We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2375 Ala Wai Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3499
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!FREE NIGHT
Expedia.com
$111
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/11/22
Booking.com
Etrip
$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Travelocity$111
Hotels.com$111
Trip.com$113
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (956)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (464)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#61 of 93 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice

Nestled in the heart of Waikiki, we welcome you to your charming home away from home. Allow your cares to wash away on the peaceful south shore of Oahu, just steps away from some of Hawaii’s most famous attractions and the gentle surf of Waikiki Beach. Conveniently located on the quieter side of Waikiki, come and enjoy our sparkling pool and urban resort amenities.

Your private paradise is close to all of Waikiki’s major attractions, including the gentle surfing waves of Waikiki Beach, Kapiolani Park, the Honolulu Zoo, Diamond Head State Monument, the Ala Wai Golf Course, and the Waikiki Aquarium. You’ll be just steps from Waikiki’s unparalleled shopping, dining, surfing, historical landmarks, gardens and parks.

Our property consists of two buildings – our main tower and a 3-story building that holds 11 beautiful studio suites. The two buildings share a sun-filled, easy-going pool area with a 70-foot swimming pool and outdoor hot tub.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:FREE NIGHT
1420Reviews63Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 287
  • 689
  • 310
  • 76
  • 58
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Brooke wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
Loved our stay! Staff super friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and it had all the amenities i needed in the bathroom. Location close to everything in Waikiki. I Liked the pool area the best. Big swimming pool and a jacuzzi!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
teamsteepanddeep wrote a review Apr 2022
San Francisco, California767 contributions70 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We love the views and location of this hotel . The staff was friendly and welcoming. It’s close to all the Waikiki activities. The hotel is doing renovations so there is some construction noise and construction staff. We had a great time during our stay . Only slightly inconvenienced with renovations Noise .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Adrian Perez, General Manager at Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha Teamsteepanddeep, Happy Anniversary, I'm pleased to hear that our staff made you feel our sincere Aloha during your special trip. For your next Anniversary, please feel free to reach out to us during your planning. We will have several packages that can enhance your special occasion.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zareh Ghanbari wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here on a great deal for the week and at first I was a bit skeptical on my reservation since it was not on the boardwalk. Well, we were pleasantly surprised on how much more we enjoyed this quaint hotel versus some of the skyscraper hotels we’ve stayed at on the boardwalk. Much better to stay at a hotel like this one when you have large groups versus those bigger hotels. Both rooms we reserved were overlooking downtown Waikiki as well as the mountains. Got to know the staff over the week and everyone was very friendly. The pool grounds were great for all ages. The shopping and the restaurants that are a block or 2 away from here is where the locals seem to eat and we thoroughly enjoyed the food quality around here much more than a few blocks further to Waikiki boardwalk. We would definitely stay at this hotel again but we were also recommended to try their sister property a few blocks away(can’t remember name atm). Not sure if the hotel reads these reviews, but please thank your team again for giving our group such a great experience at your hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adrian Perez, General Manager at Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha Amy and Zareh! I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your visit and hope you can return again soon. Knowing our weather is so PERFECT all the time, strolling through Waikiki and our neighborhood from Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel couldn't be any easier. Mahalo, Adrian Perez
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christina D wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
I had a very different experience with Waikiki Sand Villa than I expected. Despite construction, despite some reviews - I booked because the price was in the range I was looking for. Sure there were less expensive hotels but Sand Villa called out to me. I wasn't planning on staying in my room as I had a busy agenda; hiking Diamond Head, shopping at International Market Place and site seeing all the things in Oahu. I AM SO HAPPY I STAYED HERE! Sand Villa backs up against the Ala Wai. I am a runner and took full advantage of running the 3.5 mile Ala Wai loop. Just steps from Sand Villa, it is covered with Plumeria trees. One of the coolest things was seeing a massive puffer fish in the canal (definitely didn't expect that). They also had a bike rental station next to the hotel so things like going to the Zoo felt more like an adventure. Half way through my trip I rented a car so I could make it to North Shore and the Dole plantation, luckily Sand Villa offered Valet parking for a minimal cost. Sure, if I wanted to just sit in my room there are other resorts I could have chosen but that wasn't the Hawaii experience I was looking for. The staff went above and beyond - I felt comfortable and safe and they addressed my questions and concerns in a way that felt genuine. It has been a couples weeks but I still feel their "Aloha spirit" and would highly recommend Sand Villa to my fellow adventure seekers or travelers who wish to experience their destination. I have already booked my next trip to Oahu and will be returning to stay at Sand Villa - really looking forward to seeing all the final touches with their renovation. See you next Spring Sand Villa!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Book a higher floor room. Great views of the city.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adrian Perez, General Manager at Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha W2671FYchristinad, Thank you very much for staying with us and we cannot wait to see you again. Our renovations will be complete by your next visit and we have already made arrangements to highlight your upcoming reservation. We noticed your early checkin request, as a special thank you for returning we have extended a complimentary early check in and upgrade. Looking forward to this Spring, Adrian Perez
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leslie S wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Terrible! They have bedbugs! BEDBUGS 🤢 Never again !!!! Worst customer service ever Don’t consider this place for your vacations in Hawaii I’m still waiting for my refund WHAT A TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE 0 Stars
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Adrian Perez, General Manager at Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha Leslie, Thank you for staying with us and bringing this to our attention. I would also like to extend a sincere apology for the unwanted insects in your room. We did in fact inspect your room with our staff that is trained for inspecting for bedbugs and did not find any signs of their presence. To be extra cautious, we had our pest control contractor check our rooms with negative findings. Thank you for the images, our team has confirmed these are not bedbugs. Nonetheless, our staff and management expect nothing less than quality cleaning and sanitation of all our guest accommodations at Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel. We agree that insects of any sort do not meet our standards. Our team has responded to you separately and if you would like to continue the dialogue I am always available. Mahalo nui loa, Adrian Perez
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brittany G wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I don’t know how on earth this is considered a 3 star hotel, but let me tell you, it most certainly isn’t one. It has the feeling of an old run down motel. Now, where do I even begin… When we checked in, the lady at the desk said, “I don’t know if you’re aware, but we are currently under construction”. Um, no… we were not aware, because no one had the common courtesy of calling us to tell us that they would be under construction during our visit. Because I can promise you, if we would have been told that, we would have changed hotels. Which is probably why they aren’t telling people in advance, which is extremely shady & unprofessional. The photos online are very deceiving. The room we were in looked nothing like the room we thought we were booking. The pool was also way more run down than the beautiful photos show. The room itself was small, but that we didn’t mind. However, they only come to clean your room once every 3 days! You’re charged $25 a day for a “resort fee” here, & daily room cleaning isn’t even a part of that? Never have I stayed at a hotel that doesn’t do housekeeping every day, & for the price you’re paying here, that should be one of the most basic things included. & when the 3rd day came, we left all morning into late afternoon & when we got back to the hotel, our room hadn’t been touched! We had to call down to the front to ask them what the heck was going on, & they basically just forgot about us. They did end up coming, but only because we called them. We had to ask for more towels, cups, & toilet paper multiple times. Also, when there are 3 people in a room, the garbage & recycling adds up quickly, so not having that taken out every day is a bit ridiculous. Again, when you call yourself a resort, those are the most BASIC things that should just be taken care of. The walls here are THIN, we could hear the people just talking in the room next to us. Our room was also right next to the ice machine in the hall, which people seemed to use at all times of the night & it was very noisy. The dresser drawers were dirty & had multiple hairs in them that we had to clean them out ourselves before use. There was only a single tiny lamp that was somehow supposed to be enough light for the entire room, & only one single small mirror, which was of course in the bathroom. The bathroom didn’t even have hand soap, so we had to go out & buy that for ourselves! Then to top it off, at the last minute they told us for 2 days the water would be completely shut off from 11:30am-6pm, which also included the “air conditioning”; & technically, it wasn’t true A/C, it was a swamp cooler situation, which made the already humid air even more humid. How on earth is that acceptable?! They ended up giving us a partial refund for those 2 days, but only because we were upset & asked for some sort of compensation because that’s unacceptable to do to your guests when they’re paying that much to stay here. However, they should have just offered it upfront for all the inconveniences. The only positive thing I have to say about this place is that the staff was very kind, especially the valet guys (we know it’s not their fault for the communication issues & cleaning rules. Shame on management/ownership for that one.) I feel bad for my mother-in-law because she paid around $2,500 (before compensation) for me, my wife, & herself to stay here & absolutely was NOT worth that. Next time we’re on Oahu, we will definitely be finding another place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiana Nicolas, Guest Services / Front Office at Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us at Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel as your vacation destination. We truly appreciate your feedback during your stay and would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced. We will definitely forward your concerns to our Management team to review. We are committed to upholding the highest standards of cleanliness, comfort and strive to provide to our guest a wonderful experience. Please accept our apologies and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again. Best regards, Tiana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JimNHP wrote a review Sep 2022
8 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Over the years my wife and I have enjoyed our stays here, sometimes two to three times a year. It was inexpensive but always clean and had a nice atmosphere. Yes it was dated, but it was quirky. It had a fun bar where locals used to hang out, a nice pool area where you could bring drinks from the bar in plastic cups and a buffet style restaurant. The Staff was and is still lovely, but what a disappointment the hotel has become. They have raised their rates, no longer excepted the 10% off coupon from prior stays and are now charging a “resort fee”. What Resort? They only service your room once every three days, There is no bar or restaurant, they have no liquor license so you can’t bring in drinks. Sitting by the pool is fun if you enjoy the sounds of sawing, hammering and drills. I’m not sure who picked the new color scheme, but they obviously worked in government instillations. You would think that a hotel under construction with few to no amenities would discount their rates instead of upping them. So sad to see a nice inexpensive hotel turn into not so cheap place We’d rather not stay. Sadly the hunt is on for new accommodations when we are in Waikiki.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiana Nicolas, Guest Services / Front Office at Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying with us and would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience experienced. We do try our hardest to make necessary adjustments to accommodate our guest to meet their satisfaction. We have since addressed the above issues and we greatly appreciate your comment. We thank you for your feedback and we hope to service you again in the near future. Mahalo nui loa.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
José Luis M wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel is currently under renovation. You should avoid it until it is ready. Lots of noise and even lack of hot water for a day. If you go there through Airbnb, make sure all costs are included. A "resort fee" may be added.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiana Nicolas, Guest Services / Front Office at Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying with us and would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience experienced. We do try our hardest to make necessary adjustments to accommodate our guest to meet their satisfaction. We have since addressed the above issues and we greatly appreciate your comment. We thank you for your feedback and we hope to service you again in the near future. Mahalo nui loa.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah O wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions
As soon as I drove up to Sands, I was greeted by the most friendly valet, Tusi. He always had a smile on his face and is ready to tell you all the hidden gems in Oahu. Tusi went above and beyond for everyone who crossed his path, myself included. Andrew and Columbus were also very nice and friendly. Josie, the housekeeping attendant, was absolutely amazing. Josie is so very sweet and always greeted me with the biggest smile and Aloha. Josie always kept the room looking clean and fresh. They all made me feel so welcomed. The balcony was one my favorite parts. Waking up each morning to the sound of the wind, in the trees, had the best view of the canal, singing with all the bird friends. Definitely a must stay when you're visiting Oahu!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TamGen wrote a review Jul 2022
Petersburg, VA13 contributions8 helpful votes
This place did not leave me with an overall positive impression of Hawaii. While I didn’t expect a luxury experience per se, I certainly didn’t expect something to the equivalent of a rundown Days Inn or worse. Where do I even start? First the positives: Friendly staff, Relatively clean room (only found a couple of strings of hair which would normally be unacceptable, but not too surprising for this place). Nice view of the canal across the street from my room. Comfortable room temperature. Good water pressure and temperature from the shower. Ample towels and wash cloths were provided. Lots of cable channels available although the TV Guide channel doesn’t really work and the remote is set up oddly such that you can’t go directly to channels. Bed could have been a bit firmer but was comfortable enough. Hotel is in a good location in that it’s walking distance to the main tourist strip. Now the rest: The hotel and room are so outdated! The room was so dark I had to request another lamp (there was only one in the whole room) just to see the other half of the room. NO CHARGING OUTLETS! In 2022, none! Only two functional electrical outlets in the room (the other didn’t work), neither conveniently located. The lamp on the nightstand took up about 75% of the nightstand so storage was limited. No soap dish in the shower. There is a refrigerator but no microwave. The refrigerator had a foul smell. No iron or ironing board in the room; only available upon request which is odd for a “resort.” The outside rail and patio furniture was peeling and old and grimy such that I didn’t want to touch it. The restaurant that seems to have been located at the hotel at one time is no longer in operation. I didn’t see any mention of a gym; I assume that too was inoperable. The floors in the elevators and hallway were under construction. Finally, there’s a $40/ day parking fee. A ripoff. Also, valet is required, which I find somewhat problematic during a pandemic in which you should minimize unnecessary people in your personal space. I don’t understand how this place can advertise as a 3-star resort or why the reviews are so inflated. If you are simply looking for the basics on your trip—room and board, fine. But if you are looking for a quality hotel experience, this place falls way short.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$166 - US$307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waikiki sand hotel, hotel waikiki sand, waikiki sand villa hotel
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
214
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Magical Mystery Show (0.4 km), Blue Note Hawaii (0.5 km), and Kuhio Beach Hula Show (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include STRIPSTEAK Waikiki, Paia Fish Market, and Kona Coffee Purveyors.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Experience Nutridge (4.2 km), Iolani Palace (4.8 km), and Shangri La (3.8 km).
Does Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.