We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
551 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9046
Hotel direct offer!Earn Double Points On All Stays
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
travelup.com
Algotels
Orbitz.com
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (171)
Room & Suite (78)
Dining (5)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Kihei
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Our beachfront hotel offers the perfect location for your dream Maui vacation, destination wedding, or honeymoon. We are near the Piilani Highway 31, and our family-friendly hotel is just fifteen minutes away from the Kahului Airport (OGG.) Our ideal address is nestled along the southwest shore of Maui. The pristine sands of the five-mile beach of Mai Poina ‘Oe la’u are just outside your door. Our hotel is a leisurely stroll from Kalepolepo and Waipuilani Beaches. Our central location keeps guests near other popular areas of the island like Wailea and Makena, as well as Lahaina and Hana, making us an ideal choice for your exotic getaway. Guests of the Kohea Kai Maui experience the best that Maui has to offer
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Vending machine
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Canoeing offsite
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn Double Points On All Stays
203Reviews16Q+A33Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 129
  • 38
  • 21
  • 2
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Amy H wrote a review Dec 2022
Langley City, Canada2 contributions
Excellent Location, Friendly Staff, Very Clean. Stayed for 2 night, room was small but had everything we needed . Nice little table and chairs outside, pool was very cold but refreshing, as well, beach is directly across the street. Rooftop patio is a little tricky to find but worth the adventurer. Not a modern luxury 5 star but still worthy of 5 stars. ⭐️
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Look for rooftop patio , it is marked on the map and worth a peek.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 21 Dec 2022
Thank you so very much for your awesome review! It means a lot for my staff and myself to hear about the enjoyable stays because this reason gives us all the motivation to continue doing what we love doing and that is serving our guests here at Kohea Kai. Thank you again and we hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Take care and stay safe. Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jack H wrote a review Mar 2022
Roanoke, Virginia8 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
The resort is a gem with a friendly staff. During our stay, Carol, Tevita, and Luseane were very courteous and helpful. For example, they gave us pointers on major sites to see in Maui. They provided us ample, quality snacks in the lobby. It's a relaxing resort with a nice hot tub and small pool. Our room was nice and clean. Thank you for a superb stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 28 Mar 2022
Thank you so very much for your awesome review and high scoring! We really appreciate your time and feed back. It is always a great feeling to read reviews acknowledging the hard work that my staff and myself put into this hotel. Thank you very much for your stay and on behalf of Tevita, Carol and the rest of the Kohea Kai Ohana we appreciate your stay and hope that you stay with us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lee Fam wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed for one night on December 14, 2022. It is a smaller and older property, but I found it to be very clean. I was upgraded from a standard room to a Junior Suite Room 323. I think that my room had been renovated. There was a small kitchenette area with a microwave, mini refrigerator, and coffee maker. The room was bigger than I expected. The king bed was a bit too soft for my liking but there was a assortment of pillows to choose from. There was a desk and 2 chairs. The ceiling fan and air conditioner worked really well. The lanai had a table and 2 chairs. There was peekaboo view of the ocean. The shower was large. It took a few minutes for the hot water to get hot but not a big deal. The toilet seat kept shifting. The pool is small, but the beach/ocean is literally across the road. There are chairs, beach umbrellas, and coolers to borrow which is a huge plus. I saw that there were 2 bikes and helmets that you can also borrow, after signing the waiver. There is also a lovely garden area in the back. A BBQ and hot tube are available to use, but you need to reserve these. There are complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks available. I think that there are only 2 restaurants within walking distance, but you are walking literally on the side of the road alternating with sidewalk. One must be careful as the road is very busy. I had the pleasure of meeting Carol and Lucy who were at the Front Desk. Two amazing human beings. Carol offered me some of her personal food after I told her that I was so hungry and disappointed that there were not more food options/restaurants within close walking distance. When I was speaking to her the next day, she said I should have taken her car. What? This woman doesn't even know me. Lucy was so kind in answering my numerous questions and requests. She was so patient with me, and allowed me a little extra check out time after I told her that I rode the bike to so many places and was in desperate need of a shower before checking out. Thank you Carol and Lucy for being so kind, gracious, and helpful to me.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 19 Dec 2022
Thank you so very much for your kind and awesome review! It really means a lot to see that the hard work my staff puts in to make our guests experience very memorable. We appreciate your stay as well as your time to share with us your review and we hope that you will visit us again. Take care and stay safe.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
7377ml wrote a review Nov 2022
Helena15 contributions44 helpful votes
Nice beach, just across the road. Clean room and friendly staff. If your staying a long time not much room to unpack you clothes, bed would recommend was real comfortable. Enjoyed our stay. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 19 Dec 2022
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and for your 5 star review. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your one night with us. We hope that you will visit us again. Take care and stay safe.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason G wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
Right across the street from the beach. Rooms recently and beautifully remodeled. Upon arrival met a bunch of staff who were extremely nice and helpful. Devita the maintenance man was very nice and provided me all sorts of history regarding Hawaii. We definitely recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 11 Nov 2022
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We really appreciate your stay as well as for your 5 start review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and Tevita showed Aloha. We hope that you will visit us again real soon. Take care and stay safe. Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
On the road again wrote a review Oct 2022
New Smyrna Beach, Florida242 contributions39 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here one night in between our other planned lodging. It was adequate for one night. Clean room. Soft sheets. Comfortable bed. One of the nicest views in the complex. Not a place I’d seek next time. Looks like they are investing in the property which is a really good thing. Maybe try and get a better room than we had?
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid room 321 as it’s not upgraded
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 24 Oct 2022
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We really appreciate your feedback as well as your stay with us. Thank you and we hope that you will visit us again, give us a chance to show you great service. Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brendan N wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
I was supposed to stay at Kohea Kai Maui for my honeymoon, but unfortunately had to cancel my entire honeymoon trip to HI due to testing positive for Covid a few days prior to leaving. I called this hotel to cancel (2 days before reservation date) and was assured I would be approved for a refund. I was then asked via email to provide proof of my Covid positive test and proof of my honeymoon flight cancelations, which I provided. It has been over a month since that email I have received no response from Kohea Kai Maui. I have sent over 4+ polite follow-up emails and 4+ voicemails to the GM (Luseane Moa) and have received no reply. This is a shady and unprofessional action by this hotel. They assured me on the phone I would get a refund and I even provided the proof they requested, and their course of action was to completely ignore me. No explanation, no compromise, nothing. Do not stay at this hotel if you want to avoid issues with the unresponsive, lying, and unprofessional management.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Service
Room Tip: Do not use this hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Danielle P wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Highly recommended. Staff was great, Recommended shopping locations and activities Accommodations were wonderful. My husband and I spent a week there but we will be back every year to spend 2 to 3 weeks. Very conveniently located. We give them five stars.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 7 Sep 2022
Thank you so very much for your kind review. We really appreciate your stay with us as well as your time to share your review. We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again real soon. Please take care and stay safe. Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luis A wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
This is a genuine place. Great room terrific area across the street. Real people genuine people who get to know their guest and make suggestions to do local things no tourist things. This will forever by my place I will never forget the handshake 🤪
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much) for such an awesome review! It is these type of positive reviews that makes our job well worth it! We really appreciate your kind words, I will be sure to share this with Tevita and we hope that you will visit us again soon. Take care and stay safe! Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amin G wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
This is terrible and messy hotel there is no housekeeping there is no phone in the room , Now that I'm back, I have itchy areas on my body ,I paid $1350 for 3 nights now I’m really sad and mad , they have sign for sanitizer room but they are super lier . Please be careful and hotels is better than this one , they are super busy all the time and they don’t care about any issues and rooms .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 9 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We greatly apologize for failing to meet your expectations and for the experience you had. We have not had issues with our rooms, our beds no complaints of skin irritability. As posted on our Front Desk for guests to read upon arrival and also go over with our guests at check in, we inform that due to labor shortage we service upon request and must be notified the day prior so that we can properly make sure that we have the help and staff we need to service our guests. But if nothing is scheduled, no housekeeping will just enter your room especially with covid still lurking around. So we apologize if you did not understand this at the time of check in, but it was indicated in your reservation that these information was given. Yes we have been busy, but never too busy to assist our guests. So we are sorry for any miscommunication and we hope that in the future you will allow us to show you excellent service. Take care and stay safe Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$387 - US$464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiKihei
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KOHEA KAI MAUI - UPDATED 2022 Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Kihei, HI) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kohea Kai Maui
Which popular attractions are close to Kohea Kai Maui?
Nearby attractions include Island Art Party (2.3 km), Maui Professional Photography (6.1 km), and Saint Theresa Roman Catholic Church (2.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kohea Kai Maui?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Kohea Kai Maui?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kohea Kai Maui?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Kohea Kai Maui?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kohea Kai Maui?
Conveniently located restaurants include South Maui Fish Company, Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice, and Kinaole Grill Food Truck.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kohea Kai Maui?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kohea Kai Maui?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Kohea Kai Maui?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ka'ahumanu Congregational Church (13.8 km), Haleki‘i-Pihana State Monument (15.9 km), and Chee Kung Tong Society Building (14.0 km).
Does Kohea Kai Maui have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Kohea Kai Maui accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.