Hawaii Sheffield House

Hawaii Sheffield House

131 Kuulei Rd, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-2719
despite having kept the room cleaned, still roach infestations
Traveler (17)
despite having kept the room cleaned, still roach infestations
Room & Suite (22)
3/4 roaches killed-different angle (from third night) @ kitchen countertop
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#5 of 10 B&Bs in Kailua
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hawaii Sheffield House: in Kailua, Oahu, Honolulu. Walk to sandy Kailua Beach or Kailua Town. Off street parking, private entrance, private baths outdoor shower, complementary FIRST morning breakfast of pastry , juice, coffee, tea provided in your room. Two units: Garden Suite . With kitchenette and outdoor garden. And The Ginger Studio breakfast bar microwave, toaster and refrig. secret garden. Rented together sleeps 5 people. Queen beds with Hawaiian quilts. Free high speed WiFi. AC. Towels, paper towels and beach towels . Irons and hairdryers . Both units are non-smoking units. cable TV phone . Licensed by City and County of Honolulu and State of HI. Providing hospitality in Kailua for over 30 years.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Paid internet
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Quaint

Location

131 Kuulei Rd, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-2719
50Reviews10Q+A2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 31
  • 10
  • 5
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
carterbNewYork wrote a review Feb 2021
Atlanta, Georgia51 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The B&B has two units, and because I booked pretty close to the date of travel I had to move between the rooms, so experienced both. The studio is just a little bit smaller, but both have ample space, every ammenity you would need, the owners are great about stocking each unit with utensils etc. Both units also have a beautiful private outdoor area. The location is perfect, you're a very short walk down from one of the most beautiful beaches on the island, and you can also walk or take a short drive the other way into the center of Kailua for shops and restaurants. You're also a short drive into Honolulu, so you have to option to also go into the city for museums etc. This was during COVID, so the check in process etc was a little bit different than normal, social distancing and all, but the owners couldn't have been nicer and more welcoming
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hjacoby2424 wrote a review Aug 2022
Syracuse, New York13 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Ginger Suite for a few days while visiting Oahu. Staying here was dramatically nicer than if we had stayed in Honolulu. The local beach is a short drive or walk away and has everything a person could want. kailua is a great town. You don’t feel as if you are in a touristy place, rather you feel as if you are sharing the beaches and restaurants with the locals. Honolulu, with all its attractions is a beautiful 20 to 30 minute drive away. We never minded the drive at all, because of how scenic it was. The Ginger Suite is relatively small, but has its own lovely outdoor patio where we had breakfast every morning. The host could not have been more welcoming. Beach chairs, umbrellas, and boogie boards were all provided, as were beach towels. We would absolutely stay here again if we get the chance to return to Oahu.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BRENDA K wrote a review Nov 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The property is a 5 minute walk to the beach. The hosts provided delicious bread, lots of towels, comfortable beds, and excellent touring advice. Definitely would stay again!! (Actually stayed in October 2019)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Located about 20 minutes drive from airport. The town has really good restaurants and felt safe...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dalia Morrell wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Rachel and Paul were great host. The ginger suite was perfect. Loved the private suite and courtyard. Location was close to beautiful beach and good restaurants. Rachel assists us with ice. Mike and I really enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zeitungsfuzzi wrote a review Apr 2010
Muenster, Germany58 contributions101 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This review is about the Garden Suite at Sheffield House:
Have you ever been to Kailua beach? If so, you know why any apartment that's close by need not be 100 per cent perfect to still be worth staying there.
Taken by itself, Sheffield House is not a dream vacation spot. It's cons: It's dark. That's due to the lush, but small garden right outside. Also, in the Garden Suite, you almost have a front row seat to the main street leading down to the ocean. There are trucks driving by as early as 5 a.m. The garden also is home to a multitude of little critters. In five days we killed four cockroaches in the bedroom. But, come on: you're in the tropics! That's part of the deal.
Here are the pros: there's a good kitchen. Owners Rachel and Paul leave a lot of the stuff the previous guests bought in the closets. When we were there, there was enough stuff to last for two days without shopping. Also, there was a fresh sponge and dishwashing liquid. Linens and towels were clean. There was a basket with a minimum of breakfast items (Kailua has a no breakfast policy for accomodations). You can sit outside in the shade on some nice metal chairs. Rachel was really making an effort to accomodate our child (1 yr. old), too. There was a free baby crib and she got out some beach stuff for kids from her giant garage. The best thing about Sheffield House, though, is its proximity to the beach. It's about a five minute walk along main street and through a side street and you're right there on one of the world's most gorgeous beaches. We spent seven weeks on four Hawaiian island, and there was no beach that could match Kailua's beauty. Incredible sunrises, great white sand, and some small island offshore that make it an awesome scenery. To make it a special morning, drop by Kalapawai Market (take a right on Kalaheo road) for a coffee and some great sandwiches, walk to the beach and ... enjoy!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2010
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
iging64 wrote a review Apr 2010
Dortmund6 contributions34 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Well, first of all: Did I expect some "Aloha" feeling there ? Certainly not. Has the host (Rachel) been unfrindly? For sure not. But what I could expect is a warm welcome after a long trip (especially to my 8 year old daughter to give her a feeling of warm welcome, no koochy koo but a smile will do), some guidance to the house and more than 4 minutes about the where and how to go to, preferably when you are settled after the first beach walk or whatever.Though, after we had our 4minutes she has not be seen anymore unless we have asked or called house2house and when we got prompt and clear guidance. The location is nearly perfect (3 mins walking to one of the best beaches on Ohau) and close to the city of Kailua. Secondly, the traffic from the street is heavy for an easy sleeper as I am but has not been a problem for my daughter.
All in all it was OK, I believe other places are better to stay in Kailau. You will get B&B´s (as Sheffield house does not serve Breakfest and is not listed under B&B) for little more with a better "feeling"- like we had when we flew to Hilo and stayed in the Orchid tree B&B where we had the feeling to be more than a living ATM.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2010
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KuuleiRoad, Owner at Hawaii Sheffield House
Responded Sep 26, 2010
Sheffield House website covers transportation issues. I also give transportation advice when asked. Our check-in and check- out times are clearly stated on the website and in the correspondence, and are necessary to be able to clean and maintain the room. We can't provide a locked space for luggage when it is not yet cleaned. We do offer an out of sight place for luggage. As a courtesy to our guests we offer an early check in or check out for a rate of 50% of room rate. Usually, this means that the room is un-rentable for the day preceding checkin or after checkout
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ishael A wrote a review Apr 2014
New York City, New York1 contribution5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed here for 10 days and 9 nights for our honeymoon last month. It was my husband's first time and my second time in Oahu. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at the Sheffiled's b&b- we stayed in the garden suite and it basically had everything we needed. We stopped by Walgreens the night we got there to pick up some things, and then got back to our room, looked through the cabinets and realized we bought some things we didn't need to because they already had it set out for us. So check to see what they have first before buying anything.

Space- we found that the space was perfect for us. What you see in the pictures is what you get. The dining table was perfect for our take out dinners. The couch was perfect for lounging. Our favorites were the bed- perfect for my 6'4" husband and me to fit on. It was really comfortable too; and bathroom- the shower was huge! And has a sliding door that allowed for the breeze to flow through the room throughout the day.

Hosts- were very sweet, super friendly and accommodating, in no way intrusive at all, gave us complete privacy, but also were readily available when we needed anything. They gave great recommendations for local restaurants and places to see.

Location- as someone who has stayed in Honolulu and did all the touristy things and was constantly around tourists on my first visit to Oahu, staying in Kailua for my second trip was perfect, especially on my honeymoon. Kailua itself doesn't have as many tourists as other places and you get more of a local feel in this area. It's very relaxing area that offers a lot of things to do. We rented a car just to save time on getting around and we also wanted to do some things in other cities. If we only stayed in Kailua the whole time, we wouldn't have needed it as much. The Sheffield house is walking/biking distance to everything pretty much- grocery stores, restaurants, fast food, rental places, beaches, etc. If you're wanting to see other cities/areas, Kailua would be a good place to stay at because it's pretty equidistant to all the other major areas in Oahu. Also, the drive to these other areas offer spectacular views and lookouts.

Cleanliness- we found the place to be very clean when we arrived. Everything in the kitchen area was clean- fridge, counter, cooking utensils, etc. Bedroom and bathroom was super clean too. Throughout the week, we probably could've used a broom to sweep away the sand we brought in everyday. We didn't bother asking our hosts because it wasn't really a big deal for us, but I'm sure if asked, they would gladly provide one. All the towels, sheets, and blankets were clean, and in the middle of our stay, Paul gave us fresh new towels and replaced our sheets. Paul commented on a previous post that they have a contract with Terminex. We can verify this as they came and fumigated our room on one of the days we were there for their monthly cleaning. We saw a roach a couple days later and told Rachel and she had the Terminex guy come back and redo our room. We didn't have any problems after that.

Privacy- the hosts give you the privacy you need, but if you need them, they're always around to help. We did notice that sound carries between the two rooms which didn't really bother us, but may be an issue for others.

My favorite thing about this place was its proximity to the beach- literally 2 blocks away. Also the beach here wasn't crowded at all- anytime of the day, even on weekends. It was perfect. The sand was nice and clean- no seaweed, shells, pebbles, etc. in the water. The water was clear too- spotted some sea turtles while swimming. The area is a little windy but still great for swimming and body boarding. Beaches are my thing and I'm so happy we were in Kailua Beach for our honeymoon. We had the best time here. (The Sheffileds provide body boards, beach mats, and some other things that you can easily bring to the beach with you. So convenient!)

Overall, the Sheffield house is the perfect place to stay if you're looking to be away from all the touristy areas but still enjoy everything Hawaii has to offer. We would definitely recommend it to our friends, family, and anyone else looking for a vacation place in Oahu. And we hope to be back and stay here again some day soon.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
katrina e wrote a review Mar 2014
Gardena, California33 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
BOTTOM LINE IF YOU CHOOSE TO STAY HERE:
* IF YOU DON’T LIKE BIG CREEPY CRAWLY ROACHES DON’T STAY HERE.
* IF YOU DON’T WANT RUDE, CARELESS HOSTS IN THE EVENT YOU DO ENCOUNTER ROACHES (and you WILL!) WHILE STAYING HERE, DON’T STAY HERE.

BETTER YET… JUST DON’T STAY HERE. PERIOD.

This is speaking for BOTH ginger and garden suites!!! They both share common walls so it is HIGHLY LIKELY that if there are roaches in one suite, there will MOST DEFINITELY be roaches crawling over from one to the other as they share the same walls!!!

My boyfriend and I had booked the Ginger Suite for five days + six nights, from Monday, 03/17 to Saturday, 03/22. I had booked this in advance and was very excited for my trip out to Hawaii, as I have never been.

Definitely a first trip out to Hawaii to remember! Unfortunately not for the amazing beaches, the amazing food, nor even for the beautiful weather. It was for the lack of consideration, poor customer service, and lack of good judgment that now has forever tainted my image of bed & breakfasts’, as this was also my first time staying in one. Good job Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast, with double kudos especially to Paul for helping to facilitate and influence my changing opinion of this :)

I am DEATHLY afraid of roaches. If given the opportunity, I wouldn’t lay on a bed of roaches (especially the ones found at the Sheffield House) if offered $1 million dollars. Apparently on my first night of staying at the Sheffield House, my boyfriend killed a big roach without having told me (so as not to scare me) as he knew we still had a long stretch of five more nights to go. Second night of staying here, no roaches (that I saw). Third night, four roaches TOTAL that we had seen (please refer to my posted pictures).

Here’s what happened. So it’s about 10PM, boyfriend and I are laying in bed watching some TV, when I saw three BIG, UGLY roaches (one big one on the wall, and two big ones crawling on the floor). IMMEDIATELY I got out of bed, raced over to their house (posteriorly adjacent to my room), and confronted Paul about the roach issue. Paul in disbelief said, “How is that possible? We get the room fumigated once a month.” And in response, I said, “Even if you do, there are three big roaches that I see, and they are still there.” So he went over to my Ginger suite to try to reconcile the issue. He followed promptly with Raid in hand and visually inspected the place. He then said, “Welp, if they’re here, I don’t see any. They must’ve ran away.” He said that carelessly and with such disinterest evident that he just wanted to just return home and that him rattling random objects in the room to no avail resolved the issue. I responded with, “They’re just hiding. I’m deathly afraid of roaches!!! I didn’t know that you had roaches here. I can’t sleep well now tonight now knowing that there are big roaches in the room.” He offered to shake things up around the room, which he did so superficially. He swept one dead roach from behind the trash can and said that’s all the roaches he saw. (FYI, that roach was just there, my boyfriend and I had no knowledge of it). Before appearing as though he was going to retire back to his house, Paul in total disbelief as if I had said the most ludicrous statement, said “I find it very hard to believe that you said you saw roaches. How is that possible? We fumigate the place once a month.” Be that as it may as he says he does, which month he’s talking about beats me completely. Could’ve well been some month back in ’76, because fumigation or not, whatever way, shape, or form, they’re fumigating, has more than proven their efforts to be highly ineffective. Just that lack in believing that a customer that is paying good money to stay at their B & B, has nothing better to do with their time than to bother you at some odd hour in the night for roaches should be convincing enough. So when he said that statement, that just did it for me. I am trying to compile together an idea as to why he was behaving and speaking to my boyfriend and I so carelessly, suggestively, and condescendingly. I don’t know if it’s because he looked at us and he thought we were younger thus making it okay to speak to his paying customers that way? I have no idea…age, or ANYTHING, you should speak respectfully, courteously, and act like you give a damn to your paying customers as they are the ones bringing you business. So I told him that there were three roaches still running about in the room (could’ve well been more too!), and that I was just too scared to sleep in the Ginger Suite tonight because I couldn’t sleep there restfully and peacefully knowing they were still there. I asked him if I can have a discount on that night since I’d be sleeping in my car, and he was so quick to respond with an unyielding refusal saying, “No! I’m not giving you a discount.” He stood in the doorway in silence as I just sat there in disbelief pondering how he had single-handedly made my highly anticipated Hawaii trip take a turn for the worst. He said I’ll leave the raid here. And I told him to just close the door behind him and he left.

I apologize for sounding like a big baby, but I cried when Paul left the room because I was so upset that I paid $900 to stay here for six days. Rightfully, I am entitled to have someone give a damn and try to correct and make things right especially since I didn’t sign up to stay in room infested with roaches!!! Had I known there were roaches you bet your behind I wouldn’t have stayed there! Like any good business, when a restaurant messes up on your order, they won’t charge you for it; when a hotel is overbooked, they’ll give you a free upgrade or comp you a free night; when you complain about an employee at any establishment and speak to the manager to complain, they’ll offer you something to compensate for your bad experience. Paul was so insensitive to his paying customer and offered NO ALTERNATIVE in correcting this huge fault, and that I had this dilemma of where to try to sleep peacefully that night. I’m three months pregnant so should I chance staying in the small ginger suite with no air circulation and subject myself to the fumes of raid as they stay stagnant and overpowering if my boyfriend were to spray it to kill roaches? That night my boyfriend killed four BIG roaches that were ALL OVER the suite!!! Please refer to my pictures!!!

In the morning following that night, despite having three more days that were already paid for in advance, my boyfriend and I packed our bags ASAP and checked out first thing in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KuuleiRoad, Owner at Hawaii Sheffield House
Responded Mar 27, 2014
I, Paul, must reply to this review. Our guest came over earlier in the day and after paying her balance said that she would be leaving early due to a "family emergency" on the Mainland. In the evening , she came over very upset at having seen roaches. I came back with her and turned the place upside down, looking under, behind and inside every place that I could find the offending bugs but I did NOT find any. They may have been there, but I could NOT find them. I explained to her, and as our website states, we live in the tropics and bugs are a fact of life here. Bugs live in the environment and occasionally sneak in. We take this very seriously and we do all we can to keep the house bug free. We clean Very Thoroughly between guests. We have a contract with Terminex who comes and treats the place regularly. We pay for a contract which includes a clause that they come back and treat again ANYTIME we see bugs. If you wish to verify that we use their service please call them at (808) 486-2418 and verify service by our address 131 Kuulei Road, Kailua or phone number (808) 262-0721 . Our service technician is Troy. You may ask to speak to Troy regarding the chemicals that he uses and when this room the Ginger Studio was last treated. In the past, we used to encourage people who have a concern about bugs to NOT stay in a ground floor room in Hawaii, but to instead to stay above the 4th floor in a high-rise hotel. However, we have since heard of bugs on an upper level floor of a hotel. After inspecting every inch of the room and the bathroom and not finding ANY bugs, I left a can of Raid with her in case one came into view. I was very concerned and I did everything I knew to do. We are very sorry about her fear regarding roaches. Paul Sheffield
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
annewetherspoons wrote a review Nov 2009
London26 contributions31 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I'll start with the positives. Correspondence prior to booking was great, really friendly and efficient. Apartment is nice and well located, just 7 minutes walk to a thoroughly fantastic beach. Beautiful beach. Beach towels, boogie boards and grass mats were provided.

But, sadly the business has lost its soul. I imagine the ownere were once incredibly good at this business but in our three night stay we did not see them at all. We weren't expecting a welcome party but a quick two minute show around of the apartment might have been nice. We felt as though we were only there to line their pockets. In the kitchenette the coffee maker and toaster did not work - a little pointless having a kitchen. The information that they provided about the local area was out of date.

Such a shame as the place itself was nice. I just think these people need to show a little more gratitude and be more welcoming to their guests.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2009Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KuuleiRoad, Owner at Hawaii Sheffield House
Responded Sep 26, 2010
It sounds like the breaker flipped. Did you contact us or our house sitter about this electrical problem? If a problem occurs and we do not know about it, how can we help you? Given the time period on this comment, I should note that were traveling during this time dealing with my Father's health issues and subsequent funeral. The phone number to contact us is posted in the room and on the guest information sheet. We try to take our cues from each guest. We like to visit yet at the same time we do try to respect each guest's wish for privacy. My sincere apologies if you tried to contact us and we did not respond. Rachel Sheffield
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sunsandy1 wrote a review Feb 2019
Winnipeg, Canada20 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Ginger Studio at Sheffield House Bed and Breakfast for 6 nights. There were many pro's and a few con's/areas for improvement that have kept me from giving a higher rating. Overall I feel like we had a nice stay, but we wouldn't necessarily say "you should definitely stay there" to our friends.
Pro's:
- Location was great! We loved Kailua and the house is within walking distance to Kailua beach. It was also a great home base as we explored different parts of the island and never drove longer than one hour each way to get there.
- The bedding, towels, and bathroom were all very clean.
- There were sufficient towels, beach towels, toilet paper, paper towels, garbage bags.
- They provided full sized shampoo, conditioner and body wash, which I wasn't expecting.
- They include 2 beach chairs (although one is broken and doesn't recline) and boogie boards.
- Included parking was awesome, and we felt very safe leaving our vehicles in the parking area.
- Beautiful property with lots of greenery around.
- Friendly hosts who respected our privacy.
- Lots of snacks provided! They left a cinnamon bread, juice, granola bars, fruit, and these delicious biscotti cookies for us!
- Wifi worked great.

Cons:
- There were two doors that joined this unit to the main house and another rental property. You could hear the people in the adjoining spaces fairly clearly. Having said this we weren't in the room much and we didn't have any instances where the noise kept us from sleeping or anything. It was just noticeable that if you can hear them, they can hear you.
- The mattress cover on the bed didn't fit well and even when we tried to fix it, it was very loose and would ball the bed sheet up each night. It needs to be replaced.
- While the main area's seemed clean (see above) there were area's that could have been cleaner. This is for sure an oversight of the cleaning service the hosts are using, but things like the toaster oven, need to be cleaned. When I went to use it there was a thick layer of dust/grime on the outside of it, and I had to clean it inside and out before we tried to use it. There is quite a bit of shelving in the unit, and some had visible dust/dirt on them. The glass table for eating had been wiped, but it was visibly cloudy as if wiped with a dirty cloth, so I made sure to wipe it down myself before eating on it (and it wasn't clouded when I wiped it). Some of this seems minor, but it definitely added to the overall feeling of "is this place that clean?". We didn't have any issues with bugs, as we were very stringent on removing food garbage and sweeping the floor. I did see one critter run under the bathroom door on our last night, but again, we are in the tropics and even in the cold place I live, we get the odd bug in the house.
- My partner noticed that if he showered right after me, he would not have hot water. This could be because I take longer showers than I think I do but i generally think I am in there for 10 mins max. Anyways, it was something that was noticed.

So overall we were comfortable and certainly enjoyed our stay, there are just a few areas where improvement could be made for this to be rated as "excellent"
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BRENDA K wrote a tip Nov 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Located about 20 minutes drive from airport. The town has really good restaurants and felt safe walking around the town."
Read full review
Lauren H wrote a tip Jul 2018
57 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Garden Suite could sleep two in bed, one in "window seat" area and one or two in the front room couch/day bed."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kailua area.
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuKailua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HAWAII SHEFFIELD HOUSE - B&B Reviews (Kailua) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hawaii Sheffield House
Which popular attractions are close to Hawaii Sheffield House?
Nearby attractions include Manoa Chocolate Hawaii (0.6 km), Kailua Farmers Market (0.8 km), and Kalama Beach Park (0.8 km).
Which room amenities are available at Hawaii Sheffield House?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Hawaii Sheffield House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hawaii Sheffield House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Over Easy, Le Crepe Cafe Kailua, and Moke's Bread and Breakfast.
Are there any historical sites close to Hawaii Sheffield House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ulupo Heiau State Monument (2.2 km).