Lakesong - Kumarakom

Lakesong - Kumarakom

Traveler (1374)
Room & Suite (251)
                  larger pool, restaurant to the side
Pool & Beach (126)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#13 of 31 hotels in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Lakesong is nature lover's heaven situated on the awe inspiring Vembanadu lake at Kumarakom . It is a peaceful retreat, which takes you to the world of tranquility. At Lakesong the most breathtaking moment will be when you check in. To your surprise , you will be escorted in a traditional canoe to the reception through the internal canals. Indeed, this will be a ride you will cherish for a lifetime. Adjacent to the mesmerizing lagoons is the reception, which is a perfect example of the aristocratic Malabar style of architecture. Its ambience will take you to a different world where traditional art was at its zenith. Its retreat that offers you amazing facilities with top notch quality and world-class service. Above all ,our dedicated professionals will ensure that the time you spend here will be among the most comfortable in your life. At Lakesong we always strive hard to give you the best we can and to surpass your holiday expectations. Lakesong is an architectural marvel, which is based on the traditional Kerala style. The cottages are gabbled and have tile roofs. The exteriors are un-plastered which is a style redolent of the traditional houses of this region. The cottages have 4 star amenities. The rooms have finely appointed interiors with all urban luxuries. The main attraction here is the villas are based on the traditional Malabar style architecture. They are Vembanad and Ashtamudi. The other category is the Punnamada, which is eco-friendly and constructed of interlocking bricks. Totally, there are 48 marvelous Malabar style rooms and 20 breathtaking quaint villas, all constructed on the banks of the inland canals. Lakesong has a swimming pool and a wading pool with a panoramic view of the lake. It is always our pleasure to provide an enjoyable vacation experience for all of our guests. Activities like in door /out door games , children activities , fishing, canoe boat ride , one hour sunset cruise at Vembanadu lake etc. Keeps the guest's stay more entertained. Traditional water rides get the thrill of gliding through the inland canals on traditional country boats. Occasionally try your hand at rowing. Ayurkshethra , a unit of Lakesong is a retreat with ' Green Leaf' certification from the Government of Kerala where Ayurveda is practiced by professional doctors and skilled therapists with traditional treatment facilities. Our yoga centre is a retreat where you can practice various " ASNAS". We assure our best attention and services at all times.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Game room
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Internet
Lazy river
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Foot massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Shops
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Art Deco Style
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Ammankari Road, Kumarakom 686563 India
1,078Review23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 517
  • 366
  • 112
  • 38
  • 45
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bex wrote a review Feb 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a standard family room for 2 nights and was disappointed to find a number of non working electrical appliances, no hot water, dirty chair covers, a view of a stagnant canal and for some reason an absence of enough towels for each person. Housekeeping did rectify the towels and there was an attempt made to fix items. We were subsequently moved to Rm202 which was superb, everything worked and we had a lovely view across the gardens. We first visited Lakesong in 2008 and various members of our family have stayed here and celebrated special birthdays here. Which is why it was so disappointing to see the state of the rooms and the general dilapidation of various public areas. The small swimming pool was closed, water drained and building materials left on site. The large swimming pool was in a poor condition, a number of tiles had come off the walls, my partner managed to cut his foot on an area where the tiling had come off in big sections. At other hotels we have stayed in and around this area, pool staff have provided children with inflatable rings etc but here I was told to make my way back to reception, a good 6 min walk in very hot sun to speak to a manager. We were lent an inflatable ring from the shop and the manager actually appeared at checking out to make sure we had returned the ring. I had very good memories of previous visits to the restaurant, but was disappointed by the tired looking table cloths, decor and a buffet which seemed to be missing some key Keralan dishes. Great to see appam freshly made though foreign guests would not know this was a speciality of the local area. The staff on the resort were very helpful, in the restaurant the waiting staff were attentive and polite and we appreciate the help they gave us regarding food for our children who are from a western background and struggle with spiced food. The children loved fishing and my little girl hooked a black pearl fish. We loved the complimentary evening boat ride and the gardens were amazing. We spotted lots of birds including an owl. We wondered if the hotel was specialising more in corporate packages- there was a group of men playing cricket in the grounds one of the afternoons we were there and certainly enjoying themselves. We were the only family with children staying on site and we also used the games room - chess, table tennis and carrom, plus there was a really good children’s play area. Really think the accommodation and public areas are in dire need of investment. Stayed in a 3 star hotel up in Vargamon and the standard accommodation was so much superior to that provided by Lakesong which was unexpected given Lakesong’s reputation. The staff were polite, helpful and kind, but I left feeling they need a hotel they can be proud of, rather than having to keep apologising to guests.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: You may have to pay extra but the lake view rooms are the better accommodation.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline wrote a review Feb 2020
United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We received a very nice welcome to this hotel. The grounds and gardens are very pretty. The rooms were a good size, with a nice bathroom. The gardens had a seating area backing onto the canals, which was picturesque. You were able to borrow a canoe to paddle around the mini canal network, which looked quite fun. Dinner and breakfast was good, although we found at times there weren't enough tables for everyone. They served beer in the this hotel which was even stocked in the minibar for a reasonable price. Small groups weren't allowed to sit outside, it would have been nice to have the option. There was a free evening lake cruise on a traditional boat, which was a lovely touch to our holiday. I saw a monitor lizard, which was quite a cool surprise while wondering around the grounds! The gym wasn't air conditioned, but there were 2 treadmills and some resistance machines.
The swimming pool was run down and the tiles in the pool were slimy and could do with a clean! The separate children's pool was out of action when we went. It was a little noisy around the pool area, so difficult to relax. However, plenty of sunbeds and a pool towel service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ankur U wrote a review Jan 2020
Mumbai, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is next to the lake and we had opted to stay in their Premium category Vembanadu rooms with Lake view from the sit out.

The property is lush green with their own backwater stream for kayaking and resident flora & fauna. Not to forget the cute swans which are the most prominent representatives of this resort. The native reception staff are very courteous and welcoming. The restaurant had good options for breakfast and ala carte lunch / dinner options. Swimming pool is well kept and next to the restaurant.

They offer sunset lake cruise which is very pleasant and should not be missed.

The rooms are reasonably sized. It tires to maintain traditional architectural aesthetics and may look dull for people expecting more modern setup. We had difficulties with warm water and water faucet and would suggest that bathroom amenities need better maintenance. The room service staff are not native and felt out of place for Kumarakom; but were very helpful.

Lakefront has the most mesmerizing scenic view any time of the day. It is a bliss watching the sunset with houseboats making their regular rounds on the lake sipping a filter coffee.

Overall it was a pleasant experience and our kind gratitude to the staff for making our holidays memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: 101 with lake view from the sit out.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
B Padmanabhan wrote a review Feb 2020
Pune, India
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It is Avery pleasant place to stay. This is a huge property covering vast area fully covered with trees & greenery. Walking in the open place inside the property in the night after dinner gives very pleasant experience. Indoor games like cartons, TT, Chess etc. are really good. There is provision to tahe small boat across water stream going a long distance inside gives a challenging experience for rowing if one is not used to it (one two seater & one three seater are available). The resort takes the guests daily at 5 pm for an hour cruise in a bigger motor boat in the back waters to witness the sun setting & this is real icing on the cake. Food is really good though it may be better relished by sea food lovers. We were happy with Jain food options extended by the kitchen. Don't miss the opportunity to stay in this property when you visit God's own country next time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sreenath S wrote a review Jan 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Its a premium resort in terms of infra and setup with some inefficiencies possibly due to covid impact!! Rooms are really good, private lakefront, and in a way it gives you the resort vibe!! Free breakfast is a scam, you can all those in local hotel for rs.50/- as it had very limited options.

I ended up being in the wrong end of an incident where my car jeep compass got scratched by people(there are enough psychos around even in 4star resorts), they didn't had people/security in common areas surveiling the people nor have CCTV points capturing right angles. Definitely its a 30k-50k scratch in terms of jeep compass standard but the reply approach from the resort manager and senior associates should have been more proactive and enthusiastic! I felt like they were in no mood to look at a customer's issue after i reported the incident. I had to go again to 'invite' him to the spot and to check CCTV footage! They should have taken the responsibility of the incident they being a 4star resort and we have paid a premium for the rooms! This should have been handled in a better way though!!

Giving it a 2star to get attention from senior management and take corrective actions, otherwise its a definite 4starrer resort if they correct the food issues and maintain the property better!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry S wrote a review Jan 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is more suited to live-stock than humans.
Lake Song Resort claims to be a 4 star hotel but yet have the noisest rooms I’ve experience in India.

What you may not realise is the building materials they used to make the walls are that of breeze block. Breeze blocks are hollow inside and are not insulated. Breeze blocks are cheap and are used to build factories, NOT hotels. This means you can hear everything from all the rooms around you and to the very end of the corridor.

When we raised this issue with management they refused to acknowledge that their “4 star” hotel was not up to standard and further refused to apologise for the sleepless night we experienced.
Instead they chose to blame their other customers saying they can’t tell them to reduce there noice and argued we were wrong in our opinion.

We spoke to 3 levels of management and they just got ruder and more indignant the higher we went.

I would strongly recommend if you are looking for a good nights rest and relaxing time by the backs waters then look elsewhere.

There are many more beautiful water front resorts in that area for you to choice from. Enjoy and sleep easy.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lakesong, General Manager at Lakesong - Kumarakom
Responded Jan 31, 2020
Dear Sir/Madam Greetings Eastend Hotels & Resorts !!!! Thanks for the feedback and let me explain the situation. Your check in was very smooth and also the feedback at the restaurant was good. next day morning at around 10 am you were at the reception for check out and you informed us that morning 6 am some other room guests were checking out and they were talking very loudly. so you lost your sleep at 6 am. We said let us check and get back to you......then you were saying as it is a 4 star resort , normally hotels will give compensation for the guest complaints.......we very politely said when there is no mistake from the hotel why we are giving compensation ? then you said it is only "Matter of 3650" the previous night dinner bill, make that complimentary or otherwise we will write it in social media and especially in tripadvisor. Which was in a very threatening manner. Then we very politely said Madam you can please Go ahead and write we will explain our part. Now for the readers, we have checked all the CCTV cameras and there were no movement of guests at 6 am near to those 2 guest rooms. we do take good care of the guests but for getting complimentary dinner if someone makes any such complaints we are helpless. Warm regards Team Eastend Hotels & Resorts.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kalyan B wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A fabulous budget resort and Spa, the team is excellent with a huge welcome and then the room are old fashioned and quaint and the canals enticing for a quick "drift" down there. Excellent food with wide choice, multi cuisine is Indian focused so all buffets and breakfasts are traditional.
Note, there is no beach but the pools are excellent with a games room and spa. Yoga also easily arranged.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RichardFree wrote a review Apr 2023
Coventry, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night whilst on a Kerala backwaters trip. The rooms are large and comfortably furnished with either a terrace or a balcony looking out on to the well-maintained gardens and towards the large lake. The restaurant near the pool serves a good selection of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel also offers complimentary boat trips on the lake. If we weren't moving on we would have been happy to spend a week here on holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sandeep k wrote a review Feb 2023
Bengaluru, India
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible stay . Not family friendly .
1 . Children play area - no maintainance , broken and dirty things
2 . Unhygenic room - lot of lizard in the room.
3. Tasteless food - completly taste less food in the buffet.
4 . Light is so low in the room that you will have to use mobile torch to check the things into cupboard.
5 . Yellow water comes in washroom.
6 . No staircase light and tv was not working .we called several to get this rectified .
7. Tv is there but only free channel .
8 .Bathroom lock not working.
9. Fan regulator not working .
7. Overall no maintenance . Many places almost light is not working .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Please avoid this resort .only picture of resort is beautiful but other things are worse . Lizard...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo Mo wrote a review Nov 2023
Bribie Island, Australia
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful location, staff are friendly and responsive. Rooms are a bit tired and in our room there was no hot water and despite asking for it to be fixed it didn't get better. The pillows were extremely flat and there no additional pillows in the room. There is also limited alcohol served (beer only) and no cocktails available. This place has so much potential and with some updating and tweaking could be a 5 star resort.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amarjeet A asked a question Sep 2019
Gurgaon12 contributions6 helpful votes
What are the activities at the resort for kids...
Answer from Piyush Kacha
Pune District, India13 contributions
There are many activities cycling swimming indoor games etc.
Answer from pooja10july
4 contributions2 helpful votes
No doubt its a huge property but not upto our expectation Go fr taj or zuri
Neeti C asked a question Oct 2018
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, can lakesong help me to arrange a wedding at their resort?
Kottayam, India7 contributions5 helpful votes
Yes, they will.
LovesToTravelLady asked a question Sep 2018
Carmichael, California185 contributions13 helpful votes
Are the rooms air conditioned?
Answer from yesuthasen
Chennai (Madras), India555 contributions293 helpful votes
Yes. They are air conditioned
DrRikin asked a question Feb 2018
Surat, India
is this a 3/4/5 star property?
Answer from Roshith V
Doha, Qatar13 contributions8 helpful votes
It’s a 4 star property
Quest02846382266 wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool was closed they said it is under maintenance but we didnt see any work going on"
Read full review
Ashish Murarka wrote a tip Feb 2024
6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go and Relax."
Read full review
643sundeepk wrote a tip Feb 2024
Gurgaon11 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid staying here. There are many options in the area to choose from."
Read full review
Elizabeth B wrote a tip Jan 2024
Crowmarsh Gifford, United Kingdom73 contributions21 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want your room done make sure you ask"
Read full review
Hemant B Randive wrote a tip Nov 2023
Thane District, India36 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great hospitality. Wonderful location."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kumarakom area.
PRICE RANGE
₱3,621 - ₱4,380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lakesong kumarakom hotel kumarakom
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Eastend Lakesong
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaKottayam DistrictKumarakom
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LAKESONG - KUMARAKOM - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (India) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lakesong - Kumarakom
Which popular attractions are close to Lakesong - Kumarakom?
Nearby attractions include Vembanad Lake (4.3 km), Bay Island Driftwood Museum (2.6 km), and Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary (3.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lakesong - Kumarakom?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Lakesong - Kumarakom?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lakesong - Kumarakom?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lakesong - Kumarakom?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lime Tree, The Waterside, and Laguna Bass Specialty Seafood Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lakesong - Kumarakom?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Lakesong - Kumarakom have airport transportation?
Yes, Lakesong - Kumarakom offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Lakesong - Kumarakom located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Kumarakom.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lakesong - Kumarakom?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Lakesong - Kumarakom offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lakesong - Kumarakom?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
All Kumarakom HotelsKumarakom Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KumarakomHotels near Lakesong - Kumarakom
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars