We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
132 N 2nd Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2506
Lowest prices for your stay
StayForLong
Agoda.com
$247
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
Vio.com
Etrip
View all 6 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (57)
Room & Suite (71)
Dining (15)

About

#5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Diplomat is an exquisite Door County inn and turn of the century estate featuring six large and spacious two room suites, individually decorated and furnished with double whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, private bathrooms, antiques, and comfortable linens. This home is on the National Register of Historical Places and is in the Sturgeon Bay Historical and Waterfront Districts. The Diplomat is located in the Historic District of Sturgeon Bay, one block from the bay and one block from the 3rd Avenue Business District.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Adults only
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
101Reviews1Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 85
  • 13
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sara C wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Had an amazing stay! The room was so beautiful and luxurious that I wish I could have stayed longer!! Breakfast was delicious and brought to the door and the showers were huge! Will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Karla B wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
The Diplomat was in a perfect location and everything was lovely, from our suite to the public areas. Breakfast was brought to our room, at the exact time we requested, and was delicious. COVID measures were appreciated. I couldn't have asked for more. Thank you for a great weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Denise T wrote a review Aug 2021
Hobe Sound, Florida1 contribution
Wonderful quiet stay in the State room. Communication with the owner was quick and helpful prior to check in. The room was beautiful and clean and large. Don’t let the outside of the house fool you. It needs a bit of touch up, but no complaints inside. Although Sturgeon Bay is a small drive to some of the more touristy things in the area, we did everything we wanted on the peninsula with no problem. The street is a quiet block with shopping just one block away.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Caroline Scott wrote a review Jun 2021
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had an incredible experience at The Diplomat! Tami was extremely responsive and supportive as we made a few changes to our dates. Check in was easy and secure, and the suite was beautiful! So many sweet and beautiful touches. It had the old feel but all modern amenities so everything was really comfortable and charming! The bed was so comfortable my boyfriend asked for the name of the mattress so he could get one :) Breakfast was delicious! It was a full fresh meal, delivered to the suite in a really clever and covid safe way! The place was beautiful, great location and great food, and wonderful support from Tami. 12/10 would recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Monica I wrote a review Jun 2021
7 contributions
+1
This was my first experience at a bed and breakfast, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. The Diplomat went way above and beyond. The home is lovely, the room was spacious, beautifully decorated and impeccably clean. I loved the luxurious bath products. And the rain shower alone was worth the trip, but the huge whirlpool tub wasn’t bad either! The breakfast delivered each morning was wonderful and we ate every morning on the sunny terrace off of our room. The entire experience was just wonderful, I highly recommend this romantic place!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Richel W wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
Our room was a spacious suite with a sitting room, bedroom, and bathroom. There was a large whirlpool tub and fireplace. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. There was a small fridge in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Emily S wrote a review Sep 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
I recently stayed for the weekend at the Diplomat. My boyfriend and I were celebrating our anniversary, and couldn't have asked for a better get away. The Diplomat is absolutely adorable, and you instantly feel at home. It was so cozy, which was perfect because it ended up raining one day so we were totally content to stay in and relax there. Tami also made suggestions of fun things to do in the area on a rainy day! Our favorite aspects of this B&B included, the jacuzzi, the bathrobes, the delicious breakfast, and a SUPER comfortable bed. Not to mention excellent service provided by Tami and her staff! While it is a shared place, it feels like a place of your own. I've already told my family we need to return and all stay here! I would recommend to anyone staying in the Sturgeon Bay area. Thank you, Tami!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We stayed in the Chancery, and absolutely loved it!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tami DAL SANTO, Owner at Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
Responded 16 Sep 2020
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we lived up to yours and our expectations. We all are in a very trying period in this pandemic and keeping our Bed and Breakfast safe for our guests and staff is paramount. We strive to please everyone and give them memorable experiences that they will come back and repeat. Unfortunately not everyone appreciates our stident efforts. Thank you again! Stay safe and healthy, Tami
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arshawiir wrote a review Sep 2020
Chicago, Illinois3 contributions1 helpful vote
Extremely mean! You were just rude and things you said were unbelievable... You could be nice, you could say all the meam things you said nicely regardless of who was at fault... But you decided to remind me that WE LIVE IN AMERICA AND THIS IS NOT EUROPE! SMH... arrogant and intolerant
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tami DAL SANTO, Owner at Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
Responded 15 Sep 2020
I'm sorry. What? You were denied a room because you did not read the terms and conditions and reserved a room for 2 adults and brought your small child. I calmy expalined that we have an all adult facility and it is not child friendly due to gas fireplaces, sunken whirlpools and steep wooden stairs, etc. You continued to yell andargue with me for 45 minutes, disturbing my other guests and entered the roomwhen I asked you not to. I never screamed or yelled or was rude or told you this was America and not Europe. You were refunded for the second night of your stay although per the third party booker, I was not required to. Please be more careful next time you book a room and make sure you read the large print stating no children and 2 adults per room.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Floppitz51 wrote a review Jul 2020
Eden Prairie, Minnesota2 contributions
My wife and I celebrated our 5th anniversary in Door County and stayed in the Ambassador Suite at the Diplomat. The house, the room and the service were outstanding. The rooms were spotless clean, absolutely no worries there. The breakfast met all of the high expectations, and it was delivered on time all three mornings during our stay. Definitely recommend this B&B, looking forward to come back. Also, be sure to check out Trattoria Dal Santo, just down the street, while you're in town. Fantastic, quaint italian eatery!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Patrick M wrote a review Jul 2020
Novi, Michigan, United States42 contributions17 helpful votes
We had a cozy stay in our two-level suite. The breakfasts, delivered to our room each morning, were quite delicious, and well thought-out. The suite was very quiet and private. The only improvement that I’d like to see would be more lighting in the bedroom.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$235 - US$291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinDoor CountySturgeon Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DIPLOMAT BED & BREAKFAST - UPDATED 2022 B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Sturgeon Bay, WI) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Diplomat Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Door County Historical Museum (0.2 km), Third Avenue PlayWorks (TAP) (0.2 km), and Popelka Trenchard Glass (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Diplomat Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Diplomat Bed & Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Diplomat Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Diplomat Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Diplomat Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Inn at Cedar Crossing, 5th and Jefferson Coffee House, and Trattoria Dal Santo.
Is Diplomat Bed & Breakfast located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Sturgeon Bay.
Are there any historical sites close to Diplomat Bed & Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bliss General Store (0.1 km).