Cliff Dwellers Resort

Cliff Dwellers Resort

Entering Harbor's Edge unit
Traveler (97)
Room & Suite (44)
Great Pizza in Fish Creek
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#3 of 6 resorts in Sturgeon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Cliff Dwellers Resort is nestled between the serene moss and cedar-covered cliffs and the deep blue waters of Sturgeon Bay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Bicycles available
Boating
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Canoeing
Hiking
Fishing
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
153Reviews4Q+A32Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 116
  • 28
  • 6
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
julia k wrote a review Nov 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our "room" was beautifully decorated and supplied with everything we could possibly need. We had a two story townhouse with one bedroom, two bathrooms and TWO balconies. Instead of the "usual up north" decor we had a beautiful place decorated in shades of teal, green and cream. Full size fridge, stove/oven, microwave, cookware and an abundance of dishes and glasses, washer/dryer in unit. Well supplied with games, books, DVDs. Gorgeous views over the water. And CLEAN.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mtnlvrbk wrote a review Sep 2020
Norman, Oklahoma
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Pine cottage. It was clean & resort staff helpful. Hidabed in living room wasn't comfy as is the case with most of them. Traffic often sped down the road in front of the cottage but overall this cottage would be a good choice for a couple.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashley W wrote a review Jul 2021
Columbia, Missouri
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just returned from a week long stay at Cliff Dwellers and had a wonderful time! The townhouse was very clean and nicely decorated. It had everything we needed to feel at home. The property is very well maintained and clean. We loved being able to ride bikes to the beautiful state park down the street! I’d definitely recommend to those planning a Door County trip!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathykoer wrote a review Oct 2021
Marlton, New Jersey
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Aspen cabin and were absolutely delighted! The cabin was spotlessly clean, well furnished and decorated with original artwork. Kitchen was well stocked. The are taking COVID very seriously. We chose a cabin, because we like to spread out and there was plenty of room to do that. Lots of info provided for things to do and restaurants in the area. We really enjoyed our time here. The resort is “off the beaten” path, yet close to everything Sturgeon Bay has to offer!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Be sure to ask about steps. Not an issue for us, but there were stairs up to our cabin and that...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle S wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great view! Clean townhouse with family feel! Pool and spa were warm and clean. Kayaks and paddle boats were fun. Short car drive to everything in Sturgeon Bay. Nice area to ride bikes available on site or to walk. I assume it’s privately ran so you have to be patient with a call back if you need something but really everything is so well ran and kept up that you will not need a thing. Polite and accommodating staff. Quiet off the beaten path area. We will stay every time we visit if a room or cabin is available!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camper48112123493 wrote a review Sep 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here with another couple. Great rooms built right into the cliffs with a view into the bay. The rooms were clean and spacious. Management went out of their way to make sure we were having a good time! Would highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FrequentFlier21361 wrote a review Sep 2004
fairfax, VA
4.0 of 5 bubbles
As the name implies, the Cliff Dwellers sits on a bluff overlooking Sturgeon Bay. The staff is exceptionally friendly and welcoming. Each morning, a tray of coffee, juice, and home baked breads and rolls and delivered to the room. Rooms in the main lodge are large by the standard of most modern hotels. While rather spare in decor, they are clean and bright, with balconies overlooking the bay. The property adjoins a state park and bicycles are available at Cliff Dwellers for visiting the part (the observation tower is worth the steep 1/2 mile road leading to it). The pool is small, and the bay is not clear enough for swimming. However, the Cliff Dwellers is centrally located in Door County, and recreation and sightseeing is close by (the town of Fish Creek is worth a visit, as is the Maratime Museum). While certainly not a luxury resort, the Cliff Dwellers is a good value.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mstararae wrote a review Jun 2015
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My friends and I stayed at the Basswood Cottage (each cottage/cabin is named something different) for my 30th birthday. The house is owned by a gentleman named Andy. Andy helped me coordinate the initial booking (great to work with), but passed me on to the property manager, Layla, to hash out details.

Layla's customer service skills are nothing shy of a nightmare. She alone brought what would have been a 4 or 5-star rating down to a 3. Layla and I had conversed via email prior to our stay. I inquired about simple questions like where to park, etc. She was terse and cold in her emails, especially when she pushed-back on the number of guests I had coming.

I looped in Andy (the property owner) and who had previously told me it was ok to have that number of guests, but that I'd have to pay $15/person extra. Andy called Layla and approved the extra guests. Layla clearly didn't like that I had contacted the owner, because the minute I walked into the office to check-in and introduced myself, she had a bone to pick.

She was rude, condescending and asked repeatedly if me and my guests "wanted to leave and find somewhere else to stay." I questioned the charge ($15/per person PER NIGHT), because the bill was different than what Andy verbalized to me via phone. What could have been resolved with a kind, "I think there was a miscommunication," she instead printed out the chain of emails, slammed it on the desk and furiously took a pen to underline the details. I'm not ashamed to admit that she actually made me cry at check in (this is a first for me). I paid her $120 up-charge (YES, $120 extra, beyond the price listed on the website) and left. As I was leaving the office, she replied, "I usually give everyone a tour, but I'm guessing you don't want that."

In short, Layla was unaccommodating, abrasive, lacked any interpersonal skills and lack of gratitude for our business was appalling. She single-handedly made what could have been a fantastic weekend in a great house into a tension-filled, highly emotional experience.

I will say, for the sake of Andy (who again, was fantastic), Basswood is a great space. If the up-charge wasn't so extreme for our group, it would have been a fair deal. It was very clean, comfortably sleeps 7-8 (we had an extra blow up mattress to accommodate the 8th). The resort is small with some simple amenities like first-come-first-serve canoes, bikes, etc. The hot-tub is kinda neat. But beyond that, there's not a ton to do- to go into "town" is a 10-15 drive. There is a great bar down the road from the resort called Waterfront Mary's with cheap booze, fun live music and you can pull up your boats right on the shore!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Basswood is a good space for a larger group.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from StayAtCD, Manager at Cliff Dwellers Resort
Responded Jul 28, 2015
Our website and the email sent to you both explained the $15 per night per person charge for more then 4 people in the Basswood cottage. We regret that you became so upset, we simply asked for the appropriate fee.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mfinder wrote a review Aug 2012
Mount Prospect, Illinois
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family stayed here for a week but had I known that the resort is split right down the middle with a busy road that my family had to constantly cross to get to the water (Bay or pool) that was dangerous, we would not have picked this resort. A lot of traffic on this road even though it was close to a dead end surprisingly. I had also been excited about the bikes available to use on the resort.... but there is no where to ride in this resort unless you are on the busy, narrow road... until you get into the National Park nearby. The resort advertises boats for use, too. Well, that was a disappointment also. Available to us was a row boat with a broken oar and a paddleboat that my kids would have loved if the pedals on it actually worked. The hot tub was not even available to us for two days due to water chemical change and when we did get in it... it had no turbulence in the jets although the water was warm. One other thing that was not too much fun about this resort was the fact that there wasn't a beach per se by their part of The Bay to swim in either. We could see a beach across the bay with sand and that is what we went to actually swim in the bay although we did have to drive to get to it. Did I also mention that the view from the resort is of the shipbuilding industrial side of the Bay? The cabin was nice and the grounds were meticulously kept up. But as far as amenities on the property, Cliff Dwellers is lacking. The gas grill and firepit also advertised is a community thing so you have to share on a first come first served basis which is not very convenient for a family. I know that I will never book a room/cottage here ever again for my family and I.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Rooms in The Maple are very small but if you had more amenities on the resort you wouldn't...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from StayAtCD, Manager at Cliff Dwellers Resort
Responded Oct 11, 2012
Our little road is part of the Ice Age Trail and frequently traveled by bicyclists and pedestrians. Pot-State park is only 1500 feet away /w miles of biking and hiking trails around the shores and bluffs with no fee's for non-motorized users. We were unable to give you the discount you requested because you had falsified the number of people in your cottage. We regret that you had a bad vacation and hope that your negative experiences with us did not contribute to the negative review you gave to the other establishment in the area. The oar for the rowboat was replaced immediately, and the paddle boat shortly thereafter. There was also a kayak you could have used. The Spa was down for less then one day for a mandatory state inspection. The view of the Bay consists of miles of forested shoreline, the shipyard, the city of Sturgeon Bay, and the steel bridge in the distance. During your stay your group had no trouble accessing any of the fire pits or grills. Our resort is truthfully represented on our website and advertising materials.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jelln431 wrote a review Jun 2014
Heyworth, Illinois
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We found Cliff Dwellers Resort by reading other reviews on our way to our first visit to Door County. We were hoping to reserve a cabin and were a little hesitant to "settle" for a townhouse when no cabins were available. But we were so glad to have stayed here! I don't think there are any lesser units in the Resort. Everything is immaculate, convenient, and inviting. I wish we could have stayed longer to take advantage of every amenity that this place has. It is unpretentious, quiet, and friendly, and we enjoyed every minute here!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
occams-razor asked a question May 2023
Antioch, Illinois87 contributions69 helpful votes
Is the pool heated? Thanks!
Answer from StayAtCD
Sturgeon Bay1 contribution
It depends on the time of year. Typically the pool begins to be heated starting just prior to Memorial day, and stops being heated sometime in September. The whirlpool is open for the entire resort season ( Mid May to near the end of October ). It is best to email or call for more exact information.
loveinns03 asked a question May 2017
Minneapolis, Minnesota43 contributions13 helpful votes
Does the bedroom in the harbor view cottage have a window??
Answer from StayAtCD
Sturgeon Bay1 contribution
Yes, the bedroom in Harbor View has a small window facing the south side.
loveinns03 asked a question May 2017
Minneapolis, Minnesota43 contributions13 helpful votes
Wondering how the parking was for the beach cottage at Cliff Dwellers?? Looks beautiful. Thanks
Answer from ScubagirlWisconsin
Cross Plains, Wisconsin92 contributions89 helpful votes
We have a Honda Ridgeline with a bike rack. A little tight but workable.
Answer from StayAtCD
Sturgeon Bay1 contribution
It is going to depend on the season, weekend or weekday, number of people, and unit selected. Prices range from $99 to $285+ before tax per night. There will be a 2 or 3 night minimum stay. You can view the rates on the website, which has a chart for the assumed number of people (2 or 4 people depending on unit).
Kathykoer wrote a tip Oct 2021
Marlton, New Jersey72 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be sure to ask about steps. Not an issue for us, but there were stairs up to our cabin and that could be a challenge for some."
Read full review
Hillary C wrote a tip Oct 2020
7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I believe all rooms and cabins can view the bay."
Read full review
Jill C wrote a tip Aug 2018
Burlington, Wisconsin16 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look at online pictures...spot on!"
Read full review
jimmiespare wrote a tip Jul 2018
Cedar Rapids, Iowa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"quiet and relaxing"
Read full review
Jill C wrote a tip Nov 2017
Burlington, Wisconsin16 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Water's Edge is prime!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sturgeon Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
₱8,707 - ₱15,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cliff dwellers hotel sturgeon bay
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinDoor CountySturgeon Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLIFF DWELLERS RESORT - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Sturgeon Bay, WI) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cliff Dwellers Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Cliff Dwellers Resort?
Nearby attractions include The Farm (7.4 km), Door County Maritime Museum (2.0 km), and Door County Historical Museum (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cliff Dwellers Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Cliff Dwellers Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Cliff Dwellers Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cliff Dwellers Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bluefront Cafe, Scaturo's Baking Co & Cafe, and Nightingale Supper Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cliff Dwellers Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Cliff Dwellers Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bliss General Store (2.1 km).
Does Cliff Dwellers Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
All Sturgeon Bay HotelsSturgeon Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Sturgeon BayHotels near Cliff Dwellers Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars