Blue Corals Beach Resort

Blue Corals Beach Resort

View of ocean of private balcony
Traveler (243)
The view from our private balcony.
Room & Suite (78)
Breakfast: mixed fruit pancake
Dining (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#3 of 5 small hotels in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travelers make Blue Corals Beach Resort their small hotel of choice when visiting Malapascua Island. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning and a desk, and you can stay connected during your stay as Blue Corals Beach Resort offers guests free internet access.

The small hotel features a concierge, a gift shop, and shops. Plus, Blue Corals Beach Resort offers free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day.

If you like pubs, Blue Corals Beach Resort is conveniently located near Sunset Bar and Hippocampus Bar and Restaurant.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Malapascua Light House, which is a popular lighthouse amongst tourists.

At Blue Corals Beach Resort, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Malapascua Island.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Car hire
Massage
Baggage storage
Internet
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Snorkeling
Fishing
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Bottled water
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, German

Location

6013 Philippines
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 81 out of 100
81
Mactan Intl Airport
114.1 km
See all flights
200Reviews4Q+A44Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 59
  • 79
  • 42
  • 11
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Steve E wrote a review Jan 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I must admit that Blue Corals was not what I expected given the location and that it is one of the largest properties on the island but on saying that: they made up for the disappointments is other ways.

I am not a drinker but I do like my coffee, especially the first one in the morning. Problem one: no kettle in the room. Solutions: the immediately brought out a new boxed kettle, cup and tea spoon. No fuss, just all smiles.

Problem two, poor Internet in my room: we all love internet and while I am not much for social media, I do have work to do. Solution: take the WiFi booster for the evening. :-)

For me, Blue Corals was a home from home, friendly, easy going, nothing too much trouble. No mess, no fuss and a place I would happily return to on my next visit to Malapascua.

If I had one gripe it would be breakfast: please, please, please stop serving that toasted sweet bread as it ruins the taste of good old bacon and eggs.

All in all a big thank you to all at Blue Corals and I mean ALL! from the security on the stairs up to the owner and all in between for making my stay a pleasurable one.

Best Regards to you all.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven S wrote a review Mar 2023
Pattaya, Thailand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff are helpful and cheerful. They organised my day trip to Kalanggaman island.
I booked a delux queen suite over three months in advance and was allocated room 2 where from the balcony you looked right down Bounty beach. The room was spacious, the old aircon unit in the wall worked well and the lighting was adequate. Enough shelving and hanging space for clothes.
The size of the bathroom was compact and described as a wet room. Water pressure was decent and the water as hot as you want.
I did bring to the attention of reception on my last day that my online booking included a fridge but that my room did not have one. It was not a deal breaker for me but reception, to their credit, gave me a discount on my room which was appreciated. The resort was at fault but it is always good when a hotel is proactive in providing compensation.
There were choices from the breakfast menu but I was more than happy with the omelet that was served. I do not drink coffee or tea and usually you can order juice in lieu but here I had to pay extra for juice. Maybe an issue (discrimination) management should look at.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul P wrote a review Jan 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
For my money, Blue Corals is the best value on Malapascua Island. The staff are amazing and even gave me a free upgrade to a room with a private balcony with a ocean view. The Mango Pancakes at breakfast Time are to die for, my one and only complaint is it seems the island shuts down around 8pm and their is nothing really to do.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gregory W wrote a review Feb 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The room had air conditioning when I checked in. I went to book dives at a dive shop. They took the do not disturb sign off my door and turned off air conditioner. They turned off the circuit breaker as well. The booking says bungalow duplex. It’s not a bungalow nor a duplex. It’s a tiny little room with a fan. So many other hotels on the island. No one at the front desk. They also intentionally ignored calls from trip.com when I tried to cancel and book somewhere else. Stay somewhere else!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt F wrote a review Jul 2023
Maclean, Australia
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The budget hotel with million dollar views. I loved this place. It has reasonably comfy beds, basic ensuite bathroom, and the best mixed fruit pancakes for breakfast. There is a large private deck for the room with sweeping ocean views. The only bad points are that it does not have television, and the air con was noisy. I loved the location on a rocky point at one end of Bounty Beach. The staff are great and can organise Transfers, laundry etc. I would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If you pay for the private boat they will drop you right at the hotel, whereas the warf is a bit...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eddie W wrote a review Sep 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can’t believe my luck. This was the most beautiful place I have ever been. We had an ocean view from our room, which allowed wonderful views of the sunset. Everything was lovely…staff, breakfast, beach and atmosphere all 10/10. Honestly can’t recommend it enough, please you must stay here! Thank you so much for having us, we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patrik Å wrote a review Jan 2020
Boracay, Philippines
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We got a standard room. The room is very basic, no refrigerator, no free water etc. Just beds and AC.

There was a gigant spider first day and a second smaller spider the other night.

Breakfast not that fun, egg and bacon and coffe or Philippine breakfast. Reception guy friendly.

A descent stay after all.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David C wrote a review May 2024
Greater London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Blue corals is onw of the first hotels on this Island i beleive, i was here in 2003 and it was there. This was my first time staying and i was not disappointed.
Great price point and my partner loved the view towards the Sunset, i would have prefered to be on the other side but at least she was happy

Staff were very friendly and the room was nice, there was only one problem and it was big one.
Brownouts or blackouts depending on what lingo you use

On one of these occasions we had no power for like 9-10 hours what this means is no air con and no fan our room hit 40 something not pleasant at all

Now i know this is not the hotels fault (although why dont they have a generator) apparently the mayor is cutting costs - in the middle of the tourist season, not very sensible, thats going to pit tourist s off coming

Would i stay again, of course
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kmcoyle wrote a review Jan 2012
Sanbornville, New Hampshire
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Blue Corals is located at the far end of Bounty Beach and an easy walk from the ferry drop off point. Given the location and views, this place could be FABULOUS – but there are deep flaws (some can be easily fixed, some not so easy...) that could not be glossed over. After 1 night, we would have swapped except due to the Chinese New Years holiday we were unable to find a better alternate available for the full week.

On the good side: There are stunning views from the rooms in the main building with balcony (sunrise for some, sunset for others). Our room was large and spacious with a great open balcony and a nice ocean breeze (very basic – no TV or fridge, but fine for us). The hotel bar was a picture-perfect location to watch the sunset. The owner and her sister were very helpful and pleasant and went out of their way to help with any questions. The general maintenance guy who took us snorkeling (800 pesos) was very sweet and helpful. There is a paperback book swap in the lobby.

Hummm… Those are the only good things I can think of to say… the rest was not good :-(

First: the staff (a clique of young girls) in both the bar and the breakfast area were alternately mean spirited and rude or “fake-friendly.” I felt like we were being served by a bunch of cranky, passive-aggressive teenagers. It’s been a while since I have seen that much eye rolling and pained expressions. A good staff enables you to overlook many things. A bad staff just makes those little things seem so much bigger. More detail and specific examples below…

Second: the beach area itself was terrible, all coral and rocks (no soft sand). The water was too shallow for swimming. The area was a mess with a big pit dug for excavating some sand for construction and to bury trash. Just outside the hotel grounds, the area was littered with trash and litter – not pretty. (But the other end of Bounty Beach was much better!)

Third: the bar is a GREAT location for sunset with a long happy hour (4-7PM) but not many people and it’s easy to figure out why: (1) the staff was horrible, (2) the drinks were not very good, and (3) no food available. Our first night, we went to the check out the bar at @5PM. We were literally the only customers there with a staff of 3 behind the counter. We ordered a glass of white wine and asked what draft beer was available. The girl giggled and laughed at us (in a mocking tone that was very bizarre). We asked her what was so funny and she ran off laughing with no explanation. Instead another girl came over and we started again. Turned out there was no draft beer at all and wine is not sold by the glass – by the bottle only, and not chilled. When we asked for a snack menu, this was responded to by rolling eyes and more mocking laughter – nope, no food either. So, I ordered a gin & tonic (rather weak) and my husband got a bottled beer. The crowd picked up for the sunset, then dispersed quickly. We did give it one more try and this time the girls were much more friendly, until I noticed them rolling eyes and exchanging looks behind our backs like school children making fun of the teachers. Not a pleasant experience. We did not go back. If you are going to be “fake-friendly,” you need to be sure you are not caught.

Fourth: The “fan” bedrooms REALLY need mosquito netting over the beds for the evening. Every night we would need to close the balcony door (so lost the nice breeze) and I still ended up with bug bites.

Last, breakfast was ok, usually hot and served relatively quickly (though often a tad greasy). Again, the key challenge was the serving staff: no smiles, no welcome – just pained expressions and grudging attention. English skills were marginal: we asked for jam with the toast and it was clear she did not know what we meant. Instead of getting help, the request was ignored (which seemed to be a common way of dealing with a number of requests – ignore it). We always tried to smile and be pleasant, but the staff was usually grumpy and for our last morning the waitress mumbled something under her breath in her language in a very rude tone. I asked her to explain what she had said (with a tone as well and tried to repeat her words) but she ran off nervously. I seriously think she was swearing at us! It was so BIZARRE! As I think about it, maybe she was insulted we did not leave a tip. LOL! If that was the case, I think she needs to understand tips are EARNED.

There was even more, but you get the drift... Blue Corals has some good things, but in balance there are many much better options on the island.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Pick a different hotel :-)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ColorX wrote a review Feb 2014
Cambridge
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I did a lot of research before going to Malapascua for Thresher diving and decided to stay here because of what appeared to be good value and availability. My stay included some days during the Chinese New Year...this is THE most busy time on the island during the year. The Blue Corals was one of only a few spots I could find with availability....I found out way. The place is a joke...

They offer "bungalow" rooms as well as main building rooms. The bungalows are advertised as "on the beach." They are NOT on the beach. They ARE at ground level but set across from the main foot road and down a local alley. They are basically motel rooms, not individual units. They are fronted by a grass area that the hotel uses to hang out all of the hotel laundry sheets, towels etc. I was shown to my "bungalow" in the back and felt like I was being put in a dog house with a view of only laundry to see. There is no sea view from these units as they either face the laundry area with a rock wall behind or a brick wall in front.

I asked the female, Filipino owner for a different room and was offered an AC Deluxe room in the main building. This room was nice enough with two beds and a balcony overlooking a rocky bay at the side of the hotel. What I discovered later was that the whole place seems to be in bad repair and the service staff don't seem to have a clue about what they are doing.

As a solo dive instructor, I’m accustomed to being comfortable staying just about anywhere with all different types of service. This place was special in their unpreparedness for guests. Some of the rooms come with an included breakfast. They have a small area in the hotel with tables and chairs for breakfast guests. Breakfast is a set menu of a few combinations that you can pick from. Pork and fried eggs or a pancake or some fruit and cereal. Even with a set menu the staff could not seem to get it together enough to deliver the right meals to guests or to deliver them at all. After waiting an hour for some eggs, I finally just gave up and left since I had scheduled dives to do. They did bring me a coffee after I got up and malked around back to ask a waitress. It was a glass of warm water and a packet of Nescafe. Good enough though. The owner apologized to me by explaining that they had too many Chinese people they were dealing with (my visit was during the busy Chinese New Year holiday). The food never did come. They failed to serve breakfast, they didn't have change for basic payments to refill water bottles, they did not clean the room for me and they did not have cold water available for sale. These are just a few of the oddities of the Blue Corals hotel.

The hotel is owned by a Filipino lady and her German husband (foreigners cannot own property in the Philippines...they must marry a local who can own). There was no efficiency or order that you'd expect that a German partner might have on the operation.

The hotel does not offer any in-house dive shop...so it's just a place to sleep...and maybe get something to eat if you're lucky. You have to walk down the island to get to your dive shop of choice. The two main dive shops are Evolution and Exotic. Both of these are a 15 minute walks from the hotel and are located on the opposite side of the island. This gets to be a real pain if you are doing multiple dives a day. If you do three dives, then you have to walk a total of an hour and a half during the day to get to and from your room if you want to freshen up after each dive. Thresher Shark Divers is closer...maybe 8 minutes away, but they have become a less popular and credible dive operation after sinking two of their boats in a recent storm because they didn't secure their boats like every other dive shop on the island.

The hotel itself is well in need of maintenance and repair. Storms hit the island all of the time. I've uploaded several photos showing the disrepair of the place. You can't even go up to the roof to find a quiet place to look out over the sea because even that is used to do their laundry.

You don't go to Malapascua expecting a fancy hotel. Just a comfortable bed with some reasonable food in a safe environment. Blue Corals can't seem to even deliver on those basics. I ended up leaving and moving over to the Evolution hotel even though I had paid in advance with Blue Corals and still had paid nights available. They refuse all refunds of course so I just chalked it up as a loss and just left in order to salvage the remainder of my trip. It was totally the right decision to make because the service and comfort at Evolution for even better value was amazing!

If you want to enjoy your diving trip to this tiny island and take in the magical experience of the Threshers, then do yourself a favor and avoid this place at all costs. Save up your pennies if you have to (even though you probably won't need to) and find a better spot that can actually handle guests and provide a relaxing, fun vacation. Places like Evolution and Exotic are one-stop shops that have rooms, restaurants and dive shops all in one place. They have their stuff together. This saves you time and energy. You can do your 5:30am shark dives, go back to your room afterwards for a nap and clean up, have some breakfast and chill out. Blue Corals can't offer any of that at any price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: NOT a "bungalow"...they are NOT on the beach.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vivian U, Inhaber at Blue Corals Beach Resort
Responded Feb 23, 2014
Good morning Mr. Fox, We sincerely apologize to have serious lacking during your stay. We do accept that we made a lot of lapses in terms of our service. Blue Corals Beach Resort is still on process of recovery, it includes constructions to many parts of the hotel. Just like the pictures that you have posted. That means we can not really give the full service like before but still we are trying our best to satisfy every needs of our costumers. There were costumers who really understand our part. Though its not perfect as it is but they were satisfied for what we have offered. Regarding to your breakfast we sincerely apologize again. It was indeed a lot of costumers for it was a busy days. At that time we were really trying to accommodate all of our costumers including you. But as just like any normal hotel we made mistakes. We also apologize for hanging our laundry in front of our bungalow duplex rooms. The weather on that week was really bad and we are not able to wash them one at a time. And we just used our last reserve linens and towels during your stay not only in your room but also in others. .Our rooms in bungalow is not that bad, actually you did not stay in there and we let you accommodate in our main building rooms for you to be satisfied for we still have one available room and we gave it to you. Bungalow Duplex Rooms are just 10 meters away from the beach. All our guest who stayed in there are very happy. Not just because our rooms are nice but they find serinity during their stay. We are grateful that you made your comment in order for us to do better next time. Thank You so much.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Vivian U
Cebu City, Philippines
How to get to Malapascua and to Blue Corals Beach Resort If you rent for private car, it's easy for the driver will pick you right in the arrival area and will send you directly to the port going to Malapascua and we can arrange it for you. However, if you want to have public vehicle from Airport to North Bus Terminal you can ride Taxi it's 15-30 minutes trip depending on the traffic. Upon arrival you can have the option to ride the Aircon or Non Aircon Bus it is roughly 4-5 hours trip you also have the option of V-hire or Van for hire it's terminal is also in the north bus terminal you can ask the people around and tell them you are going to Malapascua. Upon arriving in the port going to Malapascua you have to buy a ticket for the boat costing 100 pesos per head and trip is roughly 30-45 minutes. When you arrive in the Island you can ask the local people where the Blue Corals is. Blue Corals is situated in a cliff so it's easy to identify and is painted with blue and white.
佐知子 平 asked a question Sep 2016
4 contributions1 helpful vote
部屋に冷蔵庫と湯沸しポットはありますか?
Matt F wrote a tip Jul 2023
Maclean, Australia13 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you pay for the private boat they will drop you right at the hotel, whereas the warf is a bit of a hike with baggage. "
Read full review
Dane G wrote a tip Sep 2019
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nice Sunset."
Read full review
DiveJedi wrote a tip Apr 2019
Amsterdam129 contributions132 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Standard fan room 2,4 and 6 have beach view. 1,3 and 5 have beach and sunset."
Read full review
Jude Matthew E wrote a tip Mar 2018
Cebu City, Philippines238 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"aircon room"
Read full review
AL_in_SG wrote a tip Feb 2018
Singapore, Singapore511 contributions25 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms facing northwest are much quieter, plus sunset view, choose high floor for better view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Malapascua Island area.
PRICE RANGE
₱1,177 - ₱1,530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PhilippinesVisayasCebu IslandMalapascua Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BLUE CORALS BEACH RESORT - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Malapascua Island, Philippines) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Blue Corals Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Blue Corals Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Mbi Divecenter (0.3 km), Logon Beach (0.1 km), and Logon Church (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Blue Corals Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Blue Corals Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Blue Corals Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Amihan Restaurant, Ocean Vida, and Ristorante Angelina.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Blue Corals Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Filipino.
Does Blue Corals Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Malapascua Island HotelsMalapascua Island Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Malapascua Island
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars