We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
601 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109-7904
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!BOOK DIRECT!
Hotels.com
Official Website
US$399
View deal
Expedia.com
US$419
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/03/22
Booking.comUS$419
Priceline
TravelocityUS$419
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (379)
Room & Suite (53)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#25 of 250 hotels in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
PHOENIX RISING | Funky, irreverent, and young-at-heart, The Phoenix Hotel caters to touring bands and travelers with a creative spirit. A 44 room mid-century motor lodge with a lush courtyard and heated outdoor pool. It's an oasis in the heart of San Francisco on the edge of the gritty Tenderloin and three blocks from City Hall. Guests get complimentary wifi, complimentary onsite parking (one car per room) and complimentary passes to the Kabuki Springs and Spa (Monday - Friday). Show casing original sculptures from local artists in the courtyard gardens, and a one of kind mural in the swimming pool.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:BOOK DIRECT!
1414Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 780
  • 423
  • 127
  • 48
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Leigh G wrote a review 19 Sep
Lakewood, Colorado76 contributions7 helpful votes
Although the Tenderloin District is a little sketch, this hotel is a cool old era rock n roll place. The courtyard was great in the evening for drinks by the fire. The pool was very neat with the mosaic tile and the food was decent. The interior of the hotel is locked so people from the street can't just come in, which is a plus in this area. The hotel is not cheap, but I guess you would expect that in San Fran. Parking is free for customers but the lot is VERY small.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
5starShelly wrote a review Nov 2020
Oakland, California62 contributions52 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
For my Covid B-day I wanted to do something....but I wanted to stay close to home and I wanted to get into a fricking POOL. It's not my1st time at the Phoenix. I've been coming and staying for Pool parties since WET was hosted here. So I KNOW they have one of the only outdoor heated pools in the city. And I wanted THAT. And I wanted to be able to eat and drink without to much walking. The Phoenix checked ALL those boxes plus they have beds that don't send me home with backpain. That's always a plus!! We were there for Friday and Sat Night. We checked and had dinner at Chambers which was serving outdoors in courtyard with heat lamps, the wind walls and a DJ. It was very Supperclubish and the ALL the food and alll the drinks were on point! And our server was lovely. We went into the pool after dinner on Friday night, After soul food from Brenda's around the corner for Brunch the next day and Sunday morning before we checked out. We enjoyed the music that the DJ played on Sat night in the courtyard even though we were eating Chinese takeout from the Richmond. The atmosphere was lovely all weekend. Because let's face it-EVERY THING is better when there is a Good DJ!!! I tip my Tiara and my glass to the whole experience. And am seriously considering doing an expanded version for my B-day next year.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Orlando Lee, Guest Services / Front Office at Phoenix Hotel
Responded 13 Nov 2020
Hello 5star, You are just awesome!! You are truly one of the originals who have seen our hotel transform time and again. That fantastic collage of yours telling the story of our hotel over the years is nothing less than perfection! Let me know when you are thinking about coming back " home" so that we can have your very special room ready with everything you need. Happy Birthday!
Read more
taangbaang wrote a review 15 Sep
New York City, New York1 contribution
Paying for a Studio with 2 King Beds I waited almost 2 hours to check in to my hotel. The front desk stated they were missing a cleaning lady however they were cleaning all the smaller rooms prior. I was there at 2pm and am very aware of check-in to be at 3pm. However to just finally get my keys at almost 5pm? I was in front of my room at 230 (no one cleaning), 330 (no one cleaning), 4pm (no one cleaning) and finally at about 415/430 THEY JUST STARTED TO CLEAN. VERY UNSAT. Room was rushed to be cleaned, Customer Service was horrible at the front desk. If a customer is paying a lot of money for a bigger room, you need to prioritize that room to be cleaned first. I ended up getting a "rush cleaning" as my bath tub was still dirty, sheets were barely just made, and a horrible ODOR was still lingering in my room. Thanks for a horrible experience as I was just visiting back from a Military Deployment from the middle east for ONE NIGHT and just wanted to have fun with my family and friends at what I thought would have been a "WONDERFUL VENUE/HOTEL Experience".
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
eclairbakery2021 wrote a review 10 Sep
Los Osos, California1 contribution
I’ve loved and wanted to stay here for almost 20 years. I finally got my chance and was not disappointed. Outstanding pool, accommodations, and service. I stayed during the week so I’m assuming the courtyard can get noisy but my stay was great. The Tenderloin has gotten more “populated” since I lived there and although I’m comfortable walking around that neighborhood I wouldn’t assume tourists would be. However The Phoenix is pretty insulated from the outside world. Can’t wait to stay again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Orlando Lee, Guest Services / Front Office at Phoenix Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Eclair, You have no idea how much we appreciate your kind words. When awesome folks such as yourself take the time to understand the neighborhood AND our hotel. While we are located in the tenderloin we work pretty damn hard everyday to make sure once you walk into our gates you are safe, comfortable and ready for a awesome stay with us. We appreciate your acknowledgement and its folks like you that make it all worth it!! Sending you some love from all of us here!
Read more
klaird8 wrote a review 9 Sep
1 contribution
I lived in the TL years ago and thought things had gotten better - they've only gotten worse. The hotel is surrounded by foil from smoking heroin, junkies asleep on the ground, feces. On top of that, the hotel had booked a wedding for the night I was staying and didn't even inform me of the wedding until the day before my stay. As a result, I couldn't even enjoy my room due to the excessive noise, the bar, or the restaurant, which are honestly the only pluses to this hotel given the location. Awful stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Orlando Lee, Guest Services / Front Office at Phoenix Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
People who are familiar with the tenderloin neighborhood tend to understand the goings on around us, both good and bad. I do apologies for the wedding festivities during your stay and i hope you do find the right hotel to fit your needs. Thank you again,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$118 - US$345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
phoenix hotel, a joie de vivre hotel hotel san francisco, phoenix hotel san francisco, phoenix san francisco
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / Tenderloin / Theater District / Little Saigon / Van Ness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Phoenix Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Phoenix Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Asian Art Museum (0.4 km), San Francisco City Hall (0.4 km), and Civic Center (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Phoenix Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Phoenix Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Phoenix Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Phoenix Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brenda's French Soul Food, Tommy's Joynt, and Saigon Sandwich Shop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Phoenix Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Phoenix Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of San Francisco.
Are there any historical sites close to Phoenix Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (4.9 km), Golden Gate Bridge (6.7 km), and City Lights Booksellers (1.9 km).
Is Phoenix Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.