We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
36 E 4th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-3725
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$239
Orbitz.com
Renaissance Hotels$239
Booking.com
Travelocity
Priceline$239
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (301)
Room & Suite (129)
Dining (19)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 12/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Updated 12/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 51 hotels in Cincinnati
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bowling offsite
Tennis court offsite
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Green
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
614Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 351
  • 150
  • 56
  • 31
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Debra T wrote a review 23 Sep
Santa Fe, New Mexico12 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel and had a great experience! Megan at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. When she learned that I had just completed a road trip visiting 3 states completing my bucket list item to visit all 50 states, she arranged to have some Kentucky bourbon delivered to our room! The rooms were very nice. We also had drinks in the bar both nights and the bartenders were great!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
srohrbaugh wrote a review Dec 2021
Atlanta, Georgia135 contributions101 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Great hotel in historic building! Central location to Cincinnati, walk downtown, Banks, OTR, or northern Kentucky. The rooms were comfortable, nicely decorated and good amenities. Breakfast and service was great. Very nice, large gym. Valet was quick and prompt. Concierge lounge. Friendly staff. Will stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Responded 30 Dec 2021
Dear, Guest we appreciate you taking your time to leave us such a wonderful review! We are thrilled that our staff was able to accommodate your needs and that our valet staff was on point! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful establishment! We hope to see you back soon! Best Regards, Nicol
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JuergenBu wrote a review Jun 2022
Geneva, Switzerland110 contributions72 helpful votes
Spacious and clean room in hotel without much of an atmosphere. Interesting that room is not cleaned / beds aren’t made which I wanted to report but haven’t been ready to remain in the line with reception for more than 5 minutes. Carpets in hallways could do with an update or be replaced by hard floor.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Joey G wrote a review May 2022
Houston, Texas94 contributions75 helpful votes
Hotel does not offer daily housekeeping and it shows. Rooms not well cleaned. We requested daily service before check in and according to manager this was going to happen. Had to call every day and practically beg to get the room cleaned. When it was cleaned it was done in a haphazard fashion. Called for valet service and was told to go down to valet and request because there was a long line and the person who answered the phone could not be bothered to request valet. Waited over 30 minutes to get the car. No service. Skip this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ashley T wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
+1
I would give this hotel rating a 0 if I could. This was by far the WORST hotel experience I have ever encountered. Our hotel room was filthy. Found a bug in the bed, a dirty cotton swab from someone’s ear on the bathroom floor, and the shower was filthy. We both checked our cars into valet. One of the valet drivers broke the side panel of my driver seat. I filed a report and received a call back from Maryann E. Gagliardi (Corporate Risk/claims manager with Columbia Sussex Corporation) she is the MOST unprofessional, disrespectful person I’ve had to deal with and makes very discriminative remarks. She denied my claim stating my car was already in that condition and she has been reported. Save your money and stay far away from this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel and the staff
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Joe S wrote a review Mar 2022
cincinnati135 contributions36 helpful votes
I had a lot of expectations due to the R's reputation. I know Covid has the workforce spread thin, and maybe that's it. Our hallway Badly needed vacuuming and we had to switch out of our initial room, as the carpet was very dirty and things simply had not been tidied up. Our (eventual) room was fine; bed comfortable, nothing special. I just expected more. On a positive note, the staff was very friendly, helpful, and concerned with making our stay as nice as possible. Not a bad place; just didn't feel premium.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Responded 6 Mar 2022
I'm disheartened to hear that you weren't happy with your visit, and apologize that you weren't happy with the accommodations, but I do thank you for bringing them to our attention. In these unprecedented times, we are striving to keep up with the momentum of business and leisure that is ramping up again. It seems that we missed the mark during your stay, for that I do apologize.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
diannajp wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
We were pretty disappointed in our stay at the Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel. The rooms aren't cheap and we expected an upscale experience. My biggest complaint was our bed. We were supposed to have a room with 2 Queens. These beds are definitely Full and not Queen size beds. The bed was also extremely uncomfortable. The mattresses are old with zero support. The hotel could use some fixing-up. It seemed grimy and dingy. There were many scrapes and nicks on the walls. The retro decor is over the top and not nearly as nice as the photos posted online. We also had reservations and ate in the restaurant, D. Burnham's at 730pm. The restaurant is divided into two seating areas, the bar and dining room. It was the night before the Super Bowl so the bar was very busy. The dining room was empty and they tried to seat us in the bar, but we strongly objected! There was also a large screen TV turned on in the dining room with MMA fighting. It was very distracting. Why is there a TV in the dining room at all??? The food was fine, nothing special. I ordered pretzels with beer cheese for an appetizer. The pretzels were 2 microwave pretzel sticks cut in half for 4 small pieces. Everything was certainly overpriced for what we received and not the fine dining and stay experience we were expecting.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Lachut, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Responded 18 Feb 2022
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We are disheartened to hear that we failed to live up to your expectations of the Renaissance hotel. While we only have queen and king size beds at our hotel I appreciate you sharing the details of the condition of your room, and apologize for the lack of maintenance and upkeep. I will be sharing your comments with our management team to ensure your experience is an isolated incident. We hope to have another opportunity to host you in the future, so we can show you the Renaissance as it is meant to be enjoyed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Work-n-play-2day wrote a review Jan 2022
Clarkston, Michigan146 contributions80 helpful votes
With family in northern Kentucky, we travel to Cincinnati regularly. The Renaissance in Cinci became our “go to” place and have stayed there a dozen times since opening as we enjoy the the smaller feel, the short walk to many restaurants and a very comfortable bed. Last Friday, as we were traveling down to Cinci, a constant snow began to fall around Dayton and slowed traffic to add an extra hour to our already 5 hour drive. Here’s the part that was extremely frustrating. When we finally arrived after white knuckling through a heavy snow and traffic, we were advised that valet was closed because of the liability to the hotel and that I would need to drive to a public parking by the Westin - what?? Concern of the hotel is greater than the concern of your guests?? Good luck as we are completely on our own? Find parking in the middle of the storm then walk back in same storm? As a Titanium level member with Marriott and Diamond with Hilton, I’ve never experienced anything like this. Bottom line, if it snows, stay somewhere else!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if it’s snowing as they will shut down valet and you are on your own
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Responded 2 Feb 2022
Good morning and thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. While I am happy to hear that you have made the Renaissance your go to travel destination in Cincinnati I am disheartened that we failed to live up to your expectations this time. It is very unusual when we close our valet, however on the off chance we do we take into consideration associate safety and guest property liability. Should you stay with us again in the future I will be happy to take care of your valet for you. Please reach out to gm@renaissancecincinnati.com before your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda0212 wrote a review Jan 2022
Indianapolis, Indiana71 contributions76 helpful votes
I booked this hotel for two nights at the beginning of the year based upon the overall reviews on the website. When in Cincinnati, my husband and I usually stay at the Westin; however we decided to give the Renaissance Hotel a try. First I will state the positives: The valet and check-in attendants were courteous and efficient. Now for the negatives: Upon entering our room we noticed that the carpet had not been swept, dust on the furniture and bathroom vanity, a broken makeup mirror in the bathroom, and damaged walls throughout. The makeup mirror was replaced by maintenance but housekeeping never came to vacuum the dirty carpet or dust. On our second night we returned to the hotel only to realize that we had absolutely no heat in our room. The temperatures that weekend were extremely frigid. We called the front desk and they admitted that they knew about the lack of heat. When asked why we were not informed upon our return or why they didn't leave a text message, the desk manager said he didn't know how long it would be out. Wow! They never offered to move us and the other guests to another chain hotel, or perhaps a room in another part of the building that had working heat. Nope...the only thing offered was an extra blanket. We slept with our coats on. Next morning still no heat. We finally got them to remove 1 night's stay from our bill. If this is the kind of customer service Marriott Bonvoy provides, then we will reserve our future hotel stays with the Hilton Hotels chain.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Responded 2 Feb 2022
Good morning and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay. We are disheartened to hear that we have failed to live up to your expectations that you would expect from a Marriott hotel, and for the lapse in communication during your visit. While I am happy to hear that you received a warm welcome, I will be sure to share your comments with all of my team members as we continue to strive to provide our guests with a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Please feel free to reach out to us should you choose to bring your travels back to the Renaissance and we will be sure to take the preventative steps and show you the Renaissance at it is meant to be enjoyed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie Malone wrote a review Jan 2022
Dayton, Ohio14 contributions
The staff was great, and the room was pretty clean. The food was not great (we ate at the restaurant and had room service), but other than that we had a great stay. Walking distance to the baseball stadium.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Responded 4 Jan 2022
Dear Howardkat, I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our establishment and that the staff and cleanliness made it a great stay. I apologize that the food in the restaurant and room service was not up to par I will ensure to pass this along to our Food and beverage Director and chef in order to ensure it is an isolated incident. Once again thank you for choosing The Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown and we hope to have you back in the near future! Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$247 - US$389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesOhioCincinnatiCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
323
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Escape Game Cincinnati (0.4 km), Cincinnati Reds Hall of Fame & Museum (0.4 km), and National Underground Railroad Freedom Center (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sotto, Orchids At Palm Court, and Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Cincinnati.
Are any cleaning services offered at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting William Howard Taft National Historic Site (2.1 km), MainStrasse Village (2.0 km), and Harriet Beecher Stowe House (4.2 km).