a daily basis; we are literally a stone's throw from a body of fresh water, where insects and the spiders that feed on them hatch daily by the millions (more excuses). Furthermore, the bit about every entrance into the resort being infested with cobwebs except for the main door is patently untrue, hyperbolic garbage. Nuff said on the spider thing. I apologize that we were not up to your standards, although I get the sense that the list of establishments that are is quite limited--and those that don't have the pleasure of being publicly eviscerated. I'm not writing this to try to get you to understand where I'm coming from. This is for the thoughtful, compassionate, prospective customer who understands that life isn't perfect, but will hopefully recognize that myself and my team work our hardest to provide a quality service. Reading the above review, you'd think that operating a resort was a breeze and that we at the Glen House are woefully unqualified, blind country bumpkins, completely unaware of improvements needed. Seriously? We have eyes. They operate. We know, and we're working on it, all of it, as we're able. Needless to say, we will have a new Head of Housekeeping this coming season to assist me with the perennial cobweb sweeping, a move that probably isn't in keeping with my supposed "negligence" of the property, but there you have it. Yours truly, Sean
Read more
Diane C wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Nice location, but rooms are dirty and outdated. Area outside patio door full of cobwebs and broken screens. Furniture inside is outdated. So disappointed for price paid. When we checked in, found front staff not too friendly. Will not be returning here. All they have going is location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GlenHouse Resort, General Manager at Glen House Resort
Responded 2 Feb 2021
Hello H2757HLdianec, It's never encouraging to hear that our establishment provided a guest with a less-than-stellar experience, and for the reasons you mentioned above, I do apologize. That being said, it's vital to know, as the person responding to faceless reviews, what specific building or room you stayed in--otherwise, how can we address these issues directly? As I'm sure most travelers who read this know, hotels have a variety of room styles and price points to match. While you may have found your room more than sub-par, I can assure you that it is not emblematic of our entire resort. We have non-river view rooms, river view rooms, river front rooms, river front deluxe suites, chalets, a housekeeping cottage. Over 70 rooms of various styles--again, based on numerous price points--so it's more than a little unfair to judge our entire family-owned business on your brief stay in one particular room whose issues may or may not have been brought to our attention during your stay. Had I been made aware of your experience while you were staying with us, I would have been more than happy to address the immediate issues (cobwebs) or offer you a free upgrade to one of our "finer" rooms. We never like to see a customer leave unhappy. I don't think there could be a more damning critique of one's business than to say in a public forum that "All they have going is location." So our restaurant, pub, outdoor riverside pool, 18-hole championship golf course, etc. etc. (not to mention our conference centre, spa and equipment rentals, in operation during non-plague years) should all be ignored due to cobwebs and the dated furniture in the very specific room you stayed you? There's constructive criticism, and then there's this. What is my family's small business, and the public, to do with reviews like this? Anyways, today I'm reminded that social media is a soul-sucking vampiric squid latched onto the public forum's face. Contrary to what the above review may lead you to believe, prospective guest, myself and my team care deeply for this property and our clientele. This is our livelihood and we take it seriously. Stay healthy, everyone! Sean
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$119 - US$196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
glen house hotel gananoque, glen hotel ontario, glen resort ontario, glen house resort
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioIvy Lea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Glen House Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Glen House Resort?
Nearby attractions include Wellesley Island (7.3 km), 1000 Islands Tower (5.5 km), and Wellesley Island State Park (3.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Glen House Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Glen House Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Glen House Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Glen House Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rapid Valley Restaurant, The Ivy Restaurant, and Glen House Resort Restaurant (Shipman's Dining Room and Smuggler's Lounge).
Are there opportunities to exercise at Glen House Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Glen House Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Glen House Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cornwall Brothers Store & Museum (10.2 km), Gananoque Clock Tower (9.4 km), and Gananoque Town Hall (9.6 km).
Does Glen House Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Glen House Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.