We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thresher Cove Dive Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
Start your review of Thresher Cove Dive Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed staying at this resort. Very nice environment and service, clean rooms. Lovely ocean view. Breakfast was ok, it took quite some time to get the food though. It is bit far from everything else on the island so you have to take a motorbike everywhere. However it's also peaceful and quiet. We also did some diving with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mengomango
Mark C, Owner at Thresher Cove Dive Resort, responded to this review

Hi Thanks you for the nice review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I would like to clear up a misunderstanding. We don't make a cost justification for running any of our dive trips except for Kalanggaman Island. But this is the same for all dive centres. Currently our own boats are under repair after storm damage and so...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in the dorm room for 4 nights. The dorm is clean and hosts good facilities including toilets and showers. AC works but the WiFi might not work unless you are in the restaurant / reception area. The beds at least in the dorms are kind of short, so if you are over 180 cm in height, your legs will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tommi K
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After having a motorcycle accident elsewhere the staff of Thresher Cove made sure there was a flatboat waiting for me on arrival when my ferry came into Malapascua which was highly appreciated. They also helped me clean my wounds & bandage my leg with their first aid kit which was really helpful. The grounds of the hotel are very beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannahfurn
Mark C, Owner at Thresher Cove Dive Resort, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review. I'm trying to get to the bottom of some of the points you raised. We have listened. Frankly, I was not happy to see the mattress photo. That has been correctly fitted not. The number of beds has been reduced to make more space. The dorm has been renovated and improved. There is a separate...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited here to get my dive certificate and do the Thresher Shark dive but unfortunately the weather proved inclement and I was not able to do either. I did my basic skills in the pool and had a 45 minute dive just off the resort on the reef...by the way this was excellent!!! I chose to stay in NON...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
Mark C, Owner at Thresher Cove Dive Resort, responded to this review

Hi Bruce Thanks for the kind words. We're looking forward to seeing you again so we can introduce you to the thresher sharks:) Thanks Mark

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Location is the worst out of all resorts. You will have to constantly pay for motorbike rides to and from the beach, making it particularly bad for early morning scuba diving Internet was broken throughout the duration of my stay, with a backup connection that barely worked. 5-10% surcharge for using credit card. Other hostels and resorts did not do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elliot M
Mark C, Owner at Thresher Cove Dive Resort, responded to this review

Well Elliot, now I understand what is meant by "alternative facts" I wonder what's motivating you to say those things. I think its because you meant to book a different resort but didn't really check. So you ended paying significantly more for your diving and then had to pay to go to them because they wouldn't give you a free...

Manila
Reviewed February 20, 2017

Thresher Cove Dive Resort is an amazing place to stay in Malapascua Island. It's far from Bounty Beach though but that's what makes it peaceful and private place. I love the little details like they provide clothes rack outside our cottage, a small "pool" (sorry I don't know how it's called) to clean your feet before you enter the cottage,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gr_trips
Reviewed February 15, 2017 via mobile

I am a solo non diver traveller. I did not expect how they treated me well. I only booked the cheapest dorm but they treated me special. They give me a personalized letter and a complimentary drinks. I really appreciate it well. The food are great too. They have a private beach. The down side is that you need to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Che B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 14, 2017

I did my PADI Open Water here before dives at Monad Shoal and Gato island, and the experience may have been the highlight of my trip to the Philippines. Booking with Mark was easy and efficient, Kleng and Dish were superb instructors, the amenities were first rate, and-most important-everybody who worked there was lovely. The aforementioned dive sites were also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
Reviewed February 14, 2017

Resort is very nice with a swiming pool and a private white sand beach. Excellent dive center wtih many options to dive every day. Location is 20min by walk from the main village thus it's better if you are looking for a quiet place to relax (not a party place)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloé M
Basel
Reviewed February 2, 2017

For me it was the best decision to stay there. A short walk (15 min.) away from the busy bounty beach you find Thresher cove with its own beach. The staff is very helpful and freindely and do everything to make your stay perfect. The dorm I stayed in was ok. There is space to store your backpack but with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthias G

368 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (173)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (91)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Captain's Villa (36)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (25)
Viewed
Lookout Room (30)
Viewed
Mixed Dorm (14)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
1.7 km away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
494 reviews
1.6 km away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
395 reviews
1.5 km away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
101 reviews
1.6 km away
Malapascua Legend
Malapascua Legend
#10 of 13 in Malapascua Island
145 reviews
1.4 km away
Malapascua Budget Inn
Malapascua Budget Inn
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
DIVE WITH THRESHER SHARKS, MANTAS, HAMMERHEADS, WHITE TIP SHARKS and MANY MORE at Thresher Cove, a specialist resort for divers. We have a mix of accommodation to suit all budgets, from backpackers to luxury travellers. Set in the diver's mecca of Malapascua Island, Cebu, in the Philippines. With large beautiful grounds, we off the chance to relax and dive in peace away from the noise of the public beach. Our private beach is a 100m strip of white sand that acts as a gateway to your diving adventures. Each day we offer you the chance to dive with thresher sharks. But we also dive with manta, hammer heads and white-tip sharks. For those who love macro life and photography then we will take you diving with pygmy sea horses, frog fish and a host of other amazing sea-life. But of course the main attraction is to dive with thresher sharks. For non-divers, we offer snorkelling, our own beach has wonderful snorkelling, canoeing, swimming in our pool, volleyball, badminton, billiards/pool or just relaxing spa treatments. Our restaurant has rapidly gained a reputation for excellent healthy, fresh foods to suit most budgets and tastes, and includes an extensive vegetarian selection. We even make our own bread, baguettes and croissant. Accommodation is designed to look native on the outside but retains inside, everything you expect from a great resort, air-conditioning, en-suite bathroom, comfortable beds and pillows, satellite TV, free wifi and a refrigerator. We try to make Thresher Cove your home in the Philippines. So if you just want to relax or to dive with thresher sharks and other amazing sea life then please contact us. We off many special packages for instance free accommodation when you learn to dive with us. We hope to see you soon in Thresher Cove Resort & Dive Centre ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thresher Cove Dive Resort

Address: | Logon, 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Price Range: ₱552 - ₱6,074 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thresher Cove Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thresher Cove Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Thresher Cove Dive Resort staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Thresher Cove Dive Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If going for the dorm, choose the bigger one because it hosts better facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Stay at the cottage area near the restaurant, everything is provided there.”
 of 5 bubbles gr_trips, Feb 20, 2017 | Read review
“The villas on the beach are fairly simple but have everything you need”
 of 5 bubbles GreeryN, Jan 22, 2017 | Read review
“The end twin cabana is great and feels really secluded. The Lookout is fab for some luxury and real isolation up on the hill”
  • View from
  • View from the Double Cabana
 of 5 bubbles Ptreadaway, Jan 18, 2017 | Read review
“it depends what you want - we had very cozy house - the Captains Villa - i believe you can not find it elsewhere at the island !”
  • our living room in captains villa
  • walldeco in captions villa
  • balcony
  • gathering with locals which collect fresh seafood
  • Locals everymoring - looking for seaurgins and other fresh selfood
 of 5 bubbles juergenp692, Jan 18, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5