We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
10 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Booking.com
$144
View deal
DoubleTree
$144
View deal
FindHotel
$129
View deal
Expedia.com$144
Hotels.com$144
travelup.com$167
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (643)
Room & Suite (322)
Dining (18)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 13/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Updated 13/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#401 of 513 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The DoubleTree New York Downtown rises high above the Stone Street Historic District in lower Manhattan. Just blocks from the NYSE, Battery Park, and the South Street Seaport, our modern, high-rise hotel in the heart of the Wall Street / Downtown Financial District offers spectacular views of downtown Manhattan, Brooklyn, and Ellis Island. Enjoy upscale DoubleTree comfort and a great lower Manhattan hotel location equally convenient to Newark Liberty International, JFK, and LaGuardia Airports. Warmly appointed, stylish guest rooms and suites feature state-of-the-art amenities, LCD TVs, complimentary WiFi, pampering bath amenities, and our luxurious Sweet Dreams bed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Parking garage
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
235Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
63Attractionswithin 0.5 km
3270Reviews83Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 797
  • 1,092
  • 740
  • 350
  • 291
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Laura F wrote a review 1 Aug
2 contributions
The room was perf. The bed was so comfortable. I couldn’t sleep at all because of the noisy air conditioner blower that kept turning on and off all night. Everything so up to date except those old rickety noisy on and off a/c units. I was there on business and needed my sleep. It was just awful. Plus there was a rooftop bar on the building next door and although I was on the 20th floor I could hear the music too late into the evening. The two elevators are too slow and too few to serve this building. Shame for all this because the room was perfect
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Laura, while we enjoyed reading you described your room as perfect and appreciated the comfort of our beds, we do regret if the music from one of our local establishments was a bit loud the night of your stay. We will look into this and apologize for your experience. The next time you are visiting the area, please let our team know your room preference so that we can better assist you and create a relaxing stay for you.
Read more
Richard J wrote a review 1 Aug
Llanelli, United Kingdom5 contributions17 helpful votes
The best part about this hotel is the location. Great bar opposite for a pint and close to the freedom tower and 9 11 memorial site. An ok hotel as far as facilities go. Rooms not the biggest but kept clean and tidy, staff in general were polite and friendly, gym was a bit of a disappointment however the standard joke during our stay was the saga surrounding the elevators. They must rate as the slowest in the world.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Richard, although it was nice to read you enjoyed our central location, friendly service, and comfort we provide, we do regret any delays you had with our elevators. Thank you for your review and we hope to have you stay again.
Read more
Stringer27 wrote a review 1 Aug
31 contributions50 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon. Whilst I think a lot of the reviews on here are very harsh, the hotel was, all in all, a bit of a disappointment. The lifts are certainly a problem, but we were on the 6th floor, and are able to use the stairs, so did more often than not. You'd be in a pickle if you couldn't use the stairs/were on a higher floor - there are 44! The room was a reasonable size for NY, but very dated and tired - chips and marks on furniture and walls, grubby windows etc. We had a procession of ants come to visit one morning, too! BUT it had everything we needed. Just looked about 20 years out of date and not in great condition. We are diamond Hilton members and have come to expect excellent service from Hiltons when we stay. The service was fine, but nothing special. What I *will* say is that the location is absolutely excellent and we loved being in a slightly quieter area than the chaos of Midtown. Also, I think the breakfast reviews are unkind. We ordered from the menu and found there to be a lot of choice and the food to be tasty and good portion sizes. The staff in the restaurant were friendly, too.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Emma for your detailed review of your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our great location and delicious breakfast options were served. We do regret if your guestroom was not at its best and will have our team address this. It will be a pleasure to welcome you and your husband back the next time you are visiting the downtown area.
Read more
D J B wrote a review Jul 2022
Portsmouth, New Hampshire12 contributions14 helpful votes
Staff doesn’t answer phones from room, rooms are ridiculously small , elevators are horribly slow .asked for extra towels and pillows 7 times over 4 hours . Not impressed at all . Diamond upgrade means nothing in this hotel . Horrible choices for parking as well
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for reaching out about your time here. We regret if your room was not as you had hoped and apologize we missed the opportunity to make your stay perfect. Our management team will review your comments with our staff to ensure we are always providing the best comfort and service to our guests. We hope to welcome you back again so that we can create a better stay for you.
Read more
EmmaTowle wrote a review Jul 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom2 contributions
Stayed here for 4 nights with my daughter. The hotel is dated and room was quite small. We were advised on check in that hospitality will try to refresh the room every day but if we specifically needed it done we would need to request it. They do not put water bottles in the room, I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel that did not supply bottles of water, but especially in New York in June when it is very very hot outside. They do sell bottled of water but for $2.50 for 500ml. Thankfully there is a store on the same street where we bought our own. There is a drinking water tap on the same floor as reception, however they didn't tell us this at time of check in. We spotted it a few days later but the water is warm out of the tap anyway. The lifts are an absolute nightmare and I really feel for people who were on higher floors than me, or those that could not manage the stairs at all. We were on the 11th floor and used the stairs mostly as the wait time at the lift sometimes was substantial due to only being 3 for 40+ floors. The aircon was very strong, which was not ideal as it was right next to the bed which means you are either freezing if you leave it on overnight, or too warm if it is off. In summary not quite the standard I would have expected for a Doubletree by Hilton hotel. The pictures definitely make it look a lot more modern and brighter than it actually is. Thankfully I had booked it very far in advance so only paid £450 for 4 nights. I had tried to amend my dates closer to the time but the price changed to £800+ so I kept it as it was.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Emma, we are truly disappointed that your time here was less than satisfactory, but we are grateful you chose to share your concerns as it helps us to improve. Our team will discuss your comments regarding our amenities and elevators to see how we can ensure a more seamless experience for our guests, and we sincerely apologize for missing the mark on this occasion. We hope you'll give us another chance to create a more positive, memorable stay for you the next time you visit New York.
Read more
Johanne R wrote a review Jul 2022
Alesund, Norway75 contributions30 helpful votes
I don't understand why this hotel has so many bad reviews on Tripadvisor. The room is very big for a city like New York, far bigger than regular rooms in cities like London or Paris. Based on the reviews, I was also pleasantly surprised by the standard of the room. Check in was super quick and easy. Cleanliness was good, and we got plenty of refills of coffee, which we enjoyed. The hotel is convently located for the subway, within 2-3 minutes walk you can choose between 3-4 stations with different lines. Also recommend taking the boat over to Brooklyn, great experience. Note that the hotel has few elevators, so that might be an annyance if you're leaving/coming back at busy times of the day. We didn't have any issues.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor to avoid queuing for the elevator
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Johanne, surpassing your expectations with our spacious guestrooms, helpful service, and prime location was a treat! Thank you so much for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown and rating us four stars. Your kind words have brightened our day, and we look forward to creating another memorable stay for you next time!
Read more
biztravler2022 wrote a review Jul 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania1 contribution
This hotel has gone downhill. Elevators are insufficient for the number of rooms. Wifi never worked. Could only get hot water out of cold tap. Climate control inconsistent. Don’t stay here. Find another place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reaching out to us about your stay. We are disheartened to read about your experience as it does not sound typical nor reflective of the high standards we have in place for our amenities and guest accommodations. We would like to offer our sincere apology for the issues you dealt with and can assure you that we will be speaking further with our Management Team to have these areas resolved right away. Please allow us another chance to welcome you so we can work to renew your confidence in us.
Read more
michael2022946 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
When it comes to hotels, the Hilton is by far the best. This one is right in the center of the financial district, within walking distance to most everything. It's very affordable for being in the city and offers everything you need for a pleasurable stay. The staff make you feel right at home AND you can leave your luggage there after you check out, should you still have other attractions you want to go visit. Hands down, the best choice if you're heading to Lower Manhattan
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 4 weeks ago
Wow! We are over the moon reading your high praise! Thank you, Michael. Knowing our location suited your preferences perfectly is exciting, and we are happy to hear our team provided a home away from home with their warm hospitality. Easing your travels brought us joy and we hope to do it again soon here at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown!
Read more
ekperigin wrote a review Jul 2022
Newtown, Connecticut170 contributions86 helpful votes
Three adults so we needed a room with a pull out couch. Perfect choice as the king room had plenty of space and two huge TV’s. Called ahead to see if we could check in early. Our room was ready at 12noon when we arrived. Loved the warm cookies at checkin. Was skeptical of the reviews warning of the elevators. We had no problems…we did use the steps once. Full disclosure…our room was on the 4th floor. Used the parking for $45 - well worth it cause no street parking in the area and most garages charged over $70 per night for a 24 hour stay. Perfect area for walking - subway less than a block away. Staff was great - it was annoying to have housekeeping start knocking on then door at 9:40am. Would recommend a stay here!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful recommendation with us! We're so happy that you enjoyed the comfort of your guest room, as well as our terrific parking value and helpful service. Having you as our guests was a pleasure and we hope you will join us again soon for another five-star stay at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown!
Read more
E H wrote a review Jul 2022
Carlow, Ireland9 contributions13 helpful votes
The Doubletree by Hilton New York Downtown is an extremely small hotel and, as with most hotels in the NY area, space is at a premium. Our room was supposed to be set up for 3 but the hotel set it up as 2 only and we had a tough time getting to get them to sort it (i.e. giving us the requisite number of towels. Staff in the hotel were pleasant but they had a habit of using the customer lifts for transporting their cleaning trolleys on the lifts. This, in turn, lead to delays on the lifts when calling then and also led to delays when stopping off to let staff off at the requested floors. The hotel is located at the end of the financial district (the infamous brass bull of Wall St fame is located a short walk away. The Hop On Hop Off bus service stops just around the corner form the hotel and was very convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms extremely tight on space. We had to put cases on top of wardrobe and inside wardrobe. ...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 9 Jul 2022
While we're glad to know you enjoyed the convenience of our downtown location, we can't help but feel disappointed that a few aspects of your stay fell short of expectations. We appreciate your feedback on our service and elevators, and we can assure you that we will be discussing your comments with our team to see how we can improve. Please stay with us again soon so we can work to win you over entirely.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$175 - US$318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityDowntown Manhattan (Downtown) / Financial District / Manhattan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
399
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Komnata Quest Manhattan (0.5 km), Ellis Island Immigration Museum (0.4 km), and Stone Street Historic District (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Leo's Bagels, The Dead Rabbit, and Delmonico's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (0.8 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (0.8 km), and Hamilton Park (7.2 km).