We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HomeTowne Studios Salt Lake City - Mid Valley

Save
Share
5683 S Redwood Rd, Salt Lake City, UT 84123-5322
Lowest prices for your stay
$75
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/22
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$75
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/22
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (61)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 23/09/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 23/09/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#75 of 82 hotels in Salt Lake City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
HomeTowne Studios by Red Roof Salt Lake City - Mid Valley features all the essentials you want in an extended stay at a price you will love. Our 139 studios will make you feel at home. All HomeTowne Studios by Red Roof properties feature kitchenettes with full-sized refrigerators, FREE in-room Wi-Fi, HD flat-screen TVs with cable and more. Stay one night or many and discover our flexible daily, weekly and monthly rates. Our extended stay hotel in Salt Lake City is just a short walk or drive to convenient restaurant options like Chick-fil-A, Wingstop, Texas Roadhouse, and much more. Get all your essentials at nearby Walmart, Harmons Grocery, and more. Explore our interactive map to see all of the nearby amenities. Near Maverik Center, Rio Tinto Stadium & Temple Square.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids stay free
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Telephone
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Stovetop
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
36Car recommended
Grade: 36 out of 100
39Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
87Reviews0Q+A24Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 6
  • 8
  • 9
  • 14
  • 50
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Eddie wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
I've been here for three weeks. The staff has been respectful, as well as helpful to me. I've been provided towels and sheets upon request. The new manager seems to be working hard to keep the property free of riff raff. The police patrol and address anything that looks suspicious to them. I've seen more than one person removed from the property. My room was clean upon getting here. Everything in the room works. I understand such things as cups cost money and I feel that I get a good price on my room because they keep their cost as low as they can. The price could go up and I could have a cup. I'd rather buy a cup for a buck, than see the cost of my room go up. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Accessibility is awesome.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Susan G wrote a review Nov 2021
Cincinnati, OH21 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
There were no cups at all in the room, glass or paper and the desk clerk said they didn’t provide cups. After a couple of days I’ve brought my dirty towels for trade in since they weren’t doing room service. They told me I couldn’t have any new towels. I said that these towels had already been on the floor (One was on the floor when I arrived), and I couldn’t use them now, so could they just give me one clean towel. They said no, there were no clean towels at all in the whole hotel and I could go to the laundry. I went outside the office and took a clean towel off the housekeeping cart. The desk clerk ran after me saying I was stealing from the hotel. Then the manager paid me a visit to chastise me for stealing their towel. The toilet had a dirty brown ring around it. The light switches had noticeable grime on them. They were bug remains in the ceiling corners. They didn’t have an ice machine and there was no ice cube tray in the freezer. I waited until I left the hotel to write this review because I was worried about what might happen to me if they saw it. I’m still a little concerned that they have my name.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Dylan wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Don’t ever go to this place. I paid for a one night stay. They ask for my ID and say it’s their policy that I have to be 21. I’m 20. I then ask if I can get a refund. They tell me I’d need manager approval and tell me “well she’s out of town and even if she was here I doubt she’d feel like it”. They stole 90 bucks from me. Don’t ever go here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Haley L wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
The room was acceptable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I asked for an extra blanket and was given two. The room was clean. The room was perfect for the price. There was a fridge, sink, oven, microwave, and table for comfort away from home. The hotel is also located near some yummy restaurants and delivery was quick. The heater took a little while to warm the room up, but extra blankets were enough to feel comfortable. The shower water pressure was decent. There are lots of outlets and USB plug ins for any electronic needs. The WIFI also ran at a decent speed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Right off of I-215 on Redwood Road
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
tucsoncowgirl wrote a review Jul 2020
Prescott, Arizona11 contributions9 helpful votes
Just spent three nights there and what a nightmare. It started with a police action at the location and the desk clerk more interested in that than checking us in. When we finally got a room, it was torn up and being renovated ... oops. So, we got a second room and had to wait for housekeeping to get it ready. The room had no water glasses, facial tissues and a quarter of a roll of TP. There was some clean towels, but could not get any more the following two days. There was no housekeeping while we were there. We couldn't empty our room garbage can because the cans outside were full and overflowing into the sidewalk. The television didn't work half of the time, kept "losing signal". When we called the front desk about these issues, we were told that there maintenance man was not coming in, so we would have to wait until the following day which didn't happen. Maybe some of these issues were because of the coronavirus, don't know because we never received any info concerning that at check-in or in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Resta, General Manager at HomeTowne Studios Salt Lake City - Mid Valley
Responded 21 Jul 2020
I am so very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We do apologize that there was an issue at check in with the police. Since we are an extended stay property, we do not offer full service amenities such as tissue, glasses and towels everyday and We are truly sorry that you were unaware that we do not offer full service amenities. We apologize with the confusion that you were not properly checked in but we did make that right as soon as we possibly could.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carlathegr8 wrote a review Feb 2020
Orlando, Florida41 contributions22 helpful votes
How can a hotel not provide a basic amenity like heating--in Utah, in the winter!!? The room thermostat was set to 72 yet never got above 62. I called at 9pm and was told to make sure I adjusted the thermostat and that the front desk would adjust it as well...well at 1030pm it was still 62. By morning was 60. Unacceptable. I had booked 2 nights but left after 1, could not even get the decency of a refund for the second night. Next time will pack a sleeping bag and stay outside instead of this place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Asia Lundell wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The manager at this hotel has got to be the rudest " manager " I have ever dealt with. She treats guests like complete SCUM and on top of that speaks badly about the other employees working simply for the fact they were actually caring about the guests and not treating them like they were beneath her. This manager has got to go, I would reevaluate your management at this location because your not going to have happy guests with a lady like that running the front desk. totally disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GaleWood3549, Manager at HomeTowne Studios Salt Lake City - Mid Valley
Responded 14 Jan 2020
I am so very sorry that you feel that way. We strive to make all of our guests feel welcome and respected. Please be assured that this is not what you should expect. Please reconsider another stay in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robyn B wrote a review Jan 2020
Salt Lake City, Utah1 contribution
I stayed here in 2016 and was far from happy! Very hesitant to stay again. Especially after reading recent reviews! But its what I could afford at the time. I planned on staying only a few nights. That was a month ago and I'm still here! I'm very pleased with the changes. Management is great! Long term especially!! They have made sure I've had anything I need and made sure I'm comfortable! I will be staying here until my house is ready!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cnits wrote a review Dec 2019
San Francisco, California5 contributions2 helpful votes
This has got to be the worst place I have ever stayed. While I understand this is an extended stay hotel primarily and the policy to clean your room after the seventh day may me acceptable to those guests: I was not one of them. Because of this, I expect certain things in the room. I HAVE NEVER STAYED IN A HOTEL, MOTEL, OR INN that did not have drinking glasses in the room by the bathroom sink whether disposable or glass wrapped in a sanitary protector. Imagine my surprise at bedtime to discover I did not have a vessel to contain water. I called the desk and asked for a glass and was told, "we don't provide glasses". I asked, "am I supposed to put my mouth on the faucet and lap like a dog" I was told that she could POSSIBLY give me a coffee cup if I came down to office... Pfft what service. Because they clean only every seven days you don't get fresh linens or towels every day so if you want fresh towels you must bring your old used towels to office to exchange. No towel to exchange no new towel NEVER NEVER NEVER AGAIN
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: stay some where else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from CharlesR2566, General Manager at HomeTowne Studios Salt Lake City - Mid Valley
Responded 18 Dec 2019
Thank you for letting us know about your concern. I am so very sorry that you were not aware that there was no drink ware included. The clerk should have handled your request better than she did. I will certainly address this. We provide just a few amenities to keep our costs lower, so the extras you would normally see in other hotels are not provided. You can however request items and if we have they, you are more than welcome to them. Again I am so sorry that you were not made aware.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennie_13D wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
I highly suggest just staying in your car other than staying one single minute in this hotel. The staff including the management is rude, they have no clue what customer service is let alone manners the amount of disrespect this property has is downright ridiculous. They have no right to do 90% of the stuff they do at that property they run names of people that are not staying at the property but only people that are friends of guests which is NOT LEGAL is anyway!!! They charge fees for things and items not received, its is dirty and they dont clean after each stay nor do they wash the bedding, it is gross.. DONT STAY HERE!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: horrible review
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$72 - US$87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
homestead salt lake city / mid valley hotel salt lake city
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Extended Stay America
LOCATION
United StatesUtahSalt Lake City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
139
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about HomeTowne Studios Salt Lake City - Mid Valley
Which popular attractions are close to HomeTowne Studios Salt Lake City - Mid Valley?
Nearby attractions include Regal Cinema (0.6 km) and 'Bout Time Pub and Grub Taylorsville (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at HomeTowne Studios Salt Lake City - Mid Valley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, reduced mobility rooms, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at HomeTowne Studios Salt Lake City - Mid Valley?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at HomeTowne Studios Salt Lake City - Mid Valley?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at HomeTowne Studios Salt Lake City - Mid Valley?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to HomeTowne Studios Salt Lake City - Mid Valley?
Conveniently located restaurants include Leatherby's Family Creamery, Texas Roadhouse, and Penny Ann's Cafe.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at HomeTowne Studios Salt Lake City - Mid Valley?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to HomeTowne Studios Salt Lake City - Mid Valley?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Beehive House (14.2 km), Assembly Hall (14.3 km), and Council Hall (14.8 km).
Is HomeTowne Studios Salt Lake City - Mid Valley accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.