South Gap Hotel

South Gap Hotel

Traveler (396)
Panorama of the Pool at the South Gap Hotel
360
Panoramas (3)
South Gap Hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 7 hotels in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
This newly renovated three star boutique hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. All of our self catering rooms offer an ocean view!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Car hire
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Saint Lawrence Gap, St. Lawrence Gap BB15020 Barbados
324Reviews68Q+A71Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 228
  • 73
  • 13
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Carolyn G wrote a review Apr 2024
21 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Went to Barbados to recharge and experience the island. So we picked South Gap Hotel so we could be accessible to everything. The hotel was perfect excellent staff on checking room was more than adequate. We were hardly in it but every day it was cleaned and left spotless. Views were to die for. Breakfast had great choice and again staff were very friendly. We did not use the pool as there was so many beaches to explore but was used by many. Only thing I did notice people were reserving sunbed at 6am and as there’s not that many I did think it was unfair on everybody plus half the time people didn’t go to them til gone 10 so others could if benefited . Overall amazing experience
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Operations At South Gap Hotel , Marketing at South Gap Hotel
Responded Apr 29, 2024
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the friendliness of our lovely team! It was a great pleasure having you stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ncsmith wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived hours before check in and the lounge area with bathroom facilities was fantastic. We were able to relax here and get my daughter changed and off to the beach while we waited for our room to be ready. The decor in our room, the pool and deck area overlooking the sea, were all tastefully designed, and felt new, clean and fresh. We had one of the Oceanfront Junior Suites and, it was great being near to the pool. Two TVs, a separate living/kitchenette area, well outfitted with cooking utensils and other necessities were also great to have.

The staff were so friendly and helpful! Lana looked after our housekeeping and was an absolute gem. She was a delight to talk to and took good care of us. Tishaun at the front desk gave such valuable advice with regards to booking our trip activities and helped us arrange a rental car at a reasonable price. Also, I'm sure she was the reason a bottle of bubbly was delivered to our room for our Anniversary :D. I can't leave out the other ladies at the front desk as well who were also so friendly and helpful. It all felt so genuine and there was no hesitation from staff to help with our bags as we came and went. Overall, we were comfortable and felt so well catered to.

The location on St. Lawrence Gap was fantastic as well, with restaurants, a mini mart, pop up street food at night, all within a few minutes' walk from the hotel! Fantastic atmosphere. I'd return to South Gap Hotel and Barbados in a heartbeat. Much love from Trinidad! :D
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cecile H, Manager at South Gap Hotel
Responded Jun 6, 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time out to leave us such a lovely review! We are pleased that you were comfortable and relaxed at the beach while we prepared your room. It is great to hear that you found our decor around the property and in your room to be tastefully designed. It is wonderful to learn that you found our team to be friendly and helpful. We will be sure to share your experience with the team, especially Lana, and Tishaun. We are pleased that Tishaun was able to make your anniversary trip even more special. We are thrilled you enjoyed our location and all that it has to offer. Thank you again for leaving us a review and for choosing our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mdw wrote a review Dec 2020
Roosevelt, New York21 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the South Gap Hotel Barbados. It is an idyllic oasis in the center of it all. This is an intimate boutique hotel with a very cool aesthetic and vibe. The hotel is recently renovated and the rooms are comfortably and well appointed.

Though it is in the middle of the famous St. Lawrence Gap, once inside you are transported to a peaceful oasis. However, if you wish you can just step outside and all the nightlife, bars and restaurants, are right outside. Not to mention the famous Gap Burgers are right at your door! You couldn’t want a better location.

But the best part was the warm and friendly staff. From the reservations team I interacted with prior to and during my stay, to the wonderfully pleasant and professional reception team, to the delightful restaurant staff, the efficient housekeeping team and vigilant security personnel made it feel like you were staying with family.

The food at the onsite restaurant, Tropical Mist Bar & Restaurant was absolutely delicious and reasonably priced.

If you like that boutique hotel feel the South Gap Hotel is definitely one to choose!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cecile Harewood, General Manager at South Gap Hotel
Responded Mar 7, 2021
Thank you for such a prefect rating and posting such a wonderful review. I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with our hotel, our team and the service provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alices0l0m0n wrote a review Jan 2020
Tobago2 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My sister, my neice and I spent 5 days at South Gap Hotel. The location is ideal for persons looking for a good time as restaurants, bars, shops, and street food is literally just outside the gate. The hotel is beautiful with an awesome view of the ocean. My only advice to the cleaning staff however is to give a little more attention to smaller items in the room when cleaning, like dusting the lamps more regularly. Each time i lie down i had to take a sinus pill as the lamp was loaded with dust and making me sneeze.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cecile H, Manager at South Gap Hotel
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Thank you very much for taking the time out to leave us a review! I am happy to hear that you, your niece and sister had a good time at our hotel. It's great to know that you found our location to be ideal, hopefully you were able to experience some of the restaurants, bars, shops and street vendors during your stay . We are very pleased you found our property to be beautiful with an amazing view. I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize about the dust on your bedside, we have spoken to our housekeeping manager and the team to ensure this doesn't happen again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thank you again for leaving us a review! We hope to welcome you back to Barbados and of course South Gap Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kirsten D wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After receiving the most disheartening news that I would have to quarantine for 5 days on arrival to Barbados I was devastated. However when I arrived at South Gap Hotel, I was greeted by the most considerate and friendly front desk staff who did everything they could to ensure that my stay was as comfortable and relaxing as possible. I received a welcome packet with information on the available amenities to me including affordable lunch and dinner menus. My room was beautiful and clean and had an amazing view of the ocean. I spent most of my time on the balcony enjoying it. It was one of the few things that kept me sane throughout my quarantine.
Breakfast was included and was spectacular each day! It arrived speedily and I was given several complimentary drinks throughout my stay. The hotel restaurant 's service was top notch. I was called daily by the front desk staff to check in and ensure that I was comfortable and housekeeping also came by daily to ask if there was anything I needed. Whenever I had deliveries, staff were more than willing to deliver to my room.

When I had to arrange transport for my COVID-19 test, I contacted reception and they took care of everything! All I had to do was be ready.

This was my first stay at South Gap Hotel but it definitely will not be my last! I will definitely be back for a staycation or a meal with friends/family. Thank you for going above and beyond for your guests South Gap!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Studio rooms have fully equipped kitchenettes with a large fridge, portable stove, toaster,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PAMELA L wrote a review Mar 2020
Newton, Massachusetts12 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
WOW! Best location. Best staff. No request was too great or too small for the people at the front desk and they did it all with a smile. Tishaun was especially helpful to us, giving us directions, recommendations and always a friendly greeting. She introduced us to Billy from *Sweet LIfe Tours* when we could not find a tour company that met our last minute needs. Billy provided an absolutely wonderful tour. His knowledge of Barbados and its people was extensive.
Our room was attractive, comfortable and clean. Housekeeping cleaned our room and bathroom every day and provided new towels upon request. (Beach towels were also available.) The view of the ocean and pool from our veranda was exquisite. Because our first floor room faced the pool, we heard NO street noise at night. South Gap Hotel is perfectly located. Excellent restaurants abound and all are within easy walking distance. This hotel is truly a gem!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cecile H, General Manager at South Gap Hotel
Responded Mar 9, 2020
WOW! We are so excited about this review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely comments about your experience with us. It is excellent news that you were happy with every aspect of your stay, especially our lovely team. Thank you once again and we hope to see you at South Gap in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
funlovingtraveller46 wrote a review Jun 2022
London56 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel for a 10 day musical entertainment package. The hotel is fresh and clean. They enforced the strict covid rules, by ensuring everyone had their temperature checked and sanitised their hands on entry. I was allowed to check in early before the rest of the group came. My room was on the first floor and there are no lifts. My room had a very functional kitchenette with everything you might need if did not want to eat out every day. The room was clean with a spacious bathroom. The balcony was spacious also with seaviews and no beach. The bed was comfortable and I slept well and good WIFI . Breakfast was very good because my dietary needs was catered for and I would like to thank the service and catering manager for that. Sorry I forgot her name, she was amazing. The staff and service, especially in the bar area was amazing throughout with our group. It got a little crazy sometimes with the poolside music, but they coped very well. Thank you to the lady who cleaned my room, sorry I forgot your name. The hotel was 5 mins to the nearest beach and all the clubs and eateries on the doorstep. The vendor outside the hotel was sometimes rude. I would stay here. Thank you South Gap for a wonderful holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Operations At South Gap Hotel, Marketing at South Gap Hotel
Responded Jul 12, 2022
Thank you so much for such a thorough review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re delighted to learn that you had a great stay and loved the overall experience. It pleases us to learn that you were happy with your meals at our restaurant, Tropical Mist. We make sure that the dishes we serve are of the highest quality for our customers and guests. I will pass on your comments to the restaurant manager, her team, and the room attendant that serviced your room. I am sure they were more than happy to assist. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matt, Scotland wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to Barbados on 12th September 2020 to a totally COVID-19 free country and immediately we found out why. Masks, temperature checks and hand sanitisers everywhere and everyone following the rules. It turned out that this strict regime is not an obstacle to having a fantastic holiday but something that made you feel safe and looked after! We stayed in South Gap Hotel in a one bedroom suite with a kitchen and two Tv sets. The view is breathtaking with Caribbean sea crashing under your balcony! Amazing! The hotel is immaculate with fantastic swimming pool, sun beds, turquoise umbrellas and torches lit up at night time! The staff extremely welcoming, helpful and totally non - disturbing! Special thanks to Tia who not only was very approachable and charming but also suggested all possible local attractions and Marlin fish sandwiches at Pebbles Beach that are to die for! We highly recommend South Gap Hotel to everyone and will be definitely going back! Forgot to mention fantastic BBQ stand in front of the hotel every night till 4 o'clock in the morning with fresh beef burgers and fish! Overall hats off South Gap Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: one bedroom suites are amazing.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cecile Harewood-Gibson, General Manager at South Gap Hotel
Responded Oct 7, 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this truly wonderful review. It is wonderful news that you felt safe at South Gap and in Barbados and that you were happy with our accommodation and our team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jettyCheshire wrote a review Mar 2020
Hampshire, United Kingdom31 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely cannot fault this hotel. Having read reviews of noise at the front we chose a ground floor junior suite at the back -well worth paying a little extra for.
Rooms are immaculately clean tastefully decorated and spacious. 2 TVs and very efficient aircon and fans. The bedroom is towards the back of the suite (so no sea view from bed!). Huge comfy bed and loads of pillows. Useful lounge/kitchenette at front with patio doors onto private deck with table then public deck overhanging the sea. Not massively private but our neighbours were considerate and friendly.
Kitchen has everything you might need for breakfasting/snacking, coffee maker, kettle, toaster, 2 ring job and utensils and salt + pepper and a few teabags etc. They had even made ice for us.
Pool area lovely clean decking and rattan furniture, cleaned and maintained every day. Great ocean views lit by gas flames at night. Watch the turtles frolicking in the surf! Plenty of beds/chairs and pool never crowded.
Breakfasts delicious, staff all delightful from manager to handymen.
Right at the centre of things in the Gap- no direct beach access but a short stroll in either direction to lovely public beaches.
Fantastic value for money and much nicer than the large resort type hotels popular here.
Five stars *****
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cecile H, General Manager at South Gap Hotel
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Thank you so much for this excellent review! We are just thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with our property and the amenities that we provide. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our number one priority. We have already shared your wonderful comments with our team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deemarvellous wrote a review Jul 2021
7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Please give Tishaun a raise! She is absolutely phenomenal. After booking overseas and discovering there was a local rate, Tishaun was patient with me and guided me through the rebooking process. She confirmed I was all set and remained pleasant despite the inconvenience of my error. When I arrived completely exhausted from the hell that was GAIA, again she greeted me with warmth and kindness as I checked in. She called to advise me to order dinner before I started getting comfortable bc the restaurant was closing shortly and as I had not eaten all day I was supremely grateful. When I had to change locations bc they were fully booked, she secured a new room for me nearby and assisted with my transportation there. I will recommend her and South Gap to everybody. I wish we could clone her bc Barbados needs more Tishauns in tourism!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Sirena1234
Toms River, New Jersey1,835 contribution295 helpful votes
We stayed on the upper floor facing the water & pool area. Very little to no noise in that room.
Answer from Livvydread
Bridgetown, Barbados7 contributions1 helpful vote
The area has a lot of nightlife so will be great for the boys and I don’t think it’ll be too noisy for you. I would suggest that you look at a map of the area (St.Lawrence Gap)and stay either at the beginning or end of the the gap as the party spots are in the middle
Answer from shinikka12
Trinidad1 contribution1 helpful vote
Good day There were it's, knives,forks , spoon etc. There was dishwashing liquid and sponge. There Was salt also .
Answer from Victor L
Houston, Texas103 contributions49 helpful votes
Don’t know the answer to that. Google the hotel to send them a message. I know they are diligent in answering.
Answer from Andrea F
12 contributions3 helpful votes
It wasn't noisy for us as we slept very deeply. We did sleep with the balcony door open so it didn't impact us at all.
Shanequa B wrote a tip May 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay in a junior suite if you can. "
Read full review
Geoff Wright wrote a tip Apr 2024
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom92 contributions67 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of water and sunscreen. Food portions here are off the charts and we shared most of the time, street food a must."
Read full review
Andrew O wrote a tip Apr 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"research on where you want to eat before you come as it’s very limited if you want good food if you’re just going to Party, Then it’s ok"
Read full review
Tracy M wrote a tip Mar 2024
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eltigra for boat trip"
Read full review
Sirena1234 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Toms River, New Jersey1,835 contribution295 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a room in the back of the hotel as in front rooms you are exposed to very loud nightlife across the street."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Lawrence Gap area.
PRICE RANGE
₱7,743 - ₱11,850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel south gap, south gap christ church
LOCATION
CaribbeanBarbadosChrist Church ParishSt. Lawrence Gap
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOUTH GAP HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about South Gap Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to South Gap Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Barbados Magic Lounge (0.2 km), St Lawrence Gap (0.2 km), and The Old Jamm Inn (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at South Gap Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at South Gap Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at South Gap Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at South Gap Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to South Gap Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harlequin Restaurant, On The Bay, and Cocktail Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at South Gap Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does South Gap Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, South Gap Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to South Gap Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting George Washington House (3.8 km), Garrison Savannah - Barbados Turf Club (3.4 km), and Barbados Garrison (3.8 km).
Does South Gap Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is South Gap Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All St. Lawrence Gap HotelsSt. Lawrence Gap Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. Lawrence Gap
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars