We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1800 Market St, Philadelphia, PA 19103-3725
8 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Double Up on Summer
Booking.com
$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/20/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/20/22
Trip.com
$133
View deal
Hotels.com$189
Travelocity$189
Official Website$161
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (513)
Room & Suite (454)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 29/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square
Updated 29/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#29 of 95 hotels in Philadelphia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Rooftop pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Double Up on Summer
2090Reviews63Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,146
  • 571
  • 207
  • 101
  • 65
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
matthfd wrote a review Yesterday
78 contributions13 helpful votes
Hotel was ideally located for the centre of Philadelphia, lots of restaurants and cafes within a short walk. Hotel was ok, nothing special, rooms seemed a bit tired and could so with a refurb. Bar downstairs was OK but could have done with more staff. Staff were generally helpful. Pool was great to cool down in the heat but can get a bit busy and then there were not enough towels which was eventually sorted. Biggest issue we had was the noise from the pool in the early hours, people screaming and shouting, pool closes as 9pm but they had managed to get in, security didn't sort the issue quick enough. Also on the second night there was a lot of noise from certain rooms - seemed to be having a party which took a while for security to sort out. Reception were apologetic the next day and took a bit off our bill but I would have rather had the sleep! OK for a couple of days due to location and pool but probably wouldn't go back
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Visit Reading Market - great place for food
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square
Responded today
Hello matthfd, Thanks for your comments and review of your stay. We appreciate the feedback especially around the pool and noise from other guests. It was definitely a busy weekend and our 24 hour security staff is always on top of things. Unfortunately it can take a bit longer than most expect but we do address. For these inconveniences, we do apologize. Thank you again and for staying at the Sonesta Philadelphia!
Read more
Cheryl B wrote a review Sep 2021
Sayville, New York7 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed in town for a concert at Citizens Bank Park. the location was wonderful for all sorts of sightseeing. It is a beautiful city with so much to offer. I was saddened that a lot of the shops and restaurants are closed because of the pandemic. Seeing it and the difference since my last trip more than five years ago really hit home. The hotel was clean, modern and well appointed despite the fact that this is not a new building as it is right in the middle of the historic downtown. I was disappointed they closed the bar very early, but the bartender was very nice and she let us sit there while she did her cleaning after the last call. I think the whole area has suffered a lot because of the pandemic and I look forward to returning next summer when this pandemic is finally over once and for all!!!! I got a nice rate with parking included on their website and that proved to be a very good value given the average cost of parking in a larger city. It also allowed the cars in and out for hotel guests only, which is a major perk.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square
Responded 3 Sep 2021
Dear cherylbN9103JU, Thank you for your review and kind words about the hotel. We understand your concerns about the city and the pandemic has caused serious damage. However, Philadelphia is bouncing back quicker than most major cities and we're please and proud. Thanks for choosing the Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Read more
allteal wrote a review 5 Aug
Yulee, Florida105 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
Booked on expedia. Arrived 15 minutes later. Smooth as silk. Great front desk staff. Quick, efficient and personable. And patient. (I wasn’t very organized after day) Clean rooms. Only problem i had is living in a cashless society I didn’t have cash for coke machine. Recommend upgrade. As an old can’t believe I’m asking for more tech. Will definitely stay again if in area
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Bring dollar bills for drink machines.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square
Responded 2 days ago
Dear allteal, Thank you for your review. It's great to hear we met your expectations and would definitely love to see you come back. We understand your comments about the vending machines. We are working on a more exciting replacement and hope to have in the hotel soon! Thanks again for choosing the Sonesta Philadelphia!
Read more
G F wrote a review Jul 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia31 contributions20 helpful votes
Run down hotel, but good location. If it weren’t for the military rate I would have given this 1 star. The room was covered in dust, fingerprints on window, water in coffee maker and ice bucket. Overall dirty and on par with a motel. Run down gym, dirty pool. Plenty of other options in the city. Avoid at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don’t pay for parking it’s a rip off. Plenty of other options.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square
Responded 1 week ago
Dear gf2014 Thank you for your review. We deeply regret to hear about the items you mentioned and sincerely apologize. This is not consistent with the great reviews we have received in the past, and rest assured we will address these matters. I would hope that you will give us an opportunity to show that this experience was more the exception than the rule. Thank you again and for choosing the Sonesta Philadelphia.
Read more
Hugh73Brussels wrote a review Jul 2022
Woluwe-Saint-Lambert, Belgium75 contributions60 helpful votes
We were checked in promptly; our room on the 21st floor was large and clean. The air conditioning and plumbing worked. The swimming pool was small and lukewarm but was clean, tidy and well-maintained. Staff were friendly and helpful. However, a few imperfections lead me to rate this hotel as 'average'. That doesn't mean it's bad – just roughly what you would expect from a hotel in this price category, no more, no less. For example: – The safe in our room did not work (the battery was dead). We tried to call reception by pressing the relevant button on the phone, but that did not work either (the speed dial memory had been wiped, and there was no indication anywhere on what number to call). We then went down to reception, who told us that we needed to be present in the room for the engineer to come, but that they would send him along right away. So we waited... and waited... and eventually called reception again, who told us that they were trying to locate the engineer as his radio was not working! In an average hotel, these things happen: people are human and machines sometimes go wrong. Excellent hotels have systems and procedures in place to make sure they are put right quickly when they do go wrong. - After our first night, Housekeeping made up the room beautifully. We were therefore surprised when the room was not serviced on the following day; on the day after that, we enquired and were told that since the pandemic, full housekeeping had been suspended and replaced by an on-demand service. Now, I have stayed in a number of hotels around the world since most countries lifted pandemic-related restrictions, and can confirm that the average hotel is struggling with staff shortages and/or is still using the pandemic as an excuse for not providing a full service. Excellent hotels have managed to recruit and retain sufficient staff to be able to provide daily housekeeping (or, failing that, to make very clear at check-in what guests can and cannot expect). - On one day, breakfast was unavailable 'due to works'. In an average hotel, it is indeed necessary to suspend services from time to time in order to carry out improvements. Excellent hotels have contingency plans in place to provide alternative service or, failing that, warn guests well in advance if a service needs to be withdrawn. - For part of our stay, we had noisy neighbours: loud group conversations during the day, noisy sex at 5 a.m. Average hotels rely on guests to be considerate to others concerning the amount of noise they make. Excellent hotels have sufficient soundproofing to deal with all but the most exuberant nocturnal activities. So, as I say, pretty average. If you want a decent night's sleep at a reasonable price in central Philly, the Sonesta is certainly worth considering. If you are looking for excellence, try elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Hugh73Brussels, Thank you for your review regarding your most recent. We appreciate all of your comments and working towards fully implementing all of the services. We apologize for not fully meeting your expectations and will make the proper adjustments for future guests.
Read more
RKRN wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The hotel itself was fine. I had everything I needed. It could have been cleaner. What made this place stand out was Donnelle in security who went out of his way to help me retrieve a sentimental item I left behind in the room I stayed in. I so appreciate his kindness and helpfulness!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear T2919ZDrachelk, Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you recognized one of our staff members. We will ensure to also recognize Donnelle for his service. As it relates to your comments around cleanliness, we apologize for not meeting your expectations. Rest assured that those areas will be addressed. Thank you for choosing the Sonesta Philadelphia!
Read more
Shelly W wrote a review Jul 2022
Harbeson, Delaware4 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I should had gone with my gut feeling. I was skeptical if even booking this hotel. I went by pictures and a few reviews. How this place has excellent reviews beats me. The room is run down and dirty. The carpet was really dirty!! The bathroom had cracks in the ceiling and very small. There was stains on the walls and the bathroom door was so dirty. I called to see if I could change my room and the lady at the front desk told me they had no rooms available. So, I had no other choice to stay here, but never again. I am was so disappointed. As I was walking down to check out, a roach was crawling across the floor.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 103shellyw, Thank you for your review. We deeply regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. We will ensure to address any issues that you mentioned which we are surprised. Thank again.
Read more
jazmene wrote a review Jul 2022
Miami Gardens, Florida1 contribution
Timothy the bellman was very friendly and informative. I hope to see him for the remainder of my trip. He told my sister and I nice places to go for food and fun. He laughed and joked with us as if we were family.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Jazmene, Thank you for your review and mentioning one of our staff members. We are pleased to read about your stay and look forward to your return!
Read more
Eli S wrote a review Jul 2022
ny4 contributions3 helpful votes
The hotel is generally fine but I'm really getting tired of this new "feature" whereby your room is not getting cleaned and made unless you ask for it. When we checked in there was no mention of this policy. When we got back to the room later in the day to realize that it wasn't made and no towels were changed, we called the front desk. Their response is that we should have requested to schedule it. But wait, we have to do it 24 hours in advance!! Of course, you would expect to be notified of this policy when you check -in. We were not. I won't be surprised to discover this being mentioned somewhere in the footnotes of the two double-sided instruction package we got when checked in. It was somewhat acceptable during Covid when we were all much more accommodating sub-service. It's completely unacceptable from a "luxury" hotel to play this annoying game with their guests. BRING BACK ROOM CLEANING DEFAULT!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square
Responded 5 Jul 2022
Dear Eli S, Thanks for your review. We apologize for the miscommunication as it relates to having your room service. This information is provided when pre-arrival letters are sent via email. Unless booked with a 3rd party site. In addition, this information is provided at check-in and within the guest letter that each guest is given. Any guest can have their room serviced for every night of their stay. We only ask that it's communicated in advance, so the staff can clean the room when the guest isn't in the room. Thanks again for your understanding.
Read more
Sofia B wrote a review Jun 2022
5 contributions
The hotel is ok for what you pay and is in a good location. The room was spacious but when we checked in you could tell the shower was not clean. We called to have it cleaned and no one came. The pool was very crowded and the "bar" at the pool was closed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Dear sofiabgT, Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We're sorry to hear that we rated only an "okay". Our goal is to meet or exceed all guest expectations and in this case we didn't. We apologize for our shortcomings and will ensure we make the necessary changes. Our pool bar is open only on the weekends since this is the most optimal time. The pool can be crowded at times because all of our guest stay here for that reason. We want to to be able to share this great amenity. Thanks again for your review and choosing the Sonesta Philadelphia.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$174 - US$266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crowne plaza philadelphia, philadelphia crowne plaza
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaPhiladelphiaCity Center West
NUMBER OF ROOMS
439
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square
Which popular attractions are close to Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square?
Nearby attractions include Escape the Room Philly (0.4 km), Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul (0.5 km), and One Liberty Observation Deck (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vernick Food & Drink, Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, and Gran Caffe L'Aquila.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a rooftop pool during their stay.
Is Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Philadelphia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.