We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
1305 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4566
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/20/22
Expedia.com
$169
View deal
HIExpress.com
$152
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/14/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$169
Travelocity$169
Traveluro$161
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (226)
Room & Suite (243)
Dining (41)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#33 of 95 hotels in Philadelphia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Best Downtown LocationVisit the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown and surround yourself with a convenient, clean and comfortable atmosphere in downtown Philadelphia. Our Midtown Village location is within walking distance to the Pennsylvania Convention Center, a variety of shops, and over 40 restaurants within two blocks. No matter what hospital or company you are visiting, our hotel is in a great location to be on time for your appointment or interview. Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, UPENN, Temple University, Wills Eye Institute, Aramark, and Comcast are just a few companies near the hotel. Just a short walk to Philadelphia's historical sites: The Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center, Betsy Ross House and the Museum of the American Revolution. Afterwards, visit the nearby Reading Terminal Market for a quick cheesesteak and soft pretzel or stop into the local Starbucks!Coming to town for a game?
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Video game console
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Parking garage
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Iron
On-demand movies
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
348Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
70Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1237Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 384
  • 592
  • 183
  • 56
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
nyprofmom wrote a review Today
Watertown, New York7 contributions5 helpful votes
Perfect location for a reasonable price. Breakfast is like every other HI Express with lots of options. This buffet was actually one of the largest I’ve seen. People complaining about the food are snobs. Rooms were spacious, clean, and updated. People complaining about the noise when staying in the middle of downtown make me laugh and clearly don’t travel often.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kathleen S wrote a review Jul 2022
11 contributions2 helpful votes
The staff was awesome. We arrived early with a teenager that had been in the heat too long. They were very kind and got our room ready as soon as possible. The breakfast staff was incredibly patient with my teens gluten free inquiring about each food. The front desk staff and breakfast staff were extremely helpful throughout our trip
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: We had no issues with noise and room was clean. They needed to make some water tank repairs but...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
phvi2617 wrote a review Jul 2022
Anaheim, California360 contributions129 helpful votes
I had a nice stay at this Holiday Inn. My room was clean and quiet, and service was quick and friendly. The free hot breakfast was decent, and the location is terrific, within a short walk from the MFL, BSL, and PATCO subway lines.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
erin wrote a review Jul 2022
Chesapeake, Virginia1 contribution
Don’t stay here if you expect to sleep. Requested a quiet room. Checked in early enough there were “plenty of rooms left”. Yet… it’s now midnight and I write this as I can’t sleep because there is. Night club outside my window that according to staff will continue to play obscenely loud music until 2:30 am. This is your idea of a quiet room? Parking is a nightmare and falsely advertised. Just stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Venture50873268346, Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express hotel brand for this trip and for sharing your feedback. I am glad to have been a host to one of our valued guests. I trust that all is well. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests are important to us, but I am sorry to learn about your experience. I have shared your comments with our Hotel Management team. I am sure they will use this as a reference for improvement. I hope you give us the chance to turn things around the next time you stay with us. Safe travels, Glaiza G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
H. Scherer wrote a review Jul 2022
Speyer, Germany4 contributions
When we arrived in the early afternoon we were greeted warmly but told that unfortunately our room was not ready. So we went on a first exploration of the city center. When we came back later to check in, there was another team at the reception - unfortunately. The lady seemed a bit listless and overwhelmed. She asked for a credit card and ID, which we gave her. We also presented our booking voucher and pointed out that the room had been booked and paid for - which she denied. We showed her our voucher again, on which "paid" was expressly noted. There was an exchange of words and the colleague who had been called finally called the security service - although we were right. Now that we have returned to Germany, we have to discover that our credit card has been charged for the accommodation costs, even though the room had already been paid for in advance. It's a shame that incompetent staff ended up damaging the hotel's reputation. We definitely rule out booking this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello, hs977 The opinions of our guests are always welcome. Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us. I talked to our management about your observations. I humbly apologize for the details you described. Our staff will make sure everything is reviewed and improved. Our commitment is always combining a feeling of comfort and happiness with exceptional touch to make you have a memorable stay. We are delighted to see you have chosen us for your stay. I hope you visit again in the future and give us a chance to show you the adjustments we've made to improve. See you around! Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Joseph C wrote a review Jul 2022
Jacksonville, Florida19 contributions19 helpful votes
I highly recommend this hotel. I requested and received a quiet room (on 20th floor). You could hear a bit from neighboring rooms, but overall it was fairly quiet. The bed was very comfortable, shower was good, and I enjoyed the breakfast. The location of this hotel Is perfect. We were able to walk to restaurants to eat and also walked around downtown and to our visit to the Barnes. Only complaints were a less than friendly checkin (seemed distracted) and one of the three elevators wasn’t running (which slowed things down). I did find the front desk much more friendly the next morning and they happily stored my bags after check out. Overall this hotel is excellent value for money and among the best I’ve stayed at in Philadelphia.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Choose a high floor if you’re wanting a quiet room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
DJinNJ wrote a review Jun 2022
East Brunswick, NJ8 contributions7 helpful votes
Very welcoming and pleasant staff. Very clean in all areas and well maintained. Comfortable beds. Good breakfast choices constantly refilled. Conveniently located. Again all staff from the front desk, to the cleaning staff to the breakfast attendants take pride in their work.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jim G wrote a review Jun 2022
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Bad attitude when you come in ! it’s like you were disturbing them at the front office! The parking situation is more than horrible! And they charge you $42 dollars for over night parking! Dirty room! But good shower!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded 24 Jun 2022
Hi V3751QMoliviag, Thanks for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience. I'm sorry for the level of cleanliness and staff service you encountered during your stay. I have shared your comments with the hotel management. I am certain measures will be in place to address the areas you have noted. Again, thanks for staying with us. We value your feedback and welcome the opportunity to provide you with a better stay Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGService
Read more
LexVAPin wrote a review May 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Perhaps the best hotel staff ever. Front desk was great. Small issue with microwave promptly taken care of. Free WiFi was good enough. Location is wonderful for Center City Philadelphia. Parking is at the hotel. Uber or subway from the train station is easy. We were there for The Barns, Philadelphia Art Museum, The Phillies, Reading Terminal Market and enjoying Center City. Rooms are nice, about as you would expect. Price is good for Center City. Reading Terminal Market for lunch is a close walk. Many nice restaurants are a close walk nearby. Reasonable walks to all parts of center city, or a short Uber / Lyft / Taxi. Free breakfasts continue to get more mediocre at Holiday Inn Express. Scrambled eggs taste like plastic. Cheese eggs have too much cheese. Oatmeal is like glue. One day coffee was excellent. The next day, less so. An amazing amount of noise from outside, even on the 17th floor. Things get rowdy out there at 2 AM. Most of the noise seemed to come through the air conditioner! We could also clearly hear from the room right below us. As for a room that does not face a street. It would be nice to be able to leave the fan on throughout the night to add white noise to the background. But the fan turns on and off with the compressor, even though I selected the fan to remain on. Elevators have very little air ventilation. A prime source of Covid infection.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Pick a room not facing a street, if that is possible.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
joshuacmckenzie wrote a review Mar 2020
New York City, New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
During my stay in Philidelphia the experience was okay. however when I left the hotel the Front Desk Rep told me I should have my $50 hold credited back to my account within 2 weeks. 2 weeks have gone by and I have not received it as of it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Cancelon.com
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded 13 Apr 2020
Hello joshuacmckenzie, Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. I would like to start by apologizing to you for the inconvenience you encountered during and after your stay. We appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We take feedback seriously, thus, we will directly speak to the General Manager regarding the concerns you raised, particularly the amount that was held on your credit card account and how your concern was handled by our front desk. It is our commitment to provide transparent, efficient and frictionless experiences for guests and making the necessary changes would help us provide a better experience in the future. I would want to know more details about your concerns so I sent you a private message to gather more information. I hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Again, thank you for sharing your comments. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Hector P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$180 - US$268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express philadelphia midtown hotel philadelphia
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaPhiladelphiaCity Center East
NUMBER OF ROOMS
168
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.3 km), Escape the Room Philly (0.4 km), and Wanamaker Organ (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vedge, Vetri Cucina, and Butcher and Singer.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Philadelphia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.