We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2780 Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1971
23 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!15% off room rate
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$450
Hotels.com$450
Travelocity$450
FindHotel$450
travelup.com$498
ZenHotels.com$585
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4875)
360
Panoramas (68)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 14/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows
Updated 14/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#16 of 34 hotels in Lahaina
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice

Set amidst 27 acres of tropical gardens, fronting the best and most exclusive stretch of Kaanapali Beach, the Royal Lahaina Resort is a truly unique Hawaiian Resort. The resort’s natural beauty, traditional Hawaiian ambiance, and dedication to five-star service offers guests a timeless and subtle elegance providing for the ultimate in relaxation and tranquility. The resort’s original garden and oceanfront cottage accommodations evoke a quaint beachside experience reminiscent of Hawaii’s Plantation Era; while the 12-story Lahaina Kai Tower features luxurious island-inspired guestrooms and suites celebrating the artistry, environment and culture of Hawaii.

The resort features a restaurant and lounge, two oceanfront swimming pools, a beach activities center, fitness room, massage services, is adjacent to the two championship Kaanapali Golf Courses, and has been named among the top 100 tennis destinations in the world, with an 11-court Tennis Ranch.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino
Hotel links
Special Price:15% off room rate
5907Reviews268Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,596
  • 2,023
  • 684
  • 338
  • 267
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
amywiles13 wrote a review 1 Oct
1 contribution
We came here for our honeymoon and opted to pay more for our stay hoping for a luxury experience for our once in a lifetime trip. We booked the deluxe garden bungalow, but it was anything but deluxe. A few minutes after arrival, we found a cockroach crawling across the floor. Thankfully we called and they were able to get us to a room in the tower that did have a nice view. They worked with us on that, however the new room had an odd smell of urine near the fridge and sink area, and you could tell the room hadn't been deep cleaned in awhile. We also went to the Luau while we were here and it was the worst food we had on our entire trip. The pool is very nice, and staff was nice, but no one even offered to go above and beyond on our honeymoon. We are so disappointed that we paid as much as we did and this was our experience. We would have been better off spending 10% of the cost and staying anywhere else. The beach is beautiful, so location is all this place has going for it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Lahaina Resort Hinck, General Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows
Responded yesterday
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We sincerely appreciate the feedback about the resort and will speak to our departments about your comments about your stay. Mahalo!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
randz808 wrote a review Jan 2022
Honolulu, Hawaii4 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This was my very first time staying at the Royal Lahaina Resort on Maui and by far the most memorable vacation that I will never forget! I was immediately welcomed when I arrived in their beautiful lobby by their friendly staff who made me feel at home. The resort is just steps away from the beach where you can watch humpback whales and go for a swim. The resort offers activities the traditional Hiu Wai which is a Hawaiian Cleansing Ceremony at sunrise. This is a must-do! My room was very clean and the balcony views of the ocean were breathtaking. The thing that I most appreciated about this resort was that it made us feel like family! Every employee on property greeted us with a smile and warm hello or farewell. I highly recommend this amazing property. Will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows
Responded 10 Jan 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback! We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made you feel at home! We want every guest to have an amazing stay and are so happy that you loved our service. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
E5optajd wrote a review Sep 2022
9 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Was Leary about staying after reading some reviews, however our stay was excellent. We stayed in tower which was central to all on the property. Restaurant was great...although food and drinks a bit pricey. ......but it is Hawaii. Concierge was excellent. Set up road to Hana; kayaking; snorkeling and we rented car to drive to top of volcano. Clean, great service, 2 pools and easy access to beach. Paradise!! Bartenders, wait staff and employees all friendly and helpful. Recommend to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows
Responded 5 days ago
Mahalo! We appreciate your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mooretravler wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions4 helpful votes
This hotel was very good for beach front and the price. Georgie was amazing and fixed our room reservations to get us in the correct room! This is not a luxury resort, keep that in mind with the price point, if that is what you are looking for then you need to look elsewhere and pay the more expensive rates. If you want beach front with clean sheets, ac and lanai and not expecting and luxurious hotel then this fits the bill. I have nothing bad to say about my experience. Yes, as noted in other reviews.. there are “ants” this is just something common on the island nothing against the hotel itself. Would definitely book here again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows
Responded 5 days ago
Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We will be reviewing you concerns so we can give our guests the best service, we hope that you had a beautiful time and will keep us in mind on your next trip.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly M wrote a review Sep 2022
Oregon, Ohio36 contributions9 helpful votes
We loved this resort!! Great feeling the minute we pulled up. It even smelled fabulous and inviting. We loved that there was Bar,. Restaurant, Coffee and Ice cream shop right there. What a great place. I only have 2 things that I thought could be better. The pool was very disappointing when the resort was so fabulous to have such a boring, blah, small pool. I don't like where it is right by the romantic night dining area , but I feel something can be done to make it more fabulous. Especially the car valet/bellmen we're amazing personalities!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Lahaina Resort Hinck, General Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review from your past stay. We appreciate it so much and share this with our Food and Beverage and Valet/Bell team. Hope to see you again soon, thanks for the feedback. A hui ho!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
templerrobinson wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Why stay here when you can stay at the Westin? This resort has no standards ! Garden room was disgusting. I complained about insects in two separate rooms as they were both covered in ants. They told me i booked an “unrenovated “ garden room (which i have no record of) . The issue was not that it wasn’t renovated. The cottage was literally disgusting. Covered in dust and everything was broken . There were literally bugs everywhere, bugs I’d never seen ! Omg ! When i tried to explain my issue to the front desk, they stated that it was the room i booked since i booked a room that was not renovated. Unrenovated me unclean or covered in insects apparently. Finally they moved us to a room that was a bit better (less things broken) but still covered in ants we had to call twice to get the ants sprayed . I wouldn’t wish this place on my worst enemy. I only stayed here for a wedding anyways . Compared to the other resorts, this place doesn’t have as many amenities. Our total for two nights was over $700 and it was a literal dump.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Lahaina Resort Hinck, General Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your past stay with us. I appreciate it very much and will have our team look at that specific room.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kaity T wrote a review Sep 2022
San Francisco, California9 contributions
We’ve been to Maui several times together and this was the best place we’ve stayed! We booked through a Costco package and had an Ocean View room (which was amazing but was on the side of the building so if you want a room at the front you need to select ocean front). The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, including front desk, housekeeping, the ice cream/coffee shop, the poolside towel/rental spot and especially at the restaurant/bar! We love swimming and the resort has two pools right off the ocean and the resort is right on a nice sandy beach where you can swim in the ocean, so you can go back and forth from pool to ocean. We also rented snorkel gear one day and paddleboards another. The restaurant and beach bar are also poolside with an ocean view and have fun tropical cocktails, good food, and a live singer/guitar player in the evening. There is also a beach walk that takes you to whalers village in about 20mins to shop and eat. Would highly recommend staying at the Royal Lahaina in Maui!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Lahaina Resort Hinck, General Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows
Responded 1 week ago
Happy Anniversary - we are so happy that you enjoyed your time here at the Royal Lahaina Resort. Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience. Mahalo and let us know when you want to come back!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
szwick2758 wrote a review Sep 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina1 contribution
Love this place! Rooms are nice and very clean. Restaurant was great. Pools are convenient and the beach is a short walk. And the view is absolutely fabulous! Sunsets are beautiful here! We will stay here again for sure!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Lahaina Resort Hinck, General Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha and thank you for the awesome review - appreciate it. We hope to see you soon!! A hui ho!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Discover01303838403 wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
We checked in on a Monday afternoon and checked out 8 days later. The island was fairly booked or we would have left for a different hotel. Air conditioner broken when we arrived for 2 days. No umbrellas for the pool area. Food was sub par. Toilet broken and took two tries to have maintenance fix. Staff was obviously overworked. Polite and tired. The Luau was on every night until 9:00pm. Impossible to leave sliding door open to outside until Luau was over each night. Parking was a nightmare once the Luau crowd arrived every single night. Last few nights someone close by kept smoking on the balcony and we had to close the slider. Location is amazing. Management seems to be pretty cheap. Probably should bulldoze outdated facility and start from scratch.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are so very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and to read about the issues with your air conditioner and plumbing. We would have been happy to address your concerns and move your room had we known that you were unhappy. Smoking is strictly prohibited in the rooms and off the balconies as well. We would have been happy to issue a warning to your neighbors had we informed us about this. Our resort is committed to providing our guests with a relaxing visit and so should you return, please contact us in advance and we will ensure a wonderful experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Excursion44070559075 wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions
Beautiful hotel, wonderful and helpful staff. The restaurant and coffee shop were great, lots of choice. Plenty of amenities, pools games, pool bar and beautiful beach. Highly recommend hotel perfect for our special occasion, sadly our stay was way too short
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Lahaina Resort Hinck, General Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha and thank you for sending your survey. We truly appreciate it very much and glad you enjoyed your time here at the Royal Lahaina Resort. See you again soon.!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$434 - US$628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal lahaina hotel lahaina, royal lahaina resort maui, royal lahaina maui, royal hotel lahaina, royal lahaina hotel maui
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiLahaina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
494
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows?
Nearby attractions include Maui Escape Rooms (1.2 km), Ka'anapali Beach (0.8 km), and Kahekili Beach Park (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hula Grill Kaanapali, Castaway Cafe, and Pailolo Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Filipino.