Honey's Bed and Breakfast

Honey's Bed and Breakfast

Traveler (16)
outside view
Room & Suite (3)
Breakfast room
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#8 of 28 B&Bs in Brooklyn
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value

Welcome to Honey's Bed and Breakfast, your Brooklyn “home away from home.” Honey's Bed and Breakfast aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Close to some of Brooklyn's most popular landmarks, such as Flatbush Avenue (1.6 mi) and Crown Heights (2.3 mi), Honey's Bed and Breakfast is a great destination for tourists.

Honey's Bed and Breakfast is a romantic bed and breakfast offering air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

Plus, guests can enjoy free breakfast, which has made this a popular choice among travelers visiting Brooklyn. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

While visiting Brooklyn, you may want to try some oyster at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Talde, Stone Park Cafe, or Surfish.

Plus, during your trip, don’t forget to check out some of the popular state parks, such as Empire Fulton Ferry State Park and East River State Park.

Honey's Bed and Breakfast puts the best of Brooklyn at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming

Location

770 Westminster Rd, Brooklyn, NY 11230-2402
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 60 out of 100
60
LaGuardia Airport
17.8 km
See all flights
John F. Kennedy Intl Airport
15.4 km
See all flights
Ave H
5 minNew York City Subway
69Reviews4Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 46
  • 13
  • 5
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
CMPBeachBum wrote a review Aug 2013
Cape May Point, New Jersey
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed the quiet neighborhood on a tree lined street in Brooklyn. Parking on the street was convenient, access to train to Manhattan a short walk. We stayed in the downstairs bedroom with private bath, which my husband prefers. Price was reasonable, breakfast simple but plentiful, and the lounge space and porch was comfortable. We look forward to staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: 1st floor private bath.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
retired_uscg wrote a review May 2008
Asheville, NC
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Honey's for 5 days and found it to be very comfortable, clean and friendly. The owner, Laura, greeted us upon arrival and spent time making us feel at home. The rooms are bright and airy with plenty of space. We stayed on the main floor and three rooms shared one full bath and one half bath. This was more than adequate for us and we had no problem getting in and out when we needed. There is a very nice common room with television upstairs. The two front porches (up and down) are very nice and it is a pleasure to sit out and enjoy the morning coffee and newspaper.

Breakfast is served at 0830 and consists of fruit, eggs to order, toast, coffee and juice. It is prepared by Celia, who is the cook/caretaker. She is very friendly and always willing to help with directions or any other questions about the local area.

Parking can be just a bit difficult but not problematic. As with all Brooklyn neighborhoods, you have to move the car from one side to the other on alternate days Monday thru Wednesday. The 'Q' train station is only a few blocks away and runs to Manhattan so that's convenient. If you absolutely have to take the 'F' train it's just a 1 mile walk. The train ride to Manhattan is a bit long but not too bad. The 'Q' also runs to Brighton Beach and Coney Island, both are short rides.

The neighborhood is wonderful, full of beautiful old houses that were built at the turn of the century. We felt very safe walking to the train or just taking strolls in the evening. The streets are tree-lined with sidewalks.

In short, this was a real find for us and we will return often.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2008
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joan C wrote a review Jun 2011
Fort Collins, Colorado
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After searching numerous rental options on Manhattan (and feeling overwhelmed), Brooklyn's affordability came to my attention, and I found Honey's (named for the family's hound) in a mellow neighborhood with tall trees. Easy access off main arteries. Street parking sure beats $30/day downtown! The train (subway) is a 7-min. walk --do note: it's 30 min. to Lower Manhattan, or 2-3 changes to places in West/East Side. [Driving car into M'htn not advised.) Local highlights: Brooklyn's Arboretum, Audubon Society, B-Heights, Williamsburg, B-bridge, Br Promenade, Long Island (1 hr on parkways). If you've 'done' Manhattan, choose Brooklyn!
The hosts (Laura & Carlos) reside upstairs (you may see them after breakfast) --and breakfast is bountiful --and the table conversation was a perfect way to get 'insider' information to sightseeing! Fridge space is generously offered for personal food items. Local restaurants /delis are closed Fr-Sat for Sabbath--better dine elsewhere then!
The room was generously-sized (far better than M'htn). 2 rms share the bathrm---no problem; downstairs is a good-sized suite (prvt bath). Honey's offers a great value for those on a budget: solo, couples/ children, twosomes, elders (1 flight of stairs).
Read more
Date of stay: May 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Laura (host) will work with you.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
todd s wrote a review Jul 2015
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I start. Other than to say I tried to sit down with the owner and tell her my dissatisfaction with our stay when we finally saw her three days after we checked in. Since she had no desire to listen to me I will air it out this way. 
We arrived on Saturday afternoon. Noone there, but the key was in the mailbox. The room had old, very average furniture. The bed was a queen bed with no head board and was on rollers. Very good rollers. Lol So every night we would roll from one side of the room to the other. The next morning I wake up early at 6 and workout on the porch and thought by 7 someone would show to start coffee. Noone showed until 820 am! What if someone were there on business and had to be at work by eight? No breakfast nor coffee. So Joanna, who was really sweet, prepared breakfast of granola yogurt toast and eggs cooked to order. Not what I'm use to at a place that should be more like home. At all other B and B's breakfast is what makes the experience. It not that hard to add some type of meat to breakfast and offer stuff a little more filling. But trust me I'm not finished! If this were all, I would have never left and gone somewhere else. 

On Monday evening about seven o'clock we were setting on the balcony upstairs and noticed a couple pull in. The lady was picking up trash along the roadside. So I assumed she was the owner and would come up, say hello or something. My partner I was with was watching television and stepped outside to talk to me when the owner arrived and she left the TV on because she was going back in. The owners came up stairs, after about twenty minutes, knew we were out on the porch but never said a word. She obviously didn't know who we were because I havent talked to her the whole time we were there. We had been there for three days by then and she had the audacity to walk up stairs, turn off the TV, the AC and the lights!!!! and went to bed. Never once making any effort to say hello, is everything okay?, nothing. Just like what you would do to your child who left the TV on. 
The next morning we were done with this place and I want to talk with her. She was asleep up stair at nine o'clock when we were having breakfast. I heard her stirring and thought sure she would come down to say hello. I had to finally get Joanna to call her down. I met her on the porch and told her that we were leaving early because its not what I expected based on what she said on the website. I told her that I stayed at B and B' s all the time and I would love, as a customer to give her some feedback. She was extremely defense. Told me that I would have to pay for the three days plus for the upcoming weekend because of her policies. I flatly refuse. So I payed her for the three nights, cash money, 400 hundred dollars out of the total 450 I owed her for the three nights. I didn't feel I owed her the full price based on the service I got. She went in the house came back out and screamed at me that I owed her another 50 dollars. Then told me I was a horrible person and to get off her property. Uber could not take me away fast enough!!
They may have had a passion for this business at one time but now it plain to see it's a money grab. When you don't even make the effort to see your guest after they are there for three days, then get defensive and combative when they are disappointed, you are either burned out or needing to go back to charm school.
I wonder if the city know she runs a cash only business? They do now! I told them.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patrushka-2010 wrote a review Dec 2012
Kalamazoo
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I can't comment on this B&B's amenities because Hurricane Sandy prevented my visit. However, I can report on how Laura Berger of Honey's Bed and Breakfast in Brooklyn New York mistreats potential patrons. When it became obvious I could not get to LaGuardia (or the B&B) and I requested a full refund, she refused. Send advance payments to Laura Berger of Honey's Bed and Breakfast in Brooklyn New York at your own risk.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lauraathoneys, Owner at Honey's Bed and Breakfast
Responded Apr 5, 2013
Sadly, this is someone I must respond to. This person was prevented from coming to us because of Hurricane Sandy. It was a terrible time. Everyone was concerned and thoughtful. In the midst of this disaster, she called demanding a full refund, and seemingly thoughtless. Unfortunately she did not bring out the best in me, which I regret. However, it must be said, everyone who lost time or money with us because of the hurricane got full refunds without issue. And so did this person receive a full refund mailed to her quite some time ago. I strive to be fair and generous.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hla3452 wrote a review Jul 2012
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in Brooklyn for our son's wedding. We prefer staying in B&B's when we travel, so we have experienced quite a few across the country. Honey's is a good value for the price, but I doubt we would choose to stay there again. Breakfasts were monotonous with bagels on Sunday the only variation on fruit, granola and yogurt with choice of eggs scrambles or over easy. With no one in house while we were there, there was no resource for extra towels or pillows. We stayed 4 nights and never had our sheets changed, or even the offer. Enjoyed visiting with the other guests.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MrandMrsRees wrote a review Jun 2011
London, UK
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a well priced b&b about 5/10 minutes walk from the subway.

We arrived about 11.30 and were able to check in straight away, which was great!

The room was small but had excellent storage.

We shared a bathroom with one other couple. This arrangement was fine.

Breakfast was simple; eggs, toast, granola and fruit but very tasty.

Free Internet (via cable) was offered.

There were lots if very nice places to eat nearby.

Downsides: we had a room next to the kitchen so we were woken up at about 6.30am each morning by someone doing the dishes and preparing breakfast. We stayed for days and I don't think our room was vacuumed during this time, also we had to ask for clean towels rather than being given them.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2011
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
martygreene wrote a review Nov 2006
Pittsburgh, PA
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Honey's was reccomended to me by another B&B in the area that was booked full. While the room was small, and the key system was a bit odd (an internal door which needed to be locked after going upstairs for breakfast/to shower), it was nice. There was a nice porch with a swing, a balcony, and lots of plants. Breakfast was early, but catered to each guest's desires and consisted mainly of eggs, toast/bagel, fruit, tea/coffee, etc. Most of the rooms in the place are larger, we had taken a smaller room due to time constraints and such, but it worked out just fine. While I never met the proprietress, the woman who did the cooking and housekeeping was quite friendly and accomidating.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2006
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TravelingSpangela wrote a review Jul 2010
Lima, New York
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is good. Lots of restaurants near by and the train was easy to catch. We always found parking. The price was great. The only thing was breakfast was at 8:30. There was no window, so we had to get up right then and eat. They let us check out and leave our stuff there the rest of the day which was helpful. We also had internet in our room!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2010
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mjref wrote a review Jun 2009
Brisbane, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed 4 nights in November 2008. We were a little concerned about the lack of reviews on Trip Advisor, but our fears was allayed as soon as we walked in the door.

Honey's is a beautiful 3-story home in Brooklyn, just minutes from the subway, shops and restaurants. We stayed in the queen room and had the lovely bathroom to ourselves as no-one else was staying. The other room was prettier but had a smaller bed (double).

We arrived about 6pm, jetlagged from our flight and minus a bag which Northworst had conveniently left in Detroit. The hosts kindly took our remaining suitcase up the stairs, made us a hot drink, lent my wife a scarf and told us where we could find emergency clothes and toiletries. There is a Walgreen's only 5 minutes away as well as a great bakery and several restaurants (all Jewish).

The breakfasts were great - coffee, tea, juice, cereal (which we didn't have as there were too many other things), eggs cooked to order, great toast and different spreads (caramel was my favourite). No need for lunch until 2 or 3pm! Celia, the breakfast cooker and cleaner, is a friendly person who gave us lots of ideas on what to do during our stay. Just bear in mind that she comes about 7am so if you're a light sleeper then you may wake up. Laura and her husband, the owners, are also friendly and we enjoyed talking with them.

We bought a USD$25 4-day subway, bus pass which was great: so much easier than always fiddling for money. It was about 20 mins to Manhattan, perfectly safe even in the middle of night. There is so much to do in NYC; we barely scratched the surface.

I did a lot of looking around on the internet for a hotel in Manhattan, but even the dumps were USD$150-200. We won't be staying anywhere other Honey's. In fact, we're heading back this November/December again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2008Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
howardjc J asked a question Aug 2017
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania6 contributions2 helpful votes
Are the bathrooms private, or shared?
Answer from tammyrn17
Nashville, Tennessee
The bathrooms are shared.
howardjc J asked a question Aug 2017
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania6 contributions2 helpful votes
Do your have rooms with private bathroom?
Valerie0 wrote a tip Oct 2018
Brisbane12 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All Laura rooms are good"
Read full review
voyagerAustralia wrote a tip Sep 2018
Broken Hill, Australia199 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable."
Read full review
MFTKathie wrote a tip Oct 2015
Westminster, California4 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay elsewhere."
Read full review
Lhiyan O wrote a tip Aug 2015
Tel Aviv, Israel1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"all the rooms there are great!"
Read full review
brunoflinstone wrote a tip Dec 2013
rome italy13 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"we found the room downstairs better than up."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Brooklyn area.
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkBrooklynFlatbush
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HONEY'S BED AND BREAKFAST - B&B Reviews (Brooklyn, NY) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Honey's Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Honey's Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Sycamore Bar + Flowershop (1.1 km), Tznius Princess (0.6 km), and Lavi Arts (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Honey's Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Honey's Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Honey's Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Honey's Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Di Fara Pizza, The Ox Tavern, and The Farm on Adderley.
Are there any historical sites close to Honey's Bed and Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Brooklyn Museum (4.5 km), Governors Island National Monument (7.9 km), and Fort Greene (6.8 km).
All Brooklyn HotelsBrooklyn Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BrooklynHotels near Honey's Bed and Breakfast
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars