We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
207 Talga Rd Lovedale, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320 Australia
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (7)
Room & Suite (5)
Pool & Beach (2)

About

#5 of 9 Specialty lodging in Rothbury
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Burncroft is a gorgeous, private property located in the heart of the Hunter Valley surrounded by vineyards, cellar doors, and restaurants with fantastic views of the Watagan Mountains and stunning sunsets. We take individual room bookings for couples during concert season and last minute deals. The guesthouse is ideal for group gatherings whether it is for wedding guest accommodation, special birthday event, family reunion, girls weekend away, boys golf getaways or simply friends wanting to get together for no special reason but to relax and unwind in a peaceful and tranquil setting for groups up to 14. Set on 20 spectacular acres, you can be as busy and occupied as you want to be. Groups enjoy exclusive use of the property which includes the swimming pool, croquet, boules, badminton or any other number of lawn games. Get into a friendly game of pitch and chip golf in the paddocks. Appreciate the tranquillity and natural beauty as you stroll our 20 acres of paradise.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Game room
Golf course
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Valet parking
Wifi
Private pool
Horseback riding
Video game console
Banquet room
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
iPod docking station
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Iron
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
21Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
AlisaMaree wrote a review Feb 2019
1 contribution
We had a wonderful stay at Burncroft! We were there with another couple for a concert at Hope estate, and it was so easy with the bus stop right out the front of burncroft. Our hosts Karen and John couldn’t have been lovelier and so helpful! We are already planning our next weekend there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
chicka27 wrote a review Oct 2018
Sydney, Australia119 contributions30 helpful votes
Stayed here with a group of 12 friends for 2 nights. Excellent large bedrooms and ensuite. Plenty of room and a fantastically equiped kitchen. Plenty of cookware & crockery. Large BBQ and a cosy wood fire. On large property so it was very peaceful and relaxing. Defiantly would stay here again. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Aurora H wrote a review Sep 2018
3 contributions4 helpful votes
Although this place is most suited to groups, and it is a guesthouse of 6 bedrooms all with an ensuite. Me and my partner got lucky and stayed there ourselves. I can honestly say I loved it. Karen and John were so welcoming, they even gave as a lift to the restaurant as we couldnt drive because we had been on a wine tour. Waking up in the morning to the beauty of the surroundings, was heaven. I definitely recommend this place to anyone who is looking to relax, take in the scenery and just do your own thing. Thank you Karen and John for a wonderful time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BGHmanagement, Owner at Burncroft Guesthouse
Responded 30 Sep 2018
Very kind words Aurora. It was great meeting you and your partner. Glad you had a great time Karen and John
Read more
Mark L wrote a review Aug 2018
Jewells, Australia175 contributions131 helpful votes
Stayed here recently with a family group of around 12 people. It was an excellent weekend away. The rooms are comfortable and the whole place is well equipped with everything that you need for a very enjoyable stay. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BGHmanagement, Owner at Burncroft Guesthouse
Responded 30 Sep 2018
Thanks Mark, thats how we like to present the guesthouse Karen and John
Read more
HappyHolidays03 wrote a review Jul 2018
Sydney13 contributions1 helpful vote
Thank you Karen & John for your hospitality. My friends & I had a wonderful stay at Burncroft guesthouse. Your house was well equipped and was like a home away from home. The children enjoyed feeding the chooks. It was a lovely tranquil spot, perfect for a short get away from the busy city lifestyle.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BGHmanagement, Owner at Burncroft Guesthouse
Responded 30 Sep 2018
Really good it all went well. Its good fun with the chooks! Kids and many adults enjoy having them around. Karen and John
Read more
summertravellar wrote a review Apr 2018
Sydney, Australia2 contributions
We stayed there for one night with 4 other couples, and found it wonderful! We showed up earlier than I had anticipated but they were very accommodating. Every room had a bathroom and plenty of space in each room. Will highly recommend! Thankyou for a wonderful stay John &
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BGHmanagement, Owner at Burncroft Guesthouse
Responded 30 Sep 2018
Glad you had a great time. We try our best and thank you for coming. Regards Karen and John
Read more
Tinkerwoo wrote a review Mar 2018
England29 contributions69 helpful votes
After arriving in Lovedale on a very wet late March afternoon to find the accommodation we had originally booked was way below expectations, we set about an internet search of availability in the area and came across Burncroft. I made a quick call to see if we could be accommodated at such short notice for 2 nights. John and Karen were really helpful and just told us to turn up when we were ready. On arrival we were given the choice of any number of rooms as we were the only guests in this mid-week (they are fully booked at the weekend). Karen really couldn't do enough to help and given that we literally gave them less than an hours notice was quick to ensure we had milk etc for drinks. We were fortunate to have some supplies with us too as we were travelling. We were given a quick tour of the independent building which houses 6 double, en-suite bedrooms, 3 at either end of the building. Two very large lounges one with TV and the other with wood burning fire and music station. A very large and well equipped kitchen and a dining table that seats 14. Rooms were spotless, clean bedding and towels etc and basics in kitchen tea, coffee, sugar etc Fantastic views of the vineyards. There is an outdoor pool but the weather wasn't quite on our side to utilise this. All in all fantastic accommodation for couples or groups. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from BGHmanagement, Owner at Burncroft Guesthouse
Responded 30 Sep 2018
Glad you found us! We are here 24/7 and mid week is always good. Just give us a call, if we can help we will always try to find a place for you. Her's to the good life - Latest TV commercial for Hunter Valley Kind regards John & Karen.
Read more
Sharon F wrote a review Mar 2018
1 contribution
We stayed at Burncroft last weekend with 5 other couples. bedrooms were comfortable, clean & all had ensuites which we loved. The kitchen was well equipped with a variety of wine glasses, crockery etc & an excellent big dining table for our group of 12. Hosts John & karen were helpful & friendly. it is well situated for concerts & the many other attractions the hunter has to offer, yet peaceful & relaxing. All rooms had lovely rural views over the property. You will very likely see us again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Brookie wrote a review Jun 2017
Sydney, Australia274 contributions151 helpful votes
We have been staying here annually for a number of years and disappointingly this place is in decline. Upon arrival the host was still washing up and cleaning. We were not provided with bathmats or tea towels and had to ask for them as we did with dishwasher tablets-we were only given 4 for 3 nights and 12 guests. The gardens are now unkempt and had rubbish in them. Our group will not be coming back and have booked elsewhere for next year.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John F, Owner at Burncroft Guesthouse
Responded 13 Jun 2017
We apologise that some small items can be overlooked and as you know as soon as you asked they were provided. It's good to communicate at the time and not leave it till after departure. Easier sorted out at the time. As explained we are also sorry that we were already booked for next year and am glad you have now secured an alternative location. In addition I have to say i most certainly refute the place is in decline. There are lots of internal and external improvements including a new system of air conditioning. Perhaps acknowledging your disappointment with the poor week's weather would also be appreciated. We have no objection for early drop off of bags and use of the fridges before going for a long lunch, especially whilst I was working on my work schedule in the guesthouse. Please note early arrivals are accommodated as best we can before 2pm. The log fire was on for your final arrival. With warm rooms I'm hope you would have enjoyed a nicely 3 hour chilled beer from the pre-cooled fridge.
Read more
calpy2017 wrote a review Feb 2017
Sydney, Australia2 contributions
Had a great weekend away here! Every room was clean and spacious, the house as a whole was modern and welcoming with everything you could need! The hosts were on hand if you needed them and were also a wealth of knowledge on the local area! I would definitely recommend Burncroft to others and will be back again! Thanks John and Karen!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BGHmanagement, Owner at Burncroft Guesthouse
Responded 30 Sep 2018
Many thanks for your kind comments. We love having guests staying and enjoying the Hunter. See the latest TV commercial "Here's to the good life" Kind regards Karen and John
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$636 - US$1,315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastleCessnockRothbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Burncroft Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Burncroft Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Wine Escape Room (6.5 km), Hunter Valley Zoo (7.5 km), and Binnorie Dairy Lovedale (4.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Burncroft Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Burncroft Guesthouse?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Burncroft Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Burncroft Guesthouse?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Burncroft Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Muse Restaurant, Circa 1876 Restaurant, and Lillino.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Burncroft Guesthouse?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Burncroft Guesthouse have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Burncroft Guesthouse offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Burncroft Guesthouse offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Burncroft Guesthouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Burncroft Guesthouse accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.