We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
2058 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
E-mail hotel
4 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
HIExpress.com$210
FindHotel$208
Agoda.com$210
travelup.com$232
Tripadvisor$210
Priceline$210
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (365)
Room & Suite (132)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 27/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Updated 27/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#66 of 93 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

IHG's only Waikīkī hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Waikīkī located in Honolulu, Hawaii. This 44-story hotel offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikīkī . Located just 3 blocks from Waikiki beach and 4 blocks from the Hawaii Convention Center, the hotel offers convenient access to shopping, dining, and activities. All guest rooms feature complimentary internet access, a compact refrigerator, Keurig coffee maker and a microwave. More perks include FREE WiFi and FREE breakfast daily (served from 6:30am -9:30am).

Enjoy fun on-site amenities like a 5th floor recreational skydeck with a 9-hole mini-golf course, shuffleboard, giant chess game, ping pong and pool tables, foosball, and a full exercise room is available. Soak up some sun on an open deck with a pool, jet spa and stylish cabanas.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Game room
Mini golf
Kids stay free
Parking garage
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Raquetball
Patio
Table tennis
Video game console
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, Japanese
Hotel links
Special Price:20% off room rate
556Reviews31Q+A93Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 146
  • 185
  • 125
  • 54
  • 46
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
miranda wrote a review Sep 2022
Little Rock, Arkansas3 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes, the rooms are tiny. But this is an island with limited space. The view is fantastic. I’m not sure why but check in is usually slow here. I watched a lot of check ins and a line always formed and took a bit to work through it because each check in took time. It is about a half a mile walk down to the beach. I didn’t mind all the walking but some people do. It was very close to shopping in my opinion. All of this was fine considering it is a budget-ish hotel. But I absolutely CANNOT accept their elevators issues. They have 3 elevators for floors 1-25 and another set for everything above 25. These elevators are tiny and poorly ventilated. They take forever. I am not kidding when I say… add another 10-20 min to your commute for the elevators especially if your room is above fhe 25th floor. One of the elevators for this side was down which didn’t help matters, but it would have still been slow with it due to the size of each car. Also, there is no service elevator so the staff is using these elevators too. I can’t even imagine their frustration! I saw this same elevator was down in May on another review. If I had to guess- it was never fixed between then and now. I never saw anyone working on it. Since they’re tiny and not ventilated well.. you will sweat. A lot. I would not stay here again based solely on the elevator situation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express Waikiki an IHG Hotel, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Daydream65480186276, Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We're deeply sorry for the inconveniences you've experienced during your stay. Our guests’ comfort is our top priority, and we do our best to deliver great experiences. We apologize that our service did not match your expectations. We'd like to discuss your stay further and we kindly ask that you reach out to us directly. Once again, thank you for staying with us. Mahalo, John Quijano Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lovesh wrote a review Apr 2021
lovesh57 contributions43 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I truly enjoyed my stay at this property in March 2021. The hotel experience was great and it was walking distance to the beach, malls, restaurants, and parks. It was also very close to the pick-up spots of our tours (literally across the street). Rooms are quiet, and very comfortable. COVID measures are strictly followed throughout the property and everything is super clean. I also want to mention the people that made our stay special. Everyone at this property is super nice and they go above and beyond to make you feel valued. I wish I could remember everyone's names, because they all deserve to be mentioned, but I want to give a shout out to Gladys at the Front Desk; to the best concierges in Honolulu, Matt and Ross, and to the super-friendly and extremely efficient security officer Page, who answered many of my questions and helped me a lot! I would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The room has a microwave, fridge, Keurig coffeemaker, so it is easy to have some snacks at hand!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 Apr 2021
Lovesh, please accept our thanks for taking the time to post such wonderful feedback about your stay at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, located at the gateway of Waikiki in Honolulu. It's nice to see that our location and accommodations worked well for you and made your time with us perfect. Your kind acknowledgment of our efforts is also appreciated and we will surely share your compliments with all the associates you mentioned. We hope you are already planning another vacation our way. Thanks again! Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pita75 wrote a review Sep 2022
Fontana, California75 contributions64 helpful votes
This hotel is centrally located, about a 10 minute walk to the beach and 15 minute walk to where all the shops and restaurants are located in Waikiki. The beds were comfortable, the free breakfast was pretty good. You can also take it to go which is really convenient. The hotel was not bad. Check in was pretty quick. Didn’t really engage with any of the staff .The only thing I didn’t like was the size of the room. It was really small. This is a budget hotel. Its ok. I wouldn’t stay here if you were on your honeymoon or first time in Hawaii.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express Waikiki an IHG Hotel, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha Pita75, Mahalo for choosing Holiday Inn Express. We're glad you enjoyed our perfect location, our comfortable beds, and the breakfast that we offer. However, we're very sorry if the size of your room didn't meet your expectations. If you wish to discuss your experience further, please feel free to reach out to us directly. Once again, thank you for staying with us. Mahalo, John Quijano Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sawyer323 wrote a review Sep 2022
Berlin, Germany31 contributions8 helpful votes
First of all: I like dogs. But not everywhere. For me that’s a “no go” that the hotel does not go with unspoken or dedicated rules: I’m sure okay when the hotel eather allows to have your dog with you - but it’s not okay for me to have the dog with you ON the beach CHAIR or on pool deck as well, I think. It’s not an assistance dog. Thinking about whether a dog was already here on my lounger. There is pool staff without any reaction of this. It’s kind of disgusting.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express Waikiki an IHG Hotel, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha Sawyer323, Mahalo for choosing Holiday Inn Express. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and we're deeply sorry for the inconvenience you've experienced. We've shared your feedback with our management team. If you wish to discuss your stay further, we kindly ask that you reach out to us directly. Once again, thank you for staying with us. Mahalo, John Quijano Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JaspalSG wrote a review Sep 2022
San Jose, California32 contributions43 helpful votes
King room was small but clean and had a microwave and good size fridge , Breakfast was simple but well organized and fresh! Staff was kind and welcoming. The pool, Jacuzzi was nice and clean towels were provided by the attentive staff. Close to Waikiki area and easy to walk to places of interest.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Higher floor have nice views
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HIEX DOSM, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha JapalSG, Mahalo for choosing Holiday Inn Express Waikiki. We're greatly delighted by your kind words about the breakfast we offered and our kind and welcoming associates. We also appreciate your feedback about our cleanliness and our convenient location. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we're excited to welcome you again in the future. Mahalo, John Quijano Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dorian wrote a review Aug 2022
Detroit, Michigan55 contributions17 helpful votes
Our first visit to the great state of Hawaii. After reading many reviews, we selected the Holiday Inn Express because of its convenient location, affordability (no resort fees) and condition of the building. Overall the Holiday Inn Express was conveniently located, clean (we did see a roach on the last day), staffed helpful and courteous staff, provided a daily breakfast, and offered complimentary WiFi . Unfortunately the hotel did have resort fees, Because the fees were not indicated on the site, the third party booking agency we used, agreed to reimburse us the $25 dollar daily fee. Pros: Daily room service, convenient location ( it wasn't right across from the beach those areas were super hectic ) breakfast, nice views, and the price was affordable, excluding fees. Cons: If you chose to stay at this hotel please note the daily fee is something Holiday Inn should remove. The amenities for this very large property were very disappointing, and we never used. After learning we were going to be charged, we viewed the area before contacting the hotel management. The property has at least 40 floors, and the pool is the size of a few bathtubs. with a bathtub size hot tub attached. There are fewer than forty chairs on the roof patio and some obsolete games. Unfortunately what made matters worse, we heard other guests complain one night about objects being dropped from a room above and the rooftop was closed. We didn't have a car, so I can't report parking issues. The rooms are compact and could use a few more hooks on the walls for purses. Fortunately our neighbors were quiet the walls are paper thin. Lack of dining space after breakfast, ( We did use our key to access the breakfast area once. The next time we dined at the hotel, we went down the street to the Marriott and purchased a few drinks, and ate our food at their outdoor patio/pool) On the last evening a flyer was distributed indicating pest control would be at the property, and that evening we did see a roach. I think the only way to prevent this in such a large hotel is to spray rooms more frequently than what was stated in the memo., and inspect rooms at least three or more times a week. Guests in the room nearest to us, had the do not disturb sign up daily, If this had been a 3 day trip, the hotel would have been great. Unfortunately for a seven day trip, it wasn't the best choice. We spent most of our lounge time at the Hilton Hawaiian Resort,
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Responded 23 Aug 2022
Dear Dorian, Mahalo for choosing Holiday Inn Express Waikiki and taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you were pleased with our well-kept accommodations and that you enjoyed the service our associates delivered. It will be our pleasure to share your kind compliments with our team. We are also delighted to learn that our location worked well for you and that you were happy with the breakfast we offer, along with the beautiful views. However, we regret not meeting your expectations with the amenities we offer. We have taken note of the concerns you raised as we are continually striving to ensure a perfect visit for every guest. Thank you again for your generous comments. We look forward to your next visit! Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
QDC wrote a review Jul 2022
Mexico City, Mexico131 contributions128 helpful votes
The good of it: the staff was wonderfully nice and welcoming. Great job. It was a quick and easy 10-minute walk to the beach, and that was nice. The bad of it: the property is worn out...definitely not up to HI Express standards. The carpeting was worn out, the elevators had graffiti scratched into the doors, the room was very small, the shower tiny, no in-room safe, etc. Oh, and the window unit air conditioner was loud. Breakfast was OK...simple pre-cooked eggs, a breakfast meat, and cereal / yogurt / bread options. Would I stay here again or recommend it to a friend? Only if there were no other similarly priced rooms available in Waikiki. Sorry HI Express, you missed the mark on this one.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2022
Mahalo, for taking the time to write a review. While you were pleased with our devoted associates, we want to apologize for the disappointment you faced with our property. We have taken note of your concerns as we are continually striving for ways to enhance our guest experience. We also regret not meeting your expectations with the breakfast we serve, and your comments will be shared with our breakfast team to ensure a much better. We appreciate your patience and hope you will reconsider us for a seamless stay. Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phoebe Martin wrote a review Jul 2022
Mount Sterling, Kentucky4 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed in July 2022. When I arrived, I found out the parking situation is difficult, it's first come first serve and $45 per night. You can park for $25 across the street. There is also a resort fee of $25 per night, and you are in Hawaii so you really don't even use the things you are paying for much. I never used the game area, the pool, or the internet. The rooms are tiny tiny tiny and the cleaning crew is very late in the day. The breakfast is just ok, skip it and eat some real Hawaiian restaurants. But the thing that made me decide to never stay here again is the staff. One person specifically - a girl named Paige. She was super rude. The first interaction I had with her was I didn't have my room key so I needed another. My friend was with me, who was also a guest at the hotel, and Paige looked at her super rude and then looked at me and and yelled "how many people are in your room?!?" And I said just me. She said "well then, you only need one key then" just uncalled for attitude. That night, the emergency went off in the hotel and everyone was told to go to the lobby. I came down 21 flights of stairs. When all the guests where in the lobby Paige screamed at everyone "listen up! It was a false alarm! Go back to your room!" Just rude again. No apologies for the trouble. I tried to get her attention because the intercom in the stairwell was out, so as we were all coming down we could not understand what was being broadcast. She flat out ignored me. I finally got someone else's attention to alert them off the issue, which could be a major safety issue. Then my 3rd interaction with her was a question about parking. She looked at me and said "you are just now going to tell us that you haven't been parking here?!?" And I had already told them so she didn't even know what she was talking about. Just rude rude rude.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Parking is a mess, only get a car if you have to
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Phoebe, mahalo, for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry for the difficulties you had with the parking and the inconvenience this caused. We do apologize for the major inconvenience you experienced when the smoke alarms went off. Thankfully, it was a false alarm, but we understand your frustration nonetheless. Please also accept our sincere apologies for the behavior of one of our associates, and thank you for informing us of this incident. We take these reviews seriously, and your feedback is being evaluated with our team to ensure these concerns are not repeated. We hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to show you the hospitality you deserve. Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendy B wrote a review Jul 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia47 contributions37 helpful votes
Just do yourself a favor and book it. I thoroughly enjoyed my 10 night stay here. Breakfast was great and it was free! Entire hotel was clean and staff were so friendly. Pool was great and I loved looking at the coy fish every morning. We walked to the beach every day, which was about a 10 minute walk that we loved. Very family hotel. It was just great!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: treat yourself to the ocean view or partial ocean view. you really cant go wrong with any view...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Responded 19 Jul 2022
Wendy, mahalo, for taking the time to post such excellent feedback about your stay at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, located at the gateway of Waikiki in Honolulu. It's nice to see that our courteous service from our staff and the time spent by the pool worked well for you and made your time with us perfect. We appreciate your mentioning how much you enjoyed the delicious breakfast we served. We hope you are already planning another vacation our way. Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ambassador261147 wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I agree with a lot of the reviews. We stayed 6 days. Staff was friendly and helpful when needed. Elevators are slow, especially in the morning when everyone is going to breakfast. Average breakfast with good staff to restock everything. Rooms aremsmall but updated except for the window a/c. The pool is very small and hot tub was taken over by a large group of people, so we didn't get to enjoy that at all. My room smelled of bug spray when we checked in. I called housekeeping and although they didn't solve the problem, they did try to address it. If I had to do it all over again, I'd spend a little more money and stay closer to the beaches and the shops. This hotel is over 4 long blocks to the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Responded 19 Jul 2022
Mahalo, for taking the time to share your review. While we are glad you liked our attentive service from our devoted associates, we are sorry for not meeting some of your expectations and the inconvenience by the scent was strong for your preference, and we regret any effects this had on your visit. We have taken note of your feedback and will be shared it with the appropriate individuals. We hope you will change your mind and give us another chance to accommodate you. Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$240 - US$286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
596
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Waikiki Sunset Cruise with Live DJ (0.4 km), Waikiki Beach Walk (0.4 km), and Hard Rock Cafe Honolulu (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Poke Bar, Tommy Bahama Restaurant & Bar, and Ginza Bairin Tonkatsu & Yoshoku Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Japanese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Experience Nutridge (3.7 km), Iolani Palace (3.8 km), and Shangri La (4.8 km).
Does Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.