We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Donatello

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (709)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (278)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#51 of 234 hotels in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Filipino
3,046Reviews95Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,617
  • 1,119
  • 210
  • 66
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
828SarahG wrote a review Apr 8
Beaune, France30 contributions17 helpful votes
I was disappointed with my stay at The Donatello. I stayed for 3 nights, in an old room that was big, with a working desk area, a sofa area, and a small kitchen. However the room was very poorly isolated from outside, so it was VERY noisy, and a cold breeze was entering through the windows, I had to turn the heater on. I was also disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. I had hoped a comfortable quiet stay but it was disappointing and too expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at The Donatello
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We're happy to learn that you had an enjoyable experience overall. However, we strive to exceed expectations. We will ensure your concerns regarding the visit are passed along to resort management so that we may continue to improve in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Smiley Sel wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions
+1
5 out 5, spent a week here and it was amazing! Centrally located, most visitor locations were walking distance. The room was spacious and comfortable! It was quiet and the roof terrace was a great relaxing place in the evenings. I recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: There were quite a few homeless people close by but they were harmless ( polite and very kind)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at The Donatello
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable overall experience and will share your feedback with our resort management team on areas we can improve. We're looking forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
georgegong24 wrote a review Mar 2024
Oakville, Canada1 contribution
It is a safe, convenient, clean and friendly place. I was worried about safety for this location when plan my visit to San Francisco. After a few days staying, and a few other places booked with RCI. I realize all are good
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at The Donatello
Responded 2 weeks ago
We greatly appreciate your 5-star review of your recent experience with us. It brings us immense joy to know that you had such an exceptional stay. Your feedback is invaluable! We eagerly anticipate the opportunity to welcome you back for another superb visit with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gina R wrote a review Mar 2024
Chicago, Illinois11 contributions
Didn’t know what to expect my first time in San Francisco. Good location in downtown in the union square neighborhood. A lot of restaurants nearby. Easy to access a lot of transportation options if you don’t want to pay $$ for Uber. Mind you we’re in the busy area so a lot of homeless, addicts, so you definitely will see a lot of garbage & feces in the street. In the nicer area it’s not like this. They don’t bother you so don’t get scared just watch where you walking. The hotel is really nice & modern and the room was clean and modern. No pool but they do have a jacuzzi that fits 4 people at a time. The bed was very comfortable. I enjoyed my stay go to cvs across the street and get some liquor for your stay and try the happy lamb restaurant on the next block
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at The Donatello
Responded 4 weeks ago
A heartfelt thank you from our team for your wonderful 5-star review! We're absolutely delighted to learn that you had an exceptional experience during your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stephen E. Y wrote a review Mar 2024
San Diego, California8 contributions8 helpful votes
Nice location clean and well staffed. Very courteous and attentive. Easy walk to shops and wharf. 24-hr diner great food and pricing within 1/2 block. Hot tub, sauna, dressing rooms hot showers, and adequate fitness center. All on top floor where one can get coffee and tea all day long.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at The Donatello
Responded 4 weeks ago
Wow, just wow! Your glowing 5-star review has left us all beaming with joy! We're absolutely thrilled that your recent stay with us left you feeling extremely satisfied. Your kind words truly warm our hearts. We're so grateful to have been a part of creating such a wonderful experience for you. We can't wait to welcome you back for another incredible stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
judymccahon wrote a review Feb 2024
Walnut Creek, California1 contribution
The Donatello staff is wonderful. The location is 1 block from Union Square. We walked there, then Chinatown, then Little Italy. The best food everywhere!! We walked to Fishermen’s Wharf, visited museums & saw MJ ( Michael Jackson play/musical). Great week during the Super Bowl & Chinese New Year- lots of fireworks, Ash Wednesday
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at The Donatello
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for brightening our day with your wonderful 5-star review of your recent visit. We're delighted to know that your experience was exceptional and that you found something truly special during your stay. Your feedback helps us continue to create outstanding experiences for our guests. We can't wait to welcome you back for more unforgettable moments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Howard wrote a review Feb 2024
54 contributions39 helpful votes
Each year, we visit San Francisco for a week as a stopover before flying home. We stay at the Club Donatello each time. We find the price for the week the best deal through Booking.com. This hotel has everything: gorgeous, roomy rooms, amenities, service, a great restaurant, and JAZZ. Location can't be beat for touring, shopping, dining.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking available but a bit expensive (you are downtown of course!). Make reservations for the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at The Donatello
Responded Feb 12, 2024
Wow! Your glowing 5-star review of your recent stay made our day! We're absolutely thrilled that your experience with us left you extremely satisfied. We hope your next visit with us makes you say, ""Can I give it 6 stars?" Thank you again for taking the time to share your positive feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mjilaga11222022 wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
Friendly service, great location, spacious rooms and comfortable lounge areas with free coffee, tea and hot chocolate. I love going there everyday to unwind and read a book. Our first bedroom had loud noise from the city and couldn’t sleep from the sound of siren all night. Our room door was unlocked and slightly open when we got back in the afternoon. We didn’t feel safe so they had to do some investigation. Luckily nothing was missing. Pam signed us up to go to a timeshare presentation the next day and said that they would give us a gift. However when we got to the Wyndham Canterbury hotel front desk the next day, we were told that we do not qualify for the free gifts and can’t give us the presentation because our income of $50-75K does not qualify. We were disappointed but oh well. The lady was not very friendly. She looked at us very mean and made us feel like we didn’t belong there. However the staff at the Donatello hotel (Gregorio, Angelica and PJ) have done as much they can do to help us out with what we needed and made our stay safe & comfortable. We had the most memorable and enjoyable time overall . Will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at The Donatello
Responded Feb 12, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable overall experience and will share your feedback with our resort management team on areas we can improve. We're looking forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cclemons711 wrote a review Jan 2024
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
This hotel pulled out all of the stops and treat you like royalty. Yes, everything and everybody wase excellent!!! I would like to recommend this hotel stay to everyone. I hope you enjoyed the stay as much as I did.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at The Donatello
Responded Jan 16, 2024
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent 5-star stay with us. We're so pleased to hear that you had a terrific experience during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jonathan C wrote a review Jan 2024
Quebec City, Canada259 contributions58 helpful votes
The hotel is clean and the rooms are big. There is an "activity centre" including a pool table, air hockey and a tv. We spend almost all our nights there with the kids. The training center is small so be There early if you want to have room to train. While we were there, there were several problems with both the terrasse and the elevator. The neighborhood is not si welcomy... Yes, you are in the center but my wife was scared to go out alone even in sunlight.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at The Donatello
Responded Jan 16, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review your 4-star stay with us. We're pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable overall experience and will share your feedback with our resort management team on areas we can improve. We're looking forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Francisco area.
PRICE RANGE
₱7,578 - ₱11,198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
donatello hotel san francisco, donatello san francisco, the donatello
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / Downtown / Theater District / Union Square / Lower Nob Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE DONATELLO - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (San Francisco, CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Donatello
Which popular attractions are close to The Donatello?
Nearby attractions include San Francisco Magic Theater at the Marrakech (0.3 km), San Francisco Urban Adventures (0.4 km), and San Francisco Playhouse (0.10 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Donatello?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Donatello?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at The Donatello?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Donatello?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Donatello?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lapisara Eatery, Liholiho Yacht Club, and Fino Bar & Ristorante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Donatello?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Donatello?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Donatello?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Donatello offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.