We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401 Kenya
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
8 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Pay 3 nights stay 4 nights
Expedia.com
US$182
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/11/21
Booking.com
US$185
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/11/21
Hotels.comUS$183
eDreamsUS$185
ZenHotels.comUS$197
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4354)
Pool & Beach (1140)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 26/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Updated 26/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 40 hotels in Diani Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Archery
Babysitting
Secured parking
Free wifi in the business center
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Badminton
Diving
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Walking tours
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Lagoon View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Rate:Pay 3 nights stay 4 nights
3149Reviews177Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,970
  • 823
  • 227
  • 71
  • 58
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
travelingnancypants wrote a review 21 Sep
64 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here for 4 nights after safari. Think of the Baobab Beach Resort as a cruiseship on land. The rooms are not where you want to spend most of your time. We booked an oceanfront room which had a great view of the beach/ocean, but the room was quite dated, especially the bathroom. There was also a gap between the front door and the floor, so we had various critters (large ants, lizards/geckos) creep in. Besides the rooms, we had a great experience elsewhere. The food was quite good – the omelette station in the morning and pasta station for lunch and dinner in particular were among our favorites. The Indian food also had some decent options day to day. Location is great – when the tide is low, the white sand beach is beautiful. We did encounter beach boys by the resort, but after walking a bit and politely declining, they didn’t bother us. We also took advantage of the water sports offered by the 3rd party on the resort property. We paid separately and took private windsurfing lessons 2 days in a row. We made 2 stops at the Afya Bora spa – the prices are competitive with other spas in the area so we decided the convenience of the resort spa was worth it. We did a couples aromatic massage, which was wonderfully relaxing. The next day, I returned for a back and head massage. Kudos to the Jambo Team – they provided entertainment throughout the day and put on nightly cultural/dance performances – very impressive and they added to the festive atmosphere at the resort. The resort is taking COVID-19 precautions seriously. The dining and bar areas are in open air/open windows. Temperature checks and hand sanitizing before entering dining areas. Food is served by staff at the buffets – you can’t get food yourself.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Elizabeth wrote a review Aug 2021
Nairobi, Kenya5 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favorite
I took a little “Mummy and me” vacation here in August 2021 which was simply beautiful. From the moment we arrived, the staff were friendly polite and helpful. The rooms are very clean and spacious and offer beautiful views of the Indian Ocean. The food is delicious and plentiful…we at a bit too much! We particularly enjoyed the morning “Water Aerobics” exercise session on the KoleKole pool, which offered a fun morning exercise routine for all willing to join in. I must commend the staff, who were extremely cheerful and friendly definitely one of the greatest assets in the hotel. Very well done Baobab, keep it up!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kennedy Uduny, Marketing at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 16 Aug 2021
Dear Guest, Warm greetings from the Baobab Beach Resort & Spa. Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the resort following your stay. We are delighted to read that you have rated us highly due to the level of the services and experiences you were subjected to. The same will be shared with the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Stay Safe! Kind Regards, Kennedy Uduny Public Relations Executive marketing@baobab-beach-resort.com Tel: +254 725 777 025
Read more
Wangui K wrote a review 21 Sep
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The resort is magnificent with amazing facilities. The ambience is fantastic. The food is delicious. However, we experienced a few issues: 1. Some staff were a bit discriminatory in how they served us (local tourists)compared to how they served foreign tourists. 2. The all inclusive policy seems not be standard or clearly understood by staff. For example: when you serve the beers at the bar,it's poured from the bottle to the glass - why then wouldn't one be allowed to carry the same bottle to their own room if the guest wishes to do so? Also, I would like to commend James for his top notch customer service at the main restaurant throughout our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jouni M wrote a review 18 Sep
Tampere, Finland21 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
I have been several times in this hotel. This time it was just a disaster. I stayed total 9 nights (sept 10-19) what i regred so much. I will never come back for sure. I don't want to pay 19,000 for that bad treatments and facilities. First there was some kind of power issue which damaged my phone and laptop charger. They replased the phone charger but not laptop charger, and upgraded my room (thanks), however the new room was actually worse. I had sea view and ground lewel room before, which was changed to a garden view and 1st floor room. Secondly, in my last night there was a disturbing wedding. The wedding seremony itself was okay, but the music was way too loud for hours, inside of my room >90 dB from 6 pm to "all night". The reception said "i will send somebody to see the situation", nothing happened for long time. Finally somebody came to the door and said "I am sorry". Actually almost all my contact with reception was negative. I don't know how i managed to have talk with several different receptionist who didn't respect their customers. I hope i find another opinion for my Diani stays for the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Kennedy Uduny, Marketing at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Mr. Jouni Makela, We pray you travelled safely back home and keeping well ? Allow me to make a follow up email on the discussion that you had with Gabriel the resort Operations Manager yesterday, we would like to sincerely apologize again on the mishaps that happened during your recent stay, as a team we should have done better. The upgrade to Kolekole room 915 after the power incident in 2415 should have been to the Maridadi wing instead of Kolekole where there was a wedding ceremony that resulted to loud music till 11pm. We are saddened that we didn’t offer this option and for this we are sincerely sorry. I am aware we replaced the damaged phone cable, Leaky in the IT department is sourcing the laptop cable , once we have it we will endeavor to send to you in Finland. Gabriel did offer you a night on complimentary basis for your next stay with us, we would like to extend this to two nights. We hope and pray you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves when next in Diani. Silvester Mbandi General Manger gm@baobab-beach-resort.com Tel: +254 725 777 025
Read more
James wrote a review 13 Sep
Poland1 contribution1 helpful vote
Amazing hotel and really great Animation Team. Spectacle is simply extraordinary and acrobatics are spectacular. Night show is five stars. Young animation team are always kind and ready to make the client happy. Everything’s great but mentioned animation team is sot of say GREAT +++ I will be back promised.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kennedy Uduny, Marketing at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Warm greetings from the Baobab Beach Resort & Spa. Thank you very much for sharing such a glowing and heartfelt review of our resort. We are pleased to hear that, on the whole, you have enjoyed your time with us and appreciated our Animation Team. We are happy that you have rated our night shows highly.. At the Baobab, we believe that hospitality is about people and their talent for creating warm and memorable encounters. Please be assured that we will share your positive comments with the team members especially the Jambo Team . We have no doubt that they will be delighted to hear this from you. We hope that it is not so long before we can welcome you back to Diani and back at our resort. Safe travels. Kind Regards, Kennedy Uduny Public Relations Executive marketing@baobab-beach-resort.com Tel: +254 725 777 025
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$198 - US$275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the baobab - baobab beach hotel ukunda, the baobab - baobab beach resort and spa, baobab beach hotel diani
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceUkundaDiani Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
323
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Diani Beach (6.5 km), Colobus Conservation (6.9 km), and Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest (6.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Asha Bistro, Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, and Tiki Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Baobab Beach Resort & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Baobab Beach Resort & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Baobab Beach Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, and Swahili.