We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast

39 Tatham Street Corner of Ryley and Tatham Street, Dundee 3000 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (15)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 4 guest houses in Dundee
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With our solar installation we keep the lights on for you. As a 3-star Accommodation establishment, we give you quality assurance and value for money. We provide Free Wi-Fi, DSTV, microwaves and fridges and Tea and coffee facility as well as an Iron & Ironing Board in our rooms. At Chez Nous, Cleanliness is our priority. Our breakfast menu has a wide selection to choose from: the most popular choice is our famous French omelette served with the best cappuccino in town, freshly baked bread with farm butter and home-made Jams. We use mostly organic ingredients to enhance the taste and quality of our meals. Book our great 3 course dinners in advance (Set menu Only). Please let us know of any food allergies or dietary requirements. We are The “A” Team Bed and Breakfast. We strive on happy guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Personal trainer
Breakfast available
Golf course
Horseback riding
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Secured parking
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Bowling offsite
Fishing
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Afrikaans, Zulu
96Reviews4Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 56
  • 30
  • 4
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Neil wrote a review Nov 2023
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom10 contributions
Great bed and breakfast in Dundee. Located in a nice neighbourhood with all the usual security features that you’d find in SA (not that they were needed). Big room with self catering kitchen if required along with a big en-suite bathroom. Tasty breakfast also included. Staying in Dundee? I’d stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Secure parking on site.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Fantajan wrote a review Nov 2022
Pretoria, South Africa338 contributions180 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
We booked here for two reasons - in part based on the great reviews and in part because we wanted to visit Blood River and we had heard great things about Elisabeth's skills as a guide. Everything was great from start to finish. Nakitta was a great help with our booking, taking the time to call me to talk through room options to ensure that had the right space for our family. It was easy communicating through Whatsapp, including around the timing of our arrival and our tour of Blood River. We were booked in the Earl Gray suite which worked well for two adults and our son (with the addition of a single bed). We appreciated having a kitchenette and space to stretch out. The tour of Blood River held our interest, including our ten-year old son. Elisabeth makes history come alive and it was useful driving to and from the battlefield with her so that she could provide additional information and context. We decided ahead of time to have dinner at Chez Nous that night and are glad we did. Everything was very fresh and tasty. We enjoyed meeting the Chez Nous dogs - they are welcoming and very well behaved. Be sure to bring your own toiletries as they do not provide them (for environmental reasons given all of the waste involved in providing small plastic bottles). Given how much we enjoyed dinner, we were really looking forward to breakfast and weren't disappointed. Even our picky son liked his perfectly done scrambled eggs. Elisabeth and her cooks have the highest standards and many of the things they serve, from the freshly ground coffee, to the marmalades, to the sausages are made specifically by or for them. The staff are absolutely delightful and have a strong focus on customer service. They truly make their guests feel at home. Chez Nous really is a special place. It's more than a place to stay - it's an experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
davidfarrell72 wrote a review Sep 2023
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
Well organized, comfortable home from home, hot shower and comfortable bed. Chez Nous Bed & Breakfast is well located, easy to get to, as it was a self catering unit the breakfast facilities were not made use of but were available, will definitely stay at Chez Nous Bed & Breakfast for my next trip to Dundee
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Parking and access is easy, no problems at all
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Zee wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
Stayed in the Earl grey room. The owner upgraded us to the bigger suite and the premises were clean and room very spacious. The gardens are beautiful and the surrounds are quiet. It is also a central location.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nompilo wrote a review Dec 2022
Pretoria, South Africa2 contributions
Rooms were cleaned everyday without fail. Bed is comfortable with clean linen. Staff was friendly and always ready to assist. Secure parking in a quite suburb. My only worry was the gas geyser. It was my first time encounter with it. Was not really happy with how its works as it reaches around 88 degrees and soon decreases to cold water while still showering.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast
Responded Dec 6, 2022
Thank you for your wonderful review. In the near future we do have plans to replace the Gas geysers with something more user-friendly. At Chez Nous we improve because we listen to our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ren wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
The bathroom and the kitchen were not in a clean condition. The ventilation was very poor and there is a gas geyser in the kitchen which is not far frm the bed even though the owner claims that they do not allow visitors for safety reasons. The receptionist that assisted with check in was rude and unfriendly. Definitely not worth the money. Definitely not coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast
Responded Dec 5, 2022
Dear Renitha, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please be advised before you checked in you were notified that we do not allow visitors for safety reasons as mentioned to you this is a municipal bylaw that we follow from Fire and safety. If you were not happy with your room when you saw it you could of requested to change your Room. The gas geyser and the bed are on two different sides of the Room and not near one another. You did not want the dinner that was prepared for you before the time and insisted that we give you money for your dinner and we asked you if there was something you don't eat and if you have food allergies well before your check in date. The manager had personally had to come in and sort all your complaints and had to ask you to move your car in the undercover parking. Yours faithfully Nakkita Bugden Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Janine wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
We always go back to stay at Chez Nous qhen we in Dundee, its both homely and impeccably clean and comfortable. Everyone is incredibly helpful and welcoming. Homemade breads and marmalade for breakfast brings back school day memories. Can highly recommend this awesome accommodation
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nita wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Chez Nous is a little gem in Dundee. Peaceful and tranquil and very Picturesque. Friendly staff and very tasteful breakfasts as well. My four year loved his free range eggs and called them pizza eggs😊 The Madasgar room was large, comfortable and clean. It was well Stocked with heaters, electric blankets and extra blankets. The teas, coffees and milk were a nice touch. The garden was beautiful and filled with fruit trees laden with fruit. My children were allowed to pick fruit from them and loved that. I highly recommend Chez Nous.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ron Stone wrote a review Jul 2021
Durban, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
Our host, Elizabeth, and supporting staff ensured we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Meals prepared to perfection with home grown vegetables. Deserts were always a tasty surprise. Our accommodation was comfortable and clean. Chez Nous was our base for visits to the Battlefields. Elizabeth, an accredited tour guide, did a fantastic job in providing appropriate information and visits in a very difficult Covid restricted environment. All in all a memorable experience which we would like to repeat in less constraining times.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Operate the shower in the Spa Room cautiously
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast
Responded Nov 12, 2021
thank you so much for your lovely review. We like to give extra care to the more experienced guests. It was a great pleasure to take you on a battlefield tour . We hope to welcome , to spoil and guide many more retired persons at Chez Nous
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ertjies wrote a review May 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa89 contributions29 helpful votes
A very pleasant stay with Elizabeth and team at Chez Nous in Dundee. Lovely room, great meals, supported by their organically grown fruit and veg. The French themed dinner was a bonus, thoroughly enjoyed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast
Responded May 7, 2021
Dear Ertjies and Andre, Thank you for your review it helps to spread the good word about Chez Nous. Yes the French dinner was a little extra. We indeed are very conscientious about keeping everything natural in our lovely garden. Looking forward to seeing you again. Merci beaucoup
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dundee area.
PRICE RANGE
₱2,975 - ₱3,376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDundee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHEZ NOUS BED AND BREAKFAST - UPDATED 2023 Guest house Reviews & Price Comparison (Dundee, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast
What are some of the property amenities at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a business centre.
Which room amenities are available at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nando's, Wimpy, and Debonairs Pizza.
Does Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Is Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.