We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Save
Share
93 Banyan Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4632
4 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Expedia.com
$235
View deal
DoubleTree
$243
View deal
Traveluro
$214
View deal
Travelocity$235
Hotels.com$235
travelup.com$264
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (890)
Room & Suite (374)
Pool & Beach (99)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 05/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Updated 05/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 7 hotels in Hilo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the newly renovated Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, the newly renovated waterfront hotel welcomes you with modern and stylish accommodations, an outdoor pool, a 9-hole golf course, and 24-hour front desk. Experience warm island hospitality for a truly unforgettable stay in the charming town of Hilo on the Big Island. FREE amenities include a FREE Round of Golf daily and FREE WiFi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Snorkeling
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Valet parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Fishing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1628Reviews63Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 523
  • 494
  • 279
  • 176
  • 156
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
gale r wrote a review 10 Sep
None2 contributions
The front desk staff talked in circles, not trying to resolve price or other fees. It was frustrating as we met with them three times. Why a $40 difference in phone lobby person and front desk price?!?
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Pauli, General Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha Gale. While we're very glad to see that you enjoyed your accommodations, we understand that your check-in experience didn't meet your expectations and we apologize for the miscommunication. If you have any more questions, you can privately message and I will follow up with you. We hope that you were able to enjoy the amenities and services that our resort fee offers, and look forward to the opportunity to be your vacation home next time you visit Hilo. Mahalo.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ElJefedeDiablo wrote a review Apr 2021
Phoenix, Arizona47 contributions21 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Please read the entire review: My stay did not start off on the right foot as there were some issues at check in that had me pretty irritated BUT the hotel staff went far, far beyond what they needed to do to make it right!! Our room was very clean, well maintained, nicely appointed, and very comfortable. The A/C worked like a champ, was quiet, and kept the room cool when we wanted. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and we slept like babies. The property is beautiful, accessible, and immaculate. Free (great tasting) coffee and tea in the lobby each morning. Plenty of free on-site parking. All the elevators worked and were fast, and there is a key card lockout so only guests can access the elevator. The pool was crystal clear and all the outdoor tables and chairs were clean. The on-site gift shop is one of the best I've ever seen and their prices were very fair - a true rarity at a hotel gift shop. This is by far the best property we've stayed at while on the Big Island and will definitely stay here again when in Hilo. If you're familiar with most hotels in Hawaii, you know that many properties look nice online, but are lacking once you get on property and to your room... this one is not like that. I say this property is better in person than it looks online.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Book a junior suite if you can - any room that end in *34. Absolutely beautiful!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
9 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
allinclusiveguy wrote a review Aug 2022
Orlando, Florida5 contributions1 helpful vote
Bathroom vent dusty. Lani door are to open. Hotel looks run down. Restaurant not to bad. Food was okay. As a Diamond holder, expected more. Also driving up to hotel, building on right was not looking good and looked ghetto.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Pauli, General Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha, and thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are disappointed to learn that your stay didn't meet your expectations. The comfort of our guests is our main goal and your feedback will be shared with our management team to help us continue to improve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to our corner of paradise again in the future and hope you feel the spirit of aloha with you until then. Mahalo.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julieann wrote a review Aug 2022
Honolulu, Hawaii45 contributions20 helpful votes
My first room was view of derelict burnt out building next door. It was quickly handled and I was moved to another room . But hotel should NOT be charging $300 / night for awful room. Why not just be me in appropriate room to begin with ? The fire took place 1 year ago… no fault of hotel but don’t make guests go through the hassle of asking to change rooms Also - in room 825 there is some bush league raw wood bannister inside room….. come on - get that properly repaired
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Avoid room 825 and any room that is not ocean view. Otherwise you are viewing old burnt building...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Pauli, General Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha Jules, we appreciate the time you took to share your experience and will share your specific feedback with our team to help us continue to improve our guest experience. Should you visit our beautiful island again, we hope for the pleasure of welcoming you for another stay. Mahalo.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KimiCZ wrote a review Aug 2022
Los Angeles, California7 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for one night for easy access to Volcano National Park, it was approx. 40 min drive away. Easy check in, friendly staff, small hotel, but the room is descent sized, very clean. The A/C does blow pretty loud. We stayed at the building with 6 floors, very pretty ocean view, only downside is no lanai. The hotel grounds are like other reviewers said, surrounded by not too pretty buildings, and the free parking is across the street, but we drove in to drop off our bags and kids, so it’s not too bad. Overall not a pretty good experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Drop off bags and park across the street. The building off to the left with 6 floors have nice...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Pauli, General Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Aloha Kimi. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Your thoughtful feedback will help us continue to improve our guest experience, and we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you to our island paradise again in the future. Mahalo!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel F wrote a review Aug 2022
Honolulu, Hawaii6 contributions1 helpful vote
All staff members embodied the aloha spirt; everyone had a smile and were genuinely friendly. Special shout out to Samantha at the front desk for welcoming us to the Big island with fast friendly hospitality. Hotel has great amenities in good location for its price.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Pauli, General Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Aloha! Thank you for reviewing your stay and for letting us know that Samantha took such great care of you. Our home is your home. Mahalo, and a hui hou (until next time).
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
queenieduong wrote a review Aug 2022
San Jose, California407 contributions117 helpful votes
We got upgraded to 1 bedroom with soaking tub that we didn't use, but the extra room was nice. The hotel is small, a little dated with open air hallways, so don't expect anything glamourous or upscale. The grounds were nice with few chairs/lounges near water. Valet parking is included in resort fee and were very quick whenever we needed our car. Be warned no sandy beach, mostly rocky and few tide pools here and there. Also, pool is very small and is 4ft deep so my 5yo did not enjoy it at all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Pauli, General Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded 1 Aug 2022
Aloha Quynh. Thank you for your thoughtful review. We look forward to the pleasure of being your vacation home away from home again in the future. Mahalo, and a hui hou (until next time).
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jesse M wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This is Hawaii and I understand you pay more but in the mainland this place would be no more than $100-$125. We paid for an Ocean front and that was the only thing positive I'll say about the room. It was small and looked like a no tell motel room rather than a resort room. The bathroom had this shower that you had to climb over a 2.5' wall to get in. The restaurant was very dark, dungy and again, over priced. Stay elsewhere if visiting Hilo unless you want to overpay! I wouldn't believe Hilton Doubletree would put their name on this place except I was there. Shame on them. Now I can't trust any of their properties. Back to Marriott's or even Holiday Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Pauli, General Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Aloha jessem168, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Grand Naniloa Hotel. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Accommodations in general in Hawaii do have higher room rates due to the location. We continue to strive to provide additional value with our complimentary valet parking included in the resort fee, and entertainment in our Lobby Bar. We hope that you decide to give us another opportunity in the future. Mahalo, Scott Pauli General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carrie9678 wrote a review Jul 2022
Mason, Ohio494 contributions274 helpful votes
We took the Hawaii Belt Road in from the West Coast- we stopped to see the Waipi'o Valley overlook, Akaka Falls and enjoy the scenery along the way. There was not much open on a Sunday late morning/early afternoon- but we took about 3 hours to get there verses 90 minutes. When we arrived to Hilo our initial impression is that it was pretty run down and it is, many restaurants were closed, but found a decent burger place to eat before we checked in. We went to the hotel and it was a little after 3, but our room was not ready, so we went to see Rainbow Falls, stopped at a drug store and by 4 it was ready. It was the 3rd of July and I believe there were going to be a big fireworks display at the park right next to the hotel, so the lobby was very busy and so was the valet. They give you a few drink tickets that are part of the room charge. The room was ok, it was an older hotel, with a very small pool, we were supposed to stay 2 nights, but asked if we could do an early check out and they let us just stay for 1. It looked like it was going to be a big raging party for the 4th and we didn't really like that vibe. It was an easy 40 minute drive to Volcano NP, so we went at night- be prepared- the weather was drastically different- we thankfully had left our "dirty clothes" in the car and were able to scrounge warm clothes out for all of us, as it was very windy and rainy. We did a helicopter tour in the AM, checked out of the hotel and then went back to Volcanoes NP. The distance to VNP is the best thing going for this hotel. It is located next to a run down apartment building and nothing felt great about the area surrounding this property. We were so glad that we were able to change it to 1 night stay, which was plenty of time to see VNP at night and then again during the day. Hilo overall is not our type of Hawaii- it might be the old school laid back vibe others are looking for- but not for me. At $400 a night after taxes and fees, it's hard to think this place was worth it...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bruce C wrote a review Jul 2022
Twinsburg, Ohio975 contributions243 helpful votes
We only spent one night in Hilo and I think this could be the finest hotel based on location and inspection of the surroundings. It is located less than a 5 minute drive from the airport and a 30-45 minute drive to the Volcanos National Park! Check in was quick and the suite we were put in had a 270 degree view on the grounds and ocean. The suite was large and the sitting area had a mini kitchen as well. Furnishings were new, modern and sleek. The price was reasonable for the location and amenities. The staff was very friendly. My only “gripe” was the two free drink coupons that came with each room. The bar was essentially non- functional because all the bartenders could do was make these drinks constantly - 6 at a time - and hope people would at least leave a tip.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$236 - US$318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
naniloa volcanoes hotel hilo, hawaii naniloa hotel hilo, naniloa volcanoes hilo, hi naniloa hotel hilo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Grand Naniloa Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiHilo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
381
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Nearby attractions include Liliuokalani Gardens (0.2 km), Coconut Island (0.2 km), and Reeds Bay Beach Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include New Saigon Vietnamese Restaurant, Queen's Court Restaurant, and Wai'oli Lounge & iCafé.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kaipalaoa Landing (2.3 km).
Does Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.