We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York

Save
Share
125 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9501
7 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$207
View deal
Booking.com
$207
View deal
Traveluro
$130
View deal
Hotels.com$207
Travelocity$207
getaroom.com$212
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (631)
360
Panoramas (30)
Room & Suite (440)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 15/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York
Updated 15/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#151 of 512 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Quintessentially New York in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin Royal Sonesta was originally designed as a residential-style hotel with wind-swept terraces to entertain. Now an iconic landmark, the hotel still exudes the ambiance of a private club. Elegant room accommodations restyled in partnership with Benjamin Sleep Expert, Dr. Rebecca Robbins, bolster the residential appeal and create an ambiance of relaxed sophistication. Rooms and suites range from deluxe rooms, studios and one-bedroom suites to VIP suites with terraces.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Paid wifi
Complimentary tea
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
496Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
70Attractionswithin 0.5 km
3437Reviews50Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,047
  • 871
  • 320
  • 120
  • 80
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Megsblogged wrote a review Yesterday
Dubai, United Arab Emirates1261 contributions161 helpful votes
We stayed in The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York for 2 nights and 3 days and we had a comfortable stay. The location was good, the room was spacious and clean, the staff were friendly and courteous. Nice property but dated and needs a makeover. Overall we had a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MidwestGal16 wrote a review 9 Aug
Buffalo Grove, Illinois48 contributions23 helpful votes
The Benjamin is a slice of heaven and exceeds expectations given the location and reasonable (for Manhattan) prices. My Shitzu and I spent a couple of nites getting some much needed respite care in what turned out to be one of the most amazing rejuvenating places in Midtown. You don't even notice the sirens!!!! You just sink into that amazing tub, then perhaps try out their complementary robes and lay down in what seems like a cloud of a bed. Beware-the beds are extra high so my pooch needed help. But she adapted! Clean, quiet, fabulous staff, accommodating and often you can get a deal. Love you BEN!!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: If you can get a queen or king suite on a special, they're amazing. Any level just not near...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sibs2014 wrote a review 8 Aug
Melbourne, Australia14 contributions
Amazing location , staff very attentive and great service. Bed comfy. Air con great. Suite well sized, clean and comfortable . Would definitely visit again . Mini bar $10 per day great idea. Restaurant was closed at time but plenty of choice around.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Sibs2014, Thank you for the 5-star review. Hearing that your stay was delightful from arrival to departure and everything in between is music to our ears! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Benjamin Royal Sonesta should your travels bring you to NYC again. Kind Regards, Leticia Director of Rooms Leticia.torres@sonesta.com
Read more
Marc M wrote a review 7 Aug
Brussels, Belgium2 contributions
Very friendly staff. Super accommodating. Special thanks to Elias, Jonathan, Jaime and Oscar. The room was exceptionally clean, and the views from the 20th floor were outstanding. I highly recommend the Benjamin.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Marcm691, thank you very much for your feedback. We are thrilled to learn you had such a good experience and interactions with our lovely staff! And ultimately about your room cleanliness since our guests' comfort and safety is of utmost importance to us. We look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to NYC! Kind Regards, Leticia Director of Rooms Leticia.torres@sonesta.com
Read more
CityGent wrote a review 6 Aug
East Molesey, United Kingdom302 contributions179 helpful votes
The Benjamin has great rooms - spacious, very comfortable beds. We had a room with a terrace, which came with a small kitchen too, which was useful. The one letdown in the room is how noisy the air con units are. They come on and off, and when you're trying to get to sleep, it surprises you and jolts you awake if you're not quote asleep. The staff deserve a mention as they were all friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel is lovely, but lacking in a few facilities - no bar or restaurant, the gym is decent, but no pool, sauna or steam room. But what there is is very good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Rooms with a terrace are very spacious. All for a high floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York
Responded 3 days ago
Dear CityGent, thank you very much for your feedback, and for recognizing our team members. I think you will be pleased to hear that we are currently planning an extensive renovation of the entire Hotel, and we can't wait to have all of our facilities open again, along with a brand new look throughout to share with our guests! We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Leticia Director of Rooms Leticia.torres@sonesta.com
Read more
FishMom3 wrote a review Jul 2022
St. Petersburg, Florida25 contributions8 helpful votes
Love, love, love The Benjamin! In NYC for a girls' weekend/birthday celebration and had a one bedroom suite king - VERY spacious for NYC with good sized bedroom and sitting area plus small kitchenette alcove - bathroom was typical NYC smaller size. Great location with SBUX and subway station near by - staff was very good, enjoyed the 'pick an item' from the lobby minbar we got each night!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Erin, Thank you very much for your feedback. We Loved to hear that you had a great time at the Hotel and enjoyed interactions with our wonderful team members. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Leticia Director of Rooms Leticia.torres@sonesta.com
Read more
GwinnieW wrote a review Jul 2022
Port Orange, Florida11 contributions9 helpful votes
The Benjamin Royal Sonesta was recommended by other visiting patients of MSK, and we were excited to stay at this historical property. The location of this property is outstanding, and the Lobby welcoming. We were here for 8 nights for appointments at MSK. Upon entering our room we discovered the room worn, in poor repair (slanting floor between 2 areas of the room, entry door to room sagged and difficult to open). The room was dark. The property definitely did not live up to ratings. After realizing the condition of the room, we requested to be moved and were told by the unfriendly, rude front desk attendant this was not possible. Yet we learned the hotel was under capacity, so not sure why this request could not be accommodated.. The doormen are very hardworking, friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: This may be difficult as the front desk would not move us even with the issues in the room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Gwinnie, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. My name is Leticia, and I am the director of rooms at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta. We're disheartened and deeply concerned to learn you left disappointed with your experience at our property; I would expect that our colleagues would have addressed such concerns immediately once brought to our attention. I would like the opportunity to speak with you to learn more about your stay and to see how we can make amends for your experience. When you have a moment, please email me your contact details so I may be in touch. I look forward to talking with you. Kind regards, Leticia Director of Rooms Leticia.torres@sonesta.com
Read more
Blottotravels wrote a review Jul 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom110 contributions76 helpful votes
Pros: - Large room for 2 people - comfortable double bed - $10 credit at the mini bar per day which can be used to obtain bottled water - small kitchenette (not used much except to store water, but it had a lot of utensils, storage and a microwave) - good air conditioning unit (but can be loud and noisy) - staff were friendly and helpful - great location, really near Rockefeller centre and Grand Central Terminal - clean bathroom and lots of towels provided Cons: - $100 additional charge per night is held on arrival which we weren’t told about in advance and returned to you once you have checked out - not much sound proofing, we could quite loudly hear other guests late at night - there was a mystery door when we first entered the room which we thought connected to another room so didn’t open it and only after calling reception did we find out that the door opened into a small walk in closet with an iron and safe. Great having this space but tell guests about it or leave the door open when they first enter - hand soap was missing from our bathroom but washing up liquid was provided instead, when mentioned to reception they instantly asked housekeeping to deliver to our room - for such a big room the bed was quite small actually (only a double) - no additional pillows provided - free water should be provided especially in summer rather than having to ‘buy’ it from the minibar - windows could clearly see into the office building across the road so we ended up keeping the curtains closed whenever we were in the room - shower in the bathroom could take a while to heat up and shower head can’t be moved - no airport transfers provided - no dining options in the hotel either and connected restaurant looked desserted Overall nice stay for a few days, but if I was to go back to New York I may book elsewhere to compare hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gilbert C wrote a review Jul 2022
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
Meryll,Jose, Jonathan, Angelo, Elias and i apologize i forgot the names of other front office staff, your your customer service skills are great and really an asset for the Hotel. Housekeeping and Mr. Chapman are so friendly and treated us like family. Me and my daughter had an amazing stay and exceeded every aspect of our stay. We just found a home (in New York) away from home (Los Angeles)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York
Responded 3 days ago
Dear GC2027, thank you for your review. We're thrilled to learn that you had a wonderful stay at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta. It was also such a pleasure reading your kind words about our staff. We will be sure to share your comments with them! And when your travels bring you back to New York City, we will be here waiting to welcome you back for another wonderful stay. Kind Regards, Leticia Director of Rooms Leticia.torres@sonesta.com
Read more
passportsallineed wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom30 contributions22 helpful votes
Poor quality and poor service here. Extremely disappointed because we chose this hotel because they have an “American Girl doll experience” including a bed for your doll and milk and cookies upon arrival. No milk and cookies, and only one bed—they charged us $75 at checkout for the second bed that we got. It’s a cheap, foam bed that costs about $5 to make. What are we supposed to do—tell one daughter she gets a bed and not the other? Website doesn’t say *only one bed per family. When we checked out and saw the charge we said we would give the bed back so they could take the charge off and they refused. We had a room with a terrace but because of hotel construction the terrace was not usable. Can’t believe this is a Royal Sonesta hotel. We would not return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: No restaurant, not very clean.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear passportsallineed, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. My name is Leticia, and I am the director of rooms at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta. I am very sorry that you did not receive the excellent service we are known for during your stay and that you were underwhelmed by the American Girl “Pajama Sleepover” package. I have passed your feedback to our colleagues for immediate review as we want to ensure our service is always 5-star. Please know that we are working hard to improve our property and amenities offered in every way that we can and will be grateful for a second chance to earn your trust. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to New York City. When you do return, please do not hesitate to contact me directly as I would love to personally attend to your reservation. Kind regards, Leticia Director of Rooms Leticia.torres@sonesta.com
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$285 - US$466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the benjamin hotel new york city, benjamin new york city, benjamin hotel new york city
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityTurtle Bay / Midtown East / Manhattan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
209
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York
Which popular attractions are close to The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York?
Nearby attractions include St. Patrick's Cathedral (0.5 km), Steve Cohen's Chamber Magic (0.3 km), and Greenacre Pocket Park (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a fitness centre, dry cleaning, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York?
Conveniently located restaurants include Spice Symphony, Obao Noodles & Bbq, and Little Collins.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (6.1 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (6.1 km), and Hamilton Park (4.1 km).
Does The Benjamin Royal Sonesta New York have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.