We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
25 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Sunshine on Sale - Breakfast for 2 + 5th Night Free!
Expedia.com
$701
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/22
Hotels.com
$701
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/22
Vio.com
$670
View deal
Booking.com$701
Hyatt.com$701
Lol.travel$919
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (5503)
360
Panoramas (12)
Videos (6)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 7 hotels in Poipu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Find your own paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Diving
Golf course
Tennis court
Aerobics
Evening entertainment
Waterslide
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Safe
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Sunshine on Sale - Breakfast for 2 + 5th Night Free!
9538Reviews256Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 7,131
  • 1,549
  • 535
  • 198
  • 126
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LPB627 wrote a review Today
Gilbert, Arizona136 contributions61 helpful votes
When traveling to Kauai we always make time to stay at the Grand Hyatt. The property is stunning and the facilities offer much to do. There are several pools, hot tubs, and a lazy river. The hotel sits next to the beach which is easily accessible from the hotel. The water tends to be rough there so it it is not an ideal swimming beach but is calmer at certain times of the year. The food service is excellent. We tried several of the dining options and each one was better than expected. Would highly recommend this as a place to stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
David Y wrote a review Aug 2022
Fremont, California65 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We recently stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 6 days and 5 nights on our trip to Kauai and it was one of the nicer experiences we had ever had at a hotel. First off, we typically only use the hotel during our vacation as a place to rest but this was truly a resort in which I felt we should have stayed on the property more and simply relaxed. First, a quick summary of the property: It is HUGE. We had access to the Grand Club, which we used frequently but our room was on the other side of the resort. I feel we got our 10k steps in just by going to the club a couple times a day! Valet was speedy and efficient. Check in was very pleasant and we actually arrived earlier than standard check in (4PM). We asked for both an upgrade and/or early check in. Unfortunately the hotel was booked so no upgrade and our room wasn't quite ready but they gave us a key to access the Grand Club as well as four drink vouchers to use around the pool.. Of course, we had 2 boys, so the wife and I took their drink tickets and then bought their drinks in cash separately! Once we got to our room, even though it was a standard room, it actually was quite spacious with a large bathroom and a balcony. In addition, once nice tough that I don't see often enough, especially with hotels with a nice pool or beach access - a clothes line that spanned the space above the tub so we could hang out suits to dry. Pool/beach wise, there are so many pools and access to the beach that I never felt it was too crowded. The main pool areas would be the saltwater lagoon, which is pretty large and where our boys spend the majority of there time. There's a main pool with 2 jacuzzis easily accessible. There is a lazy river, which was VERY lazy in the sense that I felt like it barely moved. A water slide, where people of all ages enjoyed it immensely. Protip - it closes at 6PM but basically between 5-6pm there is no wait. And also access to Shipwreck Beach which has a pretty strong rip tide so I would say you should be careful but it was fun for the boys to play on the beach and have the waves splash them. All the pools were also services by an excellent wait staff for both food and drinks. There are a few options to eat and drink on property and initially I didn't think we took advantage but in writing out trip review, it turns out that we pretty much tried everywhere once. At Stevenson's we were told there were known for their Martini's so the wife ordered one. I opted for a flight of whiskey. She thought the martini was decent but not spectacular. For my flight, they were out of one of the three so they gave me extra of the other two. The vibe itself was great, not too loud, and if you were fortunate, I felt like a seat on the outdoor balcony/patio would have been great. We didn't order any food but the menu certainly looked appetizing. For Tidepool, we ended up heading over and planned to order drinks at the bar and grab an open seat if one became available. It wasn't packed but there weren't any seats initially but after getting our drinks, a couple seats at the bar opened up. We then ordered another round plus a scallop appetizer, which was very tasty. I would like to add that several folks we had talked to mentioned Tidepool to eat at (both from the helicopter tour and tubing) even though they didn't know where we are staying. As mentioned, we also ate at Seaview Terrace for dinner as a family one night and to be honest, for a fancy hotel, the food was surprisingly reasonably priced and very tasty (this is part of my comment about I thought the food was comparable to Beach House but maybe a third of the cost? Granted, you don't get the selection of fresh fish but I'm talking just about how we enjoyed our food). My wife ordered the lobster roll and she really enjoyed it. And this in addition to live music, which I believe is every evening. A very nice and relaxing way to wind the day down. We did order food when we were at the pool and in addition to the standard pool type food (chicken tenders, hot dogs, etc), they also had a few choices that had the hawaiian flair. We tried both a poke bowl and the kalua nachos and both were very good. Note that we ordered food through one of the waitstaff as we reserved a bungalow for the day we spent at the pool and the service was great. I would like to mention that when we were at the pool and not at the bungalow, we received equally great service for the team in taking our orders. The day we left, because it was a noon flight and 5 hours, I was afraid the boys would get hungry so I did take them to the breakfast buffet at Ilima Terrace. I found the pricing to be very interesting as it was $41 for adults but the cost for the kids was $1/per year which meant $8 and $10 for us. I found that was incredibly flexible because buffets are typically wasted on kids. There was a huge omelet station which I found interesting as typically at buffets, there's always a huge line but when we went, I was always the first or second one in line. The buffet had a decent variety and also some interesting fresh juice combinations. There is also a Luau on site which we did not partake in that occurs I believe on Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday. Pro-tip, it seems you can basically watch the show for free from the edge of the grass. I don't think most people would stay for the whole thing but I saw plenty of families watch for 5 or so minutes and move on. Great way to advertise! I mentioned the Grand Club and it was a very solid option, particularly for families in which the breakfast was more than acceptable and a great way to start off the day. They had afternoon snack, then a light dinner as well, followed by a dessert hour. The menu has one main item that changes daily so it does mix it up a bit. The staff was very friendly and must have consistently worked there because I saw a few times where they greeted guests from previous visits. Also, the a/c was on and a great place to cool down, although in the morning/evening, the outdoor seating was quite pleasant. All in all, would we go back? I feel like it is best summarized by the discussion my wife and I had about Kauai in general. Did we have a good time and would we go back to Kauai? And the answer is yes, it was fun and yes we would go back. However, it wasn't so exciting that we wouldn't mind visiting other places before making our way back. And the fact that we were at a VERY nice hotel had a big impact and would be a factor on if we came back or not. For an overall summary of our trip, you can see our trip report at: https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g29218-i304-k14084543-Trip_Report_8_10_8_15_Grand_Hyatt-Kauai_Hawaii.html
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Hyatt Kauai, Marketing at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for your very thorough review! So happy you enjoyed Kauai and your stay with us. We'll be here to welcome you back when you return to Kauai. Aloha.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ajleisure wrote a review Nov 2022
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
This place is huge and gorgeous. In our 5-days there, I didn't even see the whole place. Even spending a whole day at the pool, I didn't see the whole pool because its so expansive. The grounds are immaculate and have lots of little surprises here and there like Koi ponds, musicians, tropical birds on display. It is very impressive. It is also very expensive (possibly the most expensive on the island). Food choices are pricey but there are a lot of local places not too far away as an option. I was at the resort to attend a wedding and the staff did a terrific job providing a great venue and service for the wedding festivities.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chad wrote a review Nov 2022
10 contributions
+1
Hyatt refers to this hotel as a "luxury" resort. Our stay was anything but luxurious. We had been in Hawaii for two weeks and decided to stay one extra night. Our resort was booked so we booked a room at the Grand Hyatt for one night. They honored our request for an early check-in and our room was "ready" at 11am. However, the room was in very poor condition. The furniture was old, scratched, and damaged. The top of one night stand was peeling away, causing me to cut my hand in the middle of the night. The "ChargePort" on the night stand was absolutely filthy and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a long time. The door hardware is old and the door itself shows significant wear. There were dried drips of paint on the bathroom door. The light switch in the bathroom was cracked in half. The bathtub had what appeared to be blue marker on it. The tub itself was yellow from age. The caulking around the edge of the tub was falling off. The railing on the lanai was nothing but rust and cracked paint. The paint on the patio door was also falling off. Other than the lobby (which is stunning), the hotel appears to be very old and in desperate need of updates...or at least a good cleaning. The carpet in the hallway was stained, dirty, and musty. The hallways were dimly lit and depressing. The giant pool, which is impressive with waterfalls, a lazy river, and a lagoon, has only three hot tubs. One of the hot tubs was out of service. The other two hot tubs were small and were constantly so overcrowded that we couldn't even get in them. We ate one meal at the Seaview Terrace. I was told by the hostess that the restaurant did not take reservations and was "first come, first serve." When we asked to sit outside at an empty table, we were told it was reserved even though we had just been told they didn't take reservations. The table even had a "Reserved" sign on it. The entertainment during our meal was fun, and we enjoyed watching kids learn to hula. We had eaten tons of amazing seafood over our two weeks in Hawaii but the fish at the Seaview Terrace was the absolute worst. It was so inedible, neither myself or my wife could eat it. We sent it back and got a hamburger. The next morning, we went to Dondero's for a "grab-and-go" breakfast. We tried to order muffins, a staple of hotel breakfast, but they had none and hadn't had any all morning. When we checked out and shared all of this information and these pictures with hotel staff, we were offered an apology and nothing else. Our room was over $1,000 per night but I've had better experiences at a $150 per night hotel. After having spent a week a mile away in a suite at the truly luxurious Koloa Landing Resort (for way less than we paid at the Grand Hyatt), we understood why Koloa Landing Resort was sold out and the Grand Hyatt still had rooms available. If you're in Kauai, pass on the Grand Hyatt.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
brianyuen wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Amazing, helpful and friendly staff from front desk to poolside. A wonderful family trip. Loved the pools and the beautiful grounds. Highly recommend! Excellent service which exceeded our expectations and delicious meals at the restaurants.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Broitman wrote a review Nov 2022
San Francisco, California4 contributions
We have been guests of the Hyatt 4 times over the last 2.5 years. Its a wonderful hotel in general with well maintained and comfortable rooms, kid friendly, beautifully located by the Shipwrecks beach and great food options. The big downside, the pool is cold. Now you may ask, if the pool is cold, why have you kept going? Well.. all the previous times we went were in summer, where while it's cold, it's hot enough outside to make it tolerable. But honestly, it's not great but otherwise the hotel has a lot of great stuff going for it like the breakfast, comfortable rooms and location by the beautiful Shipwrecks beach. This time we came on a colder weekend, and naively we just assumed and expected a hotel as expensive as the Hyatt will have a heating system for such days. We were wrong... The pool was very cold, over the long weekend we barely saw anyone going inside and the hot tubs were packed with people as the only places you can escape to. We came with the kids with the intention of spending most of our time in the facility swimming and playing in the water and couldn't do any of that. We did some research about the pool heating and were even more disappointed to learn why the pool is cold. Its not that there is no heating, its that the heating system is "green" by using the AC system bi-product heat to heat the pool. Do you know what doesn't happen on a cold day when its most important to heat the pool? Nobody is using their AC... I'm all for green! but have a backup... Hotels like the Marriot, Koloa Landing and Westin all have better heated pools. Unfortunately this is probably the last time we will be staying at the Hyatt, for the price, its just not worth risking a cold day where our family likes to spend most of our time in the pool
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Come in summer or if you're not planning on using the pools much.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Hyatt Kauai, Marketing at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for visiting us again and your feedback. It is ironic that the pool heating occurs less in winter/cold days than warm due to the reuse of heat produced by the A/C system. It is a system that has been in place since we opened but sorry to hear that on your most recent stay it was cooler than expected. We do appreciate your feedback. Aloha.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tyler S wrote a review Nov 2022
Denver, Colorado30 contributions4 helpful votes
This is the third time we've stayed at the Grand Hyatt Kauai and there is a reason we keep coming back: the property is magnificent, the staff warm and helpful, and the location unbeatable. From the on-site restaurants, to the multiple pools and hot tubs, to the beach - there is something for everyone and we absolutely love staying here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Hyatt Kauai, Marketing at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Mahalo for returning again and again! It's great to hear that you made such great memories and keep returning to make more. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Aloha.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike V wrote a review Nov 2022
13 contributions4 helpful votes
This incredible, iconic resort on the South Shore of Kauai will satisfy all your Hawaiian dreams. Located adjacent to the famous Shipwreck Beach, which is an amazing stretch beach for weddings or celebratory occasions. Our accommodations were made extra special by Rita and Albette (Sales Team). Steph (World of Hyatt Receptionist) greeted us with the warmth of ALOHA! Our Grand Club Ohana (Samantha, Ana, Monica, Justin & Laura) who always make our stays here at this beautiful and majestic resort more memorable and special than the last. We so appreciate how Tessie (Hale Nalu cashier/server) takes personal care of our pool side service too! Please do yourself a favor & plan this resort with your Travel Professional for an extra special experience!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Highly recommend upgrading to Hyatt Grand Club in the Poipu wing of this resort.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Hyatt Kauai, Marketing at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your review and shout-outs to our exceptional staff! So glad you enjoyed your time with us. Aloha.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Experience685723 wrote a review Nov 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
The property has an amazing pool complex. My kids were pretty impressed and had a lot of fun at the pool. The free guest laundry was really helpful, as my family accumulated a lot of laundry. The complex is quite large so there was a lot of walking, but it is a stunning property and we definitely plan to return.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Hyatt Kauai, Marketing at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
We look forward to your return! Great to hear the kids enjoyed as much as the parents. Aloha.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthew S wrote a review Nov 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Grand Hyatt Kauai for our honeymoon and while the island was beautiful, the hotel itself left much to be desired. First, it’s far too expensive for what you get. This hotel is quite dated and all of the amenities are closer to a 3 or 4 star resort than what you’d expect given the price point. Second, this place is HUGE. Do not expect to just roll out of your room and be on the beach. We clocked our walk at 6 minutes each way. Finally, this hotel is very much geared toward families and children. The adult pool is tucked away and often has children around it / nearby. Overall, we loved Kauai and would return but would seek out something a little more luxurious for our next stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Hyatt Kauai, Marketing at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your feedback, sorry to hear that the resort did not exceed your expectations. Aloha.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$936 - US$1,235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hyatt kauai hotel poipu, hyatt poipu, poipu hyatt, grand hyatt poipu, grand hyatt kauai resort spa
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiKauaiKoloaPoipuKoloa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
605
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRAND HYATT KAUAI RESORT & SPA - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Poipu, HI) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Makawehi Lithified Cliffs (3.7 km), Maha'ulepu Heritage Trail (0.3 km), and Poipu Beach Park (3.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Anake's Juice Bar, Kauai Juice Co, and Waikomo Shave Ice.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ke Kahua O Kāneiolouma (1.5 km), Prince Kuhio Park (3.6 km), and Old Kaloa Sugar Mill (4.7 km).
Does Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.