We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Octagon Resort

Traveler (43)
Room & Suite (105)
Pool & Beach (21)
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good16%
  • Average39%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible13%
  • 19 Jul 2017
    “Very dirty rooms don't West your money”
  • 3 Jul 2017
    “not safe”
Along Airport Avenue Barangay 50, Buttong, Laoag, Luzon 2900 Philippines See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
3 Star accommodation
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
7
6
15
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
7
6
15
4
5
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

I make reservation by booking and we arrive there 2 o'clock morning and when I see the room I was shocked very old and very dirty rooms .....and really I can't sleep in this room I wait until morning and make check out ....don't go...More

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank 699fades
Response from MR Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon ResortResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Fade S, Thank you very for your time. A dirty room is certainly unacceptable and this shouldn't have happened. Please accept our apologies. We have made a necessary checks, changes and training to the teams concerned. Again please accept our apologies. Thank you.

Reviewed 4 July 2017

do yourself a favor and stay away from this place. it's not safe, especially for girls plus just look at the photos, the place looks old and looks more like a haunted house than a resort. there's another hotel only a few meters away with...More

Date of stay: May 2017
3  Thank SaphiraWynn
Response from MR Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon ResortResponded 19 July 2017

Dear SaphiraWynn, Thank you for your review. I can see that it appears that you did not feel safe and the ambiance did not live to your expectations. Though our business is a family run enterprise, I believe we show credibility to what we offer...More

Reviewed 26 January 2017

No way you/We would know until we checked in at the hotel at 9pm. It was like a ghost hotel, we thought we were the only guests. Pool was opened from 10am to 10pm, we thought we would jump in to cool off for few...More

Date of stay: January 2017
7  Thank adidapt
Response from MR Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon ResortResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Adidapt, Thank you for taking your time in putting out a review with your stay with us. 1st of all, I would like to say thank you for acknowledging our staff who tried to help despite the ability to speak the English language and...More

Reviewed 30 November 2016

stayed for 2 nights as owner not allowing us for refund. staff are helpful but definitely not the owner. cleanliness, facilities, rooms are no where near for the price you/ve paid for. if you want your holiday to be stress-free, just try and avoid. however,...More

Date of stay: October 2016
3  Thank smallcow2002
Response from MR Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon ResortResponded 4 December 2016

Dear Smallcow2002, Thank you for taking your time in putting out a review. I can clearly see and feel your frustration of not achieving having a refund. Our resort have policies in place before we give refunds and I would like to reassure our future...More

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Our stay there was just part of a tour package, so we really had no choice. Location-wise, it is not a very convenient hotel since it is a little far from the city center. There is even...More

Date of stay: October 2016
4  Thank Yacque_717
Response from MR Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon ResortResponded 13 November 2016

Dear Yacque_717, Thank you for your time in reviewing your stay in the resort. We certainly aim for a comfortable and pleasant stay to all of our guests. Group tour packages has certain arrangements and requirements and we agree to deliver these services in order...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Breakfast included
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Shuttle Bus Service
Room Service
Free Parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting Rooms
Business Center with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Concierge
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$36 - US$47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$36 - US$47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Photos
Traveler (43)
Room & Suite (105)
Pool & Beach (21)
Dining (16)
Amenities (20)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 926 nearby hotels
Pamulinawen Hotel
36 reviews
1.76 km away
Gertes Resort
13 reviews
3.92 km away
Fort Ilocandia Resort Hotel
296 reviews
4.32 km away
Laoag Renzo Hotel
128 reviews
4.34 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 13,656 nearby restaurants
Saramsam Ylocano
263 reviews
5.32 km away
La Preciosa
354 reviews
4.63 km away
Cuisine de Iloco
25 reviews
4.80 km away
Johnny Moon Cafe
45 reviews
4.99 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 2,428 nearby attractions
La Paz Sand Dunes
285 reviews
1.87 km away
Paoay Sand Dunes
205 reviews
6.09 km away
St. William's Cathedral
63 reviews
4.99 km away
Sinking Bell Tower
211 reviews
4.99 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Grand Octagon Resort staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"room 1 is very spacious"
jojowtan
24 Feb 2015
Read review
"Make sure to bring your reservation confirmation"
PatIstravels
15 May 2014
Read review
"If booking through a third party site, better call the hotel to confirm too just to make sure they got the..."
Syimeem
21 Apr 2014
Read review
"to enjoy dining, try to visit nearby hotel (northview hotel) or at the city ( la preciosa) , they have the..."
RobertVC
23 Jul 2013
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing