We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Flying Fish Hostel

Save
Share
Traveler (118)
Room & Suite (25)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good24%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Bar/Lounge
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
28
16
8
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
28
16
8
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindustrial feelfacilities are greatbed dormsecurity depositper nightnice roomthe ground floordormitoryconsbedsbackpackerstricycledownpaymentwifiphilippinesbathlaundry
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Industrial feeling was not the best feature of the hotel. Overall good for the price, nice outside area as well. Location is good and bot outside the center and noise. When i come back to Dumaguete, I will stay again there.

1  Thank tomtom112018
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have to say I have not seen many hostels like this in the Philippines so this was a pleasant surprise. Based on my expectations of a hostel, I think that this place was able to meet it. I only stayed here for one night...More

Thank ryuready
Reviewed 7 June 2018

This place is perfect to discover Dumaguete and other close by islands. At hotel they will set you up with inexpensive tours and activities... Rooms are spacious, comfortable, clean.. all facilities are great! Ambiance is hip, classy. Staff is very helpful! what else could you...More

Thank originalmamboking
Reviewed 27 May 2018

We loved the look of the hostel - industrial yet woody, had a nice ambience and lots of little sitting areas around the grounds. The common space was nice and drinks affordable. Wifi worked well here but unfortunately not available in the dorm room. The...More

Thank MwithP
Response from FlyingFish H, Public Relations Manager at The Flying Fish HostelResponded 1 June 2018

Hi, Good Day! We really do appreciate the feedback you gave us. We will take note of the negative things you mentioned and will look into to that to serve our future guests better. We make sure that beyond 10:30 PM silence will be observed...More

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

After reading a couple of good reviews about the hostel, I booked a room for 2 nights. Unfortunately I cant agree with the good comments at all. The rooms were basic, but way overpriced. The staff was unhelpful. Late check in. It was very noisy...More

Thank Gregor M
Response from FlyingFish H, Guest Relations Manager at The Flying Fish HostelResponded 1 June 2018

Hi Gregor, Thank you for your feedback! We will take note of the things you stated and we will take some actions. We are pretty sure that the noise you heard is not from our staff our front desk officers are just working till 12...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$21 - US$32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$21 - US$32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (118)
Room & Suite (25)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Flying Fish Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Spend extra for a private room"
Read review
"5 mins away from airport, town and seaview restaurants."
Read review
"excellent ambiance, suitable for backpackers or group travelers"
Read review
"our room is near the common area so the wifi is accessible. not sure for the other rooms though"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing