The Tillary Hotel

The Tillary Hotel

Traveler (28)
Room & Suite (11)
Garden Bar
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#63 of 104 hotels in Brooklyn
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Experience The Tillary Hotel Brooklyn, conveniently located near the Brooklyn Bridge and Barclays Center. Our 174 stylish rooms and suites effortlessly fuse mid-century modern and art-deco influences with a modern, industrial aesthetic. Kickstart your morning with a grab-and-go breakfast from our lobby Cafe, and later unwind at The Tillary Garden Bar on the second floor, featuring an inviting outdoor patio for guests. Plus, enjoy the convenience of on-site parking. Your Brooklyn adventure begins here!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Photo copier / fax In business center
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:Stay Longer & Save Up to 20%

Location

85 Flatbush Avenue Ext, Brooklyn, NY 11201-2905
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 80 out of 100
80
LaGuardia Airport
12.8 km
See all flights
Newark Liberty Intl Airport
16.1 km
See all flights
Jay St – MetroTech
7 minNew York City Subway
3.0
3.0 of 5 bubbles80 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Tillary Hotel garners mixed feedback, with the ambiance and cleanliness of its stylish rooms often receiving commendations, particularly for their immaculate condition and impressive views. However, some guests have experienced issues with outdated decor and noise. While the location is lauded for its convenience to the city, the service quality varies, with both professionalism and instances of poor guest treatment reported. Critically, the value of the hotel is under scrutiny, as numerous travelers express disappointment with unexpected fees and the overall cost, which impacts the perception of its amenities.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Mixed
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveler reviews and learn more about how the site works.
80Reviews35Q+A14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 40
  • 2
  • 7
  • 6
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
mattski0604 wrote a review Jun 2023
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel needs upgrading. It calls itself a 4 star hotel. It isn't. First, the hallways are in terrible shape. The carpet is old and stained. Perhaps they have plans to repair and replace the old carpet and freshen the halls, but I'd say that it was an emergency. Next, I can't say anything about the rest of the rooms, but our room was in the front of the hotel, lower level and it was LOUD. Sirens, music booming from cars, vibrations from low frequency car speakers. I absolutely could not sleep without sleep remedy. I understand that this is not the hotel's fault BUT it is possible to have better qualify, double-paned windows installed, to reduce noise. Also, the coffee situation was abysmal. I did use the cafe in the lobby for a cup of coffee, but I think that they should have had some kind of breakfast and some kind of coffee service included in the price. The hotel was well located and I was happy to take a walk over the Manhattan Bridge, but when I get back to the hotel, it was just as rundown as when I left.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't get a room that faces Flatbush avenue. .
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert Gormley, Owner at The Tillary Hotel
Responded Jun 28, 2023
Thank you for your feedback as we welcome all suggestions for areas of improvement. We greatly apologize for the condition of that you encountered staying in your room. We are upgrading all our facilities, including the carpets and adding additional noise proofing to filter out the outside noise. We are also adding breakfast services for our valued guests. Again, we apologize for any inconveniences you had to endure, and to be assured that we are continually upgrading our facilities and standards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joemess wrote a review Mar 2023
Brooklyn, New York
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is a very nice property with decent rooms that are nicely furnished. Although the staff is nice, they don't really provide much service.
Additionally when I checked in (booked through a third party) they asked for my credit card to put an authorization for "incidentals", but I was ultimately charged $25. I called them back to find out why and this is a "facilities fee" that was never explained to me. When I advised that that was not told to me the person did nothing about it, so I had to do a chargeback with my bank. I don't recommend this property to most travelers.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get a room across the street at Hampton Inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert Gormley, Owner at The Tillary Hotel
Responded Mar 22, 2023
Dear Guest, Please accept our apologies regarding your stay with us. Please be ensured that all agents and staff has been retrained and instructed to explaining the facility fee. We hope you give us another opportunity to show you all the changes we have made to our levels of standards and service.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Mia l wrote a review Aug 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Tilley is a beautiful hotel, but services and guest accommodation could be better. Left my expensive headphones in the room upon checkout. Noticed front desk, but someone had already taken them. Second, I booked a second night and requested three times that housekeeping does not enter my room, but of course while I was out, housekeeping went into my room throughout my personal items and kept my chips. Third, booked an additional night only to not be accommodate again. The only reason I return to this hotel is because of Lissa. She is a true professional, and works to ensure guests are happy.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Addalia, General Manager at The Tillary Hotel
Responded Aug 24, 2023
Sorry to hear about the issue you had with your past stays. I will share with the team so we can make improvements.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Darlene F wrote a review Jan 2024
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the best hotel stay! Great location, convenient, easy access to Manhattan. The bridge is a short walking distance away. The room was immaculate (photos are accurate), the bedding was super comfortable and most of all the staff are wonderful! We anticipated weather flying in and Briana (front desk) and Russ (assistant manager) were patient, kind and professional helping us to add on an extra day at the same rate to make things right for us! I can't thank them enough! This was our 2nd stay in 3 months and the experience and service have been consistent. We will be back! Thank you to the Tillary staff for making our stays 5 star ratings!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Botte, a great little Italian restaurant a few blocks away, Whole Foods is an easy walk.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Russ S, Guest Services / Front Office at The Tillary Hotel
Responded Feb 3, 2024
Thank you!! We are very grateful you stayed with us and hope to see you again soon!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pioneer44130266247 wrote a review Apr 2023
Saint Charles, Missouri
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dirty room with no hot water. Don’t trust a word that the manger Russ says. After letting him know that even the phone in my room was dirty (see pics) he promised a discount on the one night stay (I checked out early). After calling SEVERAL times and leaving a voicemail with my invoice with the room number that I stayed in I have yet to receive a call back. I have since had to file a complaint with my credit card company.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zari S wrote a review Mar 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I wish I could give it a zero star. Rip off to book from their website compare to booking.com, at check in they were out of room keys and made is so inconvenient to wait to be entered in room every time we wanted to do a quick in and out. Would not give extra pillow, king bed had standard flattening cheap pillows even after I explained them situation, the front desk flat out declined the request, rudely and mentioned we have all pillows accounted for rooms, that was something unheard off even from my experience at Ritz Carlton.
And to make it worse their road facing 2nd floor room kept us awake all night due to bad quality windows/ walls where we could listen to all traffic and music outside. It was an excitement to live in a 4 star hotel in Brooklyn but I would strongly suggest to find a better deal on your finances rather have this mediocre experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert Gormley, Owner at The Tillary Hotel
Responded Mar 22, 2023
Dear Guest, Please accept our apologies. We take your critique of your stay very seriously and use it to correct all areas that your have detailed- from the shortage of room keys to accommodations of extra linens and pillows, as well as the noise levels that you had to be subjected to. Again, please accept our apologies, as we have and will take measures to improve our level of comfort and service. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to experience the Tillary and experience first hand all of the changes that have taken place.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel F wrote a review Apr 2023
New York City, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Prepaid for my room through Agoda but on check in was told there was a bogus "facilities charge" equalling more than 10% of the advertised price. The manager agreed to take it off the bill, but then stealthily put it back on my charge card after I checked out. Don't believe the pricing online for this hotel, they will surprise you on check-in. Front desk staff are less than polite.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Watch out for sneaky extra charges that provide no value.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert Gormley, Owner at The Tillary Hotel
Responded Apr 20, 2023
Please accept our apologies regarding the confusing facility fee charge of $25.00 per night. We are sorry if this was not explained properly upon check in. Please be assured that we would never add a charge to a card if there was an understanding between both the guest and staff. We will happily fully reimburse any charges that you may feel were unexpected.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe H wrote a review Dec 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently had the misfortune of staying at The Tillary Hotel and encountered an extremely disappointing customer service experience with one of their front desk agents and the manager. The manner in which I was treated was both disrespectful and unprofessional.

I approached the front desk with a smile, expecting a warm welcome and assistance. However, the agent whose name BRIANNA, completely ignored me for what felt like an eternity. Despite my polite attempts to get her attention, she continued to ignore my presence.

Despite being first in line, she asks the guest standing behind me if they are checking out. my presence was completely ignored. The agent displayed a disdainful attitude and seemed bothered by my presence and request to print out some documents. Her responses were curt and devoid of any semblance of hospitality. It was evident that they were disinterested in assisting me and made no effort to address my concerns or questions.

Adding insult to injury, any attempts at further clarification on hotel amenities were met with dismissive replies. Instead of providing helpful information, the agent gave vague and unhelpful answers, making it clear that they were simply trying to brush me off.

Moreover, throughout the entire process, the agent displayed an unprofessional demeanor often rolling their eyes at my inquiries and displaying clear signs of annoyance. Their lack of basic courtesy and respect was deeply disappointing and uncalled for.

Customer service is the backbone of the hospitality industry, and it is disheartening to encounter such negative behavior from a front desk agent. In my years of traveling, I have stayed at numerous hotels, but I have never experienced such rudeness and disregard for customers.

I understand that employees can have rough days, but it is their responsibility to maintain professionalism and deliver exemplary customer service regardless of personal circumstances. Unfortunately, this particular front desk agent failed to meet even the most basic expectations.

I truly hope that the management of the Tillary Hotel takes this feedback seriously and addresses this issue. No paying guest should be treated with such disrespect and indifference. I regret to say that my stay at this hotel was marred by this terrible experience and, as a result, I will not be recommending this establishment to anyone.

It is my sincere hope that my review serves as a wake-up call to the front desk agent in question and the management of The Tillary Hotel. Poor customer service is not acceptable, and steps must be taken to ensure that future guests do not undergo a similar unpleasant and disrespectful encounter.

Upon arrival, I was assigned to a room (431) with a baseball-sized hole in the door, allowing anyone to look into my room easily. This immediately raised concerns and indicated that the room should be declared out of order. Fortunately, I was subsequently moved to a better room, which is the only positive aspect of the hotel experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jchd1948 wrote a review Aug 2023
Ogunquit, Maine
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is a complete CON , your bill will include a "facilities fee" of $25 per day which includes the water in your room and the use of the Bar and cafe.
My advice Do NOT go there, the price add-on's took my $159.00 per night + parking at $55 for 2 nights from $428 + tax to $578.
So be aware , you have been warned.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: the Hotel price is a bait and switch , there is a facilities fee of $25 for the water in your...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Addalia, General Manager at The Tillary Hotel
Responded Sep 1, 2023
Thank you for your response, we are sorry you were unaware of the Facility Fees which are charged to all guests. We will wok to make sure it is obvious as we make changes in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin L wrote a review Jul 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
To: Russ Shahani (Hotel Manager), Robert Gormley (Former GM - no longer at the hotel effective immediately) and Shawn Ishmael (Assistant GM)

It is unfortunate to have to write this review but I want to ensure that paying guests are fully aware before spending their hard earned money here expecting a relaxing stay.

For two nights of the stay (July 1, 2023 - July 3, 2023), the hotel had NO ACCESS RUNNING/HOT WATER. The issue was previously known to the hotel and guests were checked in without warning. During this time, the Manager (Russ) was conveniently on vacation so there was not a single manager on site that had any authority and were unwilling to reimburse their guests. The hotel lobby was complete chaos as you can imagine with dissatisfied guests.

We spoke with Robert Gormley following our check-out who advised a refund is to be issued, however, two days later we found out he was no longer working for the company, effective immediately and so nothing was done. The Assistant GM, Shawn has taken over and you guessed it....Nothing has been done.

Looking through the reviews, this seems to be a common theme...Lack of management accountability and terrible guest experience. Save yourself the trouble, book elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Addalia, General Manager at The Tillary Hotel
Responded Aug 24, 2023
Sorry to hear about the challenge you had during your stay and over the time that we did have water issues due to a flood. While I was not here at the time, I am aware of the reasons behind the issues you had. The lack of resolving the issues is disappointing but will be discussed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Milagros S
Bronx, New York
I live in the Bronx but am going to stay in Tillary hotel. I just want to know what’s the stop I get off at to get to the hotel
sly618 asked a question Sep 2019
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom38 contributions25 helpful votes
How much is a breakfast in the hotel please
Answer from 435teegee
Largo, Maryland12 contributions8 helpful votes
Did not have breakfast at this hotel. Since I am originally from Brooklyn, NY, there are many places to eat off site.
Answer from Rhonda Gigi
Neosho, Missouri198 contributions40 helpful votes
I saw small dogs with patrons.
InnVisibility59 asked a question Nov 2018
Kennebunk, Maine27 contributions10 helpful votes
Pets welcome? If so fee? Any restrictions?
Answer from Gustavo P
1 contribution
I saw someone with his dog. I'm sure that pets are allowed but I don't know fees for this.
Answer from zhbhatti
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Last month I took a cab from jfk to hotel. The cost was $55. But for return, I used trains, costing $7. If you have excess luggage, cab or uber is better option. From jfk, cab is more convinient. But for your question, I doubt hotel can arrange, you can check with them directly.
Roving23291238401 wrote a tip Jun 10
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book this hotel"
Read full review
David N wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"My sleep quality had nothing to do with the room"
Read full review
Rick C wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very unhelpful and unfriendly staff. No hot water for TWO DAYS!!!"
Read full review
alexis s wrote a tip Feb 2024
Kingstown, St. Vincent1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We arrived by taxi,but try getting there early as the area gets busy around 9,I recommend dealing with Ms altia as she seems very verse"
Read full review
Darlene F wrote a tip Jan 2024
Albuquerque, New Mexico4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Botte, a great little Italian restaurant a few blocks away, Whole Foods is an easy walk. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Brooklyn area.
PRICE RANGE
₱9,875 - ₱19,104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Dazzler Brooklyn
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkBrooklynDowntown Brooklyn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
174
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE TILLARY HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Brooklyn, NY) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Tillary Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Tillary Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Grid Hack (0.5 km), Urban Uncorked (0.2 km), and Pier 2 Roller Rink (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Tillary Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at The Tillary Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Tillary Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at The Tillary Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Tillary Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Botte Brooklyn, Pollo d'Oro, and Five Guys.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Tillary Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Tillary Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Brooklyn.
Are pets allowed at The Tillary Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Tillary Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Tillary Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
All Brooklyn HotelsBrooklyn Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BrooklynHotels near The Tillary Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars