Found Hotel Boston Common

Found Hotel Boston Common

78 Charles Street South, Boston, MA 02116-5443
Traveler (37)
Queen room
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

₱14,878
Get rewarded with One Key
₱14,856
Get rewarded with One Key
₱14,898
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#92 of 96 hotels in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Experience the timeless charm of FOUND Hotel Boston - one of Downtown's oldest continuously operated hotels. Originally built in 1877 as the Sumner Hotel, this architectural gem was designed by the esteemed Harris M. Stephenson (1845 - 1909) and is nestled in the heart of the vibrant Theatre District. The hotel's prime location puts you just a stone's throw away from Boston's must-see attractions, such as the iconic Boston Common, the tranquil Public Garden, and a plethora of theaters, restaurants, and clubs. For those looking to venture further out, the MBTA's Green Line at Boylston Street Station is conveniently located just one block away, providing easy access to the city's top cultural and historical hotspots. Whether you're visiting for business or leisure, FOUND Hotel Boston offers the perfect blend of history, location, and value. Don't miss out on the chance to discover all that this incredible city has to offer - book your stay with us today!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Parking
Wifi
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Tile / marble floor
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

78 Charles Street South, Boston, MA 02116-5443
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Boston Logan International Airport
Worcester Airport
67.1 km
See all flights
Tufts Medical Center
3 minBoston T
105Reviews19Q+A14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 32
  • 32
  • 11
  • 6
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
stephenchan wrote a review Jan 2020
Hong Kong, China74 contributions95 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel locates at the central location of Boston, walkable distance to subway, and with lots of restaurants nearby. The room is small, and a bit old. Good value for money especially for short stay in boston.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from EdwardD1832, Manager at Found Hotel Boston Common
Responded Feb 5, 2020
We have a great location in the heart of Bostons theater, district walking distance to everything you want to see and do in Boston. Weather your interested in History, shopping, sporting events or nightlife its all just steps away. While true that our rooms are on the smaller side they more then make up for that in comfort. Thank you for staying with us at the FOUND Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David wrote a review Apr 2021
Homer, Georgia86 contributions76 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It's a good concept in a good location with several options for T stations to get around the city as well as to and from the airport. Boston Common is very close and I went to the McDonald's across the street from the park and ate dinner under a light in the Common after I checked in. I got a shared room for about $40 out the door but it's not for me. It's odd sleeping in the same room with some random dude even if the bunks are private with a curtain. The locker in my (our?) room locked once then I couldn't get it to lock again. I had to trust that my stuff would be okay after I checked in. My roommate wasn't there when I checked in but was in his bunk when I got back. I knew it would happen but it was odd. We never spoke. I texted my wife for a bit and then watched a show on my phone with headphones, then had the intent of going to sleep. Yeah it's hard to do, it's a mental thing for me. If you think this will bug you too, get a single room. I'm listening to my roommate snore as I write this review.

I'm unsure if I will stay here again partially because of this but also because when I checked in the front desk lady was wearing a Black Lives Matter mask. I can't in good conscience financially support a business that apparently supports a domestic terror organization, or at least allows employees to show divisive viewpoints.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KateE006 wrote a review Oct 2022
Melbourne290 contributions98 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Single room is tiny but is well designed to maximise the space and has everything you need. Excellent shower. Free laundry facilities in basement. Staff are very welcoming.

Good location, walking distance to Boston Common, easy access to mass transit.

Note, rooms are not cleaned daily (post covid) but you can request a service/fresh towels if you wish.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sean Muldoon, General Manager at Found Hotel Boston Common
Responded Oct 20, 2022
Our single rooms are perfect for a solo trip to Boston and we are so pleased to hear you got the most out of our amazing location as well. Our team will be ready for another big welcome on your next trip to Boston. Until then, safe travels Kate.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WorldtravellerU wrote a review Jan 2021
Los Angeles, California9 contributions30 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This isn't a hotel, it's a hostel. The single rooms are very small, you can't swing a cat.

What's more worrying is the lack of hygiene in the hotel during Coronavirus - there were hairs by the sink when I checked in.

Also, I know its standard practise to give a credit card as a deposit. A coupe of days after checking in, there was a rogue transaction for $1200 to Best Buy which I managed to cancel, so best to keep checking your credit card transactions when giving your card details to any hotel.

There are much better hotels in the area with comparable prices, such as the Club Hotel in Boston with bigger rooms and better hygiene.

Avoid the Found Hotel Boston Common!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
paulatravel wrote a review Jun 2022
Geneva, Switzerland20 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do yourselves a favor and go elsewhere. This overpriced coop with pigeon-sized rooms was designed to cash in on people who have no luggage, no need to sleep and are hard of hearing.
It was impossible to sleep here with non-stop noise from the street and inside the hotel. The $420/night reserved "double" room (roughly 2.1 m x 2.8m or 7ft x 9ft) had a bed barely bigger than a twin sized bed with no closets, and only enough room to open a suitcase when the door was shut. It was located right next to the reception desk (roughly 3m/12ft) from the end of the bed across a narrow open hallway, with no noise insulation and constant noise during the night. We hear every guest arriving, every phone reservation being made and every mobile phone alert the receptionist received. The room had no window, as the bed unit blocked the existing window completely. This would appear to be out of code with state building standards. The only window that could be opened was in the bathroom area which had to be kept closed due to the very noisy street, due to nearby nightclubs. This room or any located near the reception should not be rented, but rather used as storage space.

The bathroom was the only place to hang anything against the shower door, but you need to bring your own hangers. When we complained about the room and the impossibility to rest, the manager failed to accept that there was a problem and never offered an apology or any sort of refund, being fully aware of the condition of the main floor rooms. He used the same tactic when the reservation platform reached out to him with proof of decibel levels from the room and photo proof attesting to the condition of the room.

Veer away from this greedy trap.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Just don't come here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sean Muldoon, Owner at Found Hotel Boston Common
Responded Jun 13, 2022
So sorry that your expectations weren’t met on this visit. We can assure you that our prices are always perfectly competitive with other similar properties downtown yet apologize for them seeming high to you. Our historic property brings with it a large variety of room shapes, some smaller than others and again we apologize that this presented an issue for you. Certainly we should have been more flexible in accommodating your expectations, however, on the sold out night you were with us, we did not have the opportunity to move your room. We are most disheartened to see you did not enjoy even the location, Paula.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Newyorkfan40 wrote a review Feb 2020
Walsall, United Kingdom341 contributions89 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We flew into Boston from the UK for a 2 day break before moving on. We had booked the hotel through Booking.com. Check in was for after 3pm, but due to the flight times we arrived at the hotel before 2pm so asked if we could possibly check in early or leave our cases somewhere, the lady was very helpful and checked us in immediately.
There was a coffee station in the foyer of the hotel and I'm glad we took a cup each up as there wasn't any coffee making facilities in the room. We had booked one of the Queen rooms and it had a lovely bay window and was a decent size room, some of the other rooms we saw (while they were being cleaned) was on the small size, but if like me your on a sightseeing trip and not likely to be sat in the room for any length of time this doesn't detract from the trip. The bathroom was fabulous with a huge walk in shower and was almost the same size as the bedroom.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from EdwardD1832, Manager at Found Hotel Boston Common
Responded Feb 19, 2020
New York Fan, Our location ion the heart of Boston is an ideal home base to explore Boston. The Boston Common, the Public Garden and the freedom trail are a short walk from our door step, Add to that the shopping, restaurants and nightlife in the area you will be able to do everything on foot. Thank you for staying with us at the Found Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Madeline B wrote a review Sep 2021
17 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is one of the most depressing hotels (if you can call it a hotel) I’ve ever been in. It’s really renting a dorm room and to have paid $300/night for it was just offensive.

The thread count on towels and sheets were non-existent. The room was a shoebox with no natural light. Two suitcases can’t be opened at once. The rooms so small it feels like a fire hazard.

Do anything but stay here. My flight left at 5am and I could not have checked out sooner
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JustATravelingGal wrote a review Dec 2022
Vero Beach, Florida77 contributions55 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is fine for the budget conscious traveler who doesn’t expect much. I can’t compliment it. It was ok. It had a bed & a bathroom.

When we checked in, the room had not been turned over. Front desk was only slightly helpful so we ended up stripping the beds, emptying the trash, wiping down the room (luckily I had a bottle of spray sanitizer in my purse), etc ourselves. We then made our own beds & hung our own towels before passing out after a long day of travel. The only reason I didn’t raise holy hell was because they comped us for that night.

Pros:
Location - close to restaurants, entertainment, subway/bus, & tourist destinations.
Price.
The room we had was spacious (double queen).

Cons:
Lumpy beds.
Extremely dry(nose bleed inducing) heat.
Light from the hallway blared under the door.
Staff, with one exception, was indifferent .

Horrifying:
As my we changed the sheets our first night, we saw the mattress covers had blood stains. Wtf. While you could tell they had been washed, it was symptomatic of a not-quite well-run hotel.

If you are wondering why I have as many as two stars, see the pros.

While I won’t stay here again, the hotel served its purpose this trip.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer C wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Found Hotel has the most amazing staff. Our family had three rooms in the hotel for a graduation weekend and we all agreed that Sean at the front desk made Found Hotel the best place to stay in the city. He was helpful, welcoming and always made us feel like we were coming home after a night out. The rooms at this hotel might be on the smaller side but the personal care and attention you receive from the staff makes you feel like you are staying at a 5 star resort with your own personal butler. Thanks Sean for always meeting us at the door with a big “Hello”.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ninah Rein wrote a review Aug 2023
Bar Harbor, Maine7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stay here. The front desk staff Kendall and Peter need to be compensated for their amazing work because they are extremely attentive to all. Parking is affordable and directly across the street. The location is 5 min walk away from Boston Common and everything else you would need is in walking distance. The rooms are clean and nice with a modern flare. They have an ice machine coffee and an elevator.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from jltnh123
Lindenhurst, Illinois11 contributions32 helpful votes
I was flying out of Boston and wanted to see some of the city beforehand. I wasn’t driving a car so I can’t answer this question.
Answer from Sean M
Hello Yaya, I am sorry to say that we do not. all of our dorms are mixed.
Answer from David C
Burbank, California79 contributions204 helpful votes
Yes all rooms have been renovated.’ Some double rooms have a bed that ends at a wall but not out queen rooms. David.
Answer from David C
Burbank, California79 contributions204 helpful votes
Yes - please go to our website to book. TripAdvisor does not allow us to post the link but google Found Hotel Boston and look for the website. We look forward to welcoming you to our amazing location and renovated rooms.
Ashley B asked a question Jul 2018
How close to Fenway?
Answer from David C
Burbank, California79 contributions204 helpful votes
Just over a mile, right down Boylston Street.
jlasgood wrote a tip May 5
Atlanta, Georgia36 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We used Uber so don’t know about parking."
Read full review
Michelle F wrote a tip Sep 2023
4 contributions20 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Close the doors - best thing you can do for travelers "
Read full review
jcecce wrote a tip Jun 2023
Easton, Pennsylvania51 contributions46 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not book online. Call and ask for a room NOT on the first floor or you will be very disappointed."
Read full review
madeline w wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good Luck"
Read full review
Claire wrote a tip Feb 2023
Singapore, Singapore60 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are free laundry machines in the basement! All you need is your own detergent/washing powder/laundry pod."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Boston area.
PRICE RANGE
₱12,168 - ₱20,261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
milner hotel boston
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Milner Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsBostonTheater District / Downtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FOUND HOTEL BOSTON COMMON - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (MA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Found Hotel Boston Common
Which popular attractions are close to Found Hotel Boston Common?
Nearby attractions include Bites of Boston Food Tours (0.3 km), Trapology Boston (0.4 km), and Wang Theater (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Found Hotel Boston Common?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, baggage storage, and a clothes dryer.
Which room amenities are available at Found Hotel Boston Common?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a walk-in shower.
Is parking available at Found Hotel Boston Common?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Found Hotel Boston Common?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mike & Patty's, The Q, and Ostra.
Are any cleaning services offered at Found Hotel Boston Common?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Found Hotel Boston Common?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Found Hotel Boston Common?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bites of Boston Food Tours (0.3 km), The Printing Office of Edes & Gill (2.0 km), and Old North Church & Historic Site (2.1 km).
All Boston HotelsBoston Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BostonHotels near Found Hotel Boston Common
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars